$132 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Catamaran Resort & Spa

4 stars
3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
454 reviews
Catamaran Resort

After visiting San Diego 5 years in a row and staying at 5 different hotels, we've decided that we... See full review

  • PaulandLisa
  • Oct 9, 2014
Great stay

I had a great time here, I'm definitely going back See full review

  • Just1
  • Oct 8, 2014
Waterfront hotel feature spectacular views and lush garden

There's no shortage of things to keep you busy at the Catamaran Resort & Spa. The property gardens house more than 1,000 plants and dozens of exotic birds. Treatment options abound at the Catamaran Spa. The Atoll, the on-site restaurant, serves seafood and a highly-regarded Sunday brunch. Finally, take an evening cruise on the Bahia Belle, the property's historic Mississippi-style sternwheeler (limited schedule).

Highlights
    • Relax and watch the action on Mission Bay
    • One on-site restaurant
    • Lush garden complete with exotic birds
    • Take an evening cruise on the property's Mississippi-style sternwheeler (limited schedule)
    Rooms

    The Catamaran Resort & Spa offers 313 rooms, including 16 suites, spread over five separate two-story buildings. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, iHome docking station and laptop safe. All rooms also feature balconies or patios with views of Mission Bay and the La Jolla coastline. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access.

    Features

    The Catamaran Resort & Spa is all about the sea. The property boasts a dock and marina and operates a historic, Mississippi-style sternwheeler for seasonal cruises. There's a heated pool in the garden courtyard. Rooms with views of Mission Bay available.

    Guests also find other, more land-oriented diversions onsite. The property boasts a state-of-the-art fitness center with free weights and cardio equipment. What's more, guests have access to an on-site video arcade and lush garden, which comprises more than 1,000 different species of plants. The hotel also offers laundry service (fees apply).

    The Atoll, the on-site restaurant, offers traditional meals in a swank environment. At Moray's Lounge, the atmosphere is more casual with TVs airing sporting events.

    Transportation
      • MTS Bus (1 block)
      • San Diego Trolley (5 mi/8 km)
      • San Diego International Airport (8 mi/13 km)
      Attractions
        • Mission Bay Park (4 blocks)
        • Sea World (1.5 mi/2 km)
        • Old Town (5 mi/8 km)
        • Point Loma (6 mi/10 km)
        • San Diego Zoo (10 mi/17 km)
        • Petco Park (12 mi/20 km)
        Business
        • 20,000 square feet of meeting space
        • Indoor and outdoor meeting space
        • 24-hour business center
        Policies and fees
        • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

        This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

        Recommendations for you

        Customers who viewed Catamaran Resort & Spa also booked these hotels.

        Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
        Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
        Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

        Catamaran Resort & Spa Rooms

        Studio
        With over 400 square feet of comfortable living space, the studios are furnished with two double beds, breakfast table and chairs. The kitchen is equipped with an electric stove; oven, full size refrigerator, sink and wash area, cooking utensils and place settings for four people. All studios have balconies or patios with lounge chairs and tables. Amenities include bathrobes, irons and ironing board, hair dryer and a coffee maker. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Bayview Room
        Tastefully appointed in a tropical decor with over 400 sq feet and each room opens up to it's own balcony or patio. The Bayview room features one king or two double beds on a "request only basis". All rooms have bathrobes, hair dryer, coffee maker iron and ironing board. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Deluxe Room - 1 king bed
        Our Deluxe King room is tastefully appointed in a tropical decor with over 400 sq feet and opens up to it's own balcony or patio. The Deluxe King room features one king bed. All rooms have bathrobes, hair dryer, coffee maker iron and ironing board. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Deluxe Garden Room
        Tastefully appointed in a tropical decor with over 400 sq feet and each opens up to it's own balcony or patio. The Deluxe Garden room features one king or two double beds on a "request only basis". All rooms have bathrobes, refrigerators, hair dryer, coffee maker iron and ironing board. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Bay View Suite
        Our Bayview King Suites offer king bed in the bedroom and a separate living room with a sleeper sofa as well as a private balcony. Each suite has bathrobes, a ironing board with iron, hairdryer, tea/coffee maker, television, telephone and clock radio. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.

        Amenities

        • WiFi
        • Outdoor pool
        • No smoking rooms/facilities
        General
        No smoking rooms/facilities
        Concierge
        Elevators
        Activities
        Outdoor pool
        Fitness center or spa
        Fitness Center
        Spa
        Game room
        Dining
        Restaurant
        24 hour room service
        Room service
        Services
        Business center
        Tour desk
        Conference facilities
        Gift shop
        Internet
        WiFi
        Parking
        Parking

        Nearby points of interest

        • Pacific Beach: 0.9 mi
        • Belmont Park: 1.4 mi
        • Mission Bay Park: 2.2 mi
        • Hospitality Point: 2.9 mi
        • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.1 mi
        • Bazaar Del Mundo: 4.1 mi
        • Old Town San Diego: 4.1 mi
        • Sunset Cliffs: 4.2 mi
        • Whaley House Museum: 4.3 mi
        • Heritage Park: 4.4 mi
        • Port of San Diego: 5.4 mi
        • Family Fun Center: 5.8 mi
        • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.7 mi
        • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.8 mi
        • Firehouse Museum: 6.9 mi
        • Pacific Beach: 0.9 mi
        • Belmont Park: 1.4 mi
        • Mission Bay Park: 2.2 mi
        • Hospitality Point: 2.9 mi
        • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.1 mi
        • Bazaar Del Mundo: 4.1 mi
        • Old Town San Diego: 4.1 mi
        • Sunset Cliffs: 4.2 mi
        • Whaley House Museum: 4.3 mi
        • Heritage Park: 4.4 mi
        • Port of San Diego: 5.4 mi
        • Family Fun Center: 5.8 mi
        • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.7 mi
        • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.8 mi
        • Firehouse Museum: 6.9 mi
        • San Diego Zoo: 7.1 mi
        • San Diego Museum of Man: 7.2 mi
        • San Diego Automotive Museum: 7.2 mi
        • Timken Museum of Art: 7.2 mi
        • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 7.3 mi
        • Botanical Building: 7.3 mi
        • Casa De Balboa: 7.3 mi
        • Spanish Village Art Center: 7.3 mi
        • San Diego Natural History Museum: 7.4 mi
        • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 7.5 mi
        • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 7.5 mi
        • San Diego Convention Center: 7.8 mi
        • Sorrento Valley: 7.8 mi
        • PETCO Park: 8 mi
        • Chula Vista Nature Center: 13.7 mi
        • Legoland: 23.7 mi
        • California Center For The Arts Museum: 24.6 mi
        • Cox Arena: 2,121 mi

        Meeting facilities

        Meeting Info
        With fresh ocean breezes and exotic ambience, the Catamaran Resort is an invigorating and creative setting for any group. All fourteen of our Function Rooms are complemented by scenic views, balconies, patios and most of all - our unforgettable bayfront. Inventive, fresh culinary style, and stunning presentations await you. With accommodations from 30 to 450 guests and over 20,000 square feet of contiguous function space, the choices are easy and endless. Our friendly and helpful staff, modern amenities and on-site Business Center ensure every detail is taken care of. Whether it's for business or special occasions, large or small, fancy or more down to earth, the Catamaran Resort is unsurpassed for style, flexibility and comfort.

        Dining

        Atoll Restaurant
        Open 7 days a week The Atoll restaurant, with its award-winning menu, offers spectacular views. Located directly on the sandy beach of Mission Bay, guest may enjoy quiet dining or relaxed outdoor-patio beachfront seating. Meals Served: 6:30am-11:15am Breakfast 11:30am-2:15pm Lunch 5:30pm-9: 45pm Dinner (Fri & Sat 10:45pm) Specials: Sunday Brunch, voted 'Best Brunch In San Diego' by San Diego Magazine, offers an outstanding presentation that will satisfy the most discriminating of our guests. Weekly from 10 am - 2 pm. Reservations are suggested Price Range: Varies Reservations Required? No Attire: Casual Attire
        Catamaran Spa
        Experience the Catamaran Resort Spa - A World Class Health & Wellness Facility. Featuring: private treatment rooms, ritual room, steam and dry saunas, outdoor whirlpool, Vichy shower, full service salon, and fitness facility. Please call the Spa at (858) 539-8821 for more information.
        Resort Water Sports Rentals
        Located on our white sand beach at the edge of Mission Bay. Our Water Sports Rental Department offers: sailboats, power boats, ocean kayaks, wind surfers, paddleboats.

        Hotel Policies

        Check-in:
        1600
        Check-out:
        1200

        Terms and conditions

        Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

        The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

        Back to menu Return to top

        Guest Reviews (454)

        Ratings and reviews for Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Overall score

        4.1 / 5
        5.01.0
        454 out of 454
        Amenities:
        4.1
        Room cleanliness:
        4.2
        Hotel staff:
        4.3
        Room comfort:
        4.1
        Location:
        4.7
        Value:
        4

        88% would recommend to a friend.

        Sort by:
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        Business
        Kansas City, MO
        Jul 17, 2009

        Relaxing and Beautiful

        Beach BBQ along with entertainment was loads of fun. Spa was first-rate.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Room cleanliness:
        4
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        5
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        4
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

        Easy access to bike rental and bay side and ocean side bike paths.

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        5
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        Business
        Tucson, AZ
        Jul 16, 2009

        Fantastic family getaway

        Enjoyed staying there alot. While there we went to Sea World, beach, Legoland, Bahia Cruise, smores, walked along path by beach. Very enjoyable.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        5
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        5
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

        Very close to the beach. Can be at the beach in less than 5 minutes.

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        Business
        Utah
        Jul 13, 2009

        Totally enjoyed our stay

        We have a 2 1/2 year old, and we did not want to rent a car while in S.D. So the Catamaran was a perfect solution. Stayed in building 3, overlooking the pool which was fine. Drinks were pricey at the pool bar, but very tasty! Arcade was very cool. The beach on the bay was great, no waves, so my son was very excited about that. Pacific Beach is only 1 block away, with great places to eat, all within a very brief walk. Cab to Sea World about $12. We shopped at Ralph's 3 blocks away to store up on food and drink to save a little more cash. There is a cool bar at the resort for a few afternoon drinks. Watched the Luau entertainment for an hour while waiting to take our boat ride on the bay. Took the boat ride at 9:00 to watch the fireworks at Sea World, very cool! This place was a little pricey, but the location and the very cool gardens, the family friendly pool, and all around feel was worth the extra money.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        4
        Room cleanliness:
        3
        Hotel staff:
        4
        Room comfort:
        4
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        4
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        5
        5.01.0
        Don't Wannago
        Business
        Overland Park, KS
        Jul 10, 2009

        The perfect location in Mission Bay

        This hotel is perfectly located on Mission Bay. It's right on the shore of the bay, so there are all sorts of water sports and a bay beach to enjoy. But it's also two short blocks to the ocean at Pacific Beach, where you can enjoy laying out and listening to the waves crash...or get out and ride them! There are lots of fun restaurants within walking distance. The fitness center is wonderful! They have five outdoor machines so that you can work out with a great view of Mission Bay and a nice San Diego breeze. The only thing that would have made the stay better...a laundry facility. There is a laundry service, but we'd rather do our own. There are a few laundromats about 1/2 mile in either direction of the hotel, but it's not as handy as having one at the hotel, where you can lay out at the pool while you're waiting for the machines. If you want to try boogie boarding, check out the little boardwalk stores (bordering the beach, and just a block or so south of the hotel). They sell them for $10-13, which is how much it usually costs to rent one for a couple of hours.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        5
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        4
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

        Our room had a little kitchen, so we walked a couple of blocks north to Ralph's grocery store and picked up food for breakfasts, drinks and snacks. That significantly reduced our spending on meals.

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        Char-Bird
        Business
        Bakersfield, CA
        Jul 10, 2009

        Overall an excellant experience!

        The garden view room was a little overstated. But, the hotel did have a wonderful variety of plants and flowers, and palm trees with multiple coi ponds, and a variety of ducks. The hotel staff were polite and friendly. The room had plenty of towels and wash cloths which was a plus! Pier and beach within short walking distance from the hotel. Also, hotel back-up on a beach/harbor for sunbathing and recreation rentals. Also, the hotel room had a charge for an I-phone within the console of radio, which was a plus.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        4
        Room cleanliness:
        4
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        3
        Location:
        4
        Value:
        3
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        5
        5.01.0
        sharkbite6000
        Business
        Clearfield, UT
        Jul 4, 2009

        sweet service, bad manager

        Our stay at Catamaran was pure bliss. The service and food was great. As soon as we walked in the front door it turned into paradise. The outside world dissapeared and it was five star living for the weekend. Moray's and Atoll were top notch all the way. We only had one problem. The room next door to us had a backed up drain and it ended up effecting our room. We couldn't use our bathroom or shower for most of the afternoon and into the night. The night supervisor did not seem very understanding of the problem. The maintenance staff informed us that they were going to call a plumber because the problem was severe. We asked the manager if we could possibly be transfered to another room. His response was "There is nothing that I can do, you will just have to wait for it to be fixed." This was at 10 o'clock at night and there was still a plumber in our room. Long story short, the maintenance staff was very polite and even sent for housekeeping to clean up the mess they had made. Besides the one frustrating incident, our trip was perfect.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        4
        Room comfort:
        5
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        5
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Money-saving tip: In Hotel

        The Bahia Belle was a blast. We went after family hours and enjoyed the bar and band. The boat ride was very nice and free to hotel guests.

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        Pat and family
        Business
        Pleasanton, CA
        Jul 1, 2009

        Wonderful hotel stay

        The Catamaran Hotel was great, can't wait to go back. We stayed on the Bay side in a one bedroom unit, I don't think I would have been as happy with one of the tower rooms. We had a great view of the bay and the Sea World fireworks right from our patio. The kids enjoyed the pool and game room. The room was very clean, but a little out dated. The staff was pleasant and the grounds are very nice. Recommend for families.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        4
        Room comfort:
        5
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        4
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        5
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        Business
        Albuquerque, NM
        Jun 30, 2009

        Catamaran Honeymoon

        We had a short honeymoon weekend trip, but we really made the most of our time. We stayed in the tower where the views were breathtaking, went on a bay cruise, injoyed the beach on the bay and the ocean and did a little jet skiing. Best location on the bay!

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        5
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        5
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

        Beaches, Sea World, Dining

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        Business
        Pueblo, CO
        Jun 30, 2009

        San Diego Vacation

        Very nice location right on the bay and across the street from the ocean.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        4
        Room cleanliness:
        3
        Hotel staff:
        4
        Room comfort:
        3
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        3
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

        You can park on the street for free.

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        Mom Grammy and Jr
        Business
        Phoenix, AZ
        Jun 29, 2009

        Location, location, location

        Our stay at the Catamaran was delightful. We were on the 12th floor in the Tower and had an ocean view. The patio was larger than most and a nice place to sit in the morning and watch the surfers and the sunset in the evening. It is a short cab ride ($10)to Sea World. We didn't rent a car and really didn't need one. A very short walk to the ocean which was great with a 6 year old traveling with us. We didn't have to fight beach traffic or drive back to a hotel wet and sandy after spending the day on the beach. The game room is located near the pool area so my daughter and I could relax while my grandson played the FREE games in the evening. We had a studio room so the kitchen came in handy and the room was very spacious. The staff was very accomadating and brought anything we needed to the room as soon as we asked for it. Restaurant has limited selections, but has a good kids menu and the food was good. The happy hour menu at the bar is great. Room service breakfast is reasonable and there are alot of walking distance choices. Joe's Crab Shack is a short walk down the beach. Burger King a block away. Ralph's market 2 blocks. Complimentary boat ride on bay was great. Fireworks at Seaworld can be seen every night. I would suggest Tower rooms if traveling with children. There were some parties in the bayfront rooms that were loud but not out of control. Security is present all over the property and we felt very safe. I had read mixed reviews on this property but we had a wonderful experience. If you want to walk to the beach and have a private beach on the bay I don't think you could get a better price. We will definately go back. We only wish we could have stayed longer.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        5
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        5
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

        Joe's Crab Shack, Burger King, Tony Roma's, Ralph's market.

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Back to menu Return to top