$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, CA

3 stars
5975 Lusk Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92121
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
56 reviews
Absolutely Romantic Weekend

The experience was fabulous the moment we stepped inside hotel. Amenities and hotel room were top... See full review

  • JarVarez
  • Jun 6, 2014
Weekend getaway

Very good value hotel considering the price I paid. The breakfast was included and was perfect. The... See full review

  • Amy1234
  • Jun 3, 2014
The hotel offers a soothing atmosphere with polished wooden floors upon entering & a soft glowing fireplace with a perfect blend of emerald green, gold and maroon decor. Designed for the business and leisure traveler in mind, our 7-floor indoor corridor hotel offers an array of features to please all, such as comp breakfast, comp wireless high speed internet service in all guest rooms & public areas, outdoor heated pool & spa, fitness facility, business center, coin operated laundry on property, full service lounge with dinner, evening room service & 4000 square feet of meeting facilities. Country Inn & Suites By Carlson offers such touches as: comp local telephone calls & 800 access calls, 32 inch flatscreen television, cable, Herman Miller Aeron chairs and refrigerator and microwave in every room.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Phone service
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Disco
Night club
Golf
Tennis
Outdoor tennis
Driving range
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Copy service
Transportation
FREE transportation
Courtesy car
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, CA also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

32.8981 -117.1925
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
LINDBERGH INTL ARPT, (SAN), 16.60, MI, N; JOHN WAYNE ARPT, (SNA), 73.60, MI, S;
Area description
Suburban, This hotel is located in a suburban area.

Nearby points of interest

  • Sorrento Valley: 0.5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 4.8 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.5 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 7.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 9 mi
  • Sea World: 9.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 9.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 9.9 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 9.9 mi
  • Heritage Park: 10 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 10.1 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 10.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 11.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 11.6 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 0.5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 4.8 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.5 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 7.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 9 mi
  • Sea World: 9.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 9.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 9.9 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 9.9 mi
  • Heritage Park: 10 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 10.1 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 10.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 11.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 11.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 11.7 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 11.7 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 11.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 11.8 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 11.8 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 11.8 mi
  • Botanical Building: 11.8 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 11.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 12 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 12.1 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 12.2 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 12.3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 13.1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 13.3 mi
  • PETCO Park: 13.4 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 13.4 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 16.4 mi
  • Legoland: 17.5 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 18.7 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,114.7 mi

Dining

Fireside Lounge
Located on first floor off main lobby.
Chili's American Bar & Grill
Located in Hotel parking lot.
Karls Strauss Brewery Gardens
Located 0.5 miles from hotel.
P.F. Chang's China Bistro
2.9 miles from the hotel. Reservations only available for parties of 10 guests or more.
Sorrento Valley Food Court
Food Court offers McDonalds, Starbucks Coffee, Mandarin Express, Greek Cafe, Quizno's Subs, Chicks Roasted Chicken, etc.
Mimi's Cafe
4.74 miles from hotel.
Bucca Di Beppo
4.75 miles from the hotel. Reservations only available for parties of 10 guests or more, family style eating.
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Del Mar
5.32 Miles from the hotel.
Breakfast Room
Located on first floor off main lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, CA

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 56
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, CA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Meli Girl
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 2, 2014

One Night

Stayed for one night and really enjoyed having the breakfast in the morning and cookies in the afternoon. Spacious and clean rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, CA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vegas Champs
Las Vegas, NV
May 28, 2014

Well exceeded our expectations!

We were very impressed with this hotel and cannot wait to stay again! We were treated wonderfully before even stepping foot in the hotel... We were arriving for a last minute trip to San Diego on Memorial pday, very early in the morning. The staff assured me that they would pre assign my room so that early check-in would be available when myself, my husband and my 2 year old daughter arrived! The hotel was beautiful, staff was great, room was clean and comfortable, pool was just what we needed and the amazing breakfast was the cherry on top!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, CA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Duckdude
Garden Grove, California
Dec 29, 2013

Country Inn

When we arrived there was only one driveway to enter and exit when exiting was difficult to get to main road. We reserved a room with 2 beds and they only had rooms with 1 bed available. We asked for a roll away bed non were available. The hotel was booked with foriegn travelers mostly Japanese going to Legoland the breakfast buffet was too small for all of the children and tourists no place to sit and the buffett food was gone as soon as it was put out. Rooms were nice but we could have used 2 beds as requested No Grocery or stores local to shop for snacks and stuff forgotten at home

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Wesfield UTC Mall was a excellent Shopping and Dining experiance Highly recommended

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, CA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Martin3
Naperville, Illinois
Dec 28, 2013

Very convenient close to highway

We had an excellent stay overnight. The room is clean. Hotel offers complementary breakfast and internet. Also close to major companies.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, CA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New UCSD Mom
Elk Grove, CA
Sep 23, 2013

Move into UCSD weekend

It was nice and friendly. Cookies, tea and coffee in the evenings. We could tell it had been recently remodeled, but that the contractor skimped in some places, shower fixtures were loose, etc. Enjoyed the work out facility and breakfast. Staff was friendly and helpful. I asked them to make a copy of my daughter's class schedule and they made them for free - some higher end hotels would have charged for this service. We will be staying here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, CA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vacation lover 8810
san diego
Jun 25, 2013

Family vacation

our experience was great, it didn't take long to give us the key to our room. Free breakfast was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, CA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lovelyymarii
San Fernando CA
May 22, 2013

Hotel was okay

Cleanliness was good staff was not too friendly, breakfast was delicious. Woke up to something crawling on my hand didn't know what is was because room was so dark & when I got up to check there was nothing there. Other than that it was an okay hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, CA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Visiting from SD
San Diego, CA
May 14, 2013

Awesome breakfast, amenities

Very clean, modern hotel with great hot breakfast in the morning

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, CA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Suzanne Z.
Camarillo, CA
Nov 19, 2012

Extremely welcoming and comfortable

The common area of this hotel is so inviting! There is a fireplace in the lobby where you can sit and read. There is even a small library of books to borrow from with a note that they can be returned to any other Country Inn. Breakfast area is quite large to accomodate the morning crowd.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, CA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dberyo
thousand oaks, ca
Oct 1, 2012

Clean rooms, friendly staff, really nice hot breakfast

We had some very positive experiences with this hotel. The check-in was super fast, the staff was friendly and available, yet not 'in your face' which we appreciated. One highlight was the hot breakfast that they serve until 10:30am on the weekends. The breakfast is good too! This is not your average continental breakfast that so many hotels resort to nowadays. They also had coffee/refreshments in the lobby throughout the day, which was nice. Amenities were good, the room was clean and spacious enough, the wireless internet worked great as promised and there was no hassle connecting to it. The one thing to note is that the outdoor pool seemed cold even though they say it is 'heated'. Overall a really solid hotel. Definitely a very, very good 3 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top