$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2014 Check-out: Aug 28, 2014

Catamaran Resort & Spa

4 stars
3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
766 reviews
Excellent Stay

Beautiful room and good service, great view of the bay! See full review

  • bjerke89
  • May 30, 2014
Great spring break

Overall experience was very good. Nice location- very close to pacific ocean. Enjoyed the bay and... See full review

  • a Husker traveler
  • Mar 14, 2014
Waterfront hotel feature spectacular views and lush garden

There's no shortage of things to keep you busy at the Catamaran Resort & Spa. The property gardens house more than 1,000 plants and dozens of exotic birds. Treatment options abound at the Catamaran Spa. The Atoll, the on-site restaurant, serves seafood and a highly-regarded Sunday brunch. Finally, take an evening cruise on the Bahia Belle, the property's historic Mississippi-style sternwheeler (limited schedule).

Highlights
    • Relax and watch the action on Mission Bay
    • One on-site restaurant
    • Lush garden complete with exotic birds
    • Take an evening cruise on the property's Mississippi-style sternwheeler (limited schedule)
    Rooms

    The Catamaran Resort & Spa offers 313 rooms, including 16 suites, spread over five separate two-story buildings. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, iHome docking station and laptop safe. All rooms also feature balconies or patios with views of Mission Bay and the La Jolla coastline. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access.

    Features

    The Catamaran Resort & Spa is all about the sea. The property boasts a dock and marina and operates a historic, Mississippi-style sternwheeler for seasonal cruises. There's a heated pool in the garden courtyard. Rooms with views of Mission Bay available.

    Guests also find other, more land-oriented diversions onsite. The property boasts a state-of-the-art fitness center with free weights and cardio equipment. What's more, guests have access to an on-site video arcade and lush garden, which comprises more than 1,000 different species of plants. The hotel also offers laundry service (fees apply).

    The Atoll, the on-site restaurant, offers traditional meals in a swank environment. At Moray's Lounge, the atmosphere is more casual with TVs airing sporting events.

    Transportation
      • MTS Bus (1 block)
      • San Diego Trolley (5 mi/8 km)
      • San Diego International Airport (8 mi/13 km)
      Attractions
        • Mission Bay Park (4 blocks)
        • Sea World (1.5 mi/2 km)
        • Old Town (5 mi/8 km)
        • Point Loma (6 mi/10 km)
        • San Diego Zoo (10 mi/17 km)
        • Petco Park (12 mi/20 km)
        Business
        • 20,000 square feet of meeting space
        • Indoor and outdoor meeting space
        • 24-hour business center
        Policies and fees
        • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

        This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

        Catamaran Resort & Spa Rooms

        Studio
        With over 400 square feet of comfortable living space, the studios are furnished with two double beds, breakfast table and chairs. The kitchen is equipped with an electric stove; oven, full size refrigerator, sink and wash area, cooking utensils and place settings for four people. All studios have balconies or patios with lounge chairs and tables. Amenities include bathrobes, irons and ironing board, hair dryer and a coffee maker. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Bayview Room
        Tastefully appointed in a tropical decor with over 400 sq feet and each room opens up to it's own balcony or patio. The Bayview room features one king or two double beds on a "request only basis". All rooms have bathrobes, hair dryer, coffee maker iron and ironing board. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Deluxe Room - 1 king bed
        Our Deluxe King room is tastefully appointed in a tropical decor with over 400 sq feet and opens up to it's own balcony or patio. The Deluxe King room features one king bed. All rooms have bathrobes, hair dryer, coffee maker iron and ironing board. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Deluxe Garden Room
        Tastefully appointed in a tropical decor with over 400 sq feet and each opens up to it's own balcony or patio. The Deluxe Garden room features one king or two double beds on a "request only basis". All rooms have bathrobes, refrigerators, hair dryer, coffee maker iron and ironing board. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Bay View Suite
        Our Bayview King Suites offer king bed in the bedroom and a separate living room with a sleeper sofa as well as a private balcony. Each suite has bathrobes, a ironing board with iron, hairdryer, tea/coffee maker, television, telephone and clock radio. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.

        Amenities

        • WiFi
        • Outdoor pool
        • No smoking rooms/facilities
        General
        No smoking rooms/facilities
        Concierge
        Elevators
        Activities
        Outdoor pool
        Fitness center or spa
        Fitness Center
        Spa
        Game room
        Dining
        Restaurant
        24 hour room service
        Room service
        Services
        Business center
        Tour desk
        Conference facilities
        Gift shop
        Internet
        WiFi
        Parking
        Parking

        Recommendations for you

        Customers who viewed Catamaran Resort & Spa also booked these hotels.

        Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
        Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
        Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

        Hotel Map

        32.7901 -117.2534
        Area served
        San Diego, CA
        Nearby airports
        (SAN)San Diego International Airport
        Area description
        On Mission Bay in Pacific Beach with many shops and restaurants.

        Nearby points of interest

        • Pacific Beach: 0.9 mi
        • Belmont Park: 1.4 mi
        • Mission Bay Park: 2.2 mi
        • Sea World: 2.3 mi
        • Hospitality Point: 2.9 mi
        • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.1 mi
        • Bazaar Del Mundo: 4.1 mi
        • Old Town San Diego: 4.1 mi
        • Sunset Cliffs: 4.2 mi
        • Whaley House Museum: 4.3 mi
        • Heritage Park: 4.4 mi
        • Port of San Diego: 5.4 mi
        • Family Fun Center: 5.8 mi
        • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.7 mi
        • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.8 mi
        • Pacific Beach: 0.9 mi
        • Belmont Park: 1.4 mi
        • Mission Bay Park: 2.2 mi
        • Sea World: 2.3 mi
        • Hospitality Point: 2.9 mi
        • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.1 mi
        • Bazaar Del Mundo: 4.1 mi
        • Old Town San Diego: 4.1 mi
        • Sunset Cliffs: 4.2 mi
        • Whaley House Museum: 4.3 mi
        • Heritage Park: 4.4 mi
        • Port of San Diego: 5.4 mi
        • Family Fun Center: 5.8 mi
        • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.7 mi
        • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.8 mi
        • Firehouse Museum: 6.9 mi
        • San Diego Zoo: 7.1 mi
        • San Diego Museum of Man: 7.2 mi
        • San Diego Automotive Museum: 7.2 mi
        • Timken Museum of Art: 7.2 mi
        • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 7.3 mi
        • Botanical Building: 7.3 mi
        • Casa De Balboa: 7.3 mi
        • Spanish Village Art Center: 7.3 mi
        • San Diego Natural History Museum: 7.4 mi
        • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 7.5 mi
        • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 7.5 mi
        • San Diego Convention Center: 7.8 mi
        • Sorrento Valley: 7.8 mi
        • Gaslamp Quarter: 7.9 mi
        • PETCO Park: 8 mi
        • Chula Vista Nature Center: 13.7 mi
        • Legoland: 23.7 mi
        • California Center For The Arts Museum: 24.6 mi
        • Cox Arena: 2,121 mi

        Meeting facilities

        Meeting Info
        With fresh ocean breezes and exotic ambience, the Catamaran Resort is an invigorating and creative setting for any group. All fourteen of our Function Rooms are complemented by scenic views, balconies, patios and most of all - our unforgettable bayfront. Inventive, fresh culinary style, and stunning presentations await you. With accommodations from 30 to 450 guests and over 20,000 square feet of contiguous function space, the choices are easy and endless. Our friendly and helpful staff, modern amenities and on-site Business Center ensure every detail is taken care of. Whether it's for business or special occasions, large or small, fancy or more down to earth, the Catamaran Resort is unsurpassed for style, flexibility and comfort.

        Dining

        Atoll Restaurant
        Open 7 days a week The Atoll restaurant, with its award-winning menu, offers spectacular views. Located directly on the sandy beach of Mission Bay, guest may enjoy quiet dining or relaxed outdoor-patio beachfront seating. Meals Served: 6:30am-11:15am Breakfast 11:30am-2:15pm Lunch 5:30pm-9: 45pm Dinner (Fri & Sat 10:45pm) Specials: Sunday Brunch, voted 'Best Brunch In San Diego' by San Diego Magazine, offers an outstanding presentation that will satisfy the most discriminating of our guests. Weekly from 10 am - 2 pm. Reservations are suggested Price Range: Varies Reservations Required? No Attire: Casual Attire
        Catamaran Spa
        Experience the Catamaran Resort Spa - A World Class Health & Wellness Facility. Featuring: private treatment rooms, ritual room, steam and dry saunas, outdoor whirlpool, Vichy shower, full service salon, and fitness facility. Please call the Spa at (858) 539-8821 for more information.
        Resort Water Sports Rentals
        Located on our white sand beach at the edge of Mission Bay. Our Water Sports Rental Department offers: sailboats, power boats, ocean kayaks, wind surfers, paddleboats.

        Hotel Policies

        Check-in:
        1600
        Check-out:
        1200

        Terms and conditions

        Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

        The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

        Back to menu Return to top

        Guest Reviews (766)

        Ratings and reviews for Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Overall score

        4.1 / 5
        5.01.0
        766 out of 766
        Amenities:
        4.1
        Room cleanliness:
        4.2
        Hotel staff:
        4.3
        Room comfort:
        4.1
        Location:
        4.7
        Value:
        4

        88% would recommend to a friend.

        Sort by:
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        boulder colorado
        Mar 15, 2010

        review

        Right on the water and 10 min from downtown. Nice courtyard w/pond and ducks, well groomed plants. Didn't feel like the large hotel it really is. Care taken with cleaning and security.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        4
        Room cleanliness:
        4
        Hotel staff:
        4
        Room comfort:
        3
        Location:
        4
        Value:
        3
        Dining tip: Not Applicable

        That California cuisine we hear so much about is not in evidence within walking or near driving distance. Do some research ahead of time.

        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        Chicago
        Mar 14, 2010

        Pleasant surprise off the beaten path.

        The hotel was a combination of old and new. We were in the older section. The room was comfortable and quiet. The grounds are very nice and well kept. The neighborhood is unique and was fun to explore.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        4
        Room cleanliness:
        4
        Hotel staff:
        4
        Room comfort:
        4
        Location:
        4
        Value:
        4
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        Sports Girl
        Boston, MA
        Mar 14, 2010

        Great location, friendly staff

        We loved the hotel location and thought we received a great deal on our stay. The location is right on the water and only 15 minutes from downtown San Diego. The hotel grounds were beautiful and maintained very well. Upon arrival, the staff was very friendly and helpful. Anytime we passed a staff member during our stay, he/she always said hello. We stayed in the tower and enjoyed the view from our room. The suite room was a good size and everything was clean. Could use some updating, but that is a minor detail. I used the spa one day and had a great experience. Extremely clean and relaxing. Our only complaint about the hotel was the occasional noise. It was not noisy all the time, but the sliding balcony doors were loud and other guests were opening the doors early in the morning and it would shake our room. Aside from that, we would definitely stay at the Catamaran again!

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        4
        Room cleanliness:
        4
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        3
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        4
        Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

        We highly recommend Gringo's on Mission Blvd. for dinner! Great Mexican food and margarita's! Best meal we had all week.

        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        Chicago
        Mar 14, 2010

        Pleasant surprise off the beaten path.

        The hotel was a combination of old and new. We were in the older section. The room was comfortable and quiet. The grounds are very nice and well kept. The neighborhood is unique and was fun to explore.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        4
        Room cleanliness:
        4
        Hotel staff:
        4
        Room comfort:
        4
        Location:
        4
        Value:
        4
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        Sports Girl
        Boston, MA
        Mar 14, 2010

        Great location, friendly staff

        We loved the hotel location and thought we received a great deal on our stay. The location is right on the water and only 15 minutes from downtown San Diego. The hotel grounds were beautiful and maintained very well. Upon arrival, the staff was very friendly and helpful. Anytime we passed a staff member during our stay, he/she always said hello. We stayed in the tower and enjoyed the view from our room. The suite room was a good size and everything was clean. Could use some updating, but that is a minor detail. I used the spa one day and had a great experience. Extremely clean and relaxing. Our only complaint about the hotel was the occasional noise. It was not noisy all the time, but the sliding balcony doors were loud and other guests were opening the doors early in the morning and it would shake our room. Aside from that, we would definitely stay at the Catamaran again!

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        4
        Room cleanliness:
        4
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        3
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        4
        Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

        We highly recommend Gringo's on Mission Blvd. for dinner! Great Mexican food and margarita's! Best meal we had all week.

        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        2
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        Business
        Scottsdale, AZ
        Mar 13, 2010

        Unhappy Visitor

        Hotel staff was told three times that the curtains in the room had fallen off. The curtains were never fixed.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        2
        Room cleanliness:
        3
        Hotel staff:
        4
        Room comfort:
        3
        Location:
        3
        Value:
        2
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

        This hotel does not suppply any transportation. You must use a cab or city bus to get around. So, rent a car.

        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        2
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        Business
        Scottsdale, AZ
        Mar 13, 2010

        Unhappy Visitor

        Hotel staff was told three times that the curtains in the room had fallen off. The curtains were never fixed.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        2
        Room cleanliness:
        3
        Hotel staff:
        4
        Room comfort:
        3
        Location:
        3
        Value:
        2
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

        This hotel does not suppply any transportation. You must use a cab or city bus to get around. So, rent a car.

        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        MA
        Mar 13, 2010

        Unbelievable location

        This was the second time here in the last 2 years and we were not dissappointed. You can get to any section of San Diego in 15 min drive. Great area if you like to walk on the beach or around the bay! The food is ok nothing special

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        4
        Room cleanliness:
        4
        Hotel staff:
        4
        Room comfort:
        4
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        5
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        MA
        Mar 13, 2010

        Unbelievable location

        This was the second time here in the last 2 years and we were not dissappointed. You can get to any section of San Diego in 15 min drive. Great area if you like to walk on the beach or around the bay! The food is ok nothing special

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        4
        Room cleanliness:
        4
        Hotel staff:
        4
        Room comfort:
        4
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        5
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        3
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        New York, NY
        Mar 9, 2010

        Good location and beautiful grounds

        The hotel is located between the action of Pacific & Mission Beach. The neighborhood was nice, not too loud or crazy, maybe because its off-season. We stayed in a studio in the tower. The hotel is right across the street from the Pacific and our room had a partial ocean view. We loved to sit on the balcony, drink our morning coffee and enjoy the view. The 8 and 9 buses stop right in front of the hotel, which make it easy to get to Old Town or downtown San Diego fairly cheap. The pool and whirlpool were also pretty decent. There were plenty of lounge chairs and towels available and late mornings and early afternoons were perfect to get some sun. I loved the grounds with all the animals, trees and flowers. We didn't try the restaurants at the hotel but there is plenty of good food nearby. You have to try the breakfast burritos at Cantina right on the boardwalk. Kono's is also pretty good. PB Bar & Grill is good for drinks and apps. My one complaint about the hotel is that the rooms need a little updating. The sliding glass door that lead to our balcony wouldn't close all the way so we had a draft. The sofa had a huge stain that looked like vomit so we never sat on it. The kitchen was useful for us because we bought some snacks and used the microwave. I don't think there's enough lighting in the rooms since there are only a couple dim lamps. I hate tubs with shower curtains so that kind of grossed me out too. And I'm not sure if its San Diego or the hotel but the water pressure was weak. Overall we had an enjoyable stay. The staff was friendly for the most part, especially Allyn at the concierge desk. They arranged a car rental for us and answered all my questions about local spots. I would recommend it to a friend mostly for location, the pretty grounds and the nice ocean view for a decent price.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        3
        Room cleanliness:
        4
        Hotel staff:
        3
        Room comfort:
        4
        Location:
        4
        Value:
        4
        Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

        The hotel charges up to $20 a night for parking. Look for street parking on the side streets to save some money. There is usually plenty of parking if you go down a block or two.

        Back to menu Return to top