$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 5, 2015 Check-out: Mar 6, 2015

Catamaran Resort & Spa

4 stars
View map of 3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
461 reviews
Catamaran Resort

After visiting San Diego 5 years in a row and staying at 5 different hotels, we've decided that we... See full review

  • PaulandLisa
  • Oct 9, 2014
Great stay

I had a great time here, I'm definitely going back See full review

  • Just1
  • Oct 8, 2014
Waterfront hotel feature spectacular views and lush garden

There's no shortage of things to keep you busy at the Catamaran Resort & Spa. The property gardens house more than 1,000 plants and dozens of exotic birds. Treatment options abound at the Catamaran Spa. The Atoll, the on-site restaurant, serves seafood and a highly-regarded Sunday brunch. Finally, take an evening cruise on the Bahia Belle, the property's historic Mississippi-style sternwheeler (limited schedule).

Highlights
    • Relax and watch the action on Mission Bay
    • One on-site restaurant
    • Lush garden complete with exotic birds
    • Take an evening cruise on the property's Mississippi-style sternwheeler (limited schedule)
    Rooms

    The Catamaran Resort & Spa offers 313 rooms, including 16 suites, spread over five separate two-story buildings. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, iHome docking station and laptop safe. All rooms also feature balconies or patios with views of Mission Bay and the La Jolla coastline. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access.

    Features

    The Catamaran Resort & Spa is all about the sea. The property boasts a dock and marina and operates a historic, Mississippi-style sternwheeler for seasonal cruises. There's a heated pool in the garden courtyard. Rooms with views of Mission Bay available.

    Guests also find other, more land-oriented diversions onsite. The property boasts a state-of-the-art fitness center with free weights and cardio equipment. What's more, guests have access to an on-site video arcade and lush garden, which comprises more than 1,000 different species of plants. The hotel also offers laundry service (fees apply).

    The Atoll, the on-site restaurant, offers traditional meals in a swank environment. At Moray's Lounge, the atmosphere is more casual with TVs airing sporting events.

    Transportation
      • MTS Bus (1 block)
      • San Diego Trolley (5 mi/8 km)
      • San Diego International Airport (8 mi/13 km)
      Attractions
        • Mission Bay Park (4 blocks)
        • Sea World (1.5 mi/2 km)
        • Old Town (5 mi/8 km)
        • Point Loma (6 mi/10 km)
        • San Diego Zoo (10 mi/17 km)
        • Petco Park (12 mi/20 km)
        Business
        • 20,000 square feet of meeting space
        • Indoor and outdoor meeting space
        • 24-hour business center
        Policies and fees
        • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

        This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

        Recommendations for you

        Customers who viewed Catamaran Resort & Spa also booked these hotels.

        Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
        Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
        Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

        Catamaran Resort & Spa Rooms

        Studio
        With over 400 square feet of comfortable living space, the studios are furnished with two double beds, breakfast table and chairs. The kitchen is equipped with an electric stove; oven, full size refrigerator, sink and wash area, cooking utensils and place settings for four people. All studios have balconies or patios with lounge chairs and tables. Amenities include bathrobes, irons and ironing board, hair dryer and a coffee maker. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Bayview Room
        Tastefully appointed in a tropical decor with over 400 sq feet and each room opens up to it's own balcony or patio. The Bayview room features one king or two double beds on a "request only basis". All rooms have bathrobes, hair dryer, coffee maker iron and ironing board. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Deluxe Room - 1 king bed
        Our Deluxe King room is tastefully appointed in a tropical decor with over 400 sq feet and opens up to it's own balcony or patio. The Deluxe King room features one king bed. All rooms have bathrobes, hair dryer, coffee maker iron and ironing board. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Deluxe Garden Room
        Tastefully appointed in a tropical decor with over 400 sq feet and each opens up to it's own balcony or patio. The Deluxe Garden room features one king or two double beds on a "request only basis". All rooms have bathrobes, refrigerators, hair dryer, coffee maker iron and ironing board. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Bay View Suite
        Our Bayview King Suites offer king bed in the bedroom and a separate living room with a sleeper sofa as well as a private balcony. Each suite has bathrobes, a ironing board with iron, hairdryer, tea/coffee maker, television, telephone and clock radio. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.

        Amenities

        • WiFi
        • Outdoor pool
        • No smoking rooms/facilities
        General
        No smoking rooms/facilities
        Concierge
        Elevators
        Activities
        Outdoor pool
        Fitness center or spa
        Fitness Center
        Spa
        Game room
        Dining
        Restaurant
        24 hour room service
        Room service
        Services
        Business center
        Tour desk
        Conference facilities
        Gift shop
        Internet
        WiFi
        Parking
        Parking

        Nearby points of interest

        • Pacific Beach: 0.9 mi
        • Belmont Park: 1.4 mi
        • Mission Bay Park: 2.2 mi
        • Hospitality Point: 2.9 mi
        • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.1 mi
        • Bazaar Del Mundo: 4.1 mi
        • Old Town San Diego: 4.1 mi
        • Sunset Cliffs: 4.2 mi
        • Whaley House Museum: 4.3 mi
        • Heritage Park: 4.4 mi
        • Port of San Diego: 5.4 mi
        • Family Fun Center: 5.8 mi
        • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.7 mi
        • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.8 mi
        • Firehouse Museum: 6.9 mi
        • Pacific Beach: 0.9 mi
        • Belmont Park: 1.4 mi
        • Mission Bay Park: 2.2 mi
        • Hospitality Point: 2.9 mi
        • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.1 mi
        • Bazaar Del Mundo: 4.1 mi
        • Old Town San Diego: 4.1 mi
        • Sunset Cliffs: 4.2 mi
        • Whaley House Museum: 4.3 mi
        • Heritage Park: 4.4 mi
        • Port of San Diego: 5.4 mi
        • Family Fun Center: 5.8 mi
        • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.7 mi
        • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.8 mi
        • Firehouse Museum: 6.9 mi
        • San Diego Zoo: 7.1 mi
        • San Diego Museum of Man: 7.2 mi
        • San Diego Automotive Museum: 7.2 mi
        • Timken Museum of Art: 7.2 mi
        • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 7.3 mi
        • Botanical Building: 7.3 mi
        • Casa De Balboa: 7.3 mi
        • Spanish Village Art Center: 7.3 mi
        • San Diego Natural History Museum: 7.4 mi
        • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 7.5 mi
        • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 7.5 mi
        • San Diego Convention Center: 7.8 mi
        • Sorrento Valley: 7.8 mi
        • PETCO Park: 8 mi
        • Chula Vista Nature Center: 13.7 mi
        • Legoland: 23.7 mi
        • California Center For The Arts Museum: 24.6 mi
        • Cox Arena: 2,121 mi

        Dining

        Atoll Restaurant
        Open 7 days a week The Atoll restaurant, with its award-winning menu, offers spectacular views. Located directly on the sandy beach of Mission Bay, guest may enjoy quiet dining or relaxed outdoor-patio beachfront seating. Meals Served: 6:30am-11:15am Breakfast 11:30am-2:15pm Lunch 5:30pm-9: 45pm Dinner (Fri & Sat 10:45pm) Specials: Sunday Brunch, voted 'Best Brunch In San Diego' by San Diego Magazine, offers an outstanding presentation that will satisfy the most discriminating of our guests. Weekly from 10 am - 2 pm. Reservations are suggested Price Range: Varies Reservations Required? No Attire: Casual Attire
        Catamaran Spa
        Experience the Catamaran Resort Spa - A World Class Health & Wellness Facility. Featuring: private treatment rooms, ritual room, steam and dry saunas, outdoor whirlpool, Vichy shower, full service salon, and fitness facility. Please call the Spa at (858) 539-8821 for more information.
        Resort Water Sports Rentals
        Located on our white sand beach at the edge of Mission Bay. Our Water Sports Rental Department offers: sailboats, power boats, ocean kayaks, wind surfers, paddleboats.

        Meeting facilities

        Meeting Info
        With fresh ocean breezes and exotic ambience, the Catamaran Resort is an invigorating and creative setting for any group. All fourteen of our Function Rooms are complemented by scenic views, balconies, patios and most of all - our unforgettable bayfront. Inventive, fresh culinary style, and stunning presentations await you. With accommodations from 30 to 450 guests and over 20,000 square feet of contiguous function space, the choices are easy and endless. Our friendly and helpful staff, modern amenities and on-site Business Center ensure every detail is taken care of. Whether it's for business or special occasions, large or small, fancy or more down to earth, the Catamaran Resort is unsurpassed for style, flexibility and comfort.

        Hotel Policies

        Check-in:
        4:00 PM
        Check-out:
        12:00 PM

        Terms and conditions

        Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

        The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

        Back to menu Return to top

        Guest Reviews (461)

        Ratings and reviews for Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Overall score

        4.1 / 5
        5.01.0
        461 out of 461
        Amenities:
        4.1
        Cleanliness:
        4.2
        Hotel staff:
        4.3
        Comfort:
        4.1
        Location:
        4.7
        Value:
        4

        88% would recommend to a friend.

        Sort by:
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        5
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        Business
        Las Vegas
        May 26, 2009

        Birthday Weekend

        Couldn't be a better location. Wonderful view, tastefully decorated rooms, jovial happy hour, ultimate spa treatment, and the happiest kindest staff. Thank-you.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Comfort:
        5
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        5
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        Business
        San Francisco, CA
        May 26, 2009

        Tropical themed hotel

        Overall, I enjoyed my stay over Memorial day wknd at the Catamaran. The hotel is older, and done in a tropical, Polynesian-themed style, which can make it look a little dated, since there's a little bit of a Gilligan's island feel, but it was still a nice resort. The amenities were well-maintained and the grounds are really lovely. They even have an exotic bird exhibit that is really fun to see, and an arcade room next to the pool. The only thing is that it can be a little noisy from the leaf-blowers and lawnmowers that I heard from property in the adjacent community. The location is right alongside the beach and great for a jog or bike ride. It's not cutting-edge or hip, but you feel like you went somewhere different, and the amenities are older but cared for well.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        4
        Cleanliness:
        4
        Hotel staff:
        4
        Comfort:
        4
        Location:
        4
        Value:
        4
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        Business
        Minneapolis, MN
        May 8, 2009

        Smooth sailing at the Catamaran

        .

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Cleanliness:
        4
        Hotel staff:
        4
        Comfort:
        4
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        4
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

        Try the on-site boat and bike rentals. My boys loved the free arcade.

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        5
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        Business
        Colorado
        May 6, 2009

        Catamaran Resort & Spa is Awesome!!!

        After checking in we headed to our room, which just happened to be on the penthouse floor!!! Awesome views of the Pacific Ocean as well as surrounding area. The room was spotless with a nice balcony from which to enjoy the view. The staff were all first rate - very friendly, helpful, and super efficient. We have stayed at the Catamaran before and always love it. The flora and fauna make the grounds a resort in themselves. The parrots are always a riot to watch and talk to. Restaurants, entertainment, shopping, the beach, ocean, and grocery stores are all within easy walking distance. The hotel offers many options for activities. This is a first class facility and we will stay there again in the not too distant future. I am pleased that Cheap Tickets has such great package deals at VERY good prices. Thank you!!!

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Comfort:
        5
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        5
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

        The Pacific Ocean and Mission Bay are either right outside your door or within a very short walk of the hotel. Recreation options abound! You can be as active or as laid back as you choose to be.

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        Business
        Valencia, CA
        May 6, 2009

        Location, Location, Location

        Love the area - have had many experiences in other venues. This had to have been the best as far as accommodations, service, and location (you have the protected "bay" beach). We rented bikes (available at the property) and rode along the bay and pacific bike trails and strand, lounged on the beach followed by the pool. Very professional staff, beautiful grounds - enjoyed relaxing on our "garden view" balcony watching the koi and birds. Parking is extra but secure. Have recommended to others and look forward to returning soon.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        4
        Cleanliness:
        4
        Hotel staff:
        4
        Comfort:
        4
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        4
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        5
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        Business
        Dillon, Colorado
        Apr 25, 2009

        Catamaran Hotel

        We were upgraded to a top floor, bayview room that we loved, and the service and amenities were fantastic!

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Comfort:
        5
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        5
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

        Sea World, Zoo, beaches close by

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        5
        5.01.0
        Midwest Bargain Hunter
        Business
        Appleton WI
        Apr 24, 2009

        A great experience

        Was much nicer than we expected. Was a great experience and would happily recommend the Catamaran.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        4
        Cleanliness:
        4
        Hotel staff:
        4
        Comfort:
        4
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        4
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        3
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        Business
        Staten Island, NY
        Apr 24, 2009

        Relaxing Hotel

        The hotel was comfortable and relaxing. We enjoyed our stay at the Catamaran. The only constructive criticisms I have to offer is to the housekeeping staff. The rooms should be cleaned earlier than 5:00pm. After a long day at the San Diego Zoo we were looking forward to relaxing in our room. When we entered the room, housekeeping still had not been in there. It was 4:30pm. Other than that, our stay was very enjoyable.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        4
        Cleanliness:
        4
        Hotel staff:
        4
        Comfort:
        5
        Location:
        4
        Value:
        3
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        5
        5.01.0
        Catamaran Fan
        Business
        Littleton, CO
        Apr 23, 2009

        The Catamaran is the Ultimate!!

        We had never stayed in Ocean Beach. We'll never stay anyplace else after our experience at the Catamaran. Fromo the second we walked in, we felt like we were in the South Pacific. The architecture, grounds (exotic plants and animals), and service let us know we were in for a memorable experience. We spent a day taking whale watching expedition (saw none), and walking the beach at Coronado, but we spent most of our time sitting on Ocean Beach and enjoying the very un-Colorado like weather. We were upgraded to a spacious and beautifully decorated suite upon our arrival. The staff was gracious, the bar was terrific, and the restaurant was very elegant. We enjoyed strolling through the grounds and relaxing. The Catamaran was the perfect place to do this. We will go back!!

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Comfort:
        5
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        5
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

        The Fishery is off the main street of town, but it is worth the drive. We had a wonderful meal there our last evening. The clam chowder was the best any of us have ever had.

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        Kathy Family Planner
        Business
        Minneapolis, MN
        Apr 22, 2009

        Fabulous location and views

        Fabulous location, nice chairs for the beach, some loud groups of kids but they mostly settled down at night. We were upgraded, which was nice, but we couldn't get into our room until 4:30pm. You can walk out one side of the hotel and be on the quiet bay or step across the street and be at the ocean. Just a fabulous location! Our balcony on the 12th floor had spectacular views and was spacious.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        4
        Cleanliness:
        4
        Hotel staff:
        3
        Comfort:
        5
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        4
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

        Mamma Mia's, a tiny Italian bistro close by. Great food, terrific prices and lovely service.

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Back to menu Return to top