$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Catamaran Resort & Spa

4 stars
View map of 3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Catamaran Resort & Spa

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
515 out of 515
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Sids
Business
Wilmington, North Carolina
Oct 24, 2012

Excellant View

The room was clean, staff friendly and helpful. Location great. over all good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mikeb5491
Business
Wyoming
Oct 21, 2012

great location, awesome staff

@ blocks to the beach, close to eateries, surf shops, and nightlife. Close to laJolla. The staff are the best. Supposed to be free arcade but that didn't really happen as someone else aparently owns the machines.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Surf shops where you can rent a board and wetsuit for 20% for 4 hours close by

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mister SAB
Business
Cleveland, OH
Sep 4, 2012

Hotel is Okay

The hotel is okay for the price. It's toward the end of the strip for Pacific Beach. Its within walking distance to a lot of restaurants/bars. Reception wasn't too friendly, and rooms were just average at best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

PB Ale House

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Roxanne's Mom
Business
Imperial County, California
Aug 12, 2012

Overnight Stay Underwhelming!!

The room assigned to us was located in a noisy spot directly across the elevator and overlooking a parking garage. The bedding was too heavy for summer time. The sheets felt dirty and the bed was uncomfortable/saggy. The pillows were too soft!! The towels in the bathroom were thin--not 4 star quality at all. We could hear plumbing from other rooms. Bottled water left in the room not complimentary. Really? For a 4 star hotel? The grounds of the hotel were pretty with flowers and ducks. The location of the hotel was what we wanted, but the room itself was not. The air quality also felt stale. When the ac was turned on, it was noisy as well. We will not recommend this hotel to anyone and it certainly was not worth the money paid for the room. We felt like we overpaid and wish we could get a partial refund.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kimiaklein
Business
San Francisco
Aug 4, 2012

Badly run hotel in a great location

An attractive hotel in a great location on Mission Bay and just across the street from the ocean, but: the room smelled moldy when we arrived. We had to call maid service two days to get our room cleaned. One morning - not early - the buffet breakfast was barely set up and what was there was certainly not worth the cost. Every amenity cost money - nothing was complimentary. I would not willingly stay here again at the price we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fun in the sun91234
Business
wyoming
Jul 29, 2012

great honeymoon

we had a wonderful time. it was beautiful. we could not have hoped for anything better. we even got free parking!!!! make sure you go sky diving while your in town!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
anaphrais
Business
denver
Jul 18, 2012

great family getaway

Everything was great except: 2 many rules You pay for your parking We arrived at 10 am and we could not check in until 4 pm, it s just too much wait when you have a 9 month old baby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sunny Summer
Business
Colorado
Jul 4, 2012

Awesome Weekend!!

We got a room upgrade to a suite on the 12th floor with fantastic views of the Pacific Ocean and Mission Bay!! Two balconies, king size bed, awesome views, fireworks from Sea World each evening, torch lighting, Hula shows - absolutely wonderful. The room itself was really nice, except the kitchen is pretty outdated, as is the bathroom - both could really use some new appliances, flooring, tile, etc. That said, it was nice to have a refrigerator and microwave - didn't use the stove. The size of the suite was great. More room than we needed - made us feel special! Everything was very comfortable and clean. The hotel is close to everything that is Pacific Beach! We walked everywhere - no need for a car, so didn't get hit with parking fees. The hotel staff members are so friendly and really work hard to give their guests a great stay. The parrots are great and VERY well cared for. The handlers try and educate as well as entertain their guests. The baby ducks are so cute! Had a couple hawks visit the last morning - not sure they are a welcome addition with parrots and such, but they were entertaining with their flights around our balcony - birds eye view of the hawks! Overall we love staying at the Catamaran and have for years. Thank you for the great room upgrade!! We'll see you again in the future. Cheap Tickets is super for putting vacations together, even a short vacation!! Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Ralph's is just down the street - great prices on food you can take back to your room and enjoy from the balcony while looking out over Mission Bay and the Pacific Ocean!! They'll loan you a Ralph's card so you get the discounts if you don't have a card.

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
an infrequent travler
Business
Vancouver WA
Jun 20, 2012

An enjoyable week

We were lucky enough to get an upgrade from a garden view to a suite in the tower with a wonderful view. An enjoiyable stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JHAldone
Business
Palm Desert, CA
May 7, 2012

Not worth the money.

Paid for a suite and got two rooms with one air handler. Had to leave the door open between rooms to heat/cool the other. Not worth $385.00 per night. Bathroom was no bigger than the walk in closet. No value at all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top