$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Catamaran Resort & Spa

4 stars
View map of 3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Catamaran Resort & Spa

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
426 out of 426
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dagasdoc
Couples
Texas
Jan 22, 2013

Excellent resort friendly staff

I stayed here for a conference that was held here. Very beautiful hotel, relaxing, romantic and friendly staff. Close to sea world. If you have a car parking is 13/day for self parking. I didn't use the bar or pool. Food was catered during the conference and the food was delicious especially the seabass. I would stay here again, I got an amazing flight and hotel combo deal. I saved over 50pct on the hotel. If you want to stay in mission bay or close to sea world, I recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Innout burgers at mission valley mall is a 10 min drive get animal style cheeseburger. You also have Nordstrom rack and off saks fifth ave in that vicinity.

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LadyKayT
Friends
Collegeville, PA
Jan 18, 2013

Excellent, excellent, excellent

My roommate and I stayed here for 5 days. The room was beautiful and clean with a gorgeous duck pond outside our sliding door. The hotel grounds were fantastic. Pool, hot tub, and fitness center updated and beautiful! Gardens upon gardens and all the amenities you could want! Location was fantastic! PB and MB in walking distance with public transport and trolley tours available to OB, old town , gas lamp, and more. Concierge Justin was SO helpful and printed bus routes to OB and La Jolla for us as well as painlessly scheduling a trolley tour and shuttle to the airport for us. This place was awesome and we will always stay here when we go to San Diego! We are so thankful for our stay and wish we were still there!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
IzzyPop
Couples
Page, AZ
Jan 14, 2013

Tropical Atmosphere, Stress-free Vacation!

We loved the birds (Chadwick was the best!) The hotel is very well landscaped with a lush, tropical theme. We had a deluxe garden view room. The room was great, nothing fancy but more than needed for the time we spent in the room. Nice pool and hot tub, a small arcade area for families with children. We were there in January, but even for the "off season" the staff was excellent. Our server Brad was wonderful at the Atoll Restaurant. Get the filet mignon, amazing! Dinner isn't too pricey, but be ready to pay 24-35 per person for your entrée. The hotel charges a $50/day deposit when you check in, anything you bill to your room comes out of that so it is VERY easy to check out. The hotel is on the bay and has direct access to the beach on the bay side - but Pacific Beach is literally across the road from the front of the hotel so we spent our time there instead. Walk out the front of the lobby, cross the road and a row of vacation home rentals and you are in the ocean. This is the first time I have ever been able to say my vacation was truly stress-free! We will go back to the Catamaran without hesitation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to World Famous, PB Alehouse, Nick's, Firehouse, Joe's Crab Shack. There is also a Subway, CVS, and a grocery store in walking distance, La Playa taco shop is right outside the hotel.

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jerrymi
Couples
Portland, Oregon
Dec 27, 2012

Good value, fun location

We enjoyed the resort and the Pacific Beach neighborhood. Very lively beach community. The hotel is older and doesn't have all the amenities of a five-star hotel (eg, room refrigerator), but the location and pricing were hard to beat. Parking was $13/day, self-parking, more for valet. Easy driving access to downtown, Sea World, La Jolla coastline. Easy walking access to Pacific Beach and Mission Beach waterfront. If you just want to relax and not do all the San Diego tourist options, you could have a good time without a car. The resort has rental options for bicycles, skates, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Three local dining options that we liked: Fat Fish Cantina and Grill, Joe's Crab Shack, and Pacific Beach Ale House. All within easy walking distance.. Starbucks is a longer walk away from breakfast nad lunch. Lots of other alternatives in the neighborhood.

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chicago Auggie
Single
Chicago IL
Nov 23, 2012

Quick weekend

Front desk staff fairly rude and aloof upon checkin. Area is close to the beach. Otherwise not really worth the price. Will not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doug and Nicole
Couples
Vancouver BC Canada
Oct 28, 2012

San Diego, first time

Bought a package . air, room and car, best value for the buck. We checked in late the first night into room #208, it smelled like a kennel, old painted toilet seat, razor stubble in sink. no wifi reception. After mentioning the problems to the Front Desk they promptly,apologetically and politely moved us to #804. What a dream, Clean, no funky smells, good shower. The location is central and fantastic, the Catamaran site is exotic, parking and rooms are safe and secure, staff freindly and helpful. Couldn't get enough of San Diego and would stay again at the Catamaran in a heart beat. Tips :Find local guide sites to San Diego and use them. Eat at Hodads USS Miday is a must, allow several hours minimum. Rent a car and do as many things as possible, La Jolla etc. Buy the GoPass to get discounts. We can't wait to return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hodads, surfer, burger, beer joint.

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Sids
Couples
Wilmington, North Carolina
Oct 24, 2012

Excellant View

The room was clean, staff friendly and helpful. Location great. over all good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mikeb5491
Family
Wyoming
Oct 21, 2012

great location, awesome staff

@ blocks to the beach, close to eateries, surf shops, and nightlife. Close to laJolla. The staff are the best. Supposed to be free arcade but that didn't really happen as someone else aparently owns the machines.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Surf shops where you can rent a board and wetsuit for 20% for 4 hours close by

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mister SAB
Single
Cleveland, OH
Sep 4, 2012

Hotel is Okay

The hotel is okay for the price. It's toward the end of the strip for Pacific Beach. Its within walking distance to a lot of restaurants/bars. Reception wasn't too friendly, and rooms were just average at best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

PB Ale House

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Roxanne's Mom
Couples
Imperial County, California
Aug 12, 2012

Overnight Stay Underwhelming!!

The room assigned to us was located in a noisy spot directly across the elevator and overlooking a parking garage. The bedding was too heavy for summer time. The sheets felt dirty and the bed was uncomfortable/saggy. The pillows were too soft!! The towels in the bathroom were thin--not 4 star quality at all. We could hear plumbing from other rooms. Bottled water left in the room not complimentary. Really? For a 4 star hotel? The grounds of the hotel were pretty with flowers and ducks. The location of the hotel was what we wanted, but the room itself was not. The air quality also felt stale. When the ac was turned on, it was noisy as well. We will not recommend this hotel to anyone and it certainly was not worth the money paid for the room. We felt like we overpaid and wish we could get a partial refund.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top