$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

Catamaran Resort & Spa

4 stars
View map of 3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Catamaran Resort & Spa

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
466 out of 466
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Mar 5, 2010

Peaceful

This is the best location in the San Diego area. We shuttled from the airport to the Catamaran. During the week, we walked to Belmont park and the boardwalks. Purchased groceries from Ralph's. Took the city transit via bus and trolley to the Mexican border, Imperial Beach and La Jolla. Ate at Mission Cafe and Olive on Mission Boulevard. The conciere at the Catamaran negotiated a competitive rate for a car rental for a day trip and saved us another $18 by having us use the valet parking overnight! The staff assisted in providing safety pins to make a quick repair on a strap. Rented a sailboat across from the Catamaran for four hours. Enjoyed the view from the 9th floor in the tower. The staff even washed our dishes from the kitchenette area. Our six days felt like a month long getaway with the friendly hospitality of the staff and residents of San Diego!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Ralph's grocery store-3 blocks. City bus-$5 day pass good for bus-trolley transfers all day-very efficient. Main busline in front of the Catamaran.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Adventurer Bob
Business
Madison, WI
Mar 4, 2010

Excellent Value

This resort has it all for a couple's retreat. We had excellent location, friendly and helpful staff, warm relaxing environment. The only issue we had was desk staff not answering the phone when we called. This happened on two occasions, and was frustrating to say the least. Other than that, I'd not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The whale watching boat trip was amazing. Take it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
lawdogrgrs
Business
Ft. Collins, CO
Mar 2, 2010

This Place Was Terrible

First of all their idea of a deluxe room is sticking you at the top of the 'tower' on the parking garage/street side so you can listen to loud traffic all night. Also had room service. Never had a worse spoiled salad in my life. Initial staff at check in was VERY rude and unhelpful. If you go get a suite its definitely worth the extra money and you get a bay or garden view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a ton of restaurants just up the street that will save you money over the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pleasant Valley, NY
Mar 1, 2010

Ctamaran Resort

Our stay at the resort was excellent. We had a room in the tower that had a great view of the ocean. The staff was extremely friendly. The bed was comfortable & the accommodations were well maintained. The only downside was the $13 / day to park our car. We will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minnesota
Mar 1, 2010

Great service!!

The hotel was a great experience from the moment we arrived. The staff was very accomodating even running out in the pouring rain to get us a couple things to make our room service perfect. We got massages in the spa that were wonderful, had a lot of pool time, fantastic service in the Atoll Restaurant, great food, and a perfect location! We couldn't say enough good things about the front desk, the housekeeping staff, the spa staff, and the restaurant servers. Keep up the good work!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
plymouth wi
Feb 24, 2010

Fantastic Precription for Winter Blah's

We were on the 10th floor of the Tower. The room was great,the view priceless. There were only a few things we would suggest. The cookware is not real great and the kitchen is not real well stocked. Missing wine opener. This is right up there with one of our better trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A short walk to ocean. Also the Shuttle tour is fabulous

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
WA State
Feb 24, 2010

Return Visit

First time there 2 yrs ago, room was spotless. This time bathroom floor has mildew between tiles on floor, sink squeaks when you attempt to turn on water, and tub water would not turn off when you were done showering. Bathroom area seemed older, and just not up to par with the rest of the motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to everything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SusanF219
Business
Tacoma, WA
Feb 22, 2010

I'd stay here again!

We were upgraded when we arrived from a garden view to 11th floor tower room with a view of Pacific beach. Was a great place to spend my 50th birthday. My only complaint on the room was that the water pressure wasn't very good. It was very noticable in the shower and toilet. I'm not sure if this is because we were on the 11th floor or not. Location is great. We walked to the grocery store the first night to stock up on a few things. Ate on the boardwalk and took the bus to Old Town. You can get a all day $5 pass right out front and travel all over town. Super friendly staff, every one of them. Will go again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a $5 all day bus pass, grab a map and travel around. Front desk gave us a bus schedule with numbers. We took it to Old Town, had a great dinner and did some fun shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 22, 2010

Very-well maintained hotel

This is an older hotel but very well-maintained. Phenomenal location, bay and beach within steps of the hotel. The service was great, everyone was friendly, helpful and responsive. I would definitely stay there again. We were there with a baby and a 4 year old, and the accomodations were perfect for our family. Parking was a bit pricey, but not a deterrent because we also got a great deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeff in NYC
Business
NY, NY
Feb 22, 2010

Great place once they gave us a room

This was a great place once they gave us a room. We arrived after a long trip from NYC, late at night (after calling to tell the place when we would arrive) only to be told that they did not have a room in our reservation class. It took some doing, but they eventually made good and gave us what they called an upgraded room at the same booked rate. After that the stay was very nice. It's a great location if you are taking the kids to Sea World or want to go to the beach or just want to hang at the pool (all of which we did). There are terrific low key places to eat and the staff was helpful when it came to finding what we needed/wanted. The grounds are beautiful with ducks and other birds all over (including talking parrots at the entrance just past the indoor waterfall pool stocked with big fish). Very nice overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

World Famous for lunch/early dinner; Mission Cafe for breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top