$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

Catamaran Resort & Spa

4 stars
3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
448 reviews
The best resort in San Diego

it felt like I'm in tropical paradise; Very beautiful views and lot's of plants and trees. It was... See full review

  • George Kasabian
  • Sep 7, 2014
Excellent Stay

Beautiful room and good service, great view of the bay! See full review

  • bjerke89
  • May 30, 2014
Waterfront hotel feature spectacular views and lush garden

There's no shortage of things to keep you busy at the Catamaran Resort & Spa. The property gardens house more than 1,000 plants and dozens of exotic birds. Treatment options abound at the Catamaran Spa. The Atoll, the on-site restaurant, serves seafood and a highly-regarded Sunday brunch. Finally, take an evening cruise on the Bahia Belle, the property's historic Mississippi-style sternwheeler (limited schedule).

Highlights
    • Relax and watch the action on Mission Bay
    • One on-site restaurant
    • Lush garden complete with exotic birds
    • Take an evening cruise on the property's Mississippi-style sternwheeler (limited schedule)
    Rooms

    The Catamaran Resort & Spa offers 313 rooms, including 16 suites, spread over five separate two-story buildings. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, iHome docking station and laptop safe. All rooms also feature balconies or patios with views of Mission Bay and the La Jolla coastline. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access.

    Features

    The Catamaran Resort & Spa is all about the sea. The property boasts a dock and marina and operates a historic, Mississippi-style sternwheeler for seasonal cruises. There's a heated pool in the garden courtyard. Rooms with views of Mission Bay available.

    Guests also find other, more land-oriented diversions onsite. The property boasts a state-of-the-art fitness center with free weights and cardio equipment. What's more, guests have access to an on-site video arcade and lush garden, which comprises more than 1,000 different species of plants. The hotel also offers laundry service (fees apply).

    The Atoll, the on-site restaurant, offers traditional meals in a swank environment. At Moray's Lounge, the atmosphere is more casual with TVs airing sporting events.

    Transportation
      • MTS Bus (1 block)
      • San Diego Trolley (5 mi/8 km)
      • San Diego International Airport (8 mi/13 km)
      Attractions
        • Mission Bay Park (4 blocks)
        • Sea World (1.5 mi/2 km)
        • Old Town (5 mi/8 km)
        • Point Loma (6 mi/10 km)
        • San Diego Zoo (10 mi/17 km)
        • Petco Park (12 mi/20 km)
        Business
        • 20,000 square feet of meeting space
        • Indoor and outdoor meeting space
        • 24-hour business center
        Policies and fees
        • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

        This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

        Hotel Map

        32.7901 -117.2534
        Area served
        San Diego, CA
        Nearby airports
        (SAN)San Diego International Airport
        Area description
        On Mission Bay in Pacific Beach with many shops and restaurants.

        Recommendations for you

        Customers who viewed Catamaran Resort & Spa also booked these hotels.

        Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
        Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
        Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

        Catamaran Resort & Spa Rooms

        Studio
        With over 400 square feet of comfortable living space, the studios are furnished with two double beds, breakfast table and chairs. The kitchen is equipped with an electric stove; oven, full size refrigerator, sink and wash area, cooking utensils and place settings for four people. All studios have balconies or patios with lounge chairs and tables. Amenities include bathrobes, irons and ironing board, hair dryer and a coffee maker. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Bayview Room
        Tastefully appointed in a tropical decor with over 400 sq feet and each room opens up to it's own balcony or patio. The Bayview room features one king or two double beds on a "request only basis". All rooms have bathrobes, hair dryer, coffee maker iron and ironing board. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Deluxe Room - 1 king bed
        Our Deluxe King room is tastefully appointed in a tropical decor with over 400 sq feet and opens up to it's own balcony or patio. The Deluxe King room features one king bed. All rooms have bathrobes, hair dryer, coffee maker iron and ironing board. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Deluxe Garden Room
        Tastefully appointed in a tropical decor with over 400 sq feet and each opens up to it's own balcony or patio. The Deluxe Garden room features one king or two double beds on a "request only basis". All rooms have bathrobes, refrigerators, hair dryer, coffee maker iron and ironing board. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Bay View Suite
        Our Bayview King Suites offer king bed in the bedroom and a separate living room with a sleeper sofa as well as a private balcony. Each suite has bathrobes, a ironing board with iron, hairdryer, tea/coffee maker, television, telephone and clock radio. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.

        Amenities

        • WiFi
        • Outdoor pool
        • No smoking rooms/facilities
        General
        No smoking rooms/facilities
        Concierge
        Elevators
        Activities
        Outdoor pool
        Fitness center or spa
        Fitness Center
        Spa
        Game room
        Dining
        Restaurant
        24 hour room service
        Room service
        Services
        Business center
        Tour desk
        Conference facilities
        Gift shop
        Internet
        WiFi
        Parking
        Parking

        Nearby points of interest

        • Pacific Beach: 0.9 mi
        • Belmont Park: 1.4 mi
        • Mission Bay Park: 2.2 mi
        • Sea World: 2.3 mi
        • Hospitality Point: 2.9 mi
        • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.1 mi
        • Bazaar Del Mundo: 4.1 mi
        • Old Town San Diego: 4.1 mi
        • Sunset Cliffs: 4.2 mi
        • Whaley House Museum: 4.3 mi
        • Heritage Park: 4.4 mi
        • Port of San Diego: 5.4 mi
        • Family Fun Center: 5.8 mi
        • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.7 mi
        • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.8 mi
        • Pacific Beach: 0.9 mi
        • Belmont Park: 1.4 mi
        • Mission Bay Park: 2.2 mi
        • Sea World: 2.3 mi
        • Hospitality Point: 2.9 mi
        • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.1 mi
        • Bazaar Del Mundo: 4.1 mi
        • Old Town San Diego: 4.1 mi
        • Sunset Cliffs: 4.2 mi
        • Whaley House Museum: 4.3 mi
        • Heritage Park: 4.4 mi
        • Port of San Diego: 5.4 mi
        • Family Fun Center: 5.8 mi
        • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.7 mi
        • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.8 mi
        • Firehouse Museum: 6.9 mi
        • San Diego Zoo: 7.1 mi
        • San Diego Museum of Man: 7.2 mi
        • San Diego Automotive Museum: 7.2 mi
        • Timken Museum of Art: 7.2 mi
        • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 7.3 mi
        • Botanical Building: 7.3 mi
        • Casa De Balboa: 7.3 mi
        • Spanish Village Art Center: 7.3 mi
        • San Diego Natural History Museum: 7.4 mi
        • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 7.5 mi
        • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 7.5 mi
        • San Diego Convention Center: 7.8 mi
        • Sorrento Valley: 7.8 mi
        • Gaslamp Quarter: 7.9 mi
        • PETCO Park: 8 mi
        • Chula Vista Nature Center: 13.7 mi
        • Legoland: 23.7 mi
        • California Center For The Arts Museum: 24.6 mi
        • Cox Arena: 2,121 mi

        Dining

        Atoll Restaurant
        Open 7 days a week The Atoll restaurant, with its award-winning menu, offers spectacular views. Located directly on the sandy beach of Mission Bay, guest may enjoy quiet dining or relaxed outdoor-patio beachfront seating. Meals Served: 6:30am-11:15am Breakfast 11:30am-2:15pm Lunch 5:30pm-9: 45pm Dinner (Fri & Sat 10:45pm) Specials: Sunday Brunch, voted 'Best Brunch In San Diego' by San Diego Magazine, offers an outstanding presentation that will satisfy the most discriminating of our guests. Weekly from 10 am - 2 pm. Reservations are suggested Price Range: Varies Reservations Required? No Attire: Casual Attire
        Catamaran Spa
        Experience the Catamaran Resort Spa - A World Class Health & Wellness Facility. Featuring: private treatment rooms, ritual room, steam and dry saunas, outdoor whirlpool, Vichy shower, full service salon, and fitness facility. Please call the Spa at (858) 539-8821 for more information.
        Resort Water Sports Rentals
        Located on our white sand beach at the edge of Mission Bay. Our Water Sports Rental Department offers: sailboats, power boats, ocean kayaks, wind surfers, paddleboats.

        Meeting facilities

        Meeting Info
        With fresh ocean breezes and exotic ambience, the Catamaran Resort is an invigorating and creative setting for any group. All fourteen of our Function Rooms are complemented by scenic views, balconies, patios and most of all - our unforgettable bayfront. Inventive, fresh culinary style, and stunning presentations await you. With accommodations from 30 to 450 guests and over 20,000 square feet of contiguous function space, the choices are easy and endless. Our friendly and helpful staff, modern amenities and on-site Business Center ensure every detail is taken care of. Whether it's for business or special occasions, large or small, fancy or more down to earth, the Catamaran Resort is unsurpassed for style, flexibility and comfort.

        Hotel Policies

        Check-in:
        1600
        Check-out:
        1200

        Terms and conditions

        Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

        The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

        Back to menu Return to top

        Guest Reviews (448)

        Ratings and reviews for Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Overall score

        4.1 / 5
        5.01.0
        183 out of 448
        Amenities:
        4.2
        Room cleanliness:
        4.3
        Hotel staff:
        4.4
        Room comfort:
        4.1
        Location:
        4.7
        Value:
        4

        91% would recommend to a friend.

        Sort by:
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        3
        5.01.0
        Snmom
        Chicago,il
        Aug 6, 2014

        Bay and ocean

        Room was dated, but clean. Bay had a lot of activities for rent, which was great. It was hard to get a chair. I think it's open to the public, so anyone can use the chairs. All chairs are removed promptly at 5 pm. Kids enjoyed movie night at the beach. We would hang out at morreys while they watched. Ocean was right across the street and kids loved boogie boarding there. We picked up chairs/towels at target. The first night we stayed, the pool was cloudy and bathroom toilets were overflowing, so we stayed away from that area. People were really friendly.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        3
        Room cleanliness:
        3
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        3
        Location:
        4
        Value:
        3
        Dining tip: Not Applicable

        Check out hoddads for burgers and world famous for happy hour.

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        Dodief
        Rolling Hills, CA
        Jun 19, 2014

        Grear family getaway

        Loved that there were two beaches, one on the bay and one on the ocean for all types of swimmers. Nearby good breakfast places.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        4
        Room comfort:
        4
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        3
        Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

        Breakfast at a nearby casual restaurant in a strip mall was good, huge and inexpensive for our family of 18.

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        Uncle2
        LA
        May 29, 2014

        good hotel

        clean room, good view, proff. staff, nice heated pool, close to market and resturants

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        3
        Room cleanliness:
        4
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        4
        Location:
        4
        Value:
        3
        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        xadzax
        SanDiego
        Mar 22, 2014

        Great Family Hotel

        This is a great hotel for kids. There are animal 'ambassadors' all around the grounds such as birds, coi fish, ducks etc. which our son loved, and the grounds are filled with water features and plants. Beach access is a short walk away, and the staff were very accomodating. Our only issue was that we had a room next to the elevator so it was a bit noisier than we'd have liked.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        4
        Room cleanliness:
        4
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        4
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        4
        Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

        Ralph's grocery is a few blocks down the road which has nearly everything you could need for supplies and food.

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        5
        5.01.0
        a Husker traveler
        nebraska
        Mar 14, 2014

        Great spring break

        Overall experience was very good. Nice location- very close to pacific ocean. Enjoyed the bay and equipment rental. good places to eat within walking distance. Only one suggestion for improvement- accessibility with room key through sliding glass door. Room had 2 doors- main door with key card access and sliding glass door that accessed pool and arcade, but had no ability to lock sliding glass door from outside. Beautiful grounds. Ask about the hanging seed plants at the main door- very unique.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        4
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        4
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        5
        Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

        walk about 6 blocks and take the bus to Sea World- $2.25 a person versus taxi ride $20 + tip one direction. For 2 of us- $9 versus $40+ is no brainer.

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        5
        5.01.0
        Elizabeth Palmer
        Indpls, In
        Feb 27, 2014

        Sister's get away

        We loved the staff, the room, the view, but mostly the grounds it's beautiful. We spoke to our concierge Justin daily for things to do, places to eat, transportation, He never let us down. Very friendly step by step instructions we never got lost. He's really cute too!

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        4
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        5
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        4
        Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

        Cocktail cruise was very fun had a blast.

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        5
        5.01.0
        Maura J
        MN
        Feb 25, 2014

        Great vacation for family

        The staff was excellent. They were very accomodating. I will return.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        4
        Room cleanliness:
        4
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        5
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        4
        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        QAnne
        Seattle, WA
        Feb 24, 2014

        Very courteous service

        I was extremely impressed by how friendly and courteous the staff was throughout our visit. This included not only the front desk and spa staff but also maids/groundskeepers. It made for a very pleasant and relaxing stay. We'll be back!

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        4
        Room cleanliness:
        4
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        4
        Location:
        4
        Value:
        4
        Entertainment tip: In Hotel

        Our family of four rented bikes from the hut in front of the hotel. They gave us a bulk discount which brought the price into line with the "Cheap Rentals" place about half a mile to the south.

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        Miss Ardizoni
        Orange County, California
        Jan 6, 2014

        Great Family Stay

        I booked a night to stay with my son and boyfriend. It is literally right across the street from the beach. Just steps away from restaurants. About 20min away from down town. Its in a perfect location. The hotel itself has birds and a garden that my son just loved. They let us feed the ducks and my son had a field day with that. The only thing that bothered me was they clip the wings of the birds so they won't fly away. I would rather the birds not be there at all or have a net around their habitat just so they can fly freely. We requested to stay in a non smoking room. It smelled a bit weird but it was very clean and the cable selection was great. I would definitely book at the Cantamaran Hotel again.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        3
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        4
        Room comfort:
        3
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        3
        Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

        it is a breakfast and lunch place. walk left of the hotel about 1 mile

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        3
        5.01.0
        cpmp
        Wisconsin
        Aug 19, 2013

        Vacation

        The staff was great, very friendly and helpful, maid service exceptional. Hotel was very noisy, adults coming home in the middle of the night and sitting drunk and loud out on their patios for hours. Music playing by pool at 0700 didn't help either. We are tired! Pretty hotel and location has easy access to everything.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        3
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        3
        Location:
        3
        Value:
        1
        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Back to menu Return to top

        Change search