$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 25, 2015

Bay Club Hotel & Marina

3 stars
View map of 2131 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
169 reviews
fun trip

We traveled with 2 other couples we all really liked the hotel the staff and the location. The food... See full review

  • Thomas S.
  • Jun 13, 2015
Exceptional hotel in a good location

Great location, good rooms (request marina view), surprisingly good restaurant in the hotel. Would... See full review

  • Skokieboy
  • May 14, 2015

Bay Club Hotel & Marina in San Diego sits on Shelter Island - San Diego's Hawaiian Isle. Rooms offer spectacular views of the marina, the San Diego Bay and the city beyond. Guests find a staff that is attentive to details and expert in creating a comfortable atmosphere. Located in a low traffic area, visitors to the Bay Club Hotel & Marina find the marina a pleasure to walk. All of this and more is located 10 minutes from the airport.

Rooms

All rooms offer spectacular views and outstanding comfort. A separate bathroom with vanity area is equipped with a hair-dryer, and an iron and board to leave guests looking their best. Comforts abound, with 42-inch plasma television as standard along with a refrigerator, coffee machine and complimentary coffee. Guests staying for business enjoy a peaceful in-room workspace. Return to a bay view room and a panorama of the shimmering skyline, or a marina view room facing west and watch the beautiful oceanic sunsets. Lounge by the pool, work out in the fully equipped gym or rest tired muscles in the Jacuzzi. Get discounts on certain attractions from the hotel reception. The Bay Club Hotel & Marina is a 100 percent no-smoking facility and kids under 12 stay free. Enjoy complimentary airport transportation at the end of the visit. Those who arrive by boat enjoy the "Dine'n'Dock" Special with rooms at the Bay Club Hotel & Marina while docking their vessel in a world-class marina.

Highlights
  • The views alone are worth the price
  • Close proximity to the best attractions in San Diego
  • Heated pool, hot tub and fitness center
Nearby attractions
  • San Diego Harbor Island Drive (3.6 mi/5.7 km)
  • Balboa Park (4.7 mi/7.5 km)
  • Mission Bay Park (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
  • Gaslamp Quarter (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • SeaWorld Aquarium (13 mi/20.9 km)
  • Legoland California (33.6 mi/54 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bay Club Hotel & Marina also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Bay Club Hotel & Marina Rooms

Marina View Room
Enjoy relaxing picturesque views of our private marina along with several other sailboat-filled marinas and the sunset over Point Loma. These rooms are located on our first or second floor and offer one king bed or two queen beds, 42 inch plasma TV, separate bath and vanity area, mini refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, hair dryer, iron and board, work desk, in room safe, voicemail and wireless internet access
Partial View Room
Furnished with one king bed or two queen beds (bed type cannot be guaranteed and will be assigned upon check-in), a patio or balcony with partial/limited views of the bay from the first floor, 42" plasma TV, separate bath and vanity area, mini refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, hair dryer, iron and board, work desk, in room safe, voicemail and complimentary wireless internet access. Rooms are approximately 385 square feet.
Bay View Room
Enjoy relaxing picturesque views of San Diego Bay, North Island Naval Air Station and the shimmering skyline of downtown San Diego. These rooms are located on our 1st or 2nd floor and offer one king bed or two queen beds, 42 inch plasma TV, separate bath and vanity area, mini refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, hair dryer, iron and board, work desk, in room safe, voicemail and wireless internet access.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Accessible parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.2 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.2 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.5 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.7 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.1 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 5.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.7 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 8.9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.2 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.9 mi
  • Legoland: 29 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
From 10 to 100, meetings are banquets are never lost in the shuffle at The Bay Club Hotel. With our boutique style, it's a breeze making your group our priority. All three of our meeting and banquet rooms have tasteful decor, incredible views and are conveniently located just off the lobby.

Dining

The Quarterdeck
The Quarterdeck restaurant and lounge offers one of San Diego's best marina views along with an intimate friendly setting. Relax and indulge yourself with one of our delicious menu selections. Choose from fresh seafood specials, steaks, pastas, specialty salads, sandwiches and seafood combinations. Happy Hour is a must Monday through Friday from 4PM to 7PM. We also serve lunch and dinner and provide room service. Hours 7AM to 10PM. (Room service until 9:45PM)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 169
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.9
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.8

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maryl
Business
N/A
May 26, 2015

vacation/business

The staff was very friendly and helpful I just wish breakfast was included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jacqueline Z.
Business
fort lauderdale
May 7, 2015

great!

i stayed here for 3 nights when visiting san diego. the hotel was in a great location, so close to everything I was looking to visit, but quiet because it was on the island. I would definitely recommend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Clifford c.
Business
N/A
Dec 30, 2014

Over nite

Airport transfers were promt and friendly , staff were helpful and prompt

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
InTX
Business
Irving, Texas
Aug 26, 2014

Rocky start good finish

During booking, I paid extra for a premium view of the marina, trust me it's worth the money. But when I checked in and got to my room, it was the opposite of what I paid extra for. So back to the desk I go, they finally gave me what I paid extra for, but I had to go on my phone and show the Itinerary email to prove it. After all that, no more complaints. The room was great, the food was great. The clientele of this hotel is mostly rich, retired folks. This mean there is NOT a lot of screaming,crying fussy,wining,bad behaved kids running around. Thank GOD! The breakfast is a hot breakfast, eggs, potato, sausage, fruit and more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HamsterHuey
Business
New York
Nov 25, 2013

Travel

Very nice staff - very helpful and friendly. They would try to help you in every way possible, Only complaints - very slow wireless connection with a higher speed connection only available as a paid option. Also, minimal options for vegetarians in the free buffet breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maria aka julio
Business
Honolulu HI
Apr 12, 2013

Quiet getaway

Very charming atmosphere , great surrounding area, lends itself to relaxing walks along bay. Hotel needs cosmetic makeover but rooms were clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Seen many places
Business
Denver, CO
Mar 31, 2012

Perfect combination!

The value, location, and amenities were superb. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast in the morning offered more than enough options to satisfy all eaters but tied me over until late afternoon. The staff was friendly and personable and remembered what I liked from one day to the next. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thurston's Nana
Business
Litchfield, New Hampshire
Oct 19, 2010

Very comfortable

The hotel was very comfortable and clean. [...] the front desk night greeter was very friendly and made sure I was aware of the services the hotel offered. The only isssue I had was there were 2 small children above me and they were running around @10pm & as early as 6:30am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

I was there visiting my new grandson and the hotel was 6 miles from my son's house and close to the airport.

Back to menu Return to top