California Suites Hotel

3 stars
5415 Claremont Mesa Blvd, San Diego, CA 92117
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
36 reviews
fantastic place with a low budget

The rooms were nice,conviently located, great place to stay when visiting the san diego area. will... See full review

  • ohiod
  • Feb 1, 2014
Ca Suites

For what we paid and what we needed the room for everything was fine. The hotel is under repair and... See full review

  • Sakira
  • Oct 3, 2013
California Suites Hotel is in the center of San Diego 15 minutes to major attractions and beaches. Enjoy our continental breakfast attractively displayed in our poolside breakfast area. Whether your needs are for one evening or extendedstays the lush garden setting of California Suites Hotel provide a beautiful peaceful setting not commonly found in todays hotels. Thru the Internet site where reservation was made cancel 48 hrs prior to local check in time to avoid cancellation and / or no show charges. Any booking over 4 rooms is considered a group booking and must cancel two weeks prior to arrival. Please contact hotel for group contract.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed California Suites Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

California Suites Hotel Rooms

Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Queen Bedded Room - Standard Room 1 queen bed microwave and mini fridge. Complimentary breakfast and parking.
Standard
Double Bedded Room - Standard Room 2 double beds microwave and mini refrigerator. Complimentary breakfast parking.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Jacuzzi
Dining
Continental breakfast
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Family Fun Center: 0.5 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 3.9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 4 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 4.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 5.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 5.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 5.6 mi
  • Heritage Park: 5.7 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 5.7 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 6.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.9 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 7 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 7.1 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 0.5 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 3.9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 4 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 4.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 5.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 5.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 5.6 mi
  • Heritage Park: 5.7 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 5.7 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 6.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.9 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 7 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 7.1 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 7.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 7.2 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 7.2 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 7.2 mi
  • Botanical Building: 7.2 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 7.3 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 7.4 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 7.4 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 7.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 7.8 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 8.5 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 8.5 mi
  • PETCO Park: 8.8 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 8.8 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 14.1 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 20.3 mi
  • Legoland: 22 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,115.6 mi

Dining

Godfathers Pizza
Serving Itlaian Cuisine. Located next door to hotel. Open 9AM-10PM
Carrows Restaurant
Serving Coffee shop cuisine. Located across the street from hotel.Open 7AM-10PM
Aladdins Cafe
Serving Mediterranean cuisine. Located across the street from hotel. Open 9AM-10PM
Dennys
Open 24HRS
Madisons Grill
Voted one of Canadas top 100 places to dine. Serving regional Canadian cuisine with a West Coast flair. Open 7am-10pm Monday-Thursday 7am-11pm Friday 8am-11am and 5pm-11pm Saturday 8am-11am and 5pm-8pm Sunday.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (36)

Ratings and reviews for California Suites Hotel

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 36
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.5

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of California Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dovsky
Business
Israel
Jun 26, 2013

Budget hotel for city trip

We looked for a budget hotel in the middle of the county, between University City, La Jolla and Downtown, not so far from Balboa park, Zoo, beaches and other main attractions, having free parking and ensuite amenities. So, this location was perfect for us. The territory was nice, full of plants and flowers, with a little fountain and a swimming pool. The room was modestly furnitured, but clean and quite spacious. An only negative thing was their too poor breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

1. Midway 2. Balboa park (incl. all museums) 3. Sea World 4. 2h Gulf cruise

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of California Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
UCSDstudentjune2013
Business
San Jose, CA
Jun 17, 2013

nice location, good value for price

While its surroundings and interiors/exteriors may not be very pleasing, it is in a very convenient location, close to La Jolla as well as major attractions such as Sea World. The room was clean but be prepared to hear your neighbors walking around and talking at night. Continental breakfast had muffins, pastries, unripe oranges, instant oatmeal, and bananas. Don't expect too much from this hotel, as remember, you are getting a good price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of California Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Reiki Master Traveler
Business
Amherst, MA
Jun 6, 2013

Great hotel for short or long stay

I stayed at the California Suites Hotel for 5 nights in May. I liked the free microwave and refrigerator offer as I wanted to make my own meals for the time I was in San Diego. A very pleasant surprise was the two burner cooktop, countertop, small sink, and all the cupboard space! I felt like I had rented an efficiency, not just paid for a hotel room. So if you plan to cook meals and have room in your suitcase, pack a small pan and a few utensils. There is an inexpensive grocery store less than five minutes away that has paper goods as well. The room had lots of space, the bed was very comfortable, and the area is very quiet. I asked for non-smoking and there was absolutely no tobacco odor in my room. It was a bit chilly for the pool, but there are tables around it and each evening, someone was enjoying the area. The staff was helpful and very friendly. There was a complimentary breakfast...mostly sweets, but also packaged oatmeal, oranges, and juice. A toaster and some bread or English muffins would have been a good addition. This area was kept very clean. The only drawback was the unexpected daily charge for internet access. I would definitely stay here again. I just wish more hotels were like this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Rose Canyon Open Space Park in the northern end of San Diego in University City is a great place for hiking or mountain biking with easy access. Good for young and older.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of California Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
OhPooh
Business
Fremont, CA, USA
May 30, 2013

An Upgrade is waaaaaaaay overdue

4 day weeken, 3 days in Irvine , one day in San Diego. I paid the same for this place $78 as I did Hilton on McArthur in Irvine. The hour drive there was worth the comfort that awaited me. Hilton had free wifi, but parking was expensive. No free Wifi at these "suites" but i just tethered my phone. ( To management I say) Naaa nana naaaaana Parking lot, tjough free looks worse than even the strip mall and gas station/liquor store nearby. Smell of old motel turned me off. Old AC units with frayes wiring and faded illegible knobs that staff did not bother to tell me how to operate. You get a physical key, and you worry about it having been cloned by thieves. Ironing board plus iron, have very long chord, Chairs were very clean and beds were comfortable. But online photos that they use are a hook, and they get guests, so an upgrade is not comming any time soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of California Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Arnold CS
Business
Sacramento, California
May 27, 2013

Short getaway

It was a shot stay, coz we've just attended a wedding. Staff are excellent, friendly and respectful, they make sure our room is ready even though we are coming late but we arrive earlier...... it is really reserved and ready on time, this is excellent because after 11 hours of driving and tiring.....you have excellent and friendly welcome. The place is good for a short stay but breakfast should be better than muffin and cereals...... egg and bacon would be great. I will come back !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of California Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sean Average Hotel Goer
Business
San Diego
Apr 21, 2013

Meh stay

Nothing really good about this stay, but nothing really bad. Honestly just a "meh" experience. If i had to describe this hotel in one word however it would be "cheap". signs in the room saying if you take anything you'll be charged. Everything in the room is bare minimum. The door for example. It locks, but it has no swinging door bar gaurd. I thought those suckers were standard at hotels. also, they use straight up keys for their rooms, not cards. And this is just the door. the whole room has the "cheapness" feel to it. television, carpet, toiletries in the bathroom, sheets, pillows #a wopping 2 pillows for a queen bed...# etc. etc. etc. Like i said, nothing REALLY wrong with my stay, but i doubt ill be returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of California Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coco1998
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Apr 8, 2013

Second time staying...

We love the secure feeling of this hotel. Once inside the gates, the grounds are beautiful. We asked for extra blankets and towels and received them right away. We loved having a little kitchenette. It was perfect for our needs and priced well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of California Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
johnnyw
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 29, 2013

good for a budget concern traveller

consider La Jolla, the price is low and value is good. Management try to make a old hotel runs well. It is very close to freeway exist, surrounding is not impressive but ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of California Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
johnnyw
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 28, 2013

ok for the price

I choose this one due to the price is good, but the price quoted doesn't include tax, also the internet is $6.95/day extra, The room and bath room is clean, the hotel is old, but maintain in a good order. The pool is maintained in good order too. Their breakfast include fruit, instant oat meal, juice, coffee, danish, croisant, but the disposable cup they provide is not safe for hot drink, so better prepare your own.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of California Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KenU
Business
Huntington Beach
Mar 27, 2013

Nice convenient no frills

People at the desk were very helpful, but it's a bit old looking, though rooms are clean and fairly well furnished, just not comortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top