$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Catamaran Resort & Spa

4 stars
View map of 3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Catamaran Resort & Spa

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
425 out of 425
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Calgary, AB
May 19, 2011

Fantastic family getaway

Very nice and beautiful hotel to stay, my 3-year-old enjoyed the garden and beach there. Highly recommended to family with young children!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dumfries, VA
May 19, 2011

Great Value and Service

Great Location. Great grounds with gardens, wildlife, and beach access. Friendly and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Broolish
Business
Peekskill, NY
May 17, 2011

Lovely and convenient retreat

We usually stay with one of our twenty-something daughters when visiting San Diego. This visit combined a graduation and a birthday with assorted friends and family also visiting. The deluxe garden rooms were clean, comfortable and very attractive with balconies overlooking a lush tropical pond with exotic ducks and their newly-hatched ducklings. The property was exceptionally well maintained. The rooms were very quiet and private even though there were plenty of other guests around. The hot tub and pool were busy but still pleasant and clean. The location couldn't be better with both bay and ocean easy walks from our room. The hotel restaurant seemed pricey when we stopped by for breakfast but there were plenty of restaurants within easy walking distance. We rented a car and paid for parking at the hotel which made driving to other parts of San Diego much easier. We also rented bicycles from the hotel one day. San Diego is ideal for bicycling and the trail on the bay side goes right by the hotel. There was also a complimentary paddle-wheeler cruise in the bay which provide another vantage point. The Catamaran made it easy to enjoy time with family and friends and easy to get some quiet time to ourselves - the ideal situation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Do try to rent a bicycle and follow the bicycle path along the bay. It is a great way to get a feel for the best of San Diego and one can easily stop for lunch or a drink or to look at the beautiful bayside homes and flower gardens. And it is safe and easy biking.

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NM
May 12, 2011

Catamaran

I will start off by saying that the grounds were absolutely beautiful and the staff was very friendly. But I would never recommend staying there. The beds sucked, the air conditioner did not keep the room cool, the shower would not stay at the set temp, it would constantly scold you or freeze you, the plug in the kitchenette that was for the microwave did not work and we had to move it out of the kitchen to heat anything, and the restaurant had like 5 things on the menu and was very overpriced. Also, it was very inconvenient having to drive 2 miles down Mission Bay every time you wanted to leave. It doesn't sound like much, but if you were to see the congestion believe me it is inconvenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Puppielover19
Business
Des Moines, IA
May 11, 2011

Not As Expected . . .

Hotel was located right on the beach, but in a run down neighborhood. Grounds were pretty to walk through, but the rooms were outdated and not as nice as they looked in the pictures. We had to switch rooms because the AC in our first room wasn't working well and it was hot in there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Good resturant to go to is Louie's Italian on the corner of Mission Blvd and West Mission Blvd right across from Belmont Park!

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cricket70
Business
Chico, Californai
May 9, 2011

Absolutely Terrific

RIght on the beach of Mission Bay. Hotel lobby has a waterfall with koi in the pond. Tropical parrots,a variety of ducks make walking the hotel grounds relaxing.Not to mention the tropical feel of all the plants. Hotel employees very pleasant and helpful. You can rent bikes,paddle boat,etc. Lots to see and do within 3-7 miles. It was our anniversary and we were upgraded to a tower room on 8th floor. Great view. bathroom could use a bit upgrading, but all in all a very nice room. Dining room on site, tasty with great presentation. At the bar or outside,you can order "lite menu" for lunch or dinner. The spa was heavenly...first time for my hubby. He really enjoyed it.We will stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

share main courses...leaves room for desserts :) Utilize hotel car service.

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
El Paso
May 6, 2011

Fantastic Family Getaway

I went runnig along the beach, it has a great running area, the fitness room is great and the spa offers a lot of things at very rational pricing, it is close (walking distance) to restaruants. The only think that may be a good idea to remodel some of the rooms, the furniture looks very old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
billy girl
Business
sea tac wa.
May 4, 2011

really nice location

just took it easy,enjoyed the grounds the palm trees flowers&the beach right there,and the warm weather. all in all the price was great would recomend to my friends. the room was nice the staff very helpfull. and the view was fab. ect///';

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cape Cod, Ma
May 2, 2011

Fantastic family getaway

This was a quick family trip. The Catamaran Inn in San Diego was perfect for area beaches and restaurants as well as the sites like Sea World and the Zoo. Would highly recommend the hotel, the Mission Bay Area. We want to go back every year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DTW
Business
Spokane, WA
May 2, 2011

Great location and amenities!

Great tropical settings and we loved sailing a Hobie from the resort into Mission Bay. Wonderful view of ocean and sunsets from the tower. Looking forward to going back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Trader Joes .9 miles away.

Back to menu Return to top