$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 6, 2014 Check-out: Oct 9, 2014

Catamaran Resort & Spa

4 stars
3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
448 reviews
The best resort in San Diego

it felt like I'm in tropical paradise; Very beautiful views and lot's of plants and trees. It was... See full review

  • George Kasabian
  • Sep 7, 2014
Excellent Stay

Beautiful room and good service, great view of the bay! See full review

  • bjerke89
  • May 30, 2014
Waterfront hotel feature spectacular views and lush garden

There's no shortage of things to keep you busy at the Catamaran Resort & Spa. The property gardens house more than 1,000 plants and dozens of exotic birds. Treatment options abound at the Catamaran Spa. The Atoll, the on-site restaurant, serves seafood and a highly-regarded Sunday brunch. Finally, take an evening cruise on the Bahia Belle, the property's historic Mississippi-style sternwheeler (limited schedule).

Highlights
    • Relax and watch the action on Mission Bay
    • One on-site restaurant
    • Lush garden complete with exotic birds
    • Take an evening cruise on the property's Mississippi-style sternwheeler (limited schedule)
    Rooms

    The Catamaran Resort & Spa offers 313 rooms, including 16 suites, spread over five separate two-story buildings. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, iHome docking station and laptop safe. All rooms also feature balconies or patios with views of Mission Bay and the La Jolla coastline. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access.

    Features

    The Catamaran Resort & Spa is all about the sea. The property boasts a dock and marina and operates a historic, Mississippi-style sternwheeler for seasonal cruises. There's a heated pool in the garden courtyard. Rooms with views of Mission Bay available.

    Guests also find other, more land-oriented diversions onsite. The property boasts a state-of-the-art fitness center with free weights and cardio equipment. What's more, guests have access to an on-site video arcade and lush garden, which comprises more than 1,000 different species of plants. The hotel also offers laundry service (fees apply).

    The Atoll, the on-site restaurant, offers traditional meals in a swank environment. At Moray's Lounge, the atmosphere is more casual with TVs airing sporting events.

    Transportation
      • MTS Bus (1 block)
      • San Diego Trolley (5 mi/8 km)
      • San Diego International Airport (8 mi/13 km)
      Attractions
        • Mission Bay Park (4 blocks)
        • Sea World (1.5 mi/2 km)
        • Old Town (5 mi/8 km)
        • Point Loma (6 mi/10 km)
        • San Diego Zoo (10 mi/17 km)
        • Petco Park (12 mi/20 km)
        Business
        • 20,000 square feet of meeting space
        • Indoor and outdoor meeting space
        • 24-hour business center
        Policies and fees
        • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

        This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

        Hotel Map

        32.7901 -117.2534
        Area served
        San Diego, CA
        Nearby airports
        (SAN)San Diego International Airport
        Area description
        On Mission Bay in Pacific Beach with many shops and restaurants.

        Recommendations for you

        Customers who viewed Catamaran Resort & Spa also booked these hotels.

        Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
        Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
        Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

        Catamaran Resort & Spa Rooms

        Studio
        With over 400 square feet of comfortable living space, the studios are furnished with two double beds, breakfast table and chairs. The kitchen is equipped with an electric stove; oven, full size refrigerator, sink and wash area, cooking utensils and place settings for four people. All studios have balconies or patios with lounge chairs and tables. Amenities include bathrobes, irons and ironing board, hair dryer and a coffee maker. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Bayview Room
        Tastefully appointed in a tropical decor with over 400 sq feet and each room opens up to it's own balcony or patio. The Bayview room features one king or two double beds on a "request only basis". All rooms have bathrobes, hair dryer, coffee maker iron and ironing board. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Deluxe Room - 1 king bed
        Our Deluxe King room is tastefully appointed in a tropical decor with over 400 sq feet and opens up to it's own balcony or patio. The Deluxe King room features one king bed. All rooms have bathrobes, hair dryer, coffee maker iron and ironing board. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Deluxe Garden Room
        Tastefully appointed in a tropical decor with over 400 sq feet and each opens up to it's own balcony or patio. The Deluxe Garden room features one king or two double beds on a "request only basis". All rooms have bathrobes, refrigerators, hair dryer, coffee maker iron and ironing board. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Bay View Suite
        Our Bayview King Suites offer king bed in the bedroom and a separate living room with a sleeper sofa as well as a private balcony. Each suite has bathrobes, a ironing board with iron, hairdryer, tea/coffee maker, television, telephone and clock radio. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.

        Amenities

        • WiFi
        • Outdoor pool
        • No smoking rooms/facilities
        General
        No smoking rooms/facilities
        Concierge
        Elevators
        Activities
        Outdoor pool
        Fitness center or spa
        Fitness Center
        Spa
        Game room
        Dining
        Restaurant
        24 hour room service
        Room service
        Services
        Business center
        Tour desk
        Conference facilities
        Gift shop
        Internet
        WiFi
        Parking
        Parking

        Nearby points of interest

        • Pacific Beach: 0.9 mi
        • Belmont Park: 1.4 mi
        • Mission Bay Park: 2.2 mi
        • Sea World: 2.3 mi
        • Hospitality Point: 2.9 mi
        • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.1 mi
        • Bazaar Del Mundo: 4.1 mi
        • Old Town San Diego: 4.1 mi
        • Sunset Cliffs: 4.2 mi
        • Whaley House Museum: 4.3 mi
        • Heritage Park: 4.4 mi
        • Port of San Diego: 5.4 mi
        • Family Fun Center: 5.8 mi
        • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.7 mi
        • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.8 mi
        • Pacific Beach: 0.9 mi
        • Belmont Park: 1.4 mi
        • Mission Bay Park: 2.2 mi
        • Sea World: 2.3 mi
        • Hospitality Point: 2.9 mi
        • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.1 mi
        • Bazaar Del Mundo: 4.1 mi
        • Old Town San Diego: 4.1 mi
        • Sunset Cliffs: 4.2 mi
        • Whaley House Museum: 4.3 mi
        • Heritage Park: 4.4 mi
        • Port of San Diego: 5.4 mi
        • Family Fun Center: 5.8 mi
        • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.7 mi
        • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.8 mi
        • Firehouse Museum: 6.9 mi
        • San Diego Zoo: 7.1 mi
        • San Diego Museum of Man: 7.2 mi
        • San Diego Automotive Museum: 7.2 mi
        • Timken Museum of Art: 7.2 mi
        • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 7.3 mi
        • Botanical Building: 7.3 mi
        • Casa De Balboa: 7.3 mi
        • Spanish Village Art Center: 7.3 mi
        • San Diego Natural History Museum: 7.4 mi
        • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 7.5 mi
        • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 7.5 mi
        • San Diego Convention Center: 7.8 mi
        • Sorrento Valley: 7.8 mi
        • Gaslamp Quarter: 7.9 mi
        • PETCO Park: 8 mi
        • Chula Vista Nature Center: 13.7 mi
        • Legoland: 23.7 mi
        • California Center For The Arts Museum: 24.6 mi
        • Cox Arena: 2,121 mi

        Dining

        Atoll Restaurant
        Open 7 days a week The Atoll restaurant, with its award-winning menu, offers spectacular views. Located directly on the sandy beach of Mission Bay, guest may enjoy quiet dining or relaxed outdoor-patio beachfront seating. Meals Served: 6:30am-11:15am Breakfast 11:30am-2:15pm Lunch 5:30pm-9: 45pm Dinner (Fri & Sat 10:45pm) Specials: Sunday Brunch, voted 'Best Brunch In San Diego' by San Diego Magazine, offers an outstanding presentation that will satisfy the most discriminating of our guests. Weekly from 10 am - 2 pm. Reservations are suggested Price Range: Varies Reservations Required? No Attire: Casual Attire
        Catamaran Spa
        Experience the Catamaran Resort Spa - A World Class Health & Wellness Facility. Featuring: private treatment rooms, ritual room, steam and dry saunas, outdoor whirlpool, Vichy shower, full service salon, and fitness facility. Please call the Spa at (858) 539-8821 for more information.
        Resort Water Sports Rentals
        Located on our white sand beach at the edge of Mission Bay. Our Water Sports Rental Department offers: sailboats, power boats, ocean kayaks, wind surfers, paddleboats.

        Meeting facilities

        Meeting Info
        With fresh ocean breezes and exotic ambience, the Catamaran Resort is an invigorating and creative setting for any group. All fourteen of our Function Rooms are complemented by scenic views, balconies, patios and most of all - our unforgettable bayfront. Inventive, fresh culinary style, and stunning presentations await you. With accommodations from 30 to 450 guests and over 20,000 square feet of contiguous function space, the choices are easy and endless. Our friendly and helpful staff, modern amenities and on-site Business Center ensure every detail is taken care of. Whether it's for business or special occasions, large or small, fancy or more down to earth, the Catamaran Resort is unsurpassed for style, flexibility and comfort.

        Hotel Policies

        Check-in:
        1600
        Check-out:
        1200

        Terms and conditions

        Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

        The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

        Back to menu Return to top

        Guest Reviews (448)

        Ratings and reviews for Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Overall score

        4.1 / 5
        5.01.0
        448 out of 448
        Amenities:
        4.1
        Room cleanliness:
        4.2
        Hotel staff:
        4.3
        Room comfort:
        4.1
        Location:
        4.6
        Value:
        4

        88% would recommend to a friend.

        Sort by:
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        5
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        Seattle, WA
        Feb 19, 2008

        Beautiful Grounds

        We recently stayed at the Catamaran Resort and Spa in San Diego. The grounds were wonderful the room spacious and pleasant. The beachside location on Mission Bay was unbeatable. Great choice, will stay there again.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        5
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        5
        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        5
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        Business
        USA
        Feb 19, 2008

        good location

        The atmosphere at the hotel was very scenic and well kept. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our room had a nice view of the ocean and the balcony was quite comfortable. The location was excellent and the private atmosphere was very welcoming and enjoyable.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        5
        Location:
        4
        Value:
        5
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

        There were many places to eat at very price levels all within a short walking distance.

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        Idaho Falls, ID
        Feb 18, 2008

        Beatiful grounds and location

        The hotel grounds are absolutely beautiful. The room was clean. Furniture was outdated and the bed was a bit uncomfortable for me, but my family did not find the beds uncomfortable. The restraunt is a very expensive up scale, not meant for family dining. The beach on location is beatiful. I would go back again.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        4
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        4
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        5
        Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

        Pacific Beach Shopping

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        5
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        Minneapolis, MN
        Oct 3, 2007

        Great Hotel

        The Cataraman Hotel was a wonderful experience. The grounds were beautiful and the beach area was great. We ate outside a few times and the view and service was perfect. The only small negative was that the rooms were very small but on the other hand very clean and the beds were very comfortable. I enjoyed walking and running on the public path that was situated on the bay.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        4
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        4
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        5
        Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

        Great dining on the ocean

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        5
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        Los Angeles, CA
        Sep 20, 2007

        Nice place to get away

        The Catamaran Resort was in an ideal location for us. It is very close to Sea World, Gaslamp Quarter, La Jolla, the beach, the SD Zoo... we enjoyed our stay very much. They have a very large pool and hot tub which we enjoyed as well. One afternoon we were walking by the lobby and they surprisingly were offering wine and cheese. Very nice! Our room was very large, provided free internet access, and many many towels.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        5
        Location:
        4
        Value:
        5
        Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

        Everything is very close by.

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        Phoenix, AZ
        Sep 19, 2007

        Tower Room with a VIEW

        The Catamaran Resort and Spa was a good value for the money. Grounds were VERY well maintained, rooms needed some TLC. The tower rooms had fabulous views! Breakfast in the Attol Cafe was excellent. Walking paths along Mission Bay were a delight to all.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        4
        Room cleanliness:
        2
        Hotel staff:
        4
        Room comfort:
        3
        Location:
        3
        Value:
        4
        Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

        Rent a water craft right outside your room. Bike rentals next door.

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        USA
        Sep 19, 2007

        Great views

        We were upgraded to a room overlooking the bay. This hotel is old, but is in very good condition. Staff is very helpful and friendly. The only complaint we had was they don't use fitted sheets on their beds, so the sheets don't stay tucked in and are in a mess in the morning. Makes sleeping uncomfortable.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        3
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        4
        Location:
        4
        Value:
        4
        Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

        Great boardwalk and beach walking.

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        5
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        USA
        Sep 17, 2007

        wonderful getaway

        upon entering the Catamaran hotal and spa you get the feeling of being in a tropic getaway. The staff was very warm and friendly to others as well as myself. The check-in was completed quickly and all my questions were answered with a smile. The room was more then i exspected...it was very comfortable,huge and the view was to die for. The location was excelent, we walked to every where we needed to go. The beds were nice and cozy to come back to and sleep was not hard to find. I woke-up feeling wonderful and very well rested. I am looking forward to my next stay.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        5
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        5
        Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

        The Shore bird, wonderful food,sports bar on the beach. Cobo Cantina excelent for watching colledge football and the drinks are half off until four on the week-end. there are also some great shops up and down garnet you just can't go wrong

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        3
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        Philadelphia, PA
        Sep 8, 2007

        We had a satisfying ...

        We had a satisfying experience at the Catamaran. Definitely located in a great area of the beaches. The hotel has extremely outdated beds and furniture. The rooms are quite spacious but you can hear everything going on in the room next to you.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Room cleanliness:
        4
        Hotel staff:
        4
        Room comfort:
        3
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        3
        Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

        The beach is across the street and there are many beach restaraunts along the strip.

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        USA
        Aug 30, 2007

        Nice Relaxing Experience

        My wife Aand I visited Catamaran in late August looking for a quiet getaway. Staff was nice and helpful. There were a lot of couples with babies and children, which we didn't expect or enjoy. This made the pool and beach areas less relaxing. Otherwise, the grounds were beautifully landscaped. There are meandering ponds with koi, and ducks and other waterfowl roaming around. One evening a duck walked right into our room from the open patio door; we quickly showed her the way out. There is an area where talkative birds (Macaws & Cockatiels) perch in the garden and interact with the guests. At the pool, they sell snacks- hamburgers and drinks (full bar) but not cheap, and it closed about 6 p.m. The beach is nice and clean with lounge chairs and towels provided, and rentals of kayaks, sailboats, motorized / non-motorized paddleboats, and bicycles. There are no waves because it is an inlet bay. The beach is not crowded, and sort of private. Across the street from the hotel is the Pacific Ocean public beach that has waves. The surrounding neihborhood is not so great. Not much interesting shopping. Restaurants are average, pizza joints and taverns. Tony Romas is across the street. So we ate at the Hotel restaurant which was very good. Not much to do in the surrounding neighborhood, although there is a small carnival-type amusement ride area called Belmont down a few blocks that has a rollercoaster and tilt-a-wheel if you're into that(not much else). Self parking at the hotel was $12/day and no other parking was found on the streets. Some of the gargen rooms have a small balcony that hangs directly over the pond, we were not able to get one of these. Our garden room was on the ground level with a small patio that opened onto a grassy area and walkway, about 30 feet from the pond & ducks. Garden rooms have no ocean view, and are ok, but nothing too fancy. Has a coffee maker and small refrigerator. Newspaper was slipped under our door early each morning. Nice place for a quasi-tropical getaway for a couple of days.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        4
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        3
        Shopping tip: Not Applicable

        No shopping within walking distance that we could find. Longs drugs and a liquor store, do they count? Crummy beach town neighborhood. Stay in the hotel or drive to other areas.

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Back to menu Return to top

        Change search