$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Catamaran Resort & Spa

4 stars
View map of 3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Catamaran Resort & Spa

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
515 out of 515
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Flor
Business
Poulsbo, WA
May 23, 2011

Excellent location

Enjoyed the proximity to the beach for the value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
krm659
Business
Bronx, NY
May 22, 2011

Beautiful resort, expensive to park.

Upon arrival, it looks and is beautiful. I was a little surprised to find out you have to pay to park. Then I found out we weren't in a room like on the website, but in the tower which was overlooking the (expensive) parking lot. Maybe I didn't read the fine print, so I'll say it was a learning experience since we all had a good vacation. All that aside, the staff is friendly, room service and restaurant was great, I rented a boat out on the bay which was fun for the kids and reasonable for a relaxing day at the resort. It is a relaxing atmosphere with terrific staff and I would definitely go back. The kids thought it was great. They loved the birds and the pool area with free game room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Nearby Coronado was a nice place to get a great meal on the water.

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reno, NV
May 22, 2011

Beautiful place

My girlfriends and I stayed at the Catamaran for a long weekend. We loved it. The grounds were beautiful, and very clean. We loved the fish and the ducks. We had night caps by the outdoor fire pit and enjoyed the beach during the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great breakfast on Mission Beach at the World Famous Restaurant.

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
E Lawson
Business
billings mt
May 19, 2011

Great escape from the daily grind

Enjoyed the swimming pool and hot tub Walked along the beach Exercised in the wonderful workout facility

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many unique places to eat within walking distance of resort

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Calgary, AB
May 19, 2011

Fantastic family getaway

Very nice and beautiful hotel to stay, my 3-year-old enjoyed the garden and beach there. Highly recommended to family with young children!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dumfries, VA
May 19, 2011

Great Value and Service

Great Location. Great grounds with gardens, wildlife, and beach access. Friendly and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kaukauna, WI
May 17, 2011

Great location

We had never been to San Diego before and had been told about the Catamaran by a friend. The location was perfect. We were in walking distance from the beach and a lot of great restaurants and bars. Downtown was only a short drive away and everything was really nice. We will go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

World Famous Restaurant was a short walk across the road and was excellent!

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Broolish
Business
Peekskill, NY
May 17, 2011

Lovely and convenient retreat

We usually stay with one of our twenty-something daughters when visiting San Diego. This visit combined a graduation and a birthday with assorted friends and family also visiting. The deluxe garden rooms were clean, comfortable and very attractive with balconies overlooking a lush tropical pond with exotic ducks and their newly-hatched ducklings. The property was exceptionally well maintained. The rooms were very quiet and private even though there were plenty of other guests around. The hot tub and pool were busy but still pleasant and clean. The location couldn't be better with both bay and ocean easy walks from our room. The hotel restaurant seemed pricey when we stopped by for breakfast but there were plenty of restaurants within easy walking distance. We rented a car and paid for parking at the hotel which made driving to other parts of San Diego much easier. We also rented bicycles from the hotel one day. San Diego is ideal for bicycling and the trail on the bay side goes right by the hotel. There was also a complimentary paddle-wheeler cruise in the bay which provide another vantage point. The Catamaran made it easy to enjoy time with family and friends and easy to get some quiet time to ourselves - the ideal situation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Do try to rent a bicycle and follow the bicycle path along the bay. It is a great way to get a feel for the best of San Diego and one can easily stop for lunch or a drink or to look at the beautiful bayside homes and flower gardens. And it is safe and easy biking.

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kaukauna, WI
May 17, 2011

Great location

We had never been to San Diego before and had been told about the Catamaran by a friend. The location was perfect. We were in walking distance from the beach and a lot of great restaurants and bars. Downtown was only a short drive away and everything was really nice. We will go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

World Famous Restaurant was a short walk across the road and was excellent!

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NM
May 12, 2011

Catamaran

I will start off by saying that the grounds were absolutely beautiful and the staff was very friendly. But I would never recommend staying there. The beds sucked, the air conditioner did not keep the room cool, the shower would not stay at the set temp, it would constantly scold you or freeze you, the plug in the kitchenette that was for the microwave did not work and we had to move it out of the kitchen to heat anything, and the restaurant had like 5 things on the menu and was very overpriced. Also, it was very inconvenient having to drive 2 miles down Mission Bay every time you wanted to leave. It doesn't sound like much, but if you were to see the congestion believe me it is inconvenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top