$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 13, 2014 Check-out: Aug 14, 2014

Cosmopolitan Hotel

2 stars
2660 Calhoun Street, San Diego, CA 92110
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
8 reviews
A step back in time

The historical aspect of the Cosmopolitan put us back in time. I snooped out everything I could... See full review

  • Don Juan Lover
  • Mar 17, 2014
Hidden treasure...

Great hotel, eventhought it was built 180 yrs ago, it's very well preserved, clean, beds are super... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 1, 2011
Welcome to the San Diego Cosmopolitan Hotel and Restaurant. Both a tribute to and reflection of San Diegos past it is also an exciting new restaurant and hotel experience in Old Town San Diego State Historic Park. Our Fullservice Restaurant and Bar is open 7 days a week for Lunch Dinner and Sunday Brunch. We are proud to offer a seasonal menu designed to please attentive service and carefully prepared meals including American Grill Seafood and Mexicaninspired favorites. Happy Hour is honored daily from 36 PM. The Cosmopolitan Hotel is also an Old Town San Diego 10 room Bed and Breakfast Hotel. With each room beautifully furnished with 1870s antiques and private baths The Cosmopolitan is the only hotel in the Old Town San Diego State Historic Park. Front desk is available 10 AM to 9 PM. Children are welcome at the adult rate.

Cosmopolitan Hotel Rooms

Room 1 - The Pine Tub Suite
Description not provided
Room 11 - Ysadora Bandini Room
Description not provided
Room 2 Josefa Bandini Room
Description not provided
Room 3 - Estudillo Room
Description not provided
Rooms 4 and 5 - The Seeley Suite
Description not provided
Room - 6 Refugio Bandini Room
Description not provided
Room 7 - The Cauldron Suite
Description not provided
Room 8 - General Stockton Room
Description not provided
Room 9 - Californio Room
Description not provided
Room 10 - Arcadia Bandini Suite
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
24 hour security
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Lounge
Services
Maid service
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Hairdryer in room
Fire place
Sitting area
Shower

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Cosmopolitan Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7543 -117.1961
Area served
San Diego, Chula Vista, Del Mar, La Jolla, La Mesa, Coronado, El Cajon, Imperial Beach
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport, (SAN), 4.80, MI, N; John Wayne, (SNA), 83.80, MI, SE;
Area description
City Center, The Cosmopolitan Hotel is a 10 room Bed and Breakfast Hotel loc

Nearby points of interest

  • Old Town San Diego: 0.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 0.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Sea World: 2 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.7 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2.8 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 0.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Sea World: 2 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.7 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2.8 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 3.1 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 3.2 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 3.2 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 3.3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 3.7 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 3.9 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.6 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9.4 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9.7 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 25.9 mi
  • Legoland: 26.8 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,119 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (8)

Ratings and reviews for Cosmopolitan Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 8
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cosmopolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beef33
San Diego
Mar 6, 2014

Ghostly

Not Good, what else do you want me to say Not Good, what else do you want me to say Not Good, what else do you want me to say

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Homemade Meals

Review of Cosmopolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ridiculous nickname
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 8, 2014

Old Towne Visit

quite overnight stay, close to train station. fun walking around to all the shops. pretty laid back environment

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Cosmopolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Irvine CA
Aug 1, 2011

Hidden treasure...

Great hotel, eventhought it was built 180 yrs ago, it's very well preserved, clean, beds are super comfortable and a beautiful wooden bath tub. Service is great and the area is full of history, $14 dollar cab ride to gas lamp district, less then 10min ride. I would definitely stay here again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Cosmopolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Irvine CA
Aug 1, 2011

Hidden treasure...

Great hotel, eventhought it was built 180 yrs ago, it's very well preserved, clean, beds are super comfortable and a beautiful wooden bath tub. Service is great and the area is full of history, $14 dollar cab ride to gas lamp district, less then 10min ride. I would definitely stay here again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Cosmopolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Canada
Feb 21, 2011

mixed experinece

Very nicely renovated old hotel with interiors remembering its original time. As you can expect there is no phone in room and door is closed until 11 am. I don't think there is anybody but tourists in the building at night? Also it is located in the historical Old Town and you can't have taxi coming to its door if you need to get to the airport at early morning!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Cosmopolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Mar 25, 2011

Great for Casual Traveler

I had some trouble finding a parking spot when I arrived and the next evening when I returned from my appointments. I mentioned this to the hotel operator and he informed me that he has been working diligently to get some parking spots in the adjacent parking lot assigned to the hotel but has not succeeded yet. This would be a major boost to my interest in staying there again. I was on a complex schedule business trip and didn't fully appreciate the relaxed atmosphere of the hotel. However, it was obvious that several of the other guests were not on such a tight schedule and were totally enjoying themselves. The lack of working space in the room was something of a hindrance for me and might be for other business travelers, but I don't think there is much the hotel could do about it. It was a very interesting experience, and I'm glad I tried it. Perhaps on a leisure trip, my wife and I would gladly stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Get to the hotel quite early in the evening if you have a car. The available parking spaces fill up quickly and you will have to park several blocks away. I recommend that you leave you car parked and take public transportation during your stay.

Review of Cosmopolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Canada
Feb 21, 2011

mixed experinece

Very nicely renovated old hotel with interiors remembering its original time. As you can expect there is no phone in room and door is closed until 11 am. I don't think there is anybody but tourists in the building at night? Also it is located in the historical Old Town and you can't have taxi coming to its door if you need to get to the airport at early morning!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Cosmopolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Don Juan Lover
San Diego, California
Mar 17, 2014

A step back in time

The historical aspect of the Cosmopolitan put us back in time. I snooped out everything I could read around the hotel about the people who made this building such an important landmark in the history of California and imagine history being made. Not into all that haunted stuff that is popular today but did enjoy reading the on going diary in our room and added to it. It was a little hard not having a television in the room but loved the fireplace which created a special ambiance. Casa de Reyes was a place we visited often. Signage could be improved to the Casa de Reyes and the transportation hub. Would have liked info on the 5 forms of transportation before walking to the bus/trolley/local metro link train/Coaster/Amtrack lines as it was confusing not knowing where to purchase tickets and having to ask the locals way too many questions. It could have been so much easier. The hotel made our airport pick up arrangements for us and where we were to meet the cab driver at 4:30 a.m. which was a little late. I would go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Take a Smart Phone. If you want to see the Flower Fields in March or April, take the Coaster to the Poinsettia train depot. DO NOT expect anyone to be there to assist you when your arrive. Call a cab! DO NOT attempt to walk which is on the other side of the outlet mall. It is not safe.

Back to menu Return to top