$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 12, 2015 Check-out: Jan 15, 2015

Catamaran Resort & Spa

4 stars
3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
456 reviews
Catamaran Resort

After visiting San Diego 5 years in a row and staying at 5 different hotels, we've decided that we... See full review

  • PaulandLisa
  • Oct 9, 2014
Great stay

I had a great time here, I'm definitely going back See full review

  • Just1
  • Oct 8, 2014
Waterfront hotel feature spectacular views and lush garden

There's no shortage of things to keep you busy at the Catamaran Resort & Spa. The property gardens house more than 1,000 plants and dozens of exotic birds. Treatment options abound at the Catamaran Spa. The Atoll, the on-site restaurant, serves seafood and a highly-regarded Sunday brunch. Finally, take an evening cruise on the Bahia Belle, the property's historic Mississippi-style sternwheeler (limited schedule).

Highlights
    • Relax and watch the action on Mission Bay
    • One on-site restaurant
    • Lush garden complete with exotic birds
    • Take an evening cruise on the property's Mississippi-style sternwheeler (limited schedule)
    Rooms

    The Catamaran Resort & Spa offers 313 rooms, including 16 suites, spread over five separate two-story buildings. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, iHome docking station and laptop safe. All rooms also feature balconies or patios with views of Mission Bay and the La Jolla coastline. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access.

    Features

    The Catamaran Resort & Spa is all about the sea. The property boasts a dock and marina and operates a historic, Mississippi-style sternwheeler for seasonal cruises. There's a heated pool in the garden courtyard. Rooms with views of Mission Bay available.

    Guests also find other, more land-oriented diversions onsite. The property boasts a state-of-the-art fitness center with free weights and cardio equipment. What's more, guests have access to an on-site video arcade and lush garden, which comprises more than 1,000 different species of plants. The hotel also offers laundry service (fees apply).

    The Atoll, the on-site restaurant, offers traditional meals in a swank environment. At Moray's Lounge, the atmosphere is more casual with TVs airing sporting events.

    Transportation
      • MTS Bus (1 block)
      • San Diego Trolley (5 mi/8 km)
      • San Diego International Airport (8 mi/13 km)
      Attractions
        • Mission Bay Park (4 blocks)
        • Sea World (1.5 mi/2 km)
        • Old Town (5 mi/8 km)
        • Point Loma (6 mi/10 km)
        • San Diego Zoo (10 mi/17 km)
        • Petco Park (12 mi/20 km)
        Business
        • 20,000 square feet of meeting space
        • Indoor and outdoor meeting space
        • 24-hour business center
        Policies and fees
        • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

        This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

        Recommendations for you

        Customers who viewed Catamaran Resort & Spa also booked these hotels.

        Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
        Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
        Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

        Catamaran Resort & Spa Rooms

        Studio
        With over 400 square feet of comfortable living space, the studios are furnished with two double beds, breakfast table and chairs. The kitchen is equipped with an electric stove; oven, full size refrigerator, sink and wash area, cooking utensils and place settings for four people. All studios have balconies or patios with lounge chairs and tables. Amenities include bathrobes, irons and ironing board, hair dryer and a coffee maker. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Bayview Room
        Tastefully appointed in a tropical decor with over 400 sq feet and each room opens up to it's own balcony or patio. The Bayview room features one king or two double beds on a "request only basis". All rooms have bathrobes, hair dryer, coffee maker iron and ironing board. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Deluxe Room - 1 king bed
        Our Deluxe King room is tastefully appointed in a tropical decor with over 400 sq feet and opens up to it's own balcony or patio. The Deluxe King room features one king bed. All rooms have bathrobes, hair dryer, coffee maker iron and ironing board. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Deluxe Garden Room
        Tastefully appointed in a tropical decor with over 400 sq feet and each opens up to it's own balcony or patio. The Deluxe Garden room features one king or two double beds on a "request only basis". All rooms have bathrobes, refrigerators, hair dryer, coffee maker iron and ironing board. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Bay View Suite
        Our Bayview King Suites offer king bed in the bedroom and a separate living room with a sleeper sofa as well as a private balcony. Each suite has bathrobes, a ironing board with iron, hairdryer, tea/coffee maker, television, telephone and clock radio. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.

        Amenities

        • WiFi
        • Outdoor pool
        • No smoking rooms/facilities
        General
        No smoking rooms/facilities
        Concierge
        Elevators
        Activities
        Outdoor pool
        Fitness center or spa
        Fitness Center
        Spa
        Game room
        Dining
        Restaurant
        24 hour room service
        Room service
        Services
        Business center
        Tour desk
        Conference facilities
        Gift shop
        Internet
        WiFi
        Parking
        Parking

        Nearby points of interest

        • Pacific Beach: 0.9 mi
        • Belmont Park: 1.4 mi
        • Mission Bay Park: 2.2 mi
        • Hospitality Point: 2.9 mi
        • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.1 mi
        • Bazaar Del Mundo: 4.1 mi
        • Old Town San Diego: 4.1 mi
        • Sunset Cliffs: 4.2 mi
        • Whaley House Museum: 4.3 mi
        • Heritage Park: 4.4 mi
        • Port of San Diego: 5.4 mi
        • Family Fun Center: 5.8 mi
        • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.7 mi
        • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.8 mi
        • Firehouse Museum: 6.9 mi
        • Pacific Beach: 0.9 mi
        • Belmont Park: 1.4 mi
        • Mission Bay Park: 2.2 mi
        • Hospitality Point: 2.9 mi
        • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.1 mi
        • Bazaar Del Mundo: 4.1 mi
        • Old Town San Diego: 4.1 mi
        • Sunset Cliffs: 4.2 mi
        • Whaley House Museum: 4.3 mi
        • Heritage Park: 4.4 mi
        • Port of San Diego: 5.4 mi
        • Family Fun Center: 5.8 mi
        • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.7 mi
        • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.8 mi
        • Firehouse Museum: 6.9 mi
        • San Diego Zoo: 7.1 mi
        • San Diego Museum of Man: 7.2 mi
        • San Diego Automotive Museum: 7.2 mi
        • Timken Museum of Art: 7.2 mi
        • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 7.3 mi
        • Botanical Building: 7.3 mi
        • Casa De Balboa: 7.3 mi
        • Spanish Village Art Center: 7.3 mi
        • San Diego Natural History Museum: 7.4 mi
        • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 7.5 mi
        • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 7.5 mi
        • San Diego Convention Center: 7.8 mi
        • Sorrento Valley: 7.8 mi
        • PETCO Park: 8 mi
        • Chula Vista Nature Center: 13.7 mi
        • Legoland: 23.7 mi
        • California Center For The Arts Museum: 24.6 mi
        • Cox Arena: 2,121 mi

        Meeting facilities

        Meeting Info
        With fresh ocean breezes and exotic ambience, the Catamaran Resort is an invigorating and creative setting for any group. All fourteen of our Function Rooms are complemented by scenic views, balconies, patios and most of all - our unforgettable bayfront. Inventive, fresh culinary style, and stunning presentations await you. With accommodations from 30 to 450 guests and over 20,000 square feet of contiguous function space, the choices are easy and endless. Our friendly and helpful staff, modern amenities and on-site Business Center ensure every detail is taken care of. Whether it's for business or special occasions, large or small, fancy or more down to earth, the Catamaran Resort is unsurpassed for style, flexibility and comfort.

        Dining

        Atoll Restaurant
        Open 7 days a week The Atoll restaurant, with its award-winning menu, offers spectacular views. Located directly on the sandy beach of Mission Bay, guest may enjoy quiet dining or relaxed outdoor-patio beachfront seating. Meals Served: 6:30am-11:15am Breakfast 11:30am-2:15pm Lunch 5:30pm-9: 45pm Dinner (Fri & Sat 10:45pm) Specials: Sunday Brunch, voted 'Best Brunch In San Diego' by San Diego Magazine, offers an outstanding presentation that will satisfy the most discriminating of our guests. Weekly from 10 am - 2 pm. Reservations are suggested Price Range: Varies Reservations Required? No Attire: Casual Attire
        Catamaran Spa
        Experience the Catamaran Resort Spa - A World Class Health & Wellness Facility. Featuring: private treatment rooms, ritual room, steam and dry saunas, outdoor whirlpool, Vichy shower, full service salon, and fitness facility. Please call the Spa at (858) 539-8821 for more information.
        Resort Water Sports Rentals
        Located on our white sand beach at the edge of Mission Bay. Our Water Sports Rental Department offers: sailboats, power boats, ocean kayaks, wind surfers, paddleboats.

        Hotel Policies

        Check-in:
        1600
        Check-out:
        1200

        Terms and conditions

        Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

        The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

        Back to menu Return to top

        Guest Reviews (456)

        Ratings and reviews for Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Overall score

        3.9 / 5
        5.01.0
        19 out of 456
        Amenities:
        4.1
        Room cleanliness:
        4.1
        Hotel staff:
        3.9
        Room comfort:
        4
        Location:
        4.7
        Value:
        4.1

        79% would recommend to a friend.

        Sort by:
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        Judy Judy
        Business
        Scottsdale AZ
        Mar 16, 2014

        Wonderful location; gracious staff

        I had some minor issues with the room, but the staff handled them promptly and made it right. I would return in a heartbeat.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        4
        Room cleanliness:
        4
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        4
        Location:
        4
        Value:
        4
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

        Joe's Crab Shack; half-price appetizers and great drink specials 3-6 p.m. on the patio...great food and the view cannot be beat.

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        5
        5.01.0
        scottzilla
        Business
        Newport Beach California
        Mar 11, 2014

        Great quick business trip

        Only had a chance to stay for an evening, but wish I had more time. Great room on the bay with a truly exceptionally comfortable bed

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        5
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        5
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

        Great people watching just steps from the hotel

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        Nasiri
        Business
        Colorado
        Jun 3, 2013

        daughter's birthday getaway

        First off, we had a room upgrade! What a wonderful way to enter the resort and start off our time with you. That was phenomenal. I find the Catamaran to be one of my favorite places. I was disappointed in the lounge staff and service. That was a first! It would also be nice to have some adult only swim times in the pool. Hard to enjoy when you have no small children.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        4
        Room comfort:
        5
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        4
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        3
        5.01.0
        Chicago Auggie
        Business
        Chicago IL
        Nov 23, 2012

        Quick weekend

        Front desk staff fairly rude and aloof upon checkin. Area is close to the beach. Otherwise not really worth the price. Will not stay here again.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        3
        Room cleanliness:
        2
        Hotel staff:
        1
        Room comfort:
        3
        Location:
        3
        Value:
        2
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        3
        5.01.0
        Mister SAB
        Business
        Cleveland, OH
        Sep 4, 2012

        Hotel is Okay

        The hotel is okay for the price. It's toward the end of the strip for Pacific Beach. Its within walking distance to a lot of restaurants/bars. Reception wasn't too friendly, and rooms were just average at best.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        3
        Room cleanliness:
        3
        Hotel staff:
        2
        Room comfort:
        3
        Location:
        4
        Value:
        2
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

        PB Ale House

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        Megsters
        Business
        Portland, OR, USA
        Feb 8, 2012

        Great location, beautiful resort grounds, room clean & safe

        Resort excellently situated - butts up against Mission Bay on the back side and is across from street from the Pacific Ocean. Grocery store & variety of restaurants are within easy walking distance, and a pretty short cab ride to/from the airport (~20 minutes). The resort grounds are gorgeous with palm trees, koi pond, parrots, (unheated) pool and (not too hot) hot tub. The room itself was not particularly fancy, but mine did have a great view of the ocean from the balcony.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        4
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        4
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        5
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        5
        5.01.0
        Ricky's Girl
        Business
        Birmingham, AL, USA
        Jan 19, 2012

        Too good to share

        The service was wonderful. The food was fabulous. The staff was friendly and helpful. It was located on a bay which was perfect for sailing or windsurfing. The outdoor seating at the restraunt had a beautiful view and was soo relaxing. The room was very large and very well maintained. The hotel decor was a little dated but with all the positives, who cares.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        5
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        5
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        Grandee
        Business
        Old Orchard Beach,Maine
        Sep 29, 2011

        Visit family

        Very nice and comfortable. Close to beach,dining and public transportation.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        4
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        5
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        3
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

        Lots of places to eat right in Pacific Beach

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        Dgoose
        Business
        Seattle, WA
        Feb 17, 2011

        Beautiful location! Looks just like the.

        The spa is amazing! I felt rejuvinated and relaxed. I had the pleasure of doing one of the ritual 140 minute experience and when I was done all I wanted to do was lay on the beach and soak up the sun to go with my relaxed state of mind and body. Every person I engaged with were helpful and quite polite.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        4
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        4
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Money-saving tip: In Hotel

        You can park at the hotel but beware everytime you do it will cost money. Granted everything in California cost money to do or park...

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        Business
        Chicago, Illinois
        Jan 4, 2011

        Mission Bay Catamaran Resort

        I booked a package flight/car/hotel that made my hotel rate incredibly reasonable. My trip involved seeing a bit of San Diego combined with driving up to LA to visit friends & family for Christmas so I was not at the hotel a whole lot - 3 of 5 days. Had a great meal at the hotel the night I arrived and enjoyed the pool/hot tub once. The grounds of the resort are shockingly gorgeous - like staying in a botanical garden. The best part for me was being on both the bay and across the street from the beach/boardwalk where I was able to take several long walks as well as sample a couple of other great restaurants. My 2nd floor garden view room was somewhat dated but clean & comfortable; can't imagine you would want to hang in the room anyway - it's too nice outside, even in winter. If you have a lot of luggage or mobility issues, I'd recommend, unless you're in the tower, asking for a first floor room - no elevators. I only saw one vending machine & it was far away & I did not visit the "business center" but there were no 24 hour guest computers to use; had to ask concierge to check my flight info. Otherwise, great place; I would not hesitate to stay again.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        4
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        3
        Room comfort:
        5
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        5
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

        Hotel is beautifully situated on Mission Bay and literally across the street from the ocean/beach/boardwalk where you can find bike rentals, surf shops and tons of good restaurants - every age & type of person walking, jogging, biking, skating. Great fun. There is also a very nice pool/hot tub at hotel and a very good, slightly upscale restaurant; you can also eat out outside with a view of the lush grounds & Mission Bay.

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Back to menu Return to top