$299 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 13, 2014 Check-out: Aug 15, 2014

Catamaran Resort & Spa

4 stars
3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
765 reviews
Excellent Stay

Beautiful room and good service, great view of the bay! See full review

  • bjerke89
  • May 30, 2014
Great spring break

Overall experience was very good. Nice location- very close to pacific ocean. Enjoyed the bay and... See full review

  • a Husker traveler
  • Mar 14, 2014
Waterfront hotel feature spectacular views and lush garden

There's no shortage of things to keep you busy at the Catamaran Resort & Spa. The property gardens house more than 1,000 plants and dozens of exotic birds. Treatment options abound at the Catamaran Spa. The Atoll, the on-site restaurant, serves seafood and a highly-regarded Sunday brunch. Finally, take an evening cruise on the Bahia Belle, the property's historic Mississippi-style sternwheeler (limited schedule).

Highlights
    • Relax and watch the action on Mission Bay
    • One on-site restaurant
    • Lush garden complete with exotic birds
    • Take an evening cruise on the property's Mississippi-style sternwheeler (limited schedule)
    Rooms

    The Catamaran Resort & Spa offers 313 rooms, including 16 suites, spread over five separate two-story buildings. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, iHome docking station and laptop safe. All rooms also feature balconies or patios with views of Mission Bay and the La Jolla coastline. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access.

    Features

    The Catamaran Resort & Spa is all about the sea. The property boasts a dock and marina and operates a historic, Mississippi-style sternwheeler for seasonal cruises. There's a heated pool in the garden courtyard. Rooms with views of Mission Bay available.

    Guests also find other, more land-oriented diversions onsite. The property boasts a state-of-the-art fitness center with free weights and cardio equipment. What's more, guests have access to an on-site video arcade and lush garden, which comprises more than 1,000 different species of plants. The hotel also offers laundry service (fees apply).

    The Atoll, the on-site restaurant, offers traditional meals in a swank environment. At Moray's Lounge, the atmosphere is more casual with TVs airing sporting events.

    Transportation
      • MTS Bus (1 block)
      • San Diego Trolley (5 mi/8 km)
      • San Diego International Airport (8 mi/13 km)
      Attractions
        • Mission Bay Park (4 blocks)
        • Sea World (1.5 mi/2 km)
        • Old Town (5 mi/8 km)
        • Point Loma (6 mi/10 km)
        • San Diego Zoo (10 mi/17 km)
        • Petco Park (12 mi/20 km)
        Business
        • 20,000 square feet of meeting space
        • Indoor and outdoor meeting space
        • 24-hour business center
        Policies and fees
        • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

        This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

        Catamaran Resort & Spa Rooms

        Studio
        With over 400 square feet of comfortable living space, the studios are furnished with two double beds, breakfast table and chairs. The kitchen is equipped with an electric stove; oven, full size refrigerator, sink and wash area, cooking utensils and place settings for four people. All studios have balconies or patios with lounge chairs and tables. Amenities include bathrobes, irons and ironing board, hair dryer and a coffee maker. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Bayview Room
        Tastefully appointed in a tropical decor with over 400 sq feet and each room opens up to it's own balcony or patio. The Bayview room features one king or two double beds on a "request only basis". All rooms have bathrobes, hair dryer, coffee maker iron and ironing board. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Deluxe Room - 1 king bed
        Our Deluxe King room is tastefully appointed in a tropical decor with over 400 sq feet and opens up to it's own balcony or patio. The Deluxe King room features one king bed. All rooms have bathrobes, hair dryer, coffee maker iron and ironing board. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Deluxe Garden Room
        Tastefully appointed in a tropical decor with over 400 sq feet and each opens up to it's own balcony or patio. The Deluxe Garden room features one king or two double beds on a "request only basis". All rooms have bathrobes, refrigerators, hair dryer, coffee maker iron and ironing board. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Bay View Suite
        Our Bayview King Suites offer king bed in the bedroom and a separate living room with a sleeper sofa as well as a private balcony. Each suite has bathrobes, a ironing board with iron, hairdryer, tea/coffee maker, television, telephone and clock radio. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.

        Amenities

        • WiFi
        • Outdoor pool
        • No smoking rooms/facilities
        General
        No smoking rooms/facilities
        Concierge
        Elevators
        Activities
        Outdoor pool
        Fitness center or spa
        Fitness Center
        Spa
        Game room
        Dining
        Restaurant
        24 hour room service
        Room service
        Services
        Business center
        Tour desk
        Conference facilities
        Gift shop
        Internet
        WiFi
        Parking
        Parking

        Recommendations for you

        Customers who viewed Catamaran Resort & Spa also booked these hotels.

        Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
        Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
        Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

        Hotel Map

        32.7901 -117.2534
        Area served
        San Diego, CA
        Nearby airports
        (SAN)San Diego International Airport
        Area description
        On Mission Bay in Pacific Beach with many shops and restaurants.

        Nearby points of interest

        • Pacific Beach: 0.9 mi
        • Belmont Park: 1.4 mi
        • Mission Bay Park: 2.2 mi
        • Sea World: 2.3 mi
        • Hospitality Point: 2.9 mi
        • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.1 mi
        • Bazaar Del Mundo: 4.1 mi
        • Old Town San Diego: 4.1 mi
        • Sunset Cliffs: 4.2 mi
        • Whaley House Museum: 4.3 mi
        • Heritage Park: 4.4 mi
        • Port of San Diego: 5.4 mi
        • Family Fun Center: 5.8 mi
        • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.7 mi
        • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.8 mi
        • Pacific Beach: 0.9 mi
        • Belmont Park: 1.4 mi
        • Mission Bay Park: 2.2 mi
        • Sea World: 2.3 mi
        • Hospitality Point: 2.9 mi
        • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.1 mi
        • Bazaar Del Mundo: 4.1 mi
        • Old Town San Diego: 4.1 mi
        • Sunset Cliffs: 4.2 mi
        • Whaley House Museum: 4.3 mi
        • Heritage Park: 4.4 mi
        • Port of San Diego: 5.4 mi
        • Family Fun Center: 5.8 mi
        • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.7 mi
        • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.8 mi
        • Firehouse Museum: 6.9 mi
        • San Diego Zoo: 7.1 mi
        • San Diego Museum of Man: 7.2 mi
        • San Diego Automotive Museum: 7.2 mi
        • Timken Museum of Art: 7.2 mi
        • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 7.3 mi
        • Botanical Building: 7.3 mi
        • Casa De Balboa: 7.3 mi
        • Spanish Village Art Center: 7.3 mi
        • San Diego Natural History Museum: 7.4 mi
        • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 7.5 mi
        • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 7.5 mi
        • San Diego Convention Center: 7.8 mi
        • Sorrento Valley: 7.8 mi
        • Gaslamp Quarter: 7.9 mi
        • PETCO Park: 8 mi
        • Chula Vista Nature Center: 13.7 mi
        • Legoland: 23.7 mi
        • California Center For The Arts Museum: 24.6 mi
        • Cox Arena: 2,121 mi

        Dining

        Atoll Restaurant
        Open 7 days a week The Atoll restaurant, with its award-winning menu, offers spectacular views. Located directly on the sandy beach of Mission Bay, guest may enjoy quiet dining or relaxed outdoor-patio beachfront seating. Meals Served: 6:30am-11:15am Breakfast 11:30am-2:15pm Lunch 5:30pm-9: 45pm Dinner (Fri & Sat 10:45pm) Specials: Sunday Brunch, voted 'Best Brunch In San Diego' by San Diego Magazine, offers an outstanding presentation that will satisfy the most discriminating of our guests. Weekly from 10 am - 2 pm. Reservations are suggested Price Range: Varies Reservations Required? No Attire: Casual Attire
        Catamaran Spa
        Experience the Catamaran Resort Spa - A World Class Health & Wellness Facility. Featuring: private treatment rooms, ritual room, steam and dry saunas, outdoor whirlpool, Vichy shower, full service salon, and fitness facility. Please call the Spa at (858) 539-8821 for more information.
        Resort Water Sports Rentals
        Located on our white sand beach at the edge of Mission Bay. Our Water Sports Rental Department offers: sailboats, power boats, ocean kayaks, wind surfers, paddleboats.

        Meeting facilities

        Meeting Info
        With fresh ocean breezes and exotic ambience, the Catamaran Resort is an invigorating and creative setting for any group. All fourteen of our Function Rooms are complemented by scenic views, balconies, patios and most of all - our unforgettable bayfront. Inventive, fresh culinary style, and stunning presentations await you. With accommodations from 30 to 450 guests and over 20,000 square feet of contiguous function space, the choices are easy and endless. Our friendly and helpful staff, modern amenities and on-site Business Center ensure every detail is taken care of. Whether it's for business or special occasions, large or small, fancy or more down to earth, the Catamaran Resort is unsurpassed for style, flexibility and comfort.

        Hotel Policies

        Check-in:
        1600
        Check-out:
        1200

        Terms and conditions

        Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

        The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

        Back to menu Return to top

        Guest Reviews (765)

        Ratings and reviews for Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Overall score

        4.1 / 5
        5.01.0
        765 out of 765
        Amenities:
        4.1
        Room cleanliness:
        4.2
        Hotel staff:
        4.3
        Room comfort:
        4.1
        Location:
        4.7
        Value:
        4

        88% would recommend to a friend.

        Sort by:
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        5
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        USA
        May 28, 2007

        Great family location

        My family was really happy that we could either go to the Pacific Beach or go to the small inlet beach at the Catamaran. Our romms were very well equipped, especially for a long stay. We were also close to Sea World and Old Town San Diego, places our family wanted to visit.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        4
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        5
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        5
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        New Jersey
        Aug 29, 2009

        San Diego

        Just walking around the hotel was beautiful.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        4
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        5
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        5
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        5
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        New Jersey
        Aug 27, 2009

        Beautiful, tropical full service resort

        This hotel is located directly on Mission Bay and about 2 blocks from the ocean with walking distance to many restaurants, clubs, shopping, etc. This resort is landscaped like a tropical paradise w/birds, fish, streams and a wide variety of tropical plants. Just sitting by the pool or bay is very relaxing. Rooms in the tower were somewhat dated in appearance but clean. We will definitely return here.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Room cleanliness:
        4
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        4
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        5
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        5
        5.01.0
        Ricky's Girl
        Birmingham, AL, USA
        Jan 19, 2012

        Too good to share

        The service was wonderful. The food was fabulous. The staff was friendly and helpful. It was located on a bay which was perfect for sailing or windsurfing. The outdoor seating at the restraunt had a beautiful view and was soo relaxing. The room was very large and very well maintained. The hotel decor was a little dated but with all the positives, who cares.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        5
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        5
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        5
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        Reno, NV
        May 22, 2011

        Beautiful place

        My girlfriends and I stayed at the Catamaran for a long weekend. We loved it. The grounds were beautiful, and very clean. We loved the fish and the ducks. We had night caps by the outdoor fire pit and enjoyed the beach during the day.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        5
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        5
        Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

        Great breakfast on Mission Beach at the World Famous Restaurant.

        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        5
        5.01.0
        Mr. and Mrs. Travelers
        Business
        Temecula California
        Sep 12, 2013

        Next best place to Hawaii

        I haven't one negative thing to say about this hotel. The grounds were absolutely beautiful. You felt like you were in paradise. They had tropical gardens, koi ponds, and tropical birds. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My husband and I went there for a vacation retreat with my husbands company and decided to stay an extra night so we could go to the Charger Football game the next day. Also I want to mention you could walk to the boardwalk along the beach in Mission Bay San Diego. We definitely will stay there again.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        5
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        5
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

        Old Town Mexico is a fun place to shop and have a good Mexican dinner

        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        5
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        Tucson, AZ
        Oct 20, 2009

        Fabulous Family Getaway!

        Absolutely wonderful! Couldn't have asked for a better locatio, and the surroundings were beautiful. Staff went out of their way to help and make our stay a wonderful time.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        5
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        5
        Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

        The birds and water features were wonderful. Fantastic views, extremely beautiful.

        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        5
        5.01.0
        cappu99
        MA...Boston
        Feb 26, 2012

        perfect family vacation

        The views in the Bayfront suite were spectactular!! The room was very large and also had a walk in closet. My 17 year old slept on the pull out sofa and said it was not very comfortable!! My wife and I slept in the king bed and it was very comfortable. The location is great, walking distance to beach, bay and anything else you would need. Attractions were all within 15 minutes. I think it was a great value for the price we paid!!! I would book this room again!!

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        4
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        5
        Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

        Firehouse was great.......Tuesday is taco's for $2- fish tacos were great. Alehouse was also great food. Tony Roma's was a disappointment!!! Also try Wordl Famous...great views had breakfast 3 mornings great food.

        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        5
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        San Diego, CA
        Mar 5, 2010

        Peaceful

        This is the best location in the San Diego area. We shuttled from the airport to the Catamaran. During the week, we walked to Belmont park and the boardwalks. Purchased groceries from Ralph's. Took the city transit via bus and trolley to the Mexican border, Imperial Beach and La Jolla. Ate at Mission Cafe and Olive on Mission Boulevard. The conciere at the Catamaran negotiated a competitive rate for a car rental for a day trip and saved us another $18 by having us use the valet parking overnight! The staff assisted in providing safety pins to make a quick repair on a strap. Rented a sailboat across from the Catamaran for four hours. Enjoyed the view from the 9th floor in the tower. The staff even washed our dishes from the kitchenette area. Our six days felt like a month long getaway with the friendly hospitality of the staff and residents of San Diego!

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        5
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        5
        Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

        Ralph's grocery store-3 blocks. City bus-$5 day pass good for bus-trolley transfers all day-very efficient. Main busline in front of the Catamaran.

        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        5
        5.01.0
        John from Missouri
        Brookfield, MO.
        Dec 27, 2010

        Superb hotel with one minor exception...

        The hotel room was spacious, clean and comfortable, though the heater needed getting used to. I had a couple of minor problems with the room, reported them and they were resolved before I returned that night. The furniture could have used a little spiffing up (one wicker chair had a hole in the back and the sink was as cracked as California) but none of this detracted from the pleasure of my stay. If I had any complaint it was that the room did not have a refrigerator to keep my personal drinks cold and the hotel charged $13.00/night for parking. For the price I paid for the room, that was a bit ludicrous. Not to mention that there was no mention of an additional parking fee in the hotel description (though I was not surprised by the addition). The hotel's proximity to Pacific Beach and Mission Bay was a definite plus, even in this cold season.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        4
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        5
        Back to menu Return to top