$299 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 13, 2014 Check-out: Aug 15, 2014

Catamaran Resort & Spa

4 stars
3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
765 reviews
Excellent Stay

Beautiful room and good service, great view of the bay! See full review

  • bjerke89
  • May 30, 2014
Great spring break

Overall experience was very good. Nice location- very close to pacific ocean. Enjoyed the bay and... See full review

  • a Husker traveler
  • Mar 14, 2014
Waterfront hotel feature spectacular views and lush garden

There's no shortage of things to keep you busy at the Catamaran Resort & Spa. The property gardens house more than 1,000 plants and dozens of exotic birds. Treatment options abound at the Catamaran Spa. The Atoll, the on-site restaurant, serves seafood and a highly-regarded Sunday brunch. Finally, take an evening cruise on the Bahia Belle, the property's historic Mississippi-style sternwheeler (limited schedule).

Highlights
    • Relax and watch the action on Mission Bay
    • One on-site restaurant
    • Lush garden complete with exotic birds
    • Take an evening cruise on the property's Mississippi-style sternwheeler (limited schedule)
    Rooms

    The Catamaran Resort & Spa offers 313 rooms, including 16 suites, spread over five separate two-story buildings. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, iHome docking station and laptop safe. All rooms also feature balconies or patios with views of Mission Bay and the La Jolla coastline. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access.

    Features

    The Catamaran Resort & Spa is all about the sea. The property boasts a dock and marina and operates a historic, Mississippi-style sternwheeler for seasonal cruises. There's a heated pool in the garden courtyard. Rooms with views of Mission Bay available.

    Guests also find other, more land-oriented diversions onsite. The property boasts a state-of-the-art fitness center with free weights and cardio equipment. What's more, guests have access to an on-site video arcade and lush garden, which comprises more than 1,000 different species of plants. The hotel also offers laundry service (fees apply).

    The Atoll, the on-site restaurant, offers traditional meals in a swank environment. At Moray's Lounge, the atmosphere is more casual with TVs airing sporting events.

    Transportation
      • MTS Bus (1 block)
      • San Diego Trolley (5 mi/8 km)
      • San Diego International Airport (8 mi/13 km)
      Attractions
        • Mission Bay Park (4 blocks)
        • Sea World (1.5 mi/2 km)
        • Old Town (5 mi/8 km)
        • Point Loma (6 mi/10 km)
        • San Diego Zoo (10 mi/17 km)
        • Petco Park (12 mi/20 km)
        Business
        • 20,000 square feet of meeting space
        • Indoor and outdoor meeting space
        • 24-hour business center
        Policies and fees
        • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

        This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

        Catamaran Resort & Spa Rooms

        Studio
        With over 400 square feet of comfortable living space, the studios are furnished with two double beds, breakfast table and chairs. The kitchen is equipped with an electric stove; oven, full size refrigerator, sink and wash area, cooking utensils and place settings for four people. All studios have balconies or patios with lounge chairs and tables. Amenities include bathrobes, irons and ironing board, hair dryer and a coffee maker. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Bayview Room
        Tastefully appointed in a tropical decor with over 400 sq feet and each room opens up to it's own balcony or patio. The Bayview room features one king or two double beds on a "request only basis". All rooms have bathrobes, hair dryer, coffee maker iron and ironing board. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Deluxe Room - 1 king bed
        Our Deluxe King room is tastefully appointed in a tropical decor with over 400 sq feet and opens up to it's own balcony or patio. The Deluxe King room features one king bed. All rooms have bathrobes, hair dryer, coffee maker iron and ironing board. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Deluxe Garden Room
        Tastefully appointed in a tropical decor with over 400 sq feet and each opens up to it's own balcony or patio. The Deluxe Garden room features one king or two double beds on a "request only basis". All rooms have bathrobes, refrigerators, hair dryer, coffee maker iron and ironing board. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Bay View Suite
        Our Bayview King Suites offer king bed in the bedroom and a separate living room with a sleeper sofa as well as a private balcony. Each suite has bathrobes, a ironing board with iron, hairdryer, tea/coffee maker, television, telephone and clock radio. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.

        Amenities

        • WiFi
        • Outdoor pool
        • No smoking rooms/facilities
        General
        No smoking rooms/facilities
        Concierge
        Elevators
        Activities
        Outdoor pool
        Fitness center or spa
        Fitness Center
        Spa
        Game room
        Dining
        Restaurant
        24 hour room service
        Room service
        Services
        Business center
        Tour desk
        Conference facilities
        Gift shop
        Internet
        WiFi
        Parking
        Parking

        Recommendations for you

        Customers who viewed Catamaran Resort & Spa also booked these hotels.

        Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
        Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
        Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

        Hotel Map

        32.7901 -117.2534
        Area served
        San Diego, CA
        Nearby airports
        (SAN)San Diego International Airport
        Area description
        On Mission Bay in Pacific Beach with many shops and restaurants.

        Nearby points of interest

        • Pacific Beach: 0.9 mi
        • Belmont Park: 1.4 mi
        • Mission Bay Park: 2.2 mi
        • Sea World: 2.3 mi
        • Hospitality Point: 2.9 mi
        • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.1 mi
        • Bazaar Del Mundo: 4.1 mi
        • Old Town San Diego: 4.1 mi
        • Sunset Cliffs: 4.2 mi
        • Whaley House Museum: 4.3 mi
        • Heritage Park: 4.4 mi
        • Port of San Diego: 5.4 mi
        • Family Fun Center: 5.8 mi
        • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.7 mi
        • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.8 mi
        • Pacific Beach: 0.9 mi
        • Belmont Park: 1.4 mi
        • Mission Bay Park: 2.2 mi
        • Sea World: 2.3 mi
        • Hospitality Point: 2.9 mi
        • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.1 mi
        • Bazaar Del Mundo: 4.1 mi
        • Old Town San Diego: 4.1 mi
        • Sunset Cliffs: 4.2 mi
        • Whaley House Museum: 4.3 mi
        • Heritage Park: 4.4 mi
        • Port of San Diego: 5.4 mi
        • Family Fun Center: 5.8 mi
        • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.7 mi
        • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.8 mi
        • Firehouse Museum: 6.9 mi
        • San Diego Zoo: 7.1 mi
        • San Diego Museum of Man: 7.2 mi
        • San Diego Automotive Museum: 7.2 mi
        • Timken Museum of Art: 7.2 mi
        • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 7.3 mi
        • Botanical Building: 7.3 mi
        • Casa De Balboa: 7.3 mi
        • Spanish Village Art Center: 7.3 mi
        • San Diego Natural History Museum: 7.4 mi
        • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 7.5 mi
        • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 7.5 mi
        • San Diego Convention Center: 7.8 mi
        • Sorrento Valley: 7.8 mi
        • Gaslamp Quarter: 7.9 mi
        • PETCO Park: 8 mi
        • Chula Vista Nature Center: 13.7 mi
        • Legoland: 23.7 mi
        • California Center For The Arts Museum: 24.6 mi
        • Cox Arena: 2,121 mi

        Dining

        Atoll Restaurant
        Open 7 days a week The Atoll restaurant, with its award-winning menu, offers spectacular views. Located directly on the sandy beach of Mission Bay, guest may enjoy quiet dining or relaxed outdoor-patio beachfront seating. Meals Served: 6:30am-11:15am Breakfast 11:30am-2:15pm Lunch 5:30pm-9: 45pm Dinner (Fri & Sat 10:45pm) Specials: Sunday Brunch, voted 'Best Brunch In San Diego' by San Diego Magazine, offers an outstanding presentation that will satisfy the most discriminating of our guests. Weekly from 10 am - 2 pm. Reservations are suggested Price Range: Varies Reservations Required? No Attire: Casual Attire
        Catamaran Spa
        Experience the Catamaran Resort Spa - A World Class Health & Wellness Facility. Featuring: private treatment rooms, ritual room, steam and dry saunas, outdoor whirlpool, Vichy shower, full service salon, and fitness facility. Please call the Spa at (858) 539-8821 for more information.
        Resort Water Sports Rentals
        Located on our white sand beach at the edge of Mission Bay. Our Water Sports Rental Department offers: sailboats, power boats, ocean kayaks, wind surfers, paddleboats.

        Meeting facilities

        Meeting Info
        With fresh ocean breezes and exotic ambience, the Catamaran Resort is an invigorating and creative setting for any group. All fourteen of our Function Rooms are complemented by scenic views, balconies, patios and most of all - our unforgettable bayfront. Inventive, fresh culinary style, and stunning presentations await you. With accommodations from 30 to 450 guests and over 20,000 square feet of contiguous function space, the choices are easy and endless. Our friendly and helpful staff, modern amenities and on-site Business Center ensure every detail is taken care of. Whether it's for business or special occasions, large or small, fancy or more down to earth, the Catamaran Resort is unsurpassed for style, flexibility and comfort.

        Hotel Policies

        Check-in:
        1600
        Check-out:
        1200

        Terms and conditions

        Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

        The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

        Back to menu Return to top

        Guest Reviews (765)

        Ratings and reviews for Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Overall score

        4 / 5
        5.01.0
        57 out of 765
        Amenities:
        3.9
        Room cleanliness:
        4.2
        Hotel staff:
        4.1
        Room comfort:
        4.1
        Location:
        4.5
        Value:
        4

        86% would recommend to a friend.

        Sort by:
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        mary al
        cleveland
        Feb 11, 2014

        great girls get away

        The room was clean and comfortable. Loved the location between bay and Pacific Ocean. lots of stores, restaurants, bars and diners close by.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        4
        Room cleanliness:
        4
        Hotel staff:
        4
        Room comfort:
        4
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        4
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        Shay loves San Diego
        Huntsville, Alabama
        Mar 29, 2013

        Spring Break Trip

        Me and a friend of mine stayed at the Catamaran for 5 nights and 6 days. It was absolutely beautiful. The hotel itself was exotic with a waterfall and animals such as parrots and ducks everywhere. The staff was very friendly. We even got checked in 3 hours prior to check in time. The pool was a good size and there was a hot tub. We also went on a complimentary cruise provided by the hotel. The most important thing was the location of the hotel. It was a 5 minute walk to the beach and it was extremely close to restaurants and shops, which made it very easy for us since we did not have a car. The hotel also provides bike and segway rentals; although a little expensive compared to nearby shops. My only criticism is that things in the hotel are on the expensive side, like the breakfast and drinks by the pool. In a nutshell, the hotel was way better than we expected and I was more than happy we got it for the price we paid.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        4
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        5
        Location:
        4
        Value:
        5
        Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

        The closest and yummiest places were the Beer Garden, Tony Romas, and Ale house.

        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        5
        5.01.0
        Cherri Cox
        Tucson, AZ
        Feb 19, 2013

        Tropical paradise

        I felt like I was on a tropical island getaway, the beds were awesome like sleeping on a cloud. And the staff were all eager to please. They said we want to make your stay as enjoyable as possible and the did. First upgrading our room to a suite upon checking in, then when we asked for extra towels and pillows, even requests to bring up more coffee was responded to swiftly. It was more expensive then we regurly pay but I guess you do get what you pay for and this place is 4 stars in my book!

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        5
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        3
        Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

        Tony Roma's had great food and wonderful service.

        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        5
        5.01.0
        LadyKayT
        Collegeville, PA
        Jan 18, 2013

        Excellent, excellent, excellent

        My roommate and I stayed here for 5 days. The room was beautiful and clean with a gorgeous duck pond outside our sliding door. The hotel grounds were fantastic. Pool, hot tub, and fitness center updated and beautiful! Gardens upon gardens and all the amenities you could want! Location was fantastic! PB and MB in walking distance with public transport and trolley tours available to OB, old town , gas lamp, and more. Concierge Justin was SO helpful and printed bus routes to OB and La Jolla for us as well as painlessly scheduling a trolley tour and shuttle to the airport for us. This place was awesome and we will always stay here when we go to San Diego! We are so thankful for our stay and wish we were still there!!!!

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        5
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        5
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        susanebee
        Lawrence, KS
        Mar 26, 2012

        We just adore a penthouse view...

        We stayed in a 'penthouse' suite and found it to be a good value. They need a few towel racks in the room, but otherwise very comfortable, clean, and fun. Great neighborhood for walking--no car needed.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        4
        Room cleanliness:
        4
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        5
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        5
        Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

        Sneak Joint on Mission Blvd.

        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        3
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        pdx
        May 29, 2011

        great hotel below average room

        the hotel is very nice with beautiful grounds and very friendly staff. our room had some issues: the bathroom had a translucent window that faced into the inner hallway-we felt very exposed the water would not maintain any temperature-supper hot one second and tepid the next. Overalll we liked the hotel but not the room

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        4
        Room cleanliness:
        4
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        2
        Location:
        4
        Value:
        3
        Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

        great breakfast spot on mission beach is Konos-a huge amount of food for a great price also the mexican food place next to the hotel-great! and there is a Starbucks on Mission Blvd near Ralphs grocery store-about 4 blocks away

        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        3
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        pdx
        May 29, 2011

        great hotel below average room

        the hotel is very nice with beautiful grounds and very friendly staff. our room had some issues: the bathroom had a translucent window that faced into the inner hallway-we felt very exposed the water would not maintain any temperature-supper hot one second and tepid the next. Overalll we liked the hotel but not the room

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        4
        Room cleanliness:
        4
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        2
        Location:
        4
        Value:
        3
        Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

        great breakfast spot on mission beach is Konos-a huge amount of food for a great price also the mexican food place next to the hotel-great! and there is a Starbucks on Mission Blvd near Ralphs grocery store-about 4 blocks away

        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        5
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        Reno, NV
        May 22, 2011

        Beautiful place

        My girlfriends and I stayed at the Catamaran for a long weekend. We loved it. The grounds were beautiful, and very clean. We loved the fish and the ducks. We had night caps by the outdoor fire pit and enjoyed the beach during the day.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        5
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        5
        Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

        Great breakfast on Mission Beach at the World Famous Restaurant.

        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        5
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        Reno, NV
        May 22, 2011

        Beautiful place

        My girlfriends and I stayed at the Catamaran for a long weekend. We loved it. The grounds were beautiful, and very clean. We loved the fish and the ducks. We had night caps by the outdoor fire pit and enjoyed the beach during the day.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        5
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        5
        Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

        Great breakfast on Mission Beach at the World Famous Restaurant.

        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        Chicago, IL
        Jan 2, 2011

        nice location

        Parrots and ducks were very cute. Beautiful grounds. Short walk to both ocean and bay. Needs more ice machines in buildings. Ocean beach boardwalk was very nice. Lots of restaurants and bars in walking distance

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        4
        Room cleanliness:
        4
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        4
        Location:
        4
        Value:
        4
        Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

        Old town was very interesting shopping

        Back to menu Return to top