$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 12, 2015 Check-out: Jan 15, 2015

Catamaran Resort & Spa

4 stars
3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
456 reviews
Catamaran Resort

After visiting San Diego 5 years in a row and staying at 5 different hotels, we've decided that we... See full review

  • PaulandLisa
  • Oct 9, 2014
Great stay

I had a great time here, I'm definitely going back See full review

  • Just1
  • Oct 8, 2014
Waterfront hotel feature spectacular views and lush garden

There's no shortage of things to keep you busy at the Catamaran Resort & Spa. The property gardens house more than 1,000 plants and dozens of exotic birds. Treatment options abound at the Catamaran Spa. The Atoll, the on-site restaurant, serves seafood and a highly-regarded Sunday brunch. Finally, take an evening cruise on the Bahia Belle, the property's historic Mississippi-style sternwheeler (limited schedule).

Highlights
    • Relax and watch the action on Mission Bay
    • One on-site restaurant
    • Lush garden complete with exotic birds
    • Take an evening cruise on the property's Mississippi-style sternwheeler (limited schedule)
    Rooms

    The Catamaran Resort & Spa offers 313 rooms, including 16 suites, spread over five separate two-story buildings. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, iHome docking station and laptop safe. All rooms also feature balconies or patios with views of Mission Bay and the La Jolla coastline. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access.

    Features

    The Catamaran Resort & Spa is all about the sea. The property boasts a dock and marina and operates a historic, Mississippi-style sternwheeler for seasonal cruises. There's a heated pool in the garden courtyard. Rooms with views of Mission Bay available.

    Guests also find other, more land-oriented diversions onsite. The property boasts a state-of-the-art fitness center with free weights and cardio equipment. What's more, guests have access to an on-site video arcade and lush garden, which comprises more than 1,000 different species of plants. The hotel also offers laundry service (fees apply).

    The Atoll, the on-site restaurant, offers traditional meals in a swank environment. At Moray's Lounge, the atmosphere is more casual with TVs airing sporting events.

    Transportation
      • MTS Bus (1 block)
      • San Diego Trolley (5 mi/8 km)
      • San Diego International Airport (8 mi/13 km)
      Attractions
        • Mission Bay Park (4 blocks)
        • Sea World (1.5 mi/2 km)
        • Old Town (5 mi/8 km)
        • Point Loma (6 mi/10 km)
        • San Diego Zoo (10 mi/17 km)
        • Petco Park (12 mi/20 km)
        Business
        • 20,000 square feet of meeting space
        • Indoor and outdoor meeting space
        • 24-hour business center
        Policies and fees
        • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

        This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

        Recommendations for you

        Customers who viewed Catamaran Resort & Spa also booked these hotels.

        Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
        Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
        Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

        Catamaran Resort & Spa Rooms

        Studio
        With over 400 square feet of comfortable living space, the studios are furnished with two double beds, breakfast table and chairs. The kitchen is equipped with an electric stove; oven, full size refrigerator, sink and wash area, cooking utensils and place settings for four people. All studios have balconies or patios with lounge chairs and tables. Amenities include bathrobes, irons and ironing board, hair dryer and a coffee maker. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Bayview Room
        Tastefully appointed in a tropical decor with over 400 sq feet and each room opens up to it's own balcony or patio. The Bayview room features one king or two double beds on a "request only basis". All rooms have bathrobes, hair dryer, coffee maker iron and ironing board. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Deluxe Room - 1 king bed
        Our Deluxe King room is tastefully appointed in a tropical decor with over 400 sq feet and opens up to it's own balcony or patio. The Deluxe King room features one king bed. All rooms have bathrobes, hair dryer, coffee maker iron and ironing board. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Deluxe Garden Room
        Tastefully appointed in a tropical decor with over 400 sq feet and each opens up to it's own balcony or patio. The Deluxe Garden room features one king or two double beds on a "request only basis". All rooms have bathrobes, refrigerators, hair dryer, coffee maker iron and ironing board. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Bay View Suite
        Our Bayview King Suites offer king bed in the bedroom and a separate living room with a sleeper sofa as well as a private balcony. Each suite has bathrobes, a ironing board with iron, hairdryer, tea/coffee maker, television, telephone and clock radio. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.

        Amenities

        • WiFi
        • Outdoor pool
        • No smoking rooms/facilities
        General
        No smoking rooms/facilities
        Concierge
        Elevators
        Activities
        Outdoor pool
        Fitness center or spa
        Fitness Center
        Spa
        Game room
        Dining
        Restaurant
        24 hour room service
        Room service
        Services
        Business center
        Tour desk
        Conference facilities
        Gift shop
        Internet
        WiFi
        Parking
        Parking

        Nearby points of interest

        • Pacific Beach: 0.9 mi
        • Belmont Park: 1.4 mi
        • Mission Bay Park: 2.2 mi
        • Hospitality Point: 2.9 mi
        • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.1 mi
        • Bazaar Del Mundo: 4.1 mi
        • Old Town San Diego: 4.1 mi
        • Sunset Cliffs: 4.2 mi
        • Whaley House Museum: 4.3 mi
        • Heritage Park: 4.4 mi
        • Port of San Diego: 5.4 mi
        • Family Fun Center: 5.8 mi
        • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.7 mi
        • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.8 mi
        • Firehouse Museum: 6.9 mi
        • Pacific Beach: 0.9 mi
        • Belmont Park: 1.4 mi
        • Mission Bay Park: 2.2 mi
        • Hospitality Point: 2.9 mi
        • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.1 mi
        • Bazaar Del Mundo: 4.1 mi
        • Old Town San Diego: 4.1 mi
        • Sunset Cliffs: 4.2 mi
        • Whaley House Museum: 4.3 mi
        • Heritage Park: 4.4 mi
        • Port of San Diego: 5.4 mi
        • Family Fun Center: 5.8 mi
        • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.7 mi
        • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.8 mi
        • Firehouse Museum: 6.9 mi
        • San Diego Zoo: 7.1 mi
        • San Diego Museum of Man: 7.2 mi
        • San Diego Automotive Museum: 7.2 mi
        • Timken Museum of Art: 7.2 mi
        • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 7.3 mi
        • Botanical Building: 7.3 mi
        • Casa De Balboa: 7.3 mi
        • Spanish Village Art Center: 7.3 mi
        • San Diego Natural History Museum: 7.4 mi
        • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 7.5 mi
        • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 7.5 mi
        • San Diego Convention Center: 7.8 mi
        • Sorrento Valley: 7.8 mi
        • PETCO Park: 8 mi
        • Chula Vista Nature Center: 13.7 mi
        • Legoland: 23.7 mi
        • California Center For The Arts Museum: 24.6 mi
        • Cox Arena: 2,121 mi

        Meeting facilities

        Meeting Info
        With fresh ocean breezes and exotic ambience, the Catamaran Resort is an invigorating and creative setting for any group. All fourteen of our Function Rooms are complemented by scenic views, balconies, patios and most of all - our unforgettable bayfront. Inventive, fresh culinary style, and stunning presentations await you. With accommodations from 30 to 450 guests and over 20,000 square feet of contiguous function space, the choices are easy and endless. Our friendly and helpful staff, modern amenities and on-site Business Center ensure every detail is taken care of. Whether it's for business or special occasions, large or small, fancy or more down to earth, the Catamaran Resort is unsurpassed for style, flexibility and comfort.

        Dining

        Atoll Restaurant
        Open 7 days a week The Atoll restaurant, with its award-winning menu, offers spectacular views. Located directly on the sandy beach of Mission Bay, guest may enjoy quiet dining or relaxed outdoor-patio beachfront seating. Meals Served: 6:30am-11:15am Breakfast 11:30am-2:15pm Lunch 5:30pm-9: 45pm Dinner (Fri & Sat 10:45pm) Specials: Sunday Brunch, voted 'Best Brunch In San Diego' by San Diego Magazine, offers an outstanding presentation that will satisfy the most discriminating of our guests. Weekly from 10 am - 2 pm. Reservations are suggested Price Range: Varies Reservations Required? No Attire: Casual Attire
        Catamaran Spa
        Experience the Catamaran Resort Spa - A World Class Health & Wellness Facility. Featuring: private treatment rooms, ritual room, steam and dry saunas, outdoor whirlpool, Vichy shower, full service salon, and fitness facility. Please call the Spa at (858) 539-8821 for more information.
        Resort Water Sports Rentals
        Located on our white sand beach at the edge of Mission Bay. Our Water Sports Rental Department offers: sailboats, power boats, ocean kayaks, wind surfers, paddleboats.

        Hotel Policies

        Check-in:
        1600
        Check-out:
        1200

        Terms and conditions

        Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

        The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

        Back to menu Return to top

        Guest Reviews (456)

        Ratings and reviews for Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Overall score

        4.1 / 5
        5.01.0
        456 out of 456
        Amenities:
        4.1
        Room cleanliness:
        4.2
        Hotel staff:
        4.3
        Room comfort:
        4.1
        Location:
        4.7
        Value:
        4

        88% would recommend to a friend.

        Sort by:
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        5
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        Business
        Dillon, Colorado
        Apr 25, 2009

        Catamaran Hotel

        We were upgraded to a top floor, bayview room that we loved, and the service and amenities were fantastic!

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        5
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        5
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

        Sea World, Zoo, beaches close by

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        5
        5.01.0
        Midwest Bargain Hunter
        Business
        Appleton WI
        Apr 24, 2009

        A great experience

        Was much nicer than we expected. Was a great experience and would happily recommend the Catamaran.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        4
        Room cleanliness:
        4
        Hotel staff:
        4
        Room comfort:
        4
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        4
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        3
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        Business
        Staten Island, NY
        Apr 24, 2009

        Relaxing Hotel

        The hotel was comfortable and relaxing. We enjoyed our stay at the Catamaran. The only constructive criticisms I have to offer is to the housekeeping staff. The rooms should be cleaned earlier than 5:00pm. After a long day at the San Diego Zoo we were looking forward to relaxing in our room. When we entered the room, housekeeping still had not been in there. It was 4:30pm. Other than that, our stay was very enjoyable.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        4
        Room cleanliness:
        4
        Hotel staff:
        4
        Room comfort:
        5
        Location:
        4
        Value:
        3
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        5
        5.01.0
        Catamaran Fan
        Business
        Littleton, CO
        Apr 23, 2009

        The Catamaran is the Ultimate!!

        We had never stayed in Ocean Beach. We'll never stay anyplace else after our experience at the Catamaran. Fromo the second we walked in, we felt like we were in the South Pacific. The architecture, grounds (exotic plants and animals), and service let us know we were in for a memorable experience. We spent a day taking whale watching expedition (saw none), and walking the beach at Coronado, but we spent most of our time sitting on Ocean Beach and enjoying the very un-Colorado like weather. We were upgraded to a spacious and beautifully decorated suite upon our arrival. The staff was gracious, the bar was terrific, and the restaurant was very elegant. We enjoyed strolling through the grounds and relaxing. The Catamaran was the perfect place to do this. We will go back!!

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        5
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        5
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

        The Fishery is off the main street of town, but it is worth the drive. We had a wonderful meal there our last evening. The clam chowder was the best any of us have ever had.

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        Kathy Family Planner
        Business
        Minneapolis, MN
        Apr 22, 2009

        Fabulous location and views

        Fabulous location, nice chairs for the beach, some loud groups of kids but they mostly settled down at night. We were upgraded, which was nice, but we couldn't get into our room until 4:30pm. You can walk out one side of the hotel and be on the quiet bay or step across the street and be at the ocean. Just a fabulous location! Our balcony on the 12th floor had spectacular views and was spacious.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        4
        Room cleanliness:
        4
        Hotel staff:
        3
        Room comfort:
        5
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        4
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

        Mamma Mia's, a tiny Italian bistro close by. Great food, terrific prices and lovely service.

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        2
        5.01.0
        Donna the #1 Realtor
        Business
        Princeton Jct., NJ 08550
        Apr 22, 2009

        Not a 4 star hotel.

        The location of this hotel was excellent. The bay was on one side and ocean on the other. You could walk to restaurants and there were enough to choose from.On the other hand, The restaurant in the hotel was very expensive, Breakfast 35.00 for 2 people and just eggs and bacon??? This is not a 4 star hotel. There was only one room that had a king size bed and all others twins. Also I was very upset when they told us we had to PAY TO PARK OUR CAR. this was very expensive. This was not written in your description so change it and again the ambience was not good, the choice of bedspeads awful, dark, looked worn. They need to spend money on the rooms. Take down wallpaper and do over the bathrooms. Again not a 4 star hotel I would rate it a 2.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        2
        Room cleanliness:
        4
        Hotel staff:
        2
        Room comfort:
        3
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        2
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

        The location was great to get to the San Diego Zoo, Wildlife park and Balboa Park, La Holla. They were all in driving distance not more than an hour. Restaurants were in walking distance to the hotel and the beach ( bay side) on one side of hotel and ocean across the street. Nice to walk the beach.

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        Business
        Milwaukee, WI
        Apr 22, 2009

        Great Time

        We took the San Diego 32-mile bus tour and really felt that was a worthwhile experience. It gave us insight to the city of San Diego. The hotel grounds were beautiful and we really enjoyed our stay.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        4
        Room cleanliness:
        4
        Hotel staff:
        4
        Room comfort:
        5
        Location:
        4
        Value:
        4
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        Business
        ss
        Apr 22, 2009

        Worked for us!

        Very nice property in a great location. Bus stop right outside hotel (we used public transportation in San Diego, which is cheap, clean, and easy to navigate). The hotel is in a great area with tons of funky restaurants and the beach and board walk are right there. Our only problem was that there were college students on Spring Break, and there was lots of noise. When we called the front desk to complain, security was right there to take care of it (we suspected underage drinking... not a good combo with a highrise balcony hotel). The staff was friendly and the consierge was extremely helpful.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        4
        Room cleanliness:
        4
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        4
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        3
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

        Public transportation in San Diego is excellent, and the front desk folks helped us navigate that system very easily. Also, there are many restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel. Our favorite was right next door -- a little Mexican place that was really a hole in the wall. We noticed that the waiters from the fancy hotel restaurant were eating there during their break!! It was cheap, and delicious.

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        Gramma Pam
        Business
        Santa Rosa
        Apr 22, 2009

        San Diego family get together

        We were in san diego for a family reunion/hotel was an ideal gathering place. GrandKids loved the pool&recreation area/all the video games are free to guests&their visitors. Also the hotel upgrade our room to bay front/great views! Only downside was influx of spring brekers our last day.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        3
        Room cleanliness:
        4
        Hotel staff:
        4
        Room comfort:
        4
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        4
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        5
        5.01.0
        Cry baby
        Business
        Plainwell, MI.
        Apr 22, 2009

        Thank you for a wonderful vacation!

        We went to LA on Friday. The rest of the trip we were with friends that live in San Diego. I loved everythign that we did. The beach was just right across the stree, everything that we needed was right in walking distance. Everyone we meet were friendly. The hotel was in the perfect location and absoulty beautiful. I will be staying there next year when I come back.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        4
        Room cleanliness:
        4
        Hotel staff:
        3
        Room comfort:
        4
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        5
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

        We only had one problem with the staff and parking, but was taken care of, and that would not stop me from coming back, I will just know for next time.

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Back to menu Return to top