$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Catamaran Resort & Spa

4 stars
View map of 3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Catamaran Resort & Spa

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
513 out of 513
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PaulandLisa
Business
Brookfield, CT
Oct 9, 2014

Catamaran Resort

After visiting San Diego 5 years in a row and staying at 5 different hotels, we've decided that we enjoyed our stay at the Catamaran the most! The location was perfect, the water sports were steps away in the bay, the ocean was steps away in the other direction, and the grounds were well maintained and beautiful! We intend to return there next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Bay in your backyard and ocean right across the street. We had a bay view suite....the views were fabulous!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Just1
Business
San Diego, Ca
Oct 8, 2014

Great stay

I had a great time here, I'm definitely going back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Late 20 travelers
Business
louisville, ky
Sep 28, 2014

Great place to stay!

We had a great 5 night stay at the Catamaran Resort & Spa! The staff is very accommodating, we arrived early and had no problem checking into our room almost 4 hours before we were supposed to. The resort is located in a great location - right on the bay and a walk across the street for the beach. We will be staying here again for our future trips to San Diego!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

You must drive over to La Jolla and eat at El Pescador...amazing seafood!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tuke
Business
Madison, WI
Sep 15, 2014

Great Location

Our stay was excellent. While the facility is a little older, it is well maintained and very clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. Location couldn't be better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

USS Midway

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MiteshM
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Sep 9, 2014

Back to Diego

Great location, great staff, great facilities. Room was not as cool as I would have liked (maybe AC was struggling) but it wasn't a big deal at the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
George Kasabian
Business
Pasadena, CA
Sep 7, 2014

The best resort in San Diego

it felt like I'm in tropical paradise; Very beautiful views and lot's of plants and trees. It was our 10yr anniversary and next time I'll definitely bring the kids to enjoy this place. You can't find better location anywhere.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

walking distance to Restaurants and bars

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boerdi
Business
Munich, Germany
Aug 30, 2014

Nice hotel at the beach

The hotel is perfectly located directly by the Mission Bay and just two minutes to walk to the beach. The staff is friendly and well organized, the rooms are big. Only minus: the furniture is a little old but still ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Snmom
Business
Chicago,il
Aug 6, 2014

Bay and ocean

Room was dated, but clean. Bay had a lot of activities for rent, which was great. It was hard to get a chair. I think it's open to the public, so anyone can use the chairs. All chairs are removed promptly at 5 pm. Kids enjoyed movie night at the beach. We would hang out at morreys while they watched. Ocean was right across the street and kids loved boogie boarding there. We picked up chairs/towels at target. The first night we stayed, the pool was cloudy and bathroom toilets were overflowing, so we stayed away from that area. People were really friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Check out hoddads for burgers and world famous for happy hour.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gigi9214
Business
New York NY
Jul 17, 2014

Great place!

I used to live in Pacific Beach in San Diego - the Catamaran is in such a great location - beach and bay right there. This is a great hotel for families - lots of things to do for kids. I don't have kids myself so next time I would probably stay somewhere that's more of an adult scene - but that is the only thing that would keep me staying from here again. Staff is so friendly and warm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CindyO
Business
Sydney
Jul 4, 2014

Tired, old, overpriced

We were disappointed at the quality of room we get for the money spent. We got a garden view room and paid close to $300 a night. We saw a tiny swimming pool in front of our room as we just shook our head. It was full and noisy...not an ideal relaxation resort we thought. One we got in the room, we right away was underwhelmed by how old and outdated all their furnitures, decors, apiances are. Imagine our fridge is rusted inside. The closet door is broken And need a few trials and efforts to close. The bathroom is the worst part. The tiles are old , the shower head is pointing in one direction toward the wall and not adjustable. The toilet seat smacked our back when we sit down. The restaurant food was good. I loved the crispy bacon!!! We enjoyed the view of the sparkling bay in the morning. Overall i would not recmend this hotel but it would be a good spot for morning run And breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top