$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 12, 2015 Check-out: Jan 15, 2015

Catamaran Resort & Spa

4 stars
3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
456 reviews
Catamaran Resort

After visiting San Diego 5 years in a row and staying at 5 different hotels, we've decided that we... See full review

  • PaulandLisa
  • Oct 9, 2014
Great stay

I had a great time here, I'm definitely going back See full review

  • Just1
  • Oct 8, 2014
Waterfront hotel feature spectacular views and lush garden

There's no shortage of things to keep you busy at the Catamaran Resort & Spa. The property gardens house more than 1,000 plants and dozens of exotic birds. Treatment options abound at the Catamaran Spa. The Atoll, the on-site restaurant, serves seafood and a highly-regarded Sunday brunch. Finally, take an evening cruise on the Bahia Belle, the property's historic Mississippi-style sternwheeler (limited schedule).

Highlights
    • Relax and watch the action on Mission Bay
    • One on-site restaurant
    • Lush garden complete with exotic birds
    • Take an evening cruise on the property's Mississippi-style sternwheeler (limited schedule)
    Rooms

    The Catamaran Resort & Spa offers 313 rooms, including 16 suites, spread over five separate two-story buildings. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, iHome docking station and laptop safe. All rooms also feature balconies or patios with views of Mission Bay and the La Jolla coastline. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access.

    Features

    The Catamaran Resort & Spa is all about the sea. The property boasts a dock and marina and operates a historic, Mississippi-style sternwheeler for seasonal cruises. There's a heated pool in the garden courtyard. Rooms with views of Mission Bay available.

    Guests also find other, more land-oriented diversions onsite. The property boasts a state-of-the-art fitness center with free weights and cardio equipment. What's more, guests have access to an on-site video arcade and lush garden, which comprises more than 1,000 different species of plants. The hotel also offers laundry service (fees apply).

    The Atoll, the on-site restaurant, offers traditional meals in a swank environment. At Moray's Lounge, the atmosphere is more casual with TVs airing sporting events.

    Transportation
      • MTS Bus (1 block)
      • San Diego Trolley (5 mi/8 km)
      • San Diego International Airport (8 mi/13 km)
      Attractions
        • Mission Bay Park (4 blocks)
        • Sea World (1.5 mi/2 km)
        • Old Town (5 mi/8 km)
        • Point Loma (6 mi/10 km)
        • San Diego Zoo (10 mi/17 km)
        • Petco Park (12 mi/20 km)
        Business
        • 20,000 square feet of meeting space
        • Indoor and outdoor meeting space
        • 24-hour business center
        Policies and fees
        • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

        This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

        Recommendations for you

        Customers who viewed Catamaran Resort & Spa also booked these hotels.

        Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
        Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
        Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

        Catamaran Resort & Spa Rooms

        Studio
        With over 400 square feet of comfortable living space, the studios are furnished with two double beds, breakfast table and chairs. The kitchen is equipped with an electric stove; oven, full size refrigerator, sink and wash area, cooking utensils and place settings for four people. All studios have balconies or patios with lounge chairs and tables. Amenities include bathrobes, irons and ironing board, hair dryer and a coffee maker. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Bayview Room
        Tastefully appointed in a tropical decor with over 400 sq feet and each room opens up to it's own balcony or patio. The Bayview room features one king or two double beds on a "request only basis". All rooms have bathrobes, hair dryer, coffee maker iron and ironing board. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Deluxe Room - 1 king bed
        Our Deluxe King room is tastefully appointed in a tropical decor with over 400 sq feet and opens up to it's own balcony or patio. The Deluxe King room features one king bed. All rooms have bathrobes, hair dryer, coffee maker iron and ironing board. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Deluxe Garden Room
        Tastefully appointed in a tropical decor with over 400 sq feet and each opens up to it's own balcony or patio. The Deluxe Garden room features one king or two double beds on a "request only basis". All rooms have bathrobes, refrigerators, hair dryer, coffee maker iron and ironing board. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Bay View Suite
        Our Bayview King Suites offer king bed in the bedroom and a separate living room with a sleeper sofa as well as a private balcony. Each suite has bathrobes, a ironing board with iron, hairdryer, tea/coffee maker, television, telephone and clock radio. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.

        Amenities

        • WiFi
        • Outdoor pool
        • No smoking rooms/facilities
        General
        No smoking rooms/facilities
        Concierge
        Elevators
        Activities
        Outdoor pool
        Fitness center or spa
        Fitness Center
        Spa
        Game room
        Dining
        Restaurant
        24 hour room service
        Room service
        Services
        Business center
        Tour desk
        Conference facilities
        Gift shop
        Internet
        WiFi
        Parking
        Parking

        Nearby points of interest

        • Pacific Beach: 0.9 mi
        • Belmont Park: 1.4 mi
        • Mission Bay Park: 2.2 mi
        • Hospitality Point: 2.9 mi
        • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.1 mi
        • Bazaar Del Mundo: 4.1 mi
        • Old Town San Diego: 4.1 mi
        • Sunset Cliffs: 4.2 mi
        • Whaley House Museum: 4.3 mi
        • Heritage Park: 4.4 mi
        • Port of San Diego: 5.4 mi
        • Family Fun Center: 5.8 mi
        • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.7 mi
        • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.8 mi
        • Firehouse Museum: 6.9 mi
        • Pacific Beach: 0.9 mi
        • Belmont Park: 1.4 mi
        • Mission Bay Park: 2.2 mi
        • Hospitality Point: 2.9 mi
        • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.1 mi
        • Bazaar Del Mundo: 4.1 mi
        • Old Town San Diego: 4.1 mi
        • Sunset Cliffs: 4.2 mi
        • Whaley House Museum: 4.3 mi
        • Heritage Park: 4.4 mi
        • Port of San Diego: 5.4 mi
        • Family Fun Center: 5.8 mi
        • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.7 mi
        • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.8 mi
        • Firehouse Museum: 6.9 mi
        • San Diego Zoo: 7.1 mi
        • San Diego Museum of Man: 7.2 mi
        • San Diego Automotive Museum: 7.2 mi
        • Timken Museum of Art: 7.2 mi
        • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 7.3 mi
        • Botanical Building: 7.3 mi
        • Casa De Balboa: 7.3 mi
        • Spanish Village Art Center: 7.3 mi
        • San Diego Natural History Museum: 7.4 mi
        • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 7.5 mi
        • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 7.5 mi
        • San Diego Convention Center: 7.8 mi
        • Sorrento Valley: 7.8 mi
        • PETCO Park: 8 mi
        • Chula Vista Nature Center: 13.7 mi
        • Legoland: 23.7 mi
        • California Center For The Arts Museum: 24.6 mi
        • Cox Arena: 2,121 mi

        Meeting facilities

        Meeting Info
        With fresh ocean breezes and exotic ambience, the Catamaran Resort is an invigorating and creative setting for any group. All fourteen of our Function Rooms are complemented by scenic views, balconies, patios and most of all - our unforgettable bayfront. Inventive, fresh culinary style, and stunning presentations await you. With accommodations from 30 to 450 guests and over 20,000 square feet of contiguous function space, the choices are easy and endless. Our friendly and helpful staff, modern amenities and on-site Business Center ensure every detail is taken care of. Whether it's for business or special occasions, large or small, fancy or more down to earth, the Catamaran Resort is unsurpassed for style, flexibility and comfort.

        Dining

        Atoll Restaurant
        Open 7 days a week The Atoll restaurant, with its award-winning menu, offers spectacular views. Located directly on the sandy beach of Mission Bay, guest may enjoy quiet dining or relaxed outdoor-patio beachfront seating. Meals Served: 6:30am-11:15am Breakfast 11:30am-2:15pm Lunch 5:30pm-9: 45pm Dinner (Fri & Sat 10:45pm) Specials: Sunday Brunch, voted 'Best Brunch In San Diego' by San Diego Magazine, offers an outstanding presentation that will satisfy the most discriminating of our guests. Weekly from 10 am - 2 pm. Reservations are suggested Price Range: Varies Reservations Required? No Attire: Casual Attire
        Catamaran Spa
        Experience the Catamaran Resort Spa - A World Class Health & Wellness Facility. Featuring: private treatment rooms, ritual room, steam and dry saunas, outdoor whirlpool, Vichy shower, full service salon, and fitness facility. Please call the Spa at (858) 539-8821 for more information.
        Resort Water Sports Rentals
        Located on our white sand beach at the edge of Mission Bay. Our Water Sports Rental Department offers: sailboats, power boats, ocean kayaks, wind surfers, paddleboats.

        Hotel Policies

        Check-in:
        1600
        Check-out:
        1200

        Terms and conditions

        Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

        The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

        Back to menu Return to top

        Guest Reviews (456)

        Ratings and reviews for Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Overall score

        4.1 / 5
        5.01.0
        456 out of 456
        Amenities:
        4.1
        Room cleanliness:
        4.2
        Hotel staff:
        4.3
        Room comfort:
        4.1
        Location:
        4.7
        Value:
        4

        88% would recommend to a friend.

        Sort by:
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        5
        5.01.0
        Bookmom
        Business
        Tacoma, WA
        Apr 2, 2011

        A tropical Garden

        This was a wonderful hotel, clean, comfortable, and close to everything we wanted to do, swimming, bike riding, skate boarding, kayaking, plus there were great choices of places to eat nearby, and shops of all kinds and prices. This hotel is on Mission Bay but the ocean is just across the street, we would definitely return to stay here. The hot tub was great. My only wish was that the spa rates were better. I was in Whistler, BC last year and a massage was half the price.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        5
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        5
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

        Check the rental rates of the nearby places, you have lots to choose from.

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        Business
        Denver, CO
        Apr 2, 2011

        Great family resort

        At first glance, I thought this hotel was going to be really cheesy, but it did not turn out to be that way at all. The location is perfect for sightseeing - we did Legoland (45mins away), the San Diego Zoo (20 mins), and La Jolla for sea kayaking (15 mins). It was also really close to Sea World. The hotel has a great pool, a free arcade, a great workout facility and walk-out access to Mission Bay with various rentals, a snack bar, and seating. They also have a fun parrot show in the afternoons that the kids really enjoyed as well as parrots available to "talk" to at other times. They also have koi ponds and really cool exotic ducks walking around the property. We didn't try the food, but it looked good walking by. There's a great breakfast place about a half of a mile south of there called The Mission that's a little pricey but totally worth it.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        3
        Room comfort:
        5
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        5
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        Traveller Jenn
        Business
        Omaha, NE
        Mar 28, 2011

        Great Hotel near many Amenities

        I was nervous when booking this hotel because there were a few negative reviews, but the overall rating was 4/5 stars. How pleased I was when my husband and I arrived! We had a late arrival and still check-in was easy and pleasant. We asked the front desk to ensure we had a King bed room and thy accommodated without trouble. When you enter the hotel you're greeted with a waterfall, palm trees, and a pond with koi swimming happily. We had a room on the ground floor of the Tower, and to get there we had to wind around paths surrounded by trees, flowers, and cute ducks waddling around. Our room had a lovely view of a garden area and ducks meandered around our patio. The room was clean and nice. Not a Ritz-Carlton, but tropical-looking with clean sheets, a clean bathroom and towels, and a flat-screen TV, iron, iHome with iPod dock, soaps and shampoos in the bath, room service, etc. The TV was a little weird in that the remote didn't always do what we wanted, and our room was at the very end of the hallway next to maybe a water heater or A/C units? Anyway, we could hear those kick on and off in the night, but it wasn't disrupting to sleep. The hotel has a bar, a spa that is wonderful (we got massage and facial, but with the purchase of one service you can use all amenities of the spa, including sauna, steam room, showers, relaxation room, whirlpool, etc for the whole day), a really nice fitness area that overlooks the bay, a bay-front beach with rentable boats, bikes and such and sandy beach area to relax on, and access to the Bahia Belle, a big boat that goes out on Friday and Saturday nights in the off season that has food, alcohol and dancing/music. They also have an in-house restaurant (though we didn't use it),a gift shop, and a heated outdoor pool. Check-out was easy -- they had our statement ready when we called from our room to get a cab to the airport, and everything was correct. The hotel is located on Pacific Beach which has many restaurants and stores so that if you don't want to, you don't have to leave the area. The Pacific Ocean is just across the street. Overall, we had a great time! It's a lovely hotel with many amenities and access to food and shopping within walking distance. I would recommend to others, and when my husband and I return to San Diego for our next vacation, we'll stay here again.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        4
        Room cleanliness:
        4
        Hotel staff:
        4
        Room comfort:
        4
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        4
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

        The Eggery for breakfast or lunch is great, just a block up the street. Also, World Famous is good for seafood and has a great view of the ocean, also just a block up the road. In-n-Out Burger is a short #8 bus ride for a great, delicious burger. Use the bus system to get around - it's $5 for a day pass so you can ride as much as you want and you can also use the trolley system, too!

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        Business
        Baltimore, MD
        Mar 23, 2011

        Great for us!

        My husband I traveled with our 10 year old and 20 year and we all shared a room. The hotel was perfect for us. We had a studio room with 2 double beds AND a pull out sofa. Plus, we had a mini kitchen which allowed us to have cereal, milk, water, sodas and beers. Our 10 year loved all of the wildlife on the premises (koi, ducks, macaws, parrots, etc.) as well as the FREE arcade. Our 20 year old loved the close proximity of the pool, beach and the bay. Good restaurants were in walking distance and the concierge was always helpful. It was perfect for us and we would highly recommend it.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        4
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        4
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        5
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

        Great restaurants in all genres, i.e. sushi, thai, modern, fusion, burgers, etc.

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        Business
        Mpls., MN
        Mar 21, 2011

        Great location - great view

        Great location with nice views. I only gave 4 stars because our room could of used a few updates. Bathroom needed a litte work but overall we would stay again. Loved the tropical birds, ducks, and koi in the garden area. Kids loved the pool and hot tub. Within walking distance to ocean (1 block or so) and restaurants (Tony Romas, Taco Beall, Burger King, La Playa Taco shop, and other local non-chain restaurants) Back of hotel faces Mission Bay. Do have to pay for parking but I guess that is how it is in San Diego. Hotel also under 7 miles from Sea World, San Diego Zoo, and La Jolla area.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        4
        Room cleanliness:
        4
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        4
        Location:
        4
        Value:
        4
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

        Short walk to Ocean Front (Approx. 1 block)

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        Shandababy
        Business
        Fresno, CA
        Mar 21, 2011

        Fabulous View - Great Parrots!

        We loved our stay at the Catamaran. There was an excellent view from the tower. Parking is expensive and not close to the room, but that's okay. The workout room is fantastic and you can use an elliptical or treadmill "outside" in a special lanai looking at the boardwalk around Mission Bay. Of course you're only one block from the ocean and you are on top of the Bay, which is fabulous. Staff were friendly and promptly resolved a housekeeping issue we had. Our studio room was not new by any means, but was clean and fun with tons of space. The beds, however, were FULL SIZED, not queen, which was probably the biggest disappointment of our stay. The hotel restaurant was great (of course high priced.) Included with our stay were free trips on the Bahia Belle, which is an old Mississippi River style paddle boat that ferries across the bay. Fun touch. They also have big birds (parrots) with animal handlers that interact with them and the birds do fun "behaviors." I would return in a heartbeat. Maybe not during spring break, however...

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Room cleanliness:
        4
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        5
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        5
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Entertainment tip: In Hotel

        Take the Bahia Belle

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        3
        5.01.0
        Zoo Lovers
        Business
        Henderson, TX
        Mar 19, 2011

        Fun Filled Week with Animals!!

        Hotel had some nice areas. Pretty waterfall as you walk in with fish in water, nice exotic birds and ducks. Valet was S-L-O-W and didnt seem to care too much. We didnt use the beach but it looked nice and had a nice view. The room was sub-par. Two double beds in a suite? Not a king or 2 queens or even 1 queen...that was a bummer. Kitchenette is nothing special. View was pretty good. We were on the 11th floor. All in all, hotel was pretty nice. Is it a slam dunk I'd stay here again?? I'd do some looking first.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        3
        Room cleanliness:
        4
        Hotel staff:
        3
        Room comfort:
        2
        Location:
        4
        Value:
        4
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        3
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        Business
        Green Bay, WI
        Mar 19, 2011

        Visit to San Diego

        The Catamaran was okay, don't know if I would stay there again, I would probably stay at a franchised hotel. We did receive a room upgrade, but we think that was due to the fact that spring break was going on and the hotel had a ton of spring break kids. The showers were usually luke warm if not cold. We stayed for five nights, one day our room was not cleaned by housekeeping. Would not recommend if you have kids. One pool which was quite small. Rooms needed updating.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        2
        Room cleanliness:
        3
        Hotel staff:
        4
        Room comfort:
        3
        Location:
        4
        Value:
        4
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        2
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        Business
        Sussex, WI
        Mar 14, 2011

        Has Potential

        Kind Staff but the rooms appear worn - need updating We had expereinces with ants in the room. Staff responded to take care of it but they returned - not good. They did offer a breakfast as apology (it was delicious) but not sure if we would return unless they was an upgrade. The grounds of the hotel are very beautiful

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        3
        Room cleanliness:
        2
        Hotel staff:
        4
        Room comfort:
        2
        Location:
        3
        Value:
        3
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

        The ocean/Boarwalk was simply down the block and across the street - great access

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        Business
        Hudson, WI
        Mar 13, 2011

        Excellent!

        The staff was wonderful, the rooms were clean, the view from our room included Mission bay and the Pacific Ocean. Everything you needed was at the hotel or within walking distance. Starting each day out with a walk or bike on the boardwalk was the best!

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        4
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        4
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        5
        Trip purpose:

        Business

        Was this review helpful to you?
        Thank you for your feedback!
        Back to menu Return to top