$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Catamaran Resort & Spa

4 stars
View map of 3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Catamaran Resort & Spa

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
425 out of 425
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cherri Cox
Tucson, AZ
Feb 19, 2013

Tropical paradise

I felt like I was on a tropical island getaway, the beds were awesome like sleeping on a cloud. And the staff were all eager to please. They said we want to make your stay as enjoyable as possible and the did. First upgrading our room to a suite upon checking in, then when we asked for extra towels and pillows, even requests to bring up more coffee was responded to swiftly. It was more expensive then we regurly pay but I guess you do get what you pay for and this place is 4 stars in my book!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tony Roma's had great food and wonderful service.

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jeep dad
Business
St Louis mo
Jun 11, 2011

Great location but mixed results

This was our first trip to San Diego. Traveled with two 15-year-old girls, who both loved the beach. This hotel has a very exotic feel with birds, luscious foliage, winding paths, etc., and is located between Mission Bay and Pacific Beach. Aside from one trip to Seaworld (an $11 cab ride) we spent the entire time sitting walking distance of the hotel. We got two rooms. I'd recommend asking for ocean view, as we were stuck looking at a parking garage. The rooms are spacious. Our room had an updated and modern bath, but the girls had an older bathroom in the adjacent room. Both rooms were located in "the tower." The biggest plus is the location and tropical feel. Also the free paddleboat cruise around the bay was nice. Don't expect elegance, however. The hallways were noisy and more than a few partiers woke us up in the middle of the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Cab ride from airport was $33.00, so renting a car is not a bad idea. Bikes can be rented for cheap for a quick ride to the beach amusement park.

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Glendale, CA
Jun 7, 2011

Early June stay during the week

Wanted to have a relaxing trip on the beach where I can walk out my hotel and lay out on the sand. Even though the resort is not on the actual beach, it is on the bay, and the calm water is very relaxing. The hotels are very nice, and rooms are a good size. The middle of the hotel consists of nice little waterfall and a pond where there a bunch of ducks. The pool is alright, but the bar seems to be closed during the week at around 6 pm. All in all a nice place and you get a bang for your buck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kara T from CT
Business
Connecticut
Jun 5, 2011

Nice Stay, Great Vacation

This hotel was very nice, and the staff was friendly and helpful. We were fortunate to have an upgraded room due to a full hotel on Prom weekend. Our room was on the 11th floor of the tower over-looking the Bay side, but also had a view of the ocean to the right. The restaurant was some of the best food on our trip, but a little pricey. The Sunday buffet is great, but be sure to make a reservation before you arrive! Parking rates were cheaper than other hotels, be sure to bring you luggage in through the lobby if your room is in the tower. The hotel location was good, right on the beach. We drove everywhere and found free parking in the town with no problem. The town has plenty of restaurants and amenities. We left the area to get to the Zoo and other attractions, all accessible by the highways. Be sure to use a GPS if you are driving. It helped immensely. Our room had two double beds and a small kitchen with basic supplies which we used for breakfast and leftovers. The room was clean and up to date with extra towels and pillows. We did not hear our neighbors, it was very quiet (except for the 2 nights with the complimentary booze cruise). At night we left the balcony slider doors open for a cool breeze and the sound of waves put us to sleep = very relaxing. And for those of you used to mosquitos, we didn't see a single bug (we were there in May). In the morning you can hear the parrots below in the courtyard, which the kids may enjoy, plus ducks wandered about the water feature which was stocked with large, colorful fish.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beaches are accessible on foot, both the Bay and Pacific. The hotel is on the Bay side, you need to walk a few short blocks to the Pacific side. People are constantly exercising along the boardwalks and bikes are available to rent. This is a good vacation spot for people who want to exercise by walking or jogging everyday right by the hotel.

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jbrenner
Business
Iowa
Jun 5, 2011

Great Resort!

We absolutely loved the catamaran! Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful, the grounds were beautiful and had a great pool area. The rooms need some updating but wasn't a huge deal since we were hardly ever in the room. A great location to restaurants and the beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Utica NY
Jun 3, 2011

Best of Both Worlds

Fantastic experience. My wife and I actually spent our honeymoon here and had an absolutely tremendous time. Mission bay is much more peaceful and relaxing than the Pacific Coast yet you can still experience it by a short walk. Public transportation runs regulary everywhere and there is so much to do regardless of your pleasures. Hotel condition, atmosphere, service, food were all top notch. Make sure you go to the Green Flash on the Ocean for great seafood, drinks (Mary calientes) at a great price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the bus! Goes everywhere all day for $5 or single trips for $2.25

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
dousman, wi
May 30, 2011

Great Location and Beautiful Resort

Pleasant and helpful staff. Great location in mission bay area. Within a block of the beah. Will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
pdx
May 29, 2011

great hotel below average room

the hotel is very nice with beautiful grounds and very friendly staff. our room had some issues: the bathroom had a translucent window that faced into the inner hallway-we felt very exposed the water would not maintain any temperature-supper hot one second and tepid the next. Overalll we liked the hotel but not the room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great breakfast spot on mission beach is Konos-a huge amount of food for a great price also the mexican food place next to the hotel-great! and there is a Starbucks on Mission Blvd near Ralphs grocery store-about 4 blocks away

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
krm659
Business
Bronx, NY
May 22, 2011

Beautiful resort, expensive to park.

Upon arrival, it looks and is beautiful. I was a little surprised to find out you have to pay to park. Then I found out we weren't in a room like on the website, but in the tower which was overlooking the (expensive) parking lot. Maybe I didn't read the fine print, so I'll say it was a learning experience since we all had a good vacation. All that aside, the staff is friendly, room service and restaurant was great, I rented a boat out on the bay which was fun for the kids and reasonable for a relaxing day at the resort. It is a relaxing atmosphere with terrific staff and I would definitely go back. The kids thought it was great. They loved the birds and the pool area with free game room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Nearby Coronado was a nice place to get a great meal on the water.

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reno, NV
May 22, 2011

Beautiful place

My girlfriends and I stayed at the Catamaran for a long weekend. We loved it. The grounds were beautiful, and very clean. We loved the fish and the ducks. We had night caps by the outdoor fire pit and enjoyed the beach during the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great breakfast on Mission Beach at the World Famous Restaurant.

Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
E Lawson
Business
billings mt
May 19, 2011

Great escape from the daily grind

Enjoyed the swimming pool and hot tub Walked along the beach Exercised in the wonderful workout facility

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many unique places to eat within walking distance of resort

Back to menu Return to top