California Suites Hotel

3 stars
5415 Claremont Mesa Blvd, San Diego, CA 92117
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
36 reviews
fantastic place with a low budget

The rooms were nice,conviently located, great place to stay when visiting the san diego area. will... See full review

  • ohiod
  • Feb 1, 2014
Ca Suites

For what we paid and what we needed the room for everything was fine. The hotel is under repair and... See full review

  • Sakira
  • Oct 3, 2013
California Suites Hotel is in the center of San Diego 15 minutes to major attractions and beaches. Enjoy our continental breakfast attractively displayed in our poolside breakfast area. Whether your needs are for one evening or extendedstays the lush garden setting of California Suites Hotel provide a beautiful peaceful setting not commonly found in todays hotels. Thru the Internet site where reservation was made cancel 48 hrs prior to local check in time to avoid cancellation and / or no show charges. Any booking over 4 rooms is considered a group booking and must cancel two weeks prior to arrival. Please contact hotel for group contract.

Hotel Map

32.8336 -117.1748
Nearby airports
San Diego Intl Airport, (SAN), 17.00, MI, E; McClellan-Palomar Airport, (CLD), 1.00, MI, N; Montgomery Field, (MYF), 3.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed California Suites Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

California Suites Hotel Rooms

Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Queen Bedded Room - Standard Room 1 queen bed microwave and mini fridge. Complimentary breakfast and parking.
Standard
Double Bedded Room - Standard Room 2 double beds microwave and mini refrigerator. Complimentary breakfast parking.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Jacuzzi
Dining
Continental breakfast
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Family Fun Center: 0.5 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 3.9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 4 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 4.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 5.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 5.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 5.6 mi
  • Heritage Park: 5.7 mi
  • Sea World: 5.7 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 5.7 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 6.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.9 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 0.5 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 3.9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 4 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 4.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 5.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 5.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 5.6 mi
  • Heritage Park: 5.7 mi
  • Sea World: 5.7 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 5.7 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 6.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.9 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 7 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 7.1 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 7.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 7.2 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 7.2 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 7.2 mi
  • Botanical Building: 7.2 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 7.3 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 7.4 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 7.4 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 7.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 7.8 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 8.5 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 8.5 mi
  • PETCO Park: 8.8 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 8.8 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 8.8 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 14.1 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 20.3 mi
  • Legoland: 22 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,115.6 mi

Dining

Godfathers Pizza
Serving Itlaian Cuisine. Located next door to hotel. Open 9AM-10PM
Carrows Restaurant
Serving Coffee shop cuisine. Located across the street from hotel.Open 7AM-10PM
Aladdins Cafe
Serving Mediterranean cuisine. Located across the street from hotel. Open 9AM-10PM
Dennys
Open 24HRS
Madisons Grill
Voted one of Canadas top 100 places to dine. Serving regional Canadian cuisine with a West Coast flair. Open 7am-10pm Monday-Thursday 7am-11pm Friday 8am-11am and 5pm-11pm Saturday 8am-11am and 5pm-8pm Sunday.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (36)

Ratings and reviews for California Suites Hotel

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 36
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.5

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of California Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
J Clare
Paldmale CA
Dec 18, 2012

clean & comfortable

We spent one night. No problems. Room was clear and staff was professional

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of California Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cricket5
los angeles, CA
Dec 11, 2012

Affordable and Convient

This is a no frills hotel, very close to the center of San Diego. For the price, I got everything I needed. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was clean, and had both a microwave and mini fridge. This isn't a fancy place, but it was clean and easy to get to all the best places in San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of California Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
leis
columbus, ohio
Oct 4, 2012

affordable place to stay

i stayed twice. the first time the staff was friendly and my room, 1014 was very cute with a nice view. the next stay my reservation, which i had made in person 2 days prior, was for the wrong day and they charged me a higher rate then they quoted me (second stay was not through cheap tickets). the room the put me in was 218. it was horrible. all i could hear was rushing by traffic all night with no view. the tv was less than half the size of the first and was all in blue and greens only. both beds were very hard. giant closets though! average stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

go to the green flash on mondays for 1/2 aff menu. it is fantastic and the drinks are strong. beach view fun place

Review of California Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
singthepoems
Pasadena, CA
Sep 22, 2012

Why pay more?

I chose this hotel because it is inexpensive and its location (midway between La Jolla and downtown San Diego) was perfect for my recent trip. I found it to be clean, pretty, conveniently located (just off the 805 freeway), and a great value for a low price. The staff was friendly and efficient and the amenities (pool, hot tub, breakfast, parking, refrigerator, and microwave) were all there--why pay double for less space and fewer amenities? I also liked the extra storage space (shelves, large closet, etc.) at California Suites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of California Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DoctorPS
San Diego
Aug 29, 2012

Good value for money

Good value for money. Clean hotel rooms. The receptionist attitude can be improved, found her to be rude! She didn't co-operate with us at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of California Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jpaul39
Mesa Az
Jul 20, 2012

Convenient Hotel

This hotel is very close to the freeway exits, shopping, Sea World, and most entertainment. It's not the cleanest, but It's not hardly as expensive either. The employees are friendly and very helpfull. The pool and jacuzzi Were in good shape. If you are on a budget I would recommend, especially if you are new to San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of California Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Catlady4847
Grants Pass. OR
Jul 14, 2012

OK for short stay

We were in San Diego for my son's retirement from the military after 22 years. I knew we didn't need anything special because we wouldn't be there much. On the good side, the grounds are so beautiful with flowers and water features and lots of birds. Very park like. On the bad side, the bed was so wobbly I actually fell out of it when I sat down. We had sore backs every day. We needed a handicap room and it was located right in front by the highway. The only way to keep the noise down was to turn the air conditioning on full blast. The breakfast was another disappointment. It consisted of small boxes of cereal, boxed orange juice, small flat muffins in cellophane, oranges and coffee. It was open only 7-9 am. we only ate there the 1st morning, then found other places to eat. It was clean and well kept otherwise. Just not good for a long stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

IHOP is on the next street over. They have the greatest breakfasts ever!

Review of California Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Econotraveler
Wisconsin
Jul 13, 2012

Economy stay

Good experience for the $$. Close drive to the tourist stuff to do. Flowers and trees on the grounds are pretty. Like that the area is gated. (Not sure if there is a reason for this??) Needs blinds instead of curtains. Windows are big and all that walk by can see inside your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of California Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frequent SD visit
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 2, 2012

Easy

Easy fast check-in/check-out. nice area close to freeways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of California Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jennypoo
las vegas
Jun 4, 2012

vacation

The place was nice and clean. The only problem is their front desk staff. they have horrible customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top