$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Catamaran Resort & Spa

4 stars
3999 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
765 reviews
Excellent Stay

Beautiful room and good service, great view of the bay! See full review

  • bjerke89
  • May 30, 2014
Great spring break

Overall experience was very good. Nice location- very close to pacific ocean. Enjoyed the bay and... See full review

  • a Husker traveler
  • Mar 14, 2014
Waterfront hotel feature spectacular views and lush garden

There's no shortage of things to keep you busy at the Catamaran Resort & Spa. The property gardens house more than 1,000 plants and dozens of exotic birds. Treatment options abound at the Catamaran Spa. The Atoll, the on-site restaurant, serves seafood and a highly-regarded Sunday brunch. Finally, take an evening cruise on the Bahia Belle, the property's historic Mississippi-style sternwheeler (limited schedule).

Highlights
    • Relax and watch the action on Mission Bay
    • One on-site restaurant
    • Lush garden complete with exotic birds
    • Take an evening cruise on the property's Mississippi-style sternwheeler (limited schedule)
    Rooms

    The Catamaran Resort & Spa offers 313 rooms, including 16 suites, spread over five separate two-story buildings. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, iHome docking station and laptop safe. All rooms also feature balconies or patios with views of Mission Bay and the La Jolla coastline. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access.

    Features

    The Catamaran Resort & Spa is all about the sea. The property boasts a dock and marina and operates a historic, Mississippi-style sternwheeler for seasonal cruises. There's a heated pool in the garden courtyard. Rooms with views of Mission Bay available.

    Guests also find other, more land-oriented diversions onsite. The property boasts a state-of-the-art fitness center with free weights and cardio equipment. What's more, guests have access to an on-site video arcade and lush garden, which comprises more than 1,000 different species of plants. The hotel also offers laundry service (fees apply).

    The Atoll, the on-site restaurant, offers traditional meals in a swank environment. At Moray's Lounge, the atmosphere is more casual with TVs airing sporting events.

    Transportation
      • MTS Bus (1 block)
      • San Diego Trolley (5 mi/8 km)
      • San Diego International Airport (8 mi/13 km)
      Attractions
        • Mission Bay Park (4 blocks)
        • Sea World (1.5 mi/2 km)
        • Old Town (5 mi/8 km)
        • Point Loma (6 mi/10 km)
        • San Diego Zoo (10 mi/17 km)
        • Petco Park (12 mi/20 km)
        Business
        • 20,000 square feet of meeting space
        • Indoor and outdoor meeting space
        • 24-hour business center
        Policies and fees
        • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

        This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

        Catamaran Resort & Spa Rooms

        Studio
        With over 400 square feet of comfortable living space, the studios are furnished with two double beds, breakfast table and chairs. The kitchen is equipped with an electric stove; oven, full size refrigerator, sink and wash area, cooking utensils and place settings for four people. All studios have balconies or patios with lounge chairs and tables. Amenities include bathrobes, irons and ironing board, hair dryer and a coffee maker. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Bayview Room
        Tastefully appointed in a tropical decor with over 400 sq feet and each room opens up to it's own balcony or patio. The Bayview room features one king or two double beds on a "request only basis". All rooms have bathrobes, hair dryer, coffee maker iron and ironing board. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Deluxe Room - 1 king bed
        Our Deluxe King room is tastefully appointed in a tropical decor with over 400 sq feet and opens up to it's own balcony or patio. The Deluxe King room features one king bed. All rooms have bathrobes, hair dryer, coffee maker iron and ironing board. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Deluxe Garden Room
        Tastefully appointed in a tropical decor with over 400 sq feet and each opens up to it's own balcony or patio. The Deluxe Garden room features one king or two double beds on a "request only basis". All rooms have bathrobes, refrigerators, hair dryer, coffee maker iron and ironing board. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.
        Bay View Suite
        Our Bayview King Suites offer king bed in the bedroom and a separate living room with a sleeper sofa as well as a private balcony. Each suite has bathrobes, a ironing board with iron, hairdryer, tea/coffee maker, television, telephone and clock radio. We offer room service 24 hours a day. All rooms are non-smoking.

        Amenities

        • WiFi
        • Outdoor pool
        • No smoking rooms/facilities
        General
        No smoking rooms/facilities
        Concierge
        Elevators
        Activities
        Outdoor pool
        Fitness center or spa
        Fitness Center
        Spa
        Game room
        Dining
        Restaurant
        24 hour room service
        Room service
        Services
        Business center
        Tour desk
        Conference facilities
        Gift shop
        Internet
        WiFi
        Parking
        Parking

        Recommendations for you

        Customers who viewed Catamaran Resort & Spa also booked these hotels.

        Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
        Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
        Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

        Hotel Map

        32.7901 -117.2534
        Area served
        San Diego, CA
        Nearby airports
        (SAN)San Diego International Airport
        Area description
        On Mission Bay in Pacific Beach with many shops and restaurants.

        Nearby points of interest

        • Pacific Beach: 0.9 mi
        • Belmont Park: 1.4 mi
        • Mission Bay Park: 2.2 mi
        • Sea World: 2.3 mi
        • Hospitality Point: 2.9 mi
        • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.1 mi
        • Bazaar Del Mundo: 4.1 mi
        • Old Town San Diego: 4.1 mi
        • Sunset Cliffs: 4.2 mi
        • Whaley House Museum: 4.3 mi
        • Heritage Park: 4.4 mi
        • Port of San Diego: 5.4 mi
        • Family Fun Center: 5.8 mi
        • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.7 mi
        • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.8 mi
        • Pacific Beach: 0.9 mi
        • Belmont Park: 1.4 mi
        • Mission Bay Park: 2.2 mi
        • Sea World: 2.3 mi
        • Hospitality Point: 2.9 mi
        • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.1 mi
        • Bazaar Del Mundo: 4.1 mi
        • Old Town San Diego: 4.1 mi
        • Sunset Cliffs: 4.2 mi
        • Whaley House Museum: 4.3 mi
        • Heritage Park: 4.4 mi
        • Port of San Diego: 5.4 mi
        • Family Fun Center: 5.8 mi
        • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.7 mi
        • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.8 mi
        • Firehouse Museum: 6.9 mi
        • San Diego Zoo: 7.1 mi
        • San Diego Museum of Man: 7.2 mi
        • San Diego Automotive Museum: 7.2 mi
        • Timken Museum of Art: 7.2 mi
        • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 7.3 mi
        • Botanical Building: 7.3 mi
        • Casa De Balboa: 7.3 mi
        • Spanish Village Art Center: 7.3 mi
        • San Diego Natural History Museum: 7.4 mi
        • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 7.5 mi
        • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 7.5 mi
        • San Diego Convention Center: 7.8 mi
        • Sorrento Valley: 7.8 mi
        • Gaslamp Quarter: 7.9 mi
        • PETCO Park: 8 mi
        • Chula Vista Nature Center: 13.7 mi
        • Legoland: 23.7 mi
        • California Center For The Arts Museum: 24.6 mi
        • Cox Arena: 2,121 mi

        Dining

        Atoll Restaurant
        Open 7 days a week The Atoll restaurant, with its award-winning menu, offers spectacular views. Located directly on the sandy beach of Mission Bay, guest may enjoy quiet dining or relaxed outdoor-patio beachfront seating. Meals Served: 6:30am-11:15am Breakfast 11:30am-2:15pm Lunch 5:30pm-9: 45pm Dinner (Fri & Sat 10:45pm) Specials: Sunday Brunch, voted 'Best Brunch In San Diego' by San Diego Magazine, offers an outstanding presentation that will satisfy the most discriminating of our guests. Weekly from 10 am - 2 pm. Reservations are suggested Price Range: Varies Reservations Required? No Attire: Casual Attire
        Catamaran Spa
        Experience the Catamaran Resort Spa - A World Class Health & Wellness Facility. Featuring: private treatment rooms, ritual room, steam and dry saunas, outdoor whirlpool, Vichy shower, full service salon, and fitness facility. Please call the Spa at (858) 539-8821 for more information.
        Resort Water Sports Rentals
        Located on our white sand beach at the edge of Mission Bay. Our Water Sports Rental Department offers: sailboats, power boats, ocean kayaks, wind surfers, paddleboats.

        Meeting facilities

        Meeting Info
        With fresh ocean breezes and exotic ambience, the Catamaran Resort is an invigorating and creative setting for any group. All fourteen of our Function Rooms are complemented by scenic views, balconies, patios and most of all - our unforgettable bayfront. Inventive, fresh culinary style, and stunning presentations await you. With accommodations from 30 to 450 guests and over 20,000 square feet of contiguous function space, the choices are easy and endless. Our friendly and helpful staff, modern amenities and on-site Business Center ensure every detail is taken care of. Whether it's for business or special occasions, large or small, fancy or more down to earth, the Catamaran Resort is unsurpassed for style, flexibility and comfort.

        Hotel Policies

        Check-in:
        1600
        Check-out:
        1200

        Terms and conditions

        Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

        The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

        Back to menu Return to top

        Guest Reviews (765)

        Ratings and reviews for Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Overall score

        4.1 / 5
        5.01.0
        765 out of 765
        Amenities:
        4.1
        Room cleanliness:
        4.2
        Hotel staff:
        4.3
        Room comfort:
        4.1
        Location:
        4.7
        Value:
        4

        88% would recommend to a friend.

        Sort by:
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        jbrenner
        Iowa
        Jun 5, 2011

        Great Resort!

        We absolutely loved the catamaran! Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful, the grounds were beautiful and had a great pool area. The rooms need some updating but wasn't a huge deal since we were hardly ever in the room. A great location to restaurants and the beach!

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        4
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        4
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        5
        5.01.0
        Kara T from CT
        Connecticut
        Jun 5, 2011

        Nice Stay, Great Vacation

        This hotel was very nice, and the staff was friendly and helpful. We were fortunate to have an upgraded room due to a full hotel on Prom weekend. Our room was on the 11th floor of the tower over-looking the Bay side, but also had a view of the ocean to the right. The restaurant was some of the best food on our trip, but a little pricey. The Sunday buffet is great, but be sure to make a reservation before you arrive! Parking rates were cheaper than other hotels, be sure to bring you luggage in through the lobby if your room is in the tower. The hotel location was good, right on the beach. We drove everywhere and found free parking in the town with no problem. The town has plenty of restaurants and amenities. We left the area to get to the Zoo and other attractions, all accessible by the highways. Be sure to use a GPS if you are driving. It helped immensely. Our room had two double beds and a small kitchen with basic supplies which we used for breakfast and leftovers. The room was clean and up to date with extra towels and pillows. We did not hear our neighbors, it was very quiet (except for the 2 nights with the complimentary booze cruise). At night we left the balcony slider doors open for a cool breeze and the sound of waves put us to sleep = very relaxing. And for those of you used to mosquitos, we didn't see a single bug (we were there in May). In the morning you can hear the parrots below in the courtyard, which the kids may enjoy, plus ducks wandered about the water feature which was stocked with large, colorful fish.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        5
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        5
        Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

        The beaches are accessible on foot, both the Bay and Pacific. The hotel is on the Bay side, you need to walk a few short blocks to the Pacific side. People are constantly exercising along the boardwalks and bikes are available to rent. This is a good vacation spot for people who want to exercise by walking or jogging everyday right by the hotel.

        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        5
        5.01.0
        Kara T from CT
        Connecticut
        Jun 5, 2011

        Nice Stay, Great Vacation

        This hotel was very nice, and the staff was friendly and helpful. We were fortunate to have an upgraded room due to a full hotel on Prom weekend. Our room was on the 11th floor of the tower over-looking the Bay side, but also had a view of the ocean to the right. The restaurant was some of the best food on our trip, but a little pricey. The Sunday buffet is great, but be sure to make a reservation before you arrive! Parking rates were cheaper than other hotels, be sure to bring you luggage in through the lobby if your room is in the tower. The hotel location was good, right on the beach. We drove everywhere and found free parking in the town with no problem. The town has plenty of restaurants and amenities. We left the area to get to the Zoo and other attractions, all accessible by the highways. Be sure to use a GPS if you are driving. It helped immensely. Our room had two double beds and a small kitchen with basic supplies which we used for breakfast and leftovers. The room was clean and up to date with extra towels and pillows. We did not hear our neighbors, it was very quiet (except for the 2 nights with the complimentary booze cruise). At night we left the balcony slider doors open for a cool breeze and the sound of waves put us to sleep = very relaxing. And for those of you used to mosquitos, we didn't see a single bug (we were there in May). In the morning you can hear the parrots below in the courtyard, which the kids may enjoy, plus ducks wandered about the water feature which was stocked with large, colorful fish.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        5
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        5
        Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

        The beaches are accessible on foot, both the Bay and Pacific. The hotel is on the Bay side, you need to walk a few short blocks to the Pacific side. People are constantly exercising along the boardwalks and bikes are available to rent. This is a good vacation spot for people who want to exercise by walking or jogging everyday right by the hotel.

        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        jbrenner
        Iowa
        Jun 5, 2011

        Great Resort!

        We absolutely loved the catamaran! Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful, the grounds were beautiful and had a great pool area. The rooms need some updating but wasn't a huge deal since we were hardly ever in the room. A great location to restaurants and the beach!

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        4
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        4
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        5
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        Utica NY
        Jun 3, 2011

        Best of Both Worlds

        Fantastic experience. My wife and I actually spent our honeymoon here and had an absolutely tremendous time. Mission bay is much more peaceful and relaxing than the Pacific Coast yet you can still experience it by a short walk. Public transportation runs regulary everywhere and there is so much to do regardless of your pleasures. Hotel condition, atmosphere, service, food were all top notch. Make sure you go to the Green Flash on the Ocean for great seafood, drinks (Mary calientes) at a great price!

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        5
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        5
        Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

        Use the bus! Goes everywhere all day for $5 or single trips for $2.25

        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        5
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        Utica NY
        Jun 3, 2011

        Best of Both Worlds

        Fantastic experience. My wife and I actually spent our honeymoon here and had an absolutely tremendous time. Mission bay is much more peaceful and relaxing than the Pacific Coast yet you can still experience it by a short walk. Public transportation runs regulary everywhere and there is so much to do regardless of your pleasures. Hotel condition, atmosphere, service, food were all top notch. Make sure you go to the Green Flash on the Ocean for great seafood, drinks (Mary calientes) at a great price!

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        5
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        5
        Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

        Use the bus! Goes everywhere all day for $5 or single trips for $2.25

        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        dousman, wi
        May 30, 2011

        Great Location and Beautiful Resort

        Pleasant and helpful staff. Great location in mission bay area. Within a block of the beah. Will stay there again.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        4
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        4
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        4
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        dousman, wi
        May 30, 2011

        Great Location and Beautiful Resort

        Pleasant and helpful staff. Great location in mission bay area. Within a block of the beah. Will stay there again.

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        5
        Room cleanliness:
        5
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        4
        Location:
        5
        Value:
        4
        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        3
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        pdx
        May 29, 2011

        great hotel below average room

        the hotel is very nice with beautiful grounds and very friendly staff. our room had some issues: the bathroom had a translucent window that faced into the inner hallway-we felt very exposed the water would not maintain any temperature-supper hot one second and tepid the next. Overalll we liked the hotel but not the room

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        4
        Room cleanliness:
        4
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        2
        Location:
        4
        Value:
        3
        Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

        great breakfast spot on mission beach is Konos-a huge amount of food for a great price also the mexican food place next to the hotel-great! and there is a Starbucks on Mission Blvd near Ralphs grocery store-about 4 blocks away

        Review of Catamaran Resort & Spa

        Reviewer score

        3
        5.01.0
        Anonymous
        pdx
        May 29, 2011

        great hotel below average room

        the hotel is very nice with beautiful grounds and very friendly staff. our room had some issues: the bathroom had a translucent window that faced into the inner hallway-we felt very exposed the water would not maintain any temperature-supper hot one second and tepid the next. Overalll we liked the hotel but not the room

        Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
        Amenities:
        4
        Room cleanliness:
        4
        Hotel staff:
        5
        Room comfort:
        2
        Location:
        4
        Value:
        3
        Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

        great breakfast spot on mission beach is Konos-a huge amount of food for a great price also the mexican food place next to the hotel-great! and there is a Starbucks on Mission Blvd near Ralphs grocery store-about 4 blocks away

        Back to menu Return to top