$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2015 Check-out: Sep 11, 2015

Bay Club Hotel & Marina

3 stars
View map of 2131 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
171 reviews
fun trip

We traveled with 2 other couples we all really liked the hotel the staff and the location. The food... See full review

  • Thomas S.
  • Jun 13, 2015
Exceptional hotel in a good location

Great location, good rooms (request marina view), surprisingly good restaurant in the hotel. Would... See full review

  • Skokieboy
  • May 14, 2015

Bay Club Hotel & Marina in San Diego sits on Shelter Island - San Diego's Hawaiian Isle. Rooms offer spectacular views of the marina, the San Diego Bay and the city beyond. Guests find a staff that is attentive to details and expert in creating a comfortable atmosphere. Located in a low traffic area, visitors to the Bay Club Hotel & Marina find the marina a pleasure to walk. All of this and more is located 10 minutes from the airport.

Rooms

All rooms offer spectacular views and outstanding comfort. A separate bathroom with vanity area is equipped with a hair-dryer, and an iron and board to leave guests looking their best. Comforts abound, with 42-inch plasma television as standard along with a refrigerator, coffee machine and complimentary coffee. Guests staying for business enjoy a peaceful in-room workspace. Return to a bay view room and a panorama of the shimmering skyline, or a marina view room facing west and watch the beautiful oceanic sunsets. Lounge by the pool, work out in the fully equipped gym or rest tired muscles in the Jacuzzi. Get discounts on certain attractions from the hotel reception. The Bay Club Hotel & Marina is a 100 percent no-smoking facility and kids under 12 stay free. Enjoy complimentary airport transportation at the end of the visit. Those who arrive by boat enjoy the "Dine'n'Dock" Special with rooms at the Bay Club Hotel & Marina while docking their vessel in a world-class marina.

Highlights
  • The views alone are worth the price
  • Close proximity to the best attractions in San Diego
  • Heated pool, hot tub and fitness center
Nearby attractions
  • San Diego Harbor Island Drive (3.6 mi/5.7 km)
  • Balboa Park (4.7 mi/7.5 km)
  • Mission Bay Park (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
  • Gaslamp Quarter (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • SeaWorld Aquarium (13 mi/20.9 km)
  • Legoland California (33.6 mi/54 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bay Club Hotel & Marina also booked these hotels.

★★★
$104
4.0 / 5 454 reviews
★★★
$128
4.1 / 5 446 reviews
★★★★
$149
4.1 / 5 425 reviews
★★★★
$99
3.8 / 5 460 reviews
★★★
$111
3.6 / 5 163 reviews
★★★
$119
3.6 / 5 260 reviews
★★★
$89
3.1 / 5 362 reviews
★★★
$103
3.3 / 5 302 reviews

Bay Club Hotel & Marina Rooms

Marina View Room
Enjoy relaxing picturesque views of our private marina along with several other sailboat-filled marinas and the sunset over Point Loma. These rooms are located on our first or second floor and offer one king bed or two queen beds, 42 inch plasma TV, separate bath and vanity area, mini refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, hair dryer, iron and board, work desk, in room safe, voicemail and wireless internet access
Partial View Room
Furnished with one king bed or two queen beds (bed type cannot be guaranteed and will be assigned upon check-in), a patio or balcony with partial/limited views of the bay from the first floor, 42" plasma TV, separate bath and vanity area, mini refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, hair dryer, iron and board, work desk, in room safe, voicemail and complimentary wireless internet access. Rooms are approximately 385 square feet.
Bay View Room
Enjoy relaxing picturesque views of San Diego Bay, North Island Naval Air Station and the shimmering skyline of downtown San Diego. These rooms are located on our 1st or 2nd floor and offer one king bed or two queen beds, 42 inch plasma TV, separate bath and vanity area, mini refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, hair dryer, iron and board, work desk, in room safe, voicemail and wireless internet access.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Accessible parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.2 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.2 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.5 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.7 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.1 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 5.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.7 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 8.9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.2 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.9 mi
  • Legoland: 29 mi
  • Viejas Arena: 2,121.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
From 10 to 100, meetings are banquets are never lost in the shuffle at The Bay Club Hotel. With our boutique style, it's a breeze making your group our priority. All three of our meeting and banquet rooms have tasteful decor, incredible views and are conveniently located just off the lobby.

Dining

The Quarterdeck
The Quarterdeck restaurant and lounge offers one of San Diego's best marina views along with an intimate friendly setting. Relax and indulge yourself with one of our delicious menu selections. Choose from fresh seafood specials, steaks, pastas, specialty salads, sandwiches and seafood combinations. Happy Hour is a must Monday through Friday from 4PM to 7PM. We also serve lunch and dinner and provide room service. Hours 7AM to 10PM. (Room service until 9:45PM)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
171 out of 171
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mrs. Davis
Couples
New Jersey
Aug 9, 2012

Huge roach in the room

Upon our arrival we were welcomed by the biggest roach I've ever seen. The good news is that it was dead but that didn't give me the comfort I was looking forward to after 10 hours of traveling. The only upside was the free breakfast was decent and the staff was very willing to move us and was very apologetic. However, I will not be returning...the room also needs some updating and TLC. Do not recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bob frequent traveler
Couples
Seattle, WA
Nov 19, 2013

mold, mold and mildew

1960 decor with mold and mildew from the last decade. Nice view but that's the only plus. Bed was worn out and pillows were like slabs. I wouldn't risk my health by staying at the Bay Club

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PianoExec
Business
Kansas City, MO
Oct 19, 2013

Simply OK

The hotel has a wonderful location and the friendliest of staff but the rooms are average at best. The hotel is in need of a complete remodel and upgrade. The close proximity to the salt water (wonderful beach right across the street and docks in the rear) has taken its toll on the building, especially the woodwork and bathrooms. The outdated furnishings do nothing to enhance the property. Overall, decent place to stay if you don't plan on being in the hotel much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

A local resident recommended the Fish Market Restaurant and it was wonderful. I had garlic prawn and pasta and my co-worker had a sample plate and everything was absolutely wonderful including the view from our table. Downstairs is cheaper and more family oriented than upstairs but if you want a romantic dinner, go up.

Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AJ Traveler
Couples
Plymouth
Apr 28, 2015

Overnighter

We stopped in San Diego for a night before and after our dream vacation to Hawaii to break up the trip. Honestly, this seemed like a very nice hotel in a lovely location. My review is less than stellar because of the room we were put in. It was the first room outside of the lobby (147) where a meet and greet party was going on until 11 pm. In my numerous business trips over the years, it was by far the noisiest rooms I have ever tried to sleep in. The noise from the room above (creaking floor, squeaky bed) was very annoying. I would only stay here again if I was assured a second floor room, at the back of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bobred
Couples
Langley, BC
Mar 4, 2014

Potential gem

Great location for walking and easy car access to most attractions in San Diego. Close to water, great views. Best complimentary breakfast we've ever had. The rooms have been redone but still feel a little dated. Some are larger than average though. Need better chairs. Great bed. About to redo the common areas which will be nice. Might check immediate hotel neighbours but would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tourist
Family
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 29, 2012

College Visit

We were visiting a local college. Huge flat screen t.v. in room was great. Breakfast buffet was outstanding. Property was pretty. Good location. Room service (supper) was just o.k.. Sink filled up with water when washing. Bathtub had dripping faucet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Fashion Valley Mall, an outdoor mall, was nearby and lovely.

Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Suz and dave
Couples
Denver, co
Sep 9, 2012

Nice an quiet

Super quiet room faced the marina. Lovely breakfast buffet in the morning. Staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Live music right next door.

Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gary01
Couples
illinois
Nov 10, 2012

Bay Club Marina review

Positives - hotel is very clean in a quiet area with great views of the bay and the marina. The staff were all very polite and helpful. neutral - hotel is very old and the rooms could use some updating. the room was not bad, but bathroom tiles were "70's vintage. room smelled a little musty when air was not on but was not noticeable when ac was running. hotel is also in a very old part of town. negative - the only negative comment would be with the free breakfast buffet. the food was decent however, it was the same every day. we were there for 7 days and it was always the same, with the exception that the scrambled eggs had different additions each day

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Southen MD
Couples
Washington, DC
Feb 10, 2013

Affordable & Convenient

Our 3rd time staying at this hotel. It is convenient to both the airport and city with fantastic views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots to do in the Gaslamp District -both eating and entertainment.

Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maria first timer
Friends
Long Beach, Ca
Mar 2, 2013

Quiet place for rest

Decent place for its price. The bathroom door was not in perfect condition -- difficult o open and close .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Decent free breakfast.

Back to menu Return to top