$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Catamaran Resort & Spa

4 stars
View map of 3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Catamaran Resort & Spa

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
515 out of 515
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zhanna My Angel Wife
Business
Louisville, Kentucky
Oct 12, 2009

A little slice of heaven

My motivation in my selection was my wife. I went to work everyday while she explored the area. She has only been in the USA for 5 months (from the Ukraine)and enjoyed talking to the birds and ALL of the plants in the garden area. The staff took good care of her, Thank you......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
3bizz[@]
Business
San Diego, CA
Oct 9, 2009

"Most Amazing in San Diego"

We loved the hotel! The view was amazing! I upgraded to the tower to get the view I had and it was worth every penny. We relaxed at the pool everyday and it was so relaxing. We traveled to other parts of CA and this is far the the best place to stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

you can eat right there on site, really have to go no where. You have everything there at your fingertips.

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SC
Oct 6, 2009

San Diego Trip

Great location! The grounds are beautiful. The Pool is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rick and Wanda
Business
Baltimore, Maryland
Sep 26, 2009

Wonderful vacation

Our stay at the Catamaran was lovely. While we didn't actually use the pool, it was beautiful and there was also a hot tub available. It was a very peaceful and serene trip and everyone one at the front desk and concierge desk was very accommodating. The hotel sits on the back and they offer many water sports. My husband and I used the Fat Cat which is like a battery operated floating lounge chair for two. It was alot of fun and relaxing. We also ate outside using the bar menu and found sitting outside in the evening very comfortable. The only small disappointment was that their website shows their garden rooms as having a sofa in them which our did not. Also I thought the garden rooms would look out over beautifully lanscaped flowers. Our looked out over pool but all in all great experience! Would definitely go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Tony Romas for dinner. We went there twice. Food is excellent and not expensive!! Also Burger King two blocks down the street for a quick lunch or if you are on the run. Ralphs Grocery Store was also helpful to us. We bought breakfast foods for room to save money and to get us out the door qucker. Going out to breakfast takes soo much time when there is so much to do!!!

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rick and Wanda
Business
Baltimore, Maryland
Sep 26, 2009

Wonderful vacation

Our stay at the Catamaran was lovely. While we didn't actually use the pool, it was beautiful and there was also a hot tub available. It was a very peaceful and serene trip and everyone one at the front desk and concierge desk was very accommodating. The hotel sits on the back and they offer many water sports. My husband and I used the Fat Cat which is like a battery operated floating lounge chair for two. It was alot of fun and relaxing. We also ate outside using the bar menu and found sitting outside in the evening very comfortable. The only small disappointment was that their website shows their garden rooms as having a sofa in them which our did not. Also I thought the garden rooms would look out over beautifully lanscaped flowers. Our looked out over pool but all in all great experience! Would definitely go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Tony Romas for dinner. We went there twice. Food is excellent and not expensive!! Also Burger King two blocks down the street for a quick lunch or if you are on the run. Ralphs Grocery Store was also helpful to us. We bought breakfast foods for room to save money and to get us out the door qucker. Going out to breakfast takes soo much time when there is so much to do!!!

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SONN
Business
CARSON,CA
Sep 15, 2009

great weekend getaway

it was an enjoyable stay the staff was friendly. shopping and dinning were within walking distance. a strange thing happened in our room,162, both my wife and i felt a presence and i felt a gentle touching of my foot around three am the next night around the same time i got up to use the restroom and when i turned the light off to go back to bed i heard a female voice asking for help STRANGE YES

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bellingham, WA
Sep 14, 2009

Like a separate island experience

Although located on a very busy tourist street, it is as if you step into another world as you enter this property. The rooms are incredibly quiet an the grounds kept exquisitely. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dreamin of Mission Beach
Business
Salt Lake city, Ut
Sep 13, 2009

Very Pleased!

The Catamaran was amazing. The staff was super friendly and the rooms were amazing. We had a wonderful view from our room. We were within walking distance of grocery stores, shops, and restaraunts. It was great! Best trip yet!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

T-shirt Frenzy at Belmont Park is a great place to buy customized tshirts and hoodies. They also have other great souveniers and the staff is awesome!

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bakersfield, CA
Sep 5, 2009

Not what we expected

We were in room 161 and couldn't go out through the sliding doors because the air conditioner above us dripped so much. Called to have it fixed, but it didn't help. Could not get the pay per view movies that were being advertised and front desk clerk had no idea how to help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

World Famous is the best.

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati
Sep 2, 2009

Nice grounds around hotel, but...

The grounds surrounding the hotel were beautiful and well kept. Unfortunately they did not extend this effort into the pool area or guest rooms. The Room - We stayed in the tower and had a partial ocean view out the side. The room was fairly clean but the bathroom could definately use some attention. Cracked tiles and dirty grout. Loose faucet on sink, dripping bathtub, etc.. We were at the end of the hall so it was quiet at night which was good. The bed was comfortable. Pool Area - This was the worst part of the hotel. If you plan to relax by the pool this IS NOT the hotel for you. No drink service by the pool or even at the small bar in the pool area. You have to walk to a window to order something from a very small alcohol selection. From open to close the pool is packed with small children. They allow small kids in the hot tub and also allow kids with diapers in the hot tub and pool. This is not only gross to see but is a huge health issue. What are they thinking? At a minimum they should have some adult swim time every day and not allow young children in the hot tub (which is dangerous due to the 100°+ temperature of the water anyways). The pool situation is the main reason I gave 2 stars to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It's a short walk to the pacific beach side from the hotel and there are plenty of good places to eat and hang out there.

Back to menu Return to top