$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Catamaran Resort & Spa

4 stars
View map of 3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Catamaran Resort & Spa

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
424 out of 424
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Slob
Business
Midland, TX
Aug 11, 2009

Great location

My dislikes- constant overcrowded pool and jacuzzi, hotel restaurant food, and only two elevators for the entire hotel (always crowded). My likes- Location could not be better, you get the view of the bay and ocean depending on which side of hotel you are on, ocean one block away is great as well as the bay just outside the hotel, many great activities to do offered by hotel, enjoyed the boat ride, restaurants and stores all within a couple miles, the talking parrots were interesting by the lobby as well as the waterfall, ducks and goldfish pond; most rooms give you your own balcony,"awesome"!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Plenty of restaurants, bars and clubs, start at about two blocks from hotel and go to a couple miles.

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SanDiego Lover
Business
Salem, Utah
Aug 8, 2009

Great Location

Had a great trip! San Diego beaches are great and the weather is awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of great dining choices.

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy Camper from AZ
Business
Arizona desert
Jul 28, 2009

WONDERFUL VACATION PLACE!!!

This was even better than we could ever imagine. THe hotel gave us a upgrade which made us have bayside view in the garden rooms. It was amazing. Bathroom was small, but spotless, and we didnt spend all day in there anyway. WE had a free boat trip into bay at night to watch fireworks at Sea World, and smores at night on the beach from the hotel which the kids loved!! The grounds made me think i was in Maui and the birds were great! The bird show even better. The Torch lighting and laui were lots of fun too. The food was outstanding, we used the resturant and not the buffets, but they looked great also. The room bed was sooo comfy we often slept much later than we meant to. Lobby was beautiful the walk around the hotel was wonderful and the bay side beach was perfect for kids not ready for some serious waves! Parking garage was good, always room to park and free wireless internet. Pacific Beach across the street, short walk, a really short walk, and we got Segways and bikes from the rentals at the hotel. We also walked to many other nearby resturants with no problem. The location to attractions was perfect, but I loved it here. Drinks in bar, were pricey, but they had HAPPY HOUR!!! It was worth every dime and i have told everyone to go here, Everyone was very nice and helpful. THIS IS A PERFECT FAMILY PLACE. I did not go into the towers, but talked with those who were there and they seemed very happy. I also met single couples who were honeymooning. Its a great place, and excellent price! GO GO!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

IHOP a block down the street for cheap breakfast! And Tony Romas for the larger meal across the street. Everything in walking distance. Even one place had a guitar hero contest while we were there and my son won few food certificates.

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Late 20s active couple
Business
Vancouver
Jul 26, 2009

Quiet, relaxing, and nice

If you're looking for a resort atmosphere close to the action in Pacific Beach, this place is probably the best for the money. Great back patio area for taking in views of the bay and having drinks. Plenty of food, shops, and rental shops (bikes, boards, boats) within a short distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

I would rent a car if you plan on staying here while taking in the other activities San Diego has to offer.

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta
Jul 26, 2009

Amazing

Family trip mainly visited the zoo and other local attractions. Would loved to have access to personal hotel shuttle for local attractions that were nearby and for transportation to and from the airport. Very nice resort,will probably visit again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Public transportation was a breeze and very organized.

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Thornton, CO
Jul 26, 2009

Catamaran Resort and Spa San Diego

great hotel - we got an upgraded room once we arrived that included the kitchen in the room. That was a great plus and helped us save a little money. Our kids enjoyed the pool and the arcade. Great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PDS
Business
Syracuse, UT
Jul 21, 2009

Very impressed

My wife and I were enchanted from the moment we walked through the door. The waterfall in the lobby was impressive. Walking through the gardens to the tower was gorgeous. We didn't know what to expect from the room and were very happy with the results. We were on the penthouse floor with a balcony overlooking the pacific coast all the way up to La Jolla. Fantastic. The room was clean and very nice. The hotel offers lots of amenities such as complimentary tickets on the Bahia Belle missippi paddle boat ride on Mission bay, beautiful pool, absolutely immaculate grounds with tropical plants, ducks, koi in the ponds, and located right on the northwest corner of Mission bay. They had hula and fire dancers one night on the lawn next to the bay. The garden rooms looked really nice as well. Tropical paradise in San Diego. The pacific coast beach was only 1 block away on the West. We used public transportation to get where we needed to go and the bus stops were right outside the hotel. All the staff at the hotel were very courteous and helpful, they all had a smile on their face and said hi in passing. We loved it, especially the view from the room and the proximity to the beach and the bay. We are already wanting to go back and we have only been home 2 days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

It seems that everywhere you go in San Diego charges for parking, even the hotels. We bought 3 day passes to public transportation for 12 dollars each and saved a lot of money by not renting a car. We hired a shuttle to take us to and from the airport and still came out way ahead.

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Utah
Jul 13, 2009

Totally enjoyed our stay

We have a 2 1/2 year old, and we did not want to rent a car while in S.D. So the Catamaran was a perfect solution. Stayed in building 3, overlooking the pool which was fine. Drinks were pricey at the pool bar, but very tasty! Arcade was very cool. The beach on the bay was great, no waves, so my son was very excited about that. Pacific Beach is only 1 block away, with great places to eat, all within a very brief walk. Cab to Sea World about $12. We shopped at Ralph's 3 blocks away to store up on food and drink to save a little more cash. There is a cool bar at the resort for a few afternoon drinks. Watched the Luau entertainment for an hour while waiting to take our boat ride on the bay. Took the boat ride at 9:00 to watch the fireworks at Sea World, very cool! This place was a little pricey, but the location and the very cool gardens, the family friendly pool, and all around feel was worth the extra money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Don't Wannago
Business
Overland Park, KS
Jul 10, 2009

The perfect location in Mission Bay

This hotel is perfectly located on Mission Bay. It's right on the shore of the bay, so there are all sorts of water sports and a bay beach to enjoy. But it's also two short blocks to the ocean at Pacific Beach, where you can enjoy laying out and listening to the waves crash...or get out and ride them! There are lots of fun restaurants within walking distance. The fitness center is wonderful! They have five outdoor machines so that you can work out with a great view of Mission Bay and a nice San Diego breeze. The only thing that would have made the stay better...a laundry facility. There is a laundry service, but we'd rather do our own. There are a few laundromats about 1/2 mile in either direction of the hotel, but it's not as handy as having one at the hotel, where you can lay out at the pool while you're waiting for the machines. If you want to try boogie boarding, check out the little boardwalk stores (bordering the beach, and just a block or so south of the hotel). They sell them for $10-13, which is how much it usually costs to rent one for a couple of hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Our room had a little kitchen, so we walked a couple of blocks north to Ralph's grocery store and picked up food for breakfasts, drinks and snacks. That significantly reduced our spending on meals.

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Char-Bird
Business
Bakersfield, CA
Jul 10, 2009

Overall an excellant experience!

The garden view room was a little overstated. But, the hotel did have a wonderful variety of plants and flowers, and palm trees with multiple coi ponds, and a variety of ducks. The hotel staff were polite and friendly. The room had plenty of towels and wash cloths which was a plus! Pier and beach within short walking distance from the hotel. Also, hotel back-up on a beach/harbor for sunbathing and recreation rentals. Also, the hotel room had a charge for an I-phone within the console of radio, which was a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top