$132 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Catamaran Resort & Spa

4 stars
3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
454 reviews
Catamaran Resort

After visiting San Diego 5 years in a row and staying at 5 different hotels, we've decided that we... See full review

  • PaulandLisa
  • Oct 9, 2014
Great stay

I had a great time here, I'm definitely going back See full review

  • Just1
  • Oct 8, 2014
Waterfront hotel feature spectacular views and lush garden

There's no shortage of things to keep you busy at the Catamaran Resort & Spa. The property gardens house more than 1,000 plants and dozens of exotic birds. Treatment options abound at the Catamaran Spa. The Atoll, the on-site restaurant, serves seafood and a highly-regarded Sunday brunch. Finally, take an evening cruise on the Bahia Belle, the property's historic Mississippi-style sternwheeler (limited schedule).

Highlights
    • Relax and watch the action on Mission Bay
    • One on-site restaurant
    • Lush garden complete with exotic birds
    • Take an evening cruise on the property's Mississippi-style sternwheeler (limited schedule)
    Rooms

    The Catamaran Resort & Spa offers 313 rooms, including 16 suites, spread over five separate two-story buildings. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, iHome docking station and laptop safe. All rooms also feature balconies or patios with views of Mission Bay and the La Jolla coastline. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access.

    Features

    The Catamaran Resort & Spa is all about the sea. The property boasts a dock and marina and operates a historic, Mississippi-style sternwheeler for seasonal cruises. There's a heated pool in the garden courtyard. Rooms with views of Mission Bay available.

    Guests also find other, more land-oriented diversions onsite. The property boasts a state-of-the-art fitness center with free weights and cardio equipment. What's more, guests have access to an on-site video arcade and lush garden, which comprises more than 1,000 different species of plants. The hotel also offers laundry service (fees apply).

    The Atoll, the on-site restaurant, offers traditional meals in a swank environment. At Moray's Lounge, the atmosphere is more casual with TVs airing sporting events.

    Transportation
      • MTS Bus (1 block)
      • San Diego Trolley (5 mi/8 km)
      • San Diego International Airport (8 mi/13 km)
      Attractions
        • Mission Bay Park (4 blocks)
        • Sea World (1.5 mi/2 km)
        • Old Town (5 mi/8 km)
        • Point Loma (6 mi/10 km)
        • San Diego Zoo (10 mi/17 km)
        • Petco Park (12 mi/20 km)
        Business
        • 20,000 square feet of meeting space
        • Indoor and outdoor meeting space
        • 24-hour business center
        Policies and fees
        • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

        This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

        Recommendations for you

        Customers who viewed Catamaran Resort & Spa also booked these hotels.

        Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
        Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
        Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

        Catamaran Resort & Spa Rooms

        Studio
        With over 400 square feet of comfortable living space, the studios are furnished with two double beds, breakfast table and chairs. The kitchen is equipped with an electric stove; oven, full size refrigerator, sink and wash area, cooking utensils and place settings for four people. All studios have balconies or patios with lounge chairs and tables. Amenities include bathrobes, irons and ironing board, hair dryer and a coffee maker. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Bayview Room
        Tastefully appointed in a tropical decor with over 400 sq feet and each room opens up to it's own balcony or patio. The Bayview room features one king or two double beds on a "request only basis". All rooms have bathrobes, hair dryer, coffee maker iron and ironing board. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Deluxe Room - 1 king bed
        Our Deluxe King room is tastefully appointed in a tropical decor with over 400 sq feet and opens up to it's own balcony or patio. The Deluxe King room features one king bed. All rooms have bathrobes, hair dryer, coffee maker iron and ironing board. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Deluxe Garden Room
        Tastefully appointed in a tropical decor with over 400 sq feet and each opens up to it's own balcony or patio. The Deluxe Garden room features one king or two double beds on a "request only basis". All rooms have bathrobes, refrigerators, hair dryer, coffee maker iron and ironing board. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Bay View Suite
        Our Bayview King Suites offer king bed in the bedroom and a separate living room with a sleeper sofa as well as a private balcony. Each suite has bathrobes, a ironing board with iron, hairdryer, tea/coffee maker, television, telephone and clock radio. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.

        Amenities

        • WiFi
        • Outdoor pool
        • No smoking rooms/facilities
        General
        No smoking rooms/facilities
        Concierge
        Elevators
        Activities
        Outdoor pool
        Fitness center or spa
        Fitness Center
        Spa
        Game room
        Dining
        Restaurant
        24 hour room service
        Room service
        Services
        Business center
        Tour desk
        Conference facilities
        Gift shop
        Internet
        WiFi
        Parking
        Parking

        Nearby points of interest

        • Pacific Beach: 0.9 mi
        • Belmont Park: 1.4 mi
        • Mission Bay Park: 2.2 mi
        • Hospitality Point: 2.9 mi
        • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.1 mi
        • Bazaar Del Mundo: 4.1 mi
        • Old Town San Diego: 4.1 mi
        • Sunset Cliffs: 4.2 mi
        • Whaley House Museum: 4.3 mi
        • Heritage Park: 4.4 mi
        • Port of San Diego: 5.4 mi
        • Family Fun Center: 5.8 mi
        • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.7 mi
        • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.8 mi
        • Firehouse Museum: 6.9 mi
        • Pacific Beach: 0.9 mi
        • Belmont Park: 1.4 mi
        • Mission Bay Park: 2.2 mi
        • Hospitality Point: 2.9 mi
        • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.1 mi
        • Bazaar Del Mundo: 4.1 mi
        • Old Town San Diego: 4.1 mi
        • Sunset Cliffs: 4.2 mi
        • Whaley House Museum: 4.3 mi
        • Heritage Park: 4.4 mi
        • Port of San Diego: 5.4 mi
        • Family Fun Center: 5.8 mi
        • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.7 mi
        • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.8 mi
        • Firehouse Museum: 6.9 mi
        • San Diego Zoo: 7.1 mi
        • San Diego Museum of Man: 7.2 mi
        • San Diego Automotive Museum: 7.2 mi
        • Timken Museum of Art: 7.2 mi
        • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 7.3 mi
        • Botanical Building: 7.3 mi
        • Casa De Balboa: 7.3 mi
        • Spanish Village Art Center: 7.3 mi
        • San Diego Natural History Museum: 7.4 mi
        • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 7.5 mi
        • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 7.5 mi
        • San Diego Convention Center: 7.8 mi
        • Sorrento Valley: 7.8 mi
        • PETCO Park: 8 mi
        • Chula Vista Nature Center: 13.7 mi
        • Legoland: 23.7 mi
        • California Center For The Arts Museum: 24.6 mi
        • Cox Arena: 2,121 mi

        Meeting facilities

        Meeting Info
        With fresh ocean breezes and exotic ambience, the Catamaran Resort is an invigorating and creative setting for any group. All fourteen of our Function Rooms are complemented by scenic views, balconies, patios and most of all - our unforgettable bayfront. Inventive, fresh culinary style, and stunning presentations await you. With accommodations from 30 to 450 guests and over 20,000 square feet of contiguous function space, the choices are easy and endless. Our friendly and helpful staff, modern amenities and on-site Business Center ensure every detail is taken care of. Whether it's for business or special occasions, large or small, fancy or more down to earth, the Catamaran Resort is unsurpassed for style, flexibility and comfort.

        Dining

        Atoll Restaurant
        Open 7 days a week The Atoll restaurant, with its award-winning menu, offers spectacular views. Located directly on the sandy beach of Mission Bay, guest may enjoy quiet dining or relaxed outdoor-patio beachfront seating. Meals Served: 6:30am-11:15am Breakfast 11:30am-2:15pm Lunch 5:30pm-9: 45pm Dinner (Fri & Sat 10:45pm) Specials: Sunday Brunch, voted 'Best Brunch In San Diego' by San Diego Magazine, offers an outstanding presentation that will satisfy the most discriminating of our guests. Weekly from 10 am - 2 pm. Reservations are suggested Price Range: Varies Reservations Required? No Attire: Casual Attire
        Catamaran Spa
        Experience the Catamaran Resort Spa - A World Class Health & Wellness Facility. Featuring: private treatment rooms, ritual room, steam and dry saunas, outdoor whirlpool, Vichy shower, full service salon, and fitness facility. Please call the Spa at (858) 539-8821 for more information.
        Resort Water Sports Rentals
        Located on our white sand beach at the edge of Mission Bay. Our Water Sports Rental Department offers: sailboats, power boats, ocean kayaks, wind surfers, paddleboats.

        Hotel Policies

        Check-in:
        1600
        Check-out:
        1200

        Terms and conditions

        Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

        The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

        Back to menu Return to top

        Guest Reviews (454)

        Ratings and reviews for Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Overall score

        4.1 / 5
        5.01.0
        454 out of 454
        Amenities:
        4.1
        Room cleanliness:
        4.2
        Hotel staff:
        4.3
        Room comfort:
        4.1
        Location:
        4.7
        Value:
        4

        88% would recommend to a friend.

        Sort by:
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        1
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        Business
        Buckeye AZ
        Jun 7, 2010

        Catamaran don't do it.

        We went to this resort for our 30th wedding anniversary and what a disappointment.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        1
        Room cleanliness:
        1
        Hotel staff:
        2
        Room comfort:
        1
        Location:
        1
        Value:
        1
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

        tonys -excellent food

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        1
        5.01.0
        Big Stock10
        Business
        Modesto, CA, USA
        Mar 31, 2012

        HHHHHHorrible Experience!!!

        Reserved a King Garden suite through this site. Resort changed reservation to a 2 double bed room. Explanation was because it was booked through a 3rd party, so there is no guarantee of room type... why give the choices during booking if reservation through travel companies won't be honored?!! I'm about 6' and around 230lbs and they expect my wife and I to comfortably share a double bed or sleep in separate beds during a celebratory trip; I DON"T THINK SO!!! The room itself was a regular 2 bed room with a rain forest outside of a 3X8 ft patio... Not impressed, definitely not worth the extra $$. The only accommodation that was made on our behalf was a returned charge of the $13.00/ day parking fee (that we weren't told about until after signing in). Because of this experience I will not ever return to this "resort" again and because of the lack of shared information on honoring reservations and parking fees, I may possibly never book a trip through this site either.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        2
        Room cleanliness:
        1
        Hotel staff:
        2
        Room comfort:
        1
        Location:
        4
        Value:
        1
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        1
        5.01.0
        Roxanne's Mom
        Business
        Imperial County, California
        Aug 12, 2012

        Overnight Stay Underwhelming!!

        The room assigned to us was located in a noisy spot directly across the elevator and overlooking a parking garage. The bedding was too heavy for summer time. The sheets felt dirty and the bed was uncomfortable/saggy. The pillows were too soft!! The towels in the bathroom were thin--not 4 star quality at all. We could hear plumbing from other rooms. Bottled water left in the room not complimentary. Really? For a 4 star hotel? The grounds of the hotel were pretty with flowers and ducks. The location of the hotel was what we wanted, but the room itself was not. The air quality also felt stale. When the ac was turned on, it was noisy as well. We will not recommend this hotel to anyone and it certainly was not worth the money paid for the room. We felt like we overpaid and wish we could get a partial refund.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        3
        Room cleanliness:
        2
        Hotel staff:
        2
        Room comfort:
        1
        Location:
        4
        Value:
        1
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        1
        5.01.0
        Major Disappointment
        Business
        Morgantown WV
        Jan 5, 2010

        Overpriced for what you get

        For the price we were charged for this room it was very dirty, toliet was broken and would not shut off, no wash clothes, room carpet smelled really bad and musty. I would never recommend this place to anyone.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        2
        Room cleanliness:
        1
        Hotel staff:
        3
        Room comfort:
        1
        Location:
        2
        Value:
        1
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        1
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        Business
        Auburn, Indiana
        Feb 15, 2011

        Not what we were told by Hotel

        Room was not ready when we arrived @ 4 pm. I had called the hotel prior to booking to ask for a handicap room as I am disabled. They guaranteed me no problem, and to just note it on the reservation which is what we did The agent even gave us his Name for the guarantee. We also booked a room with an Ocean view. Well what we got was a room as far away from the center of the hotel as possible right next to the maintance shack with workers all day long looking and talking in our window. NO OCEAN VIEW at all. NOT A HANDICAP ROOM at all. [...]The bed was a king bed as we had asked for, but the mattress was very bad and very old aand with a big dip in the middle. We had Maintenace workers banging and talking all around us very early in the morning@ 6am thru 7pm all day long. Our room was not cleaned Daily until around 4 pm and twice it was never cleaned. This Hotel visit was one of the WORST experiences I have ever had traveling. We were very glad to leave the facility. The Award winning resturant they claim to have was also the Most Overpriced and Poor service Eatery we had the entire experience of in San Diego. A Breakfast buffet that cost us $39 with 4 items on it that were un-eatable, with food sitting in domes with NO HEAT and were ice cold and had undercooked food in them. Utensils which had Raw food laying along the outside of the Domes. If We had not ordered from the menu as well we would have left without paying. When I complained I got a Sorry we will look into it, and they never even looked at it. I told several other guest that were going to eat the Buffet and they also compained or left and the Staff did nothing to change the food. The Health Dept should have been notified, but this was our last morning in the Hotel and we just paid and left. The Hotel has nice amenities but is VERY POORLY run by Management, and that was expressed to us by Employees working for them several times. We would call the Desk to ask about special functions at the Hotel and they would tell us what time they were going to happen and come on down and get tickets which we did, no big deal, but then when we went to the function ( Bella Cruise Ship) we were told it was not running and that everyone knew it. There was 4 other couples that were there with us that were told the same thing that were very upset that they also had planned around the cruise and told it was OK only to find out the Ship was not running due to LOW attendance by Customers.We lost an entire evening of the vacation because of this This Hotel [...] should be looked into so other Guest dont have to experience the same things we have, along with other Guest, we talked to that were disappointed as well !!

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        3
        Room cleanliness:
        2
        Hotel staff:
        1
        Room comfort:
        1
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        2
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Dining tip: In Hotel

        Stay away from the IN house Atoll Resturant, as the only Award they might have received would have been a Local Health Dept Violation.

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        1
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        Business
        Salt Lake City, Utah
        Jun 5, 2009

        Not the experience we expected

        We saw all the neat things about this hotel online and of course were given a room on the lower part of the hotel. The room was old, dirty and musty smelling. The beds were very uncomfortable and the door barely shut. I thought it was crazy that we had to pay $13 a night to park the car as well. I would have been interested to see the rooms in the tower to see if they were better but overall I would not return.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        1
        Room cleanliness:
        1
        Hotel staff:
        1
        Room comfort:
        1
        Location:
        4
        Value:
        1
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

        Beach is very close

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        1
        5.01.0
        Minnesota Maven
        Business
        St Paul, MN
        Mar 22, 2010

        Disappointing ... at best

        While this hotel is on the beach that does not mean that it can forgo everything else the price would suggest. The rooms are small, not very clean, dark and noisy. The plumbing doesn't work well, there was no place in the bathroom to hang anything. The carpet was buckling off the floor, and the beds were old and uncomfortable. But best of all the parking garage is right in the middle of the hotel complex so when the local police come or there's a problem with a car alarm - as there was EVERY night we were there - the noise is sure to wake you. This hotel is definitely NOT worth the price.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        2
        Room cleanliness:
        1
        Hotel staff:
        3
        Room comfort:
        1
        Location:
        4
        Value:
        1
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

        Great food in the Gaslamp district

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        2
        5.01.0
        RICH VAN STANE
        Business
        PORTLAND OREGON
        Jan 5, 2010

        ONE OF THE WORST TRIPS

        I HAVE TRAVELED ALL OVER. TO START WITH THE ENTIRE TRIP WAS OVER PRICED FOR WHAT WE RECEIVED. ON THE FLIGHT DOWN WE WERE NOT SEATED TOGETHER, AND THEY COULD NOT ACCOMODATE. VERY DISAPPOINTING. WHEN WE ARRIVED AT THE HOTEL THERE WERE NO WASH CLOTHS OR HAND TOWELS. THIS WAS A SURPRISE FOR MY WIFES 50TH BIRTHDAY. I REQUESTED A KING BED AND THEY GAVE US 2 DOUBLE BEDS.THE ROOM WAS NOT READY UNTIL THE LATE AFTERNOON. PARKING AT THE HOTEL WAS EXTRA. HALF THE TIME THE ROOM CARDS DID NOT WORK.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Room cleanliness:
        4
        Hotel staff:
        2
        Room comfort:
        2
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        1
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        2
        5.01.0
        Gregie
        Business
        Bridgeport, CT, USA
        Mar 8, 2012

        Not What We Expected

        The room was far smaller than advertised, perhaps sufficient for one person as opposed to two, you could not see the the tv from the bed; the only place to sit; the staff was great but they could not make up for the drawbacks of a resort trying to pass itself off as a part of upper scale living when in fact it is far from that.You had to pay $22 per day to park your rental car and most importantly the food was terrible. I would not return to this facility if it was offered for free nor would I recommend nor would I recommend it anyone.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        2
        Room cleanliness:
        4
        Hotel staff:
        4
        Room comfort:
        2
        Location:
        3
        Value:
        3
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        2
        5.01.0
        kimiaklein
        Business
        San Francisco
        Aug 4, 2012

        Badly run hotel in a great location

        An attractive hotel in a great location on Mission Bay and just across the street from the ocean, but: the room smelled moldy when we arrived. We had to call maid service two days to get our room cleaned. One morning - not early - the buffet breakfast was barely set up and what was there was certainly not worth the cost. Every amenity cost money - nothing was complimentary. I would not willingly stay here again at the price we paid.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        1
        Room cleanliness:
        2
        Hotel staff:
        2
        Room comfort:
        2
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        1
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Back to menu Return to top