$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 3, 2014 Check-out: Nov 5, 2014

Catamaran Resort & Spa

4 stars
3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
453 reviews
Catamaran Resort

After visiting San Diego 5 years in a row and staying at 5 different hotels, we've decided that we... See full review

  • PaulandLisa
  • Oct 9, 2014
Great stay

I had a great time here, I'm definitely going back See full review

  • Just1
  • Oct 8, 2014

Located on the edge of Mission Bay and just steps to the white sand beaches of the Pacific Ocean. Welcome to an experience that awakens the senses, relaxes the body and soothes the soul. Think paradise, and exotic tropical pleasures come to mind. Explore hidden gardens of over 1,000 types of eclectic plants and flowers, exotic birds, 100 varieties of palm trees, and 30 types of hibiscus. Surround yourself with striking sunsets, the splendor of secluded sandy beaches, and the sights and sounds of nature all in one place.

The Catamaran's 315 rooms and suites are spacious and tastefully appointed with their own balcony or patio. Mission Bay, the world's largest aquatic park, is at your doorstep and the enticing waves of the Pacific Ocean are just 100 yards away. The Catamaran tower commands a view from the shores of La Jolla to Old Mexico with spectacular views of Mission Bay and the San Diego skyline. Sea World, the world-famous San Diego Zoo and the San Diego International Airport are just minutes away. By staying at the Catamaran Resort for pleasure or business, you'll experience San Diego, one of Southern California's most exciting cities, in all its fascinating and colorful detail. Every nuance of the city is ready and waiting to be revealed in extraordinary ways. The Atoll Restaurant and Patio offers an award winning dining experience for every taste & Moray's offers cocktails and piano music. Room Service available 24 hours a day.

The Catamaran Resort Spa - A World Class Health & Wellness Facility

Featuring: private treatment rooms, ritual room, Steam and dry saunas, Outdoor whirlpool, Vichy shower, full service salon, and fitness facility.

Self Parking $18.00 per day - Valet $23.00 pr day.

Hotel Map

32.7901 -117.2534
Area served
San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
(SAN)San Diego International Airport
Area description
On Mission Bay in Pacific Beach with many shops and restaurants.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catamaran Resort & Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Catamaran Resort & Spa Rooms

Studio
With over 400 square feet of comfortable living space, the studios are furnished with two double beds, breakfast table and chairs. The kitchen is equipped with an electric stove; oven, full size refrigerator, sink and wash area, cooking utensils and place settings for four people. All studios have balconies or patios with lounge chairs and tables. Amenities include bathrobes, irons and ironing board, hair dryer and a coffee maker. All rooms are non-smoking.
Bayview Room
Tastefully appointed in a tropical decor with over 400 sq feet and each room opens up to it's own balcony or patio. The Bayview room features one king or two double beds on a "request only basis". All rooms have bathrobes, hair dryer, coffee maker iron and ironing board. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.
Deluxe Room - 1 king bed
Our Deluxe King room is tastefully appointed in a tropical decor with over 400 sq feet and opens up to it's own balcony or patio. The Deluxe King room features one king bed. All rooms have bathrobes, hair dryer, coffee maker iron and ironing board. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.
Deluxe Garden Room
Tastefully appointed in a tropical decor with over 400 sq feet and each opens up to it's own balcony or patio. The Deluxe Garden room features one king or two double beds on a "request only basis". All rooms have bathrobes, refrigerators, hair dryer, coffee maker iron and ironing board. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.
Bay View Suite
Our Bayview King Suites offer king bed in the bedroom and a separate living room with a sleeper sofa as well as a private balcony. Each suite has bathrobes, a ironing board with iron, hairdryer, tea/coffee maker, television, telephone and clock radio. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Game room
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Pacific Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Belmont Park: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.2 mi
  • Sea World: 2.3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 4.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 4.1 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 4.2 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Heritage Park: 4.4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 5.4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.8 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Belmont Park: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.2 mi
  • Sea World: 2.3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 4.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 4.1 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 4.2 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Heritage Park: 4.4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 5.4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.8 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 6.9 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 7.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 7.2 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 7.2 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 7.2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 7.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 7.3 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 7.3 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 7.3 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 7.4 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 7.5 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 7.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 7.8 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 7.8 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 7.9 mi
  • PETCO Park: 8 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 13.7 mi
  • Legoland: 23.7 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 24.6 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
With fresh ocean breezes and exotic ambience, the Catamaran Resort is an invigorating and creative setting for any group. All fourteen of our Function Rooms are complemented by scenic views, balconies, patios and most of all - our unforgettable bayfront. Inventive, fresh culinary style, and stunning presentations await you. With accommodations from 30 to 450 guests and over 20,000 square feet of contiguous function space, the choices are easy and endless. Our friendly and helpful staff, modern amenities and on-site Business Center ensure every detail is taken care of. Whether it's for business or special occasions, large or small, fancy or more down to earth, the Catamaran Resort is unsurpassed for style, flexibility and comfort.

Dining

Atoll Restaurant
Open 7 days a week The Atoll restaurant, with its award-winning menu, offers spectacular views. Located directly on the sandy beach of Mission Bay, guest may enjoy quiet dining or relaxed outdoor-patio beachfront seating. Meals Served: 6:30am-11:15am Breakfast 11:30am-2:15pm Lunch 5:30pm-9: 45pm Dinner (Fri & Sat 10:45pm) Specials: Sunday Brunch, voted 'Best Brunch In San Diego' by San Diego Magazine, offers an outstanding presentation that will satisfy the most discriminating of our guests. Weekly from 10 am - 2 pm. Reservations are suggested Price Range: Varies Reservations Required? No Attire: Casual Attire
Catamaran Spa
Experience the Catamaran Resort Spa - A World Class Health & Wellness Facility. Featuring: private treatment rooms, ritual room, steam and dry saunas, outdoor whirlpool, Vichy shower, full service salon, and fitness facility. Please call the Spa at (858) 539-8821 for more information.
Resort Water Sports Rentals
Located on our white sand beach at the edge of Mission Bay. Our Water Sports Rental Department offers: sailboats, power boats, ocean kayaks, wind surfers, paddleboats.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (453)

Ratings and reviews for Catamaran Resort & Spa

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
453 out of 453
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
suz3es
Seattle wa
Mar 14, 2014

everything was wonderful so friendly and willing to help

We will certainly go back soon it was nice and relaxing only thing is to many kids in spa kept us from going and enjoying it... would definitely recommend the garden rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rick and Wanda
Business
Baltimore, Maryland
Sep 26, 2009

Wonderful vacation

Our stay at the Catamaran was lovely. While we didn't actually use the pool, it was beautiful and there was also a hot tub available. It was a very peaceful and serene trip and everyone one at the front desk and concierge desk was very accommodating. The hotel sits on the back and they offer many water sports. My husband and I used the Fat Cat which is like a battery operated floating lounge chair for two. It was alot of fun and relaxing. We also ate outside using the bar menu and found sitting outside in the evening very comfortable. The only small disappointment was that their website shows their garden rooms as having a sofa in them which our did not. Also I thought the garden rooms would look out over beautifully lanscaped flowers. Our looked out over pool but all in all great experience! Would definitely go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Tony Romas for dinner. We went there twice. Food is excellent and not expensive!! Also Burger King two blocks down the street for a quick lunch or if you are on the run. Ralphs Grocery Store was also helpful to us. We bought breakfast foods for room to save money and to get us out the door qucker. Going out to breakfast takes soo much time when there is so much to do!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SONN
Business
CARSON,CA
Sep 15, 2009

great weekend getaway

it was an enjoyable stay the staff was friendly. shopping and dinning were within walking distance. a strange thing happened in our room,162, both my wife and i felt a presence and i felt a gentle touching of my foot around three am the next night around the same time i got up to use the restroom and when i turned the light off to go back to bed i heard a female voice asking for help STRANGE YES

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bellingham, WA
Sep 14, 2009

Like a separate island experience

Although located on a very busy tourist street, it is as if you step into another world as you enter this property. The rooms are incredibly quiet an the grounds kept exquisitely. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dreamin of Mission Beach
Business
Salt Lake city, Ut
Sep 13, 2009

Very Pleased!

The Catamaran was amazing. The staff was super friendly and the rooms were amazing. We had a wonderful view from our room. We were within walking distance of grocery stores, shops, and restaraunts. It was great! Best trip yet!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

T-shirt Frenzy at Belmont Park is a great place to buy customized tshirts and hoodies. They also have other great souveniers and the staff is awesome!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bakersfield, CA
Sep 5, 2009

Not what we expected

We were in room 161 and couldn't go out through the sliding doors because the air conditioner above us dripped so much. Called to have it fixed, but it didn't help. Could not get the pay per view movies that were being advertised and front desk clerk had no idea how to help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

World Famous is the best.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati
Sep 2, 2009

Nice grounds around hotel, but...

The grounds surrounding the hotel were beautiful and well kept. Unfortunately they did not extend this effort into the pool area or guest rooms. The Room - We stayed in the tower and had a partial ocean view out the side. The room was fairly clean but the bathroom could definately use some attention. Cracked tiles and dirty grout. Loose faucet on sink, dripping bathtub, etc.. We were at the end of the hall so it was quiet at night which was good. The bed was comfortable. Pool Area - This was the worst part of the hotel. If you plan to relax by the pool this IS NOT the hotel for you. No drink service by the pool or even at the small bar in the pool area. You have to walk to a window to order something from a very small alcohol selection. From open to close the pool is packed with small children. They allow small kids in the hot tub and also allow kids with diapers in the hot tub and pool. This is not only gross to see but is a huge health issue. What are they thinking? At a minimum they should have some adult swim time every day and not allow young children in the hot tub (which is dangerous due to the 100°+ temperature of the water anyways). The pool situation is the main reason I gave 2 stars to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It's a short walk to the pacific beach side from the hotel and there are plenty of good places to eat and hang out there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Aug 29, 2009

San Diego

Just walking around the hotel was beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Anaheim, CA
Aug 27, 2009

Great location and family retreat

We really enjoyed our stay and will book future trips there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Aug 27, 2009

Beautiful, tropical full service resort

This hotel is located directly on Mission Bay and about 2 blocks from the ocean with walking distance to many restaurants, clubs, shopping, etc. This resort is landscaped like a tropical paradise w/birds, fish, streams and a wide variety of tropical plants. Just sitting by the pool or bay is very relaxing. Rooms in the tower were somewhat dated in appearance but clean. We will definitely return here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Si Beirne Experience
Business
San Diego
Aug 17, 2009

SD Experience

Very enjoyable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top