$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 24, 2014 Check-out: Nov 25, 2014

Catamaran Resort & Spa

4 stars
3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
454 reviews
Catamaran Resort

After visiting San Diego 5 years in a row and staying at 5 different hotels, we've decided that we... See full review

  • PaulandLisa
  • Oct 9, 2014
Great stay

I had a great time here, I'm definitely going back See full review

  • Just1
  • Oct 8, 2014
Waterfront hotel feature spectacular views and lush garden

There's no shortage of things to keep you busy at the Catamaran Resort & Spa. The property gardens house more than 1,000 plants and dozens of exotic birds. Treatment options abound at the Catamaran Spa. The Atoll, the on-site restaurant, serves seafood and a highly-regarded Sunday brunch. Finally, take an evening cruise on the Bahia Belle, the property's historic Mississippi-style sternwheeler (limited schedule).

Highlights
    • Relax and watch the action on Mission Bay
    • One on-site restaurant
    • Lush garden complete with exotic birds
    • Take an evening cruise on the property's Mississippi-style sternwheeler (limited schedule)
    Rooms

    The Catamaran Resort & Spa offers 313 rooms, including 16 suites, spread over five separate two-story buildings. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, iHome docking station and laptop safe. All rooms also feature balconies or patios with views of Mission Bay and the La Jolla coastline. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access.

    Features

    The Catamaran Resort & Spa is all about the sea. The property boasts a dock and marina and operates a historic, Mississippi-style sternwheeler for seasonal cruises. There's a heated pool in the garden courtyard. Rooms with views of Mission Bay available.

    Guests also find other, more land-oriented diversions onsite. The property boasts a state-of-the-art fitness center with free weights and cardio equipment. What's more, guests have access to an on-site video arcade and lush garden, which comprises more than 1,000 different species of plants. The hotel also offers laundry service (fees apply).

    The Atoll, the on-site restaurant, offers traditional meals in a swank environment. At Moray's Lounge, the atmosphere is more casual with TVs airing sporting events.

    Transportation
      • MTS Bus (1 block)
      • San Diego Trolley (5 mi/8 km)
      • San Diego International Airport (8 mi/13 km)
      Attractions
        • Mission Bay Park (4 blocks)
        • Sea World (1.5 mi/2 km)
        • Old Town (5 mi/8 km)
        • Point Loma (6 mi/10 km)
        • San Diego Zoo (10 mi/17 km)
        • Petco Park (12 mi/20 km)
        Business
        • 20,000 square feet of meeting space
        • Indoor and outdoor meeting space
        • 24-hour business center
        Policies and fees
        • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

        This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

        Hotel Map

        32.7901 -117.2534
        Area served
        San Diego, CA
        Nearby airports
        (SAN)San Diego International Airport
        Area description
        On Mission Bay in Pacific Beach with many shops and restaurants.

        Recommendations for you

        Customers who viewed Catamaran Resort & Spa also booked these hotels.

        Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
        Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
        Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

        Catamaran Resort & Spa Rooms

        Studio
        With over 400 square feet of comfortable living space, the studios are furnished with two double beds, breakfast table and chairs. The kitchen is equipped with an electric stove; oven, full size refrigerator, sink and wash area, cooking utensils and place settings for four people. All studios have balconies or patios with lounge chairs and tables. Amenities include bathrobes, irons and ironing board, hair dryer and a coffee maker. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Bayview Room
        Tastefully appointed in a tropical decor with over 400 sq feet and each room opens up to it's own balcony or patio. The Bayview room features one king or two double beds on a "request only basis". All rooms have bathrobes, hair dryer, coffee maker iron and ironing board. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Deluxe Room - 1 king bed
        Our Deluxe King room is tastefully appointed in a tropical decor with over 400 sq feet and opens up to it's own balcony or patio. The Deluxe King room features one king bed. All rooms have bathrobes, hair dryer, coffee maker iron and ironing board. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Deluxe Garden Room
        Tastefully appointed in a tropical decor with over 400 sq feet and each opens up to it's own balcony or patio. The Deluxe Garden room features one king or two double beds on a "request only basis". All rooms have bathrobes, refrigerators, hair dryer, coffee maker iron and ironing board. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Bay View Suite
        Our Bayview King Suites offer king bed in the bedroom and a separate living room with a sleeper sofa as well as a private balcony. Each suite has bathrobes, a ironing board with iron, hairdryer, tea/coffee maker, television, telephone and clock radio. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.

        Amenities

        • WiFi
        • Outdoor pool
        • No smoking rooms/facilities
        General
        No smoking rooms/facilities
        Concierge
        Elevators
        Activities
        Outdoor pool
        Fitness center or spa
        Fitness Center
        Spa
        Game room
        Dining
        Restaurant
        24 hour room service
        Room service
        Services
        Business center
        Tour desk
        Conference facilities
        Gift shop
        Internet
        WiFi
        Parking
        Parking

        Nearby points of interest

        • Pacific Beach: 0.9 mi
        • Belmont Park: 1.4 mi
        • Mission Bay Park: 2.2 mi
        • Hospitality Point: 2.9 mi
        • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.1 mi
        • Bazaar Del Mundo: 4.1 mi
        • Old Town San Diego: 4.1 mi
        • Sunset Cliffs: 4.2 mi
        • Whaley House Museum: 4.3 mi
        • Heritage Park: 4.4 mi
        • Port of San Diego: 5.4 mi
        • Family Fun Center: 5.8 mi
        • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.7 mi
        • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.8 mi
        • Firehouse Museum: 6.9 mi
        • Pacific Beach: 0.9 mi
        • Belmont Park: 1.4 mi
        • Mission Bay Park: 2.2 mi
        • Hospitality Point: 2.9 mi
        • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.1 mi
        • Bazaar Del Mundo: 4.1 mi
        • Old Town San Diego: 4.1 mi
        • Sunset Cliffs: 4.2 mi
        • Whaley House Museum: 4.3 mi
        • Heritage Park: 4.4 mi
        • Port of San Diego: 5.4 mi
        • Family Fun Center: 5.8 mi
        • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.7 mi
        • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.8 mi
        • Firehouse Museum: 6.9 mi
        • San Diego Zoo: 7.1 mi
        • San Diego Museum of Man: 7.2 mi
        • San Diego Automotive Museum: 7.2 mi
        • Timken Museum of Art: 7.2 mi
        • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 7.3 mi
        • Botanical Building: 7.3 mi
        • Casa De Balboa: 7.3 mi
        • Spanish Village Art Center: 7.3 mi
        • San Diego Natural History Museum: 7.4 mi
        • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 7.5 mi
        • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 7.5 mi
        • San Diego Convention Center: 7.8 mi
        • Sorrento Valley: 7.8 mi
        • PETCO Park: 8 mi
        • Chula Vista Nature Center: 13.7 mi
        • Legoland: 23.7 mi
        • California Center For The Arts Museum: 24.6 mi
        • Cox Arena: 2,121 mi

        Dining

        Atoll Restaurant
        Open 7 days a week The Atoll restaurant, with its award-winning menu, offers spectacular views. Located directly on the sandy beach of Mission Bay, guest may enjoy quiet dining or relaxed outdoor-patio beachfront seating. Meals Served: 6:30am-11:15am Breakfast 11:30am-2:15pm Lunch 5:30pm-9: 45pm Dinner (Fri & Sat 10:45pm) Specials: Sunday Brunch, voted 'Best Brunch In San Diego' by San Diego Magazine, offers an outstanding presentation that will satisfy the most discriminating of our guests. Weekly from 10 am - 2 pm. Reservations are suggested Price Range: Varies Reservations Required? No Attire: Casual Attire
        Catamaran Spa
        Experience the Catamaran Resort Spa - A World Class Health & Wellness Facility. Featuring: private treatment rooms, ritual room, steam and dry saunas, outdoor whirlpool, Vichy shower, full service salon, and fitness facility. Please call the Spa at (858) 539-8821 for more information.
        Resort Water Sports Rentals
        Located on our white sand beach at the edge of Mission Bay. Our Water Sports Rental Department offers: sailboats, power boats, ocean kayaks, wind surfers, paddleboats.

        Meeting facilities

        Meeting Info
        With fresh ocean breezes and exotic ambience, the Catamaran Resort is an invigorating and creative setting for any group. All fourteen of our Function Rooms are complemented by scenic views, balconies, patios and most of all - our unforgettable bayfront. Inventive, fresh culinary style, and stunning presentations await you. With accommodations from 30 to 450 guests and over 20,000 square feet of contiguous function space, the choices are easy and endless. Our friendly and helpful staff, modern amenities and on-site Business Center ensure every detail is taken care of. Whether it's for business or special occasions, large or small, fancy or more down to earth, the Catamaran Resort is unsurpassed for style, flexibility and comfort.

        Hotel Policies

        Check-in:
        1600
        Check-out:
        1200

        Terms and conditions

        Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

        The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

        Back to menu Return to top

        Guest Reviews (454)

        Ratings and reviews for Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Overall score

        4.1 / 5
        5.01.0
        454 out of 454
        Amenities:
        4.1
        Room cleanliness:
        4.2
        Hotel staff:
        4.3
        Room comfort:
        4.1
        Location:
        4.7
        Value:
        4

        88% would recommend to a friend.

        Sort by:
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        Hiker Jack
        Business
        Hermosa, SD
        Mar 1, 2011

        Quiet, tropical escape

        Easy access to airport, beaches and Sea World. The grounds were gorgeous and the room comfortable and quiet. We will be back.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        4
        Room comfort:
        5
        Location:
        4
        Value:
        4
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

        Rent a GPS with your car, it made touring the area as easy as if you were a local.

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        Business
        Sierra Vista, AZ
        Mar 1, 2011

        Excellent!

        Friendly staff, clean rooms, good food, awesome location! But no fridge in rooms and just a small mirror in the bathroom

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        4
        Room cleanliness:
        4
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        4
        Location:
        4
        Value:
        2
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

        Seaworld - Zoo

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        Business
        minneapolis, mn
        Feb 27, 2011

        Unbeatable location for the price

        The bathroom in the room could have been nicer, but overall it was a great place to stay. The location was perfect! Close to shopping, restaurants, and of course the ocean!

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        3
        Room cleanliness:
        4
        Hotel staff:
        4
        Room comfort:
        3
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        4
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

        The grocery store is only a couple of blocks away. It helps to have snacks for the beach and for the hotel room.

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        5
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        Business
        Chicago
        Feb 17, 2011

        have stayed here three years in a row

        Great location, bayside rooms walk out to the beach. Our bayside room had two flatscreens and a mini fridge! They have rentals at the dock and the bay is a great place to learn how to sail/paddle board. Short walk to grocery store and shopping/restaurants/ Clubs. Beach is across the street and you can rent bikes and segways at the hotel.The area is very young/trendy, Hotel restaurant outdoor seating is fab. Great veiw and a little open fire pit outside the bar. Love the hot tub and pool, however, i think a lot of people who were using the pool were not staying at the hotel:( We plan to stay again next year.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Room cleanliness:
        4
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        5
        Location:
        4
        Value:
        5
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        Business
        Alberta Canada
        Feb 17, 2011

        Excellent getaway for a couple

        Staff at this hotel make everything so easy! We stayed 8 nights, at check in we found we were upgraded to a studio suite, with a view that could "knock your socks off". With a tiny kitchen and comfortable beds, couldn't ask for more - so "happy hour" with rock bottom prices was a treat. Highly recommend renting a bike and making use of the miles of trails around the bay and along the beaches. Clean, groomed beach right in front of the hotel, great for sun/relaxing.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        5
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        5
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

        recommend the 1 day trolley tour and then get yourself a $5.00 day pass on the public transit, bus & trolley. Hotel has instructions for you to easily get just about anywhere.

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        Dgoose
        Business
        Seattle, WA
        Feb 17, 2011

        Beautiful location! Looks just like the.

        The spa is amazing! I felt rejuvinated and relaxed. I had the pleasure of doing one of the ritual 140 minute experience and when I was done all I wanted to do was lay on the beach and soak up the sun to go with my relaxed state of mind and body. Every person I engaged with were helpful and quite polite.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        4
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        4
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Money-saving tip: In Hotel

        You can park at the hotel but beware everytime you do it will cost money. Granted everything in California cost money to do or park...

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        1
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        Business
        Auburn, Indiana
        Feb 15, 2011

        Not what we were told by Hotel

        Room was not ready when we arrived @ 4 pm. I had called the hotel prior to booking to ask for a handicap room as I am disabled. They guaranteed me no problem, and to just note it on the reservation which is what we did The agent even gave us his Name for the guarantee. We also booked a room with an Ocean view. Well what we got was a room as far away from the center of the hotel as possible right next to the maintance shack with workers all day long looking and talking in our window. NO OCEAN VIEW at all. NOT A HANDICAP ROOM at all. [...]The bed was a king bed as we had asked for, but the mattress was very bad and very old aand with a big dip in the middle. We had Maintenace workers banging and talking all around us very early in the morning@ 6am thru 7pm all day long. Our room was not cleaned Daily until around 4 pm and twice it was never cleaned. This Hotel visit was one of the WORST experiences I have ever had traveling. We were very glad to leave the facility. The Award winning resturant they claim to have was also the Most Overpriced and Poor service Eatery we had the entire experience of in San Diego. A Breakfast buffet that cost us $39 with 4 items on it that were un-eatable, with food sitting in domes with NO HEAT and were ice cold and had undercooked food in them. Utensils which had Raw food laying along the outside of the Domes. If We had not ordered from the menu as well we would have left without paying. When I complained I got a Sorry we will look into it, and they never even looked at it. I told several other guest that were going to eat the Buffet and they also compained or left and the Staff did nothing to change the food. The Health Dept should have been notified, but this was our last morning in the Hotel and we just paid and left. The Hotel has nice amenities but is VERY POORLY run by Management, and that was expressed to us by Employees working for them several times. We would call the Desk to ask about special functions at the Hotel and they would tell us what time they were going to happen and come on down and get tickets which we did, no big deal, but then when we went to the function ( Bella Cruise Ship) we were told it was not running and that everyone knew it. There was 4 other couples that were there with us that were told the same thing that were very upset that they also had planned around the cruise and told it was OK only to find out the Ship was not running due to LOW attendance by Customers.We lost an entire evening of the vacation because of this This Hotel [...] should be looked into so other Guest dont have to experience the same things we have, along with other Guest, we talked to that were disappointed as well !!

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        3
        Room cleanliness:
        2
        Hotel staff:
        1
        Room comfort:
        1
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        2
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Dining tip: In Hotel

        Stay away from the IN house Atoll Resturant, as the only Award they might have received would have been a Local Health Dept Violation.

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        Business
        Pittsburgh PA
        Feb 15, 2011

        Very nice resort

        The resort was very nice and has a lot to offer. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The employees are very accomodating and couldn't have been more helpful.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        4
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        3
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        3
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        Business
        Edina, MN
        Feb 14, 2011

        Great location!

        The Catamaran Hotel was a nice hotel. We were upgraded to a suite upon check in. The rooms were cleaning and although we were right beside the elevator; the room was quiet. We laid by the pool a few days; the chairs were nice and the hot tub was a decent size. Would have enjoyed if the outdoor bar was open but I am sure it's a seasonal establishment. The location was great! We did not need to rent a car there were many good restaurants to choose from and the beach was very close. Overall a good experience.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        4
        Room cleanliness:
        4
        Hotel staff:
        4
        Room comfort:
        3
        Location:
        4
        Value:
        4
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

        We had breakfast twice at the World Famous restaurant. The breakfast was very good and very reasonable prices.

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        Business
        nj
        Feb 2, 2011

        Nice hotel - Ocean view in my room

        Attending a porfessional conference. Room at 10th floor, south orientation, bay and ocean view. Very nice.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        4
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        4
        Room comfort:
        5
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        4
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Back to menu Return to top