$132 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

Catamaran Resort & Spa

4 stars
3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
454 reviews
Catamaran Resort

After visiting San Diego 5 years in a row and staying at 5 different hotels, we've decided that we... See full review

  • PaulandLisa
  • Oct 9, 2014
Great stay

I had a great time here, I'm definitely going back See full review

  • Just1
  • Oct 8, 2014
Waterfront hotel feature spectacular views and lush garden

There's no shortage of things to keep you busy at the Catamaran Resort & Spa. The property gardens house more than 1,000 plants and dozens of exotic birds. Treatment options abound at the Catamaran Spa. The Atoll, the on-site restaurant, serves seafood and a highly-regarded Sunday brunch. Finally, take an evening cruise on the Bahia Belle, the property's historic Mississippi-style sternwheeler (limited schedule).

Highlights
    • Relax and watch the action on Mission Bay
    • One on-site restaurant
    • Lush garden complete with exotic birds
    • Take an evening cruise on the property's Mississippi-style sternwheeler (limited schedule)
    Rooms

    The Catamaran Resort & Spa offers 313 rooms, including 16 suites, spread over five separate two-story buildings. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, iHome docking station and laptop safe. All rooms also feature balconies or patios with views of Mission Bay and the La Jolla coastline. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access.

    Features

    The Catamaran Resort & Spa is all about the sea. The property boasts a dock and marina and operates a historic, Mississippi-style sternwheeler for seasonal cruises. There's a heated pool in the garden courtyard. Rooms with views of Mission Bay available.

    Guests also find other, more land-oriented diversions onsite. The property boasts a state-of-the-art fitness center with free weights and cardio equipment. What's more, guests have access to an on-site video arcade and lush garden, which comprises more than 1,000 different species of plants. The hotel also offers laundry service (fees apply).

    The Atoll, the on-site restaurant, offers traditional meals in a swank environment. At Moray's Lounge, the atmosphere is more casual with TVs airing sporting events.

    Transportation
      • MTS Bus (1 block)
      • San Diego Trolley (5 mi/8 km)
      • San Diego International Airport (8 mi/13 km)
      Attractions
        • Mission Bay Park (4 blocks)
        • Sea World (1.5 mi/2 km)
        • Old Town (5 mi/8 km)
        • Point Loma (6 mi/10 km)
        • San Diego Zoo (10 mi/17 km)
        • Petco Park (12 mi/20 km)
        Business
        • 20,000 square feet of meeting space
        • Indoor and outdoor meeting space
        • 24-hour business center
        Policies and fees
        • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

        This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

        Hotel Map

        32.7901 -117.2534
        Area served
        San Diego, CA
        Nearby airports
        (SAN)San Diego International Airport
        Area description
        On Mission Bay in Pacific Beach with many shops and restaurants.

        Recommendations for you

        Customers who viewed Catamaran Resort & Spa also booked these hotels.

        Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
        Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
        Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

        Catamaran Resort & Spa Rooms

        Studio
        With over 400 square feet of comfortable living space, the studios are furnished with two double beds, breakfast table and chairs. The kitchen is equipped with an electric stove; oven, full size refrigerator, sink and wash area, cooking utensils and place settings for four people. All studios have balconies or patios with lounge chairs and tables. Amenities include bathrobes, irons and ironing board, hair dryer and a coffee maker. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Bayview Room
        Tastefully appointed in a tropical decor with over 400 sq feet and each room opens up to it's own balcony or patio. The Bayview room features one king or two double beds on a "request only basis". All rooms have bathrobes, hair dryer, coffee maker iron and ironing board. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Deluxe Room - 1 king bed
        Our Deluxe King room is tastefully appointed in a tropical decor with over 400 sq feet and opens up to it's own balcony or patio. The Deluxe King room features one king bed. All rooms have bathrobes, hair dryer, coffee maker iron and ironing board. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Deluxe Garden Room
        Tastefully appointed in a tropical decor with over 400 sq feet and each opens up to it's own balcony or patio. The Deluxe Garden room features one king or two double beds on a "request only basis". All rooms have bathrobes, refrigerators, hair dryer, coffee maker iron and ironing board. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Bay View Suite
        Our Bayview King Suites offer king bed in the bedroom and a separate living room with a sleeper sofa as well as a private balcony. Each suite has bathrobes, a ironing board with iron, hairdryer, tea/coffee maker, television, telephone and clock radio. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.

        Amenities

        • WiFi
        • Outdoor pool
        • No smoking rooms/facilities
        General
        No smoking rooms/facilities
        Concierge
        Elevators
        Activities
        Outdoor pool
        Fitness center or spa
        Fitness Center
        Spa
        Game room
        Dining
        Restaurant
        24 hour room service
        Room service
        Services
        Business center
        Tour desk
        Conference facilities
        Gift shop
        Internet
        WiFi
        Parking
        Parking

        Nearby points of interest

        • Pacific Beach: 0.9 mi
        • Belmont Park: 1.4 mi
        • Mission Bay Park: 2.2 mi
        • Hospitality Point: 2.9 mi
        • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.1 mi
        • Bazaar Del Mundo: 4.1 mi
        • Old Town San Diego: 4.1 mi
        • Sunset Cliffs: 4.2 mi
        • Whaley House Museum: 4.3 mi
        • Heritage Park: 4.4 mi
        • Port of San Diego: 5.4 mi
        • Family Fun Center: 5.8 mi
        • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.7 mi
        • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.8 mi
        • Firehouse Museum: 6.9 mi
        • Pacific Beach: 0.9 mi
        • Belmont Park: 1.4 mi
        • Mission Bay Park: 2.2 mi
        • Hospitality Point: 2.9 mi
        • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.1 mi
        • Bazaar Del Mundo: 4.1 mi
        • Old Town San Diego: 4.1 mi
        • Sunset Cliffs: 4.2 mi
        • Whaley House Museum: 4.3 mi
        • Heritage Park: 4.4 mi
        • Port of San Diego: 5.4 mi
        • Family Fun Center: 5.8 mi
        • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.7 mi
        • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.8 mi
        • Firehouse Museum: 6.9 mi
        • San Diego Zoo: 7.1 mi
        • San Diego Museum of Man: 7.2 mi
        • San Diego Automotive Museum: 7.2 mi
        • Timken Museum of Art: 7.2 mi
        • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 7.3 mi
        • Botanical Building: 7.3 mi
        • Casa De Balboa: 7.3 mi
        • Spanish Village Art Center: 7.3 mi
        • San Diego Natural History Museum: 7.4 mi
        • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 7.5 mi
        • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 7.5 mi
        • San Diego Convention Center: 7.8 mi
        • Sorrento Valley: 7.8 mi
        • PETCO Park: 8 mi
        • Chula Vista Nature Center: 13.7 mi
        • Legoland: 23.7 mi
        • California Center For The Arts Museum: 24.6 mi
        • Cox Arena: 2,121 mi

        Meeting facilities

        Meeting Info
        With fresh ocean breezes and exotic ambience, the Catamaran Resort is an invigorating and creative setting for any group. All fourteen of our Function Rooms are complemented by scenic views, balconies, patios and most of all - our unforgettable bayfront. Inventive, fresh culinary style, and stunning presentations await you. With accommodations from 30 to 450 guests and over 20,000 square feet of contiguous function space, the choices are easy and endless. Our friendly and helpful staff, modern amenities and on-site Business Center ensure every detail is taken care of. Whether it's for business or special occasions, large or small, fancy or more down to earth, the Catamaran Resort is unsurpassed for style, flexibility and comfort.

        Dining

        Atoll Restaurant
        Open 7 days a week The Atoll restaurant, with its award-winning menu, offers spectacular views. Located directly on the sandy beach of Mission Bay, guest may enjoy quiet dining or relaxed outdoor-patio beachfront seating. Meals Served: 6:30am-11:15am Breakfast 11:30am-2:15pm Lunch 5:30pm-9: 45pm Dinner (Fri & Sat 10:45pm) Specials: Sunday Brunch, voted 'Best Brunch In San Diego' by San Diego Magazine, offers an outstanding presentation that will satisfy the most discriminating of our guests. Weekly from 10 am - 2 pm. Reservations are suggested Price Range: Varies Reservations Required? No Attire: Casual Attire
        Catamaran Spa
        Experience the Catamaran Resort Spa - A World Class Health & Wellness Facility. Featuring: private treatment rooms, ritual room, steam and dry saunas, outdoor whirlpool, Vichy shower, full service salon, and fitness facility. Please call the Spa at (858) 539-8821 for more information.
        Resort Water Sports Rentals
        Located on our white sand beach at the edge of Mission Bay. Our Water Sports Rental Department offers: sailboats, power boats, ocean kayaks, wind surfers, paddleboats.

        Hotel Policies

        Check-in:
        1600
        Check-out:
        1200

        Terms and conditions

        Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

        The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

        Back to menu Return to top

        Guest Reviews (454)

        Ratings and reviews for Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Overall score

        4.1 / 5
        5.01.0
        454 out of 454
        Amenities:
        4.1
        Room cleanliness:
        4.2
        Hotel staff:
        4.3
        Room comfort:
        4.1
        Location:
        4.7
        Value:
        4

        88% would recommend to a friend.

        Sort by:
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        5
        5.01.0
        Catamaran
        Business
        San Diego, CA
        Oct 26, 2009

        Perfect getaway!

        Fantastic views of Mission and Pacific Beaches and of Mission Bay! An excellent fitness center and spa! One block from the beach! What a place!

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        4
        Room comfort:
        5
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        5
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        3
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        Business
        Utah
        Oct 26, 2009

        A little disapointed

        Our room was very small. The toilet leaked around the bottom. There was no vent in the bathroom. The grounds around the hotel were beautiful. The beach was close. For the money we paid per night, we expected a much nicer room.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        3
        Room cleanliness:
        4
        Hotel staff:
        4
        Room comfort:
        2
        Location:
        4
        Value:
        2
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        3
        5.01.0
        Clearspring
        Business
        Greenwood, IN
        Oct 26, 2009

        Great location

        The location was great. Near the beach, easy interstate access. Our first room was small and had a musty smell. There was a bathroom problem and we were moved to a much nicer room with more space and a better view. Kids loved the pool and arcade.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        4
        Room cleanliness:
        3
        Hotel staff:
        3
        Room comfort:
        3
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        3
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

        Drive up Highway 101 and enjoy the surf, sand and seals.

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        5
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        Business
        Tucson, AZ
        Oct 20, 2009

        Fabulous Family Getaway!

        Absolutely wonderful! Couldn't have asked for a better locatio, and the surroundings were beautiful. Staff went out of their way to help and make our stay a wonderful time.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        5
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        5
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

        The birds and water features were wonderful. Fantastic views, extremely beautiful.

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        5
        5.01.0
        iran19
        Business
        Palo Alto CA
        Oct 20, 2009

        wonderful hotel

        This is a great place for relaxing your life, the hotel is located between bay and ocean. You can have different type of fun. The only disadvantage is the connection with down town is not very convenient.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        4
        Location:
        4
        Value:
        5
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        TommyC
        Business
        Lakeville, MN
        Oct 20, 2009

        Catamaran

        We have been guests at the Catamaran several times over the years. We love the hotel location and the amenities of the property. We took several tours of SD sites, which the hotel assisted in arranging. We had a great time! One small disappointment: the Catamaran website indicated that the stay would include a complimentary breakfast each day. None of the staff seemed to know anything about this nor did they offer to look into the matter. We will definitely continue to consider the Catamaran for our future San Diego visits.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Room cleanliness:
        4
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        4
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        4
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

        Lots of interesting things to do, places to dine within a short walk from the hotel.

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        Mr. Wise
        Business
        Seattle, WA
        Oct 19, 2009

        San Diego

        Lovely grounds. Walking close to restaurants.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        3
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        3
        Location:
        4
        Value:
        3
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

        Head south to the Mission for breakfast

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        Dan & Sherry
        Business
        Troy, Missouri
        Oct 18, 2009

        Best Resort Location for the Price!

        We found the location to be excellent. We were able to see the bay, the ocean and beautiful garden area from our room. The rooms were very clean and the staff was very nice. Garden, ocean and pool areas were wonderful. The only concern we had were to how the dishware was being cleaned as to there was no dish soap and the dishes were being cleaned and put away however we found the to still be dirty.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        4
        Room cleanliness:
        4
        Hotel staff:
        4
        Room comfort:
        4
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        4
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

        The Round Table had excellent Pizza.

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        5
        5.01.0
        Zhanna My Angel Wife
        Business
        Louisville, Kentucky
        Oct 12, 2009

        A little slice of heaven

        My motivation in my selection was my wife. I went to work everyday while she explored the area. She has only been in the USA for 5 months (from the Ukraine)and enjoyed talking to the birds and ALL of the plants in the garden area. The staff took good care of her, Thank you......

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        5
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        4
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        5
        5.01.0
        3bizz[@]
        Business
        San Diego, CA
        Oct 9, 2009

        "Most Amazing in San Diego"

        We loved the hotel! The view was amazing! I upgraded to the tower to get the view I had and it was worth every penny. We relaxed at the pool everyday and it was so relaxing. We traveled to other parts of CA and this is far the the best place to stay

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        5
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        5
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

        you can eat right there on site, really have to go no where. You have everything there at your fingertips.

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Back to menu Return to top