$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 7, 2014 Check-out: Oct 10, 2014

Beach Haven Inn

1 star
4740 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
15 reviews
Great stay, great location, great value!

Beach Haven Hotel is steps away from the beach, the staff was awesome (ask for Bill or Bob!) and... See full review

  • Travelin' Family from FL
  • Apr 8, 2014
Pleasent surprize October 2013

read all the reviews and yes this is the best bargin in the area. Staff was great, room was clean,... See full review

  • CHRIS AND LARRY M
  • Oct 10, 2013
The Beach Haven Inn is located in Pacific Beach, San Diego just 1/2 block from the breathtaking Pacific Ocean. Relax by our pool or take a stroll along the warm sandy beach. Walk to the Crystal Pier or run, bike or roller blade along the Pacific Beach/Mission Beach Boardwalk. Nearby you'll also find a variety of boutiques, restaurants, entertainment and nightlife. For an unbeatable location, friendly service and comfortable rooms, come to Beach Haven Inn!

Hotel Map

32.8 -117.2569
Area served
San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
(SAN)Lindbergh International Airport
Area description
Located seconds from the beach, offering a wide variety of fun & sun activities for the whole family. Sea World and Belmont Park are only 8 minutes away. Other popular attractions are Old Town, Sea Port Village, Gaslamp District, Balboa Park, Harbor Excursions and let's not forget the world famous San Diego Zoo.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Beach Haven Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Beach Haven Inn Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
Suite features a master bedroom with queen bed and full-size bathroom, separate living area with queen size sofa sleeper, cable TV, full kitchen w/dinette and air conditioning. Accommodates 4 adults and 1 child.
Standard Two Queen Room
Room features 2 queen beds; color TV , telephones w/data ports, bathroom w/bath and shower combination and air-conditioning. Accommodates 4 adults and 1 child.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Pacific Beach: 1 mi
  • Belmont Park: 2.1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.5 mi
  • Sea World: 3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 3.6 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 4.7 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 4.7 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 4.9 mi
  • Heritage Park: 5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.6 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 6.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 7 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 7.3 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 1 mi
  • Belmont Park: 2.1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.5 mi
  • Sea World: 3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 3.6 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 4.7 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 4.7 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 4.9 mi
  • Heritage Park: 5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.6 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 6.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 7 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 7.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 7.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 7.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 7.6 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 7.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 7.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 7.8 mi
  • Botanical Building: 7.8 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 7.9 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 7.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 7.9 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 7.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 8 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 8.2 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 8.5 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 8.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 8.7 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 14.3 mi
  • Legoland: 23 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 24.1 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,120.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (15)

Ratings and reviews for Beach Haven Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 15
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beach Haven Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 13, 2007

Just What The Doctor Ordered

The title says it all.I had a wonderful stay.My daughter and I were pleased with everything.The proporty was beautiful and was in the beach spirit!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Loved the beach being sooooo close.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beach Haven Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelin' Family from FL
West Palm Beach FL
Apr 8, 2014

Great stay, great location, great value!

Beach Haven Hotel is steps away from the beach, the staff was awesome (ask for Bill or Bob!) and the room was very clean with an updated bathroom. What was missing from the room was a coffee maker but they have rooms with efficiency kitchens in them if you want to go that route. Great pool with hot tub but we didn't use bc it was a little chilly for us! One thing that happened (and this is totally NOT the fault of the hotel) was one night a guest came home drunk and loud and was banging on the door next to ours. If you are looking for a great place to stay with your significant other or family this is the place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beach Haven Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CHRIS AND LARRY M
MELROSE MA
Oct 10, 2013

Pleasent surprize October 2013

read all the reviews and yes this is the best bargin in the area. Staff was great, room was clean, roomy, and had all the basics. Location is A1 half a block away from the beach, short walk to all sorts of bars, restaurants, food and other shopping. EVERYTHING YOU'LL NEED IS IN WALKING DISTANCE. BEST PERK; "FREE PARKING"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

ASK THE STAFF THEY WILL SAVE YOU TIME

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beach Haven Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tucson
Aug 10, 2011

Excellent location

Front desk staff (owner?) could use some people skills...not very friendly, happy or smiling, just matter-of-fact. Facility must have been wonderful when new, now it needs some TLC. It's very close to where my relatives live but next trip I will check out some of the other hotels very close by before making another reservation for this one. When asked how our stay was as we were leaving, I commented that it was rather noisy (ice machine right outside). He made no comment, just kept on completing the check-out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beach Haven Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix, AZ
Feb 6, 2011

not so hot

Well, the hotel is rather dated, run down, small and cramp-ed… the management seemed overbearing and threating, we had our two small children with us[...]. The hotel was one block from the beach, parking was first come first serve, and space was limited. We will not be going back there… We use to love in Pacific Beach, and see friends and do stuff with our kids.. We have had much much better experiences with motels in PB…

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beach Haven Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston and providence
Aug 9, 2010

Basic, but good bang 4 bucks

The hotel definitely served it's purpose. We didn't go to pacific beach for cable tv and a free breakfast buffet. The rooms were clean, the staff was friendly, and you really couldn't beat the location. My biggest complaint is that there was no fitness area, and that the bathrooms didn't have a ventilation system (definitely a problem when sharing 2 bathrooms between 5 men). All in all, a good decision... I'd def do it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to garnet street... Everything you need is right there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beach Haven Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Colorado
Feb 24, 2010

Good location for the price

Fairly nice motel, a bit noisy because it is right on a busy road, but Pacific Beach and Crystal Pier is within walknig distance. I booked 2 queens but got upgraded to a junior suite, which had a kitchen. Hot tub was nice and the room had a large flat screen tv. Good value for money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Crystal Pier and the beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beach Haven Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dulceroze
Ventura, CA
Dec 22, 2009

A nice stay

It was just the night, but it was in a good location, not too far from downtown La Jolla. Went to Alfonso's for a mean maragarita and checked out the seals on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Alfonso's in downtown La Jolla

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beach Haven Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Disgruntled by the Staff
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 14, 2009

All great but one thing

I as well the people who came with me loved the place. It had everything we expected and was walking distance to everywhere we wanted to be,but we all agreed the male working the front counter on Dec 12 and 13, 2009 during the day was not hospitable. My sister went to register her car so it would not get towed from the parking lot and he accused us of having more people in the room than we had said. Then when my other friend who did not book through orbits went to check out who was also staying at the hotel with his pregnant wife, they accused them of having more than the two of them in the room. They did not realize we were visiting eachother from room to room and made accusations without first asking questions.I beleive the man at the desk was very rude and discourtious and only because of him was our stay unplesant. I beleive the rest of the staff and amenaties were as explained but if you have to deal with him beware of acusations and rude remarks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything from food to shopping is close by...less than a few blocks from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beach Haven Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kansas
Nov 19, 2009

Great friendly staff!

First room we had was close to a bunch of noisy neighbors and was not that clean. I talked to the manager and he bent over backwards to accomodate us. He even gave us two rooms for the same price. The second rooms were completely opposite of the first. Quiet and clean. We had a very nice experience there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beach Haven Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nasty Hotel
Business
Nevada
Sep 30, 2009

Horrible Hotel!

The room was dirty. The towels smelled used and were dirty. The floor and bathtub were filthy. The doors wouldn't close inside the room. The top of the air conditioner broke off. The beds were comfortable. The room had steps that led inside the bathroom. There were signs taped inside the room that said beware of steps. A person could easily fall down and hurt themselves. The room had a nice t.v. I was scalded in the shower and the staff didn't care when I told him. The hot cold nozzel isn't labeled. The staff that checked me in told me needed a credit card "copy" He then came back with a receipt for $100 after he told me he was only going to "copy" the card! This hotel needs to be condemed by the city of San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search