California Suites Hotel

3 stars
5415 Claremont Mesa Blvd, San Diego, CA 92117
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
36 reviews
fantastic place with a low budget

The rooms were nice,conviently located, great place to stay when visiting the san diego area. will... See full review

  • ohiod
  • Feb 1, 2014
Ca Suites

For what we paid and what we needed the room for everything was fine. The hotel is under repair and... See full review

  • Sakira
  • Oct 3, 2013
California Suites Hotel is in the center of San Diego 15 minutes to major attractions and beaches. Enjoy our continental breakfast attractively displayed in our poolside breakfast area. Whether your needs are for one evening or extendedstays the lush garden setting of California Suites Hotel provide a beautiful peaceful setting not commonly found in todays hotels. Thru the Internet site where reservation was made cancel 48 hrs prior to local check in time to avoid cancellation and / or no show charges. Any booking over 4 rooms is considered a group booking and must cancel two weeks prior to arrival. Please contact hotel for group contract.

Hotel Map

32.8336 -117.1748
Nearby airports
San Diego Intl Airport, (SAN), 17.00, MI, E; McClellan-Palomar Airport, (CLD), 1.00, MI, N; Montgomery Field, (MYF), 3.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed California Suites Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

California Suites Hotel Rooms

Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Queen Bedded Room - Standard Room 1 queen bed microwave and mini fridge. Complimentary breakfast and parking.
Standard
Double Bedded Room - Standard Room 2 double beds microwave and mini refrigerator. Complimentary breakfast parking.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Jacuzzi
Dining
Continental breakfast
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Family Fun Center: 0.5 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 3.9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 4 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 4.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 5.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 5.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 5.6 mi
  • Heritage Park: 5.7 mi
  • Sea World: 5.7 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 5.7 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 6.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.9 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 0.5 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 3.9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 4 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 4.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 5.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 5.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 5.6 mi
  • Heritage Park: 5.7 mi
  • Sea World: 5.7 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 5.7 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 6.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.9 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 7 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 7.1 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 7.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 7.2 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 7.2 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 7.2 mi
  • Botanical Building: 7.2 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 7.3 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 7.4 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 7.4 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 7.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 7.8 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 8.5 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 8.5 mi
  • PETCO Park: 8.8 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 8.8 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 8.8 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 14.1 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 20.3 mi
  • Legoland: 22 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,115.6 mi

Dining

Godfathers Pizza
Serving Itlaian Cuisine. Located next door to hotel. Open 9AM-10PM
Carrows Restaurant
Serving Coffee shop cuisine. Located across the street from hotel.Open 7AM-10PM
Aladdins Cafe
Serving Mediterranean cuisine. Located across the street from hotel. Open 9AM-10PM
Dennys
Open 24HRS
Madisons Grill
Voted one of Canadas top 100 places to dine. Serving regional Canadian cuisine with a West Coast flair. Open 7am-10pm Monday-Thursday 7am-11pm Friday 8am-11am and 5pm-11pm Saturday 8am-11am and 5pm-8pm Sunday.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (36)

Ratings and reviews for California Suites Hotel

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 36
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.5

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of California Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
singthepoems
Pasadena, CA
Sep 22, 2012

Why pay more?

I chose this hotel because it is inexpensive and its location (midway between La Jolla and downtown San Diego) was perfect for my recent trip. I found it to be clean, pretty, conveniently located (just off the 805 freeway), and a great value for a low price. The staff was friendly and efficient and the amenities (pool, hot tub, breakfast, parking, refrigerator, and microwave) were all there--why pay double for less space and fewer amenities? I also liked the extra storage space (shelves, large closet, etc.) at California Suites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of California Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DoctorPS
San Diego
Aug 29, 2012

Good value for money

Good value for money. Clean hotel rooms. The receptionist attitude can be improved, found her to be rude! She didn't co-operate with us at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of California Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kentmartinez
Arnold, MD, USA
Apr 12, 2012

Ideal location, good discounts

Nice and comfortable. A four night stay got us a decent discount on room rates. The swimming pool is warm and large. Breakfast menu was ordinary but more or less satisfactory. Must appreciate the staff for its help and assistance. The hotel is at a comfortable distance from the places you would love to see in San Diego but in terms of the location, its kinda lonely. Lovely flowers and plants around but the rooms are just too close together. So thumbs down for privacy. Overall would stay again on next visit. Will probably try their extended stay package.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of California Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dovsky
Israel
Jun 26, 2013

Budget hotel for city trip

We looked for a budget hotel in the middle of the county, between University City, La Jolla and Downtown, not so far from Balboa park, Zoo, beaches and other main attractions, having free parking and ensuite amenities. So, this location was perfect for us. The territory was nice, full of plants and flowers, with a little fountain and a swimming pool. The room was modestly furnitured, but clean and quite spacious. An only negative thing was their too poor breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

1. Midway 2. Balboa park (incl. all museums) 3. Sea World 4. 2h Gulf cruise

Review of California Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Econotraveler
Wisconsin
Jul 13, 2012

Economy stay

Good experience for the $$. Close drive to the tourist stuff to do. Flowers and trees on the grounds are pretty. Like that the area is gated. (Not sure if there is a reason for this??) Needs blinds instead of curtains. Windows are big and all that walk by can see inside your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of California Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
swfreebird
San Diego, CA, USA
Jan 6, 2012

perfect date night!

My boyfriend & i has a slight long distnce relationship so finding a good hotel @such a great deal & location is very important! Location was awesome,many many choices of food & entertainment! Great sushi place across st & minigolf in less than a minute away! Not only was the area awesome but the room itself was better than expectd! Seems as if it was remodeld! Nice bathrooms,fully stocked,clean beddding,nice carpet &compl.brkfast was nice treat! Awesome staff as well! Sweet & sense of humor! We'll def.ly b back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of California Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Arnold CS
Sacramento, California
May 27, 2013

Short getaway

It was a shot stay, coz we've just attended a wedding. Staff are excellent, friendly and respectful, they make sure our room is ready even though we are coming late but we arrive earlier...... it is really reserved and ready on time, this is excellent because after 11 hours of driving and tiring.....you have excellent and friendly welcome. The place is good for a short stay but breakfast should be better than muffin and cereals...... egg and bacon would be great. I will come back !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of California Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coco1998
Salt Lake City, UT
Apr 8, 2013

Second time staying...

We love the secure feeling of this hotel. Once inside the gates, the grounds are beautiful. We asked for extra blankets and towels and received them right away. We loved having a little kitchenette. It was perfect for our needs and priced well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of California Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Reiki Master Traveler
Business
Amherst, MA
Jun 6, 2013

Great hotel for short or long stay

I stayed at the California Suites Hotel for 5 nights in May. I liked the free microwave and refrigerator offer as I wanted to make my own meals for the time I was in San Diego. A very pleasant surprise was the two burner cooktop, countertop, small sink, and all the cupboard space! I felt like I had rented an efficiency, not just paid for a hotel room. So if you plan to cook meals and have room in your suitcase, pack a small pan and a few utensils. There is an inexpensive grocery store less than five minutes away that has paper goods as well. The room had lots of space, the bed was very comfortable, and the area is very quiet. I asked for non-smoking and there was absolutely no tobacco odor in my room. It was a bit chilly for the pool, but there are tables around it and each evening, someone was enjoying the area. The staff was helpful and very friendly. There was a complimentary breakfast...mostly sweets, but also packaged oatmeal, oranges, and juice. A toaster and some bread or English muffins would have been a good addition. This area was kept very clean. The only drawback was the unexpected daily charge for internet access. I would definitely stay here again. I just wish more hotels were like this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Rose Canyon Open Space Park in the northern end of San Diego in University City is a great place for hiking or mountain biking with easy access. Good for young and older.

Review of California Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sakira
San Diego, CA
Oct 3, 2013

Ca Suites

For what we paid and what we needed the room for everything was fine. The hotel is under repair and hopefully some of the older parts are being replaced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

close to relatives

Back to menu Return to top