$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 23, 2014

Bay Club Hotel & Marina

3 stars
2131 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
139 reviews
Excellent Location, Beautiful Harbor, Great Amenities

My family and I had a great stay at this Hotel. It's located in great area with great views of the... See full review

  • TexasChris
  • Aug 31, 2014
Thought to be a Fantastic Family Getaway

Hotel was clean, but dated, food and bar area was excellent, no problem with the hotel, but was... See full review

  • Ind Jim
  • Jun 4, 2014
In the shade of a spectacular San Diego view

Bay Club Hotel & Marina in San Diego sits on Shelter Island – San Diego's Hawaiian Isle. Rooms offer spectacular views of the marina, the San Diego Bay and the city beyond. Guests find a staff that is attentive to details and expert in creating a comfortable atmosphere. Located in a low traffic area, visitors to the Bay Club Hotel & Marina find the marina a pleasure to walk. A short walk to Coronado Island leads families to a park for children. All of this and more is located 10 minutes from the airport.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • The views alone are worth the price
  • Close proximity to the best attractions in San Diego
  • Complimentary breakfast with unique cuisine
Bay Club Hotel & Marina Rooms

All rooms offer spectacular views and outstanding comfort. A separate bathroom with vanity area is equipped with a hair-dryer, and an iron and board to leave guests looking their best. Comforts abound, with 42-inch plasma television as standard along with a refrigerator, coffee machine and complimentary coffee. Guests staying for business enjoy a peaceful in-room workspace. Wake up in a spacious room and enjoy a complimentary breakfast buffet before heading into one of the most vibrant cities in California. Return to a bay view room and a panorama of the shimmering skyline, or a marina view room facing west and watch the beautiful oceanic sunsets. Lounge by the pool, work out in the fully equipped gym or rest tired muscles in the Jacuzzi. Get discounts on certain attractions from the hotel reception. The Bay Club Hotel & Marina is a 100 percent no-smoking facility and kids under 12 stay free. Enjoy complimentary airport transportation at the end of the visit. Those who arrive by boat enjoy the "Dine'n'Dock" Special with rooms at the Bay Club Hotel & Marina while docking their vessel in a world-class marina.

Things To Do:
  • San Diego Harbor Island Drive (3.6 mi/5.7 km)
  • Balboa Park (4.7 mi/7.5 km)
  • Mission Bay Park (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
  • Gaslamp Quarter (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • SeaWorld Aquarium (13 mi/20.9 km)
  • Legoland California (33.6 mi/54 km)

Hotel Map

32.7157 -117.2247
Area served
Located on scenic Shelter Island in Point Loma on the west side of San Diego Bay just three miles from the airport.
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport/Lindbergh Field (SAN): Approximate driving time is 10 minutes and distance is three miles.
Area description
Cruise-ship terminal - 5 miles, SeaWorld - 5 miles, San Diego Zoo - 5 miles, Gaslamp Quarter - 6 miles, San Diego Convention Center - 6 miles, Downtown San Diego - 7 miles, Petco Park - 7 miles, Mission Bay Park - 7 miles, La Jolla - 10 miles, Tijuana, Baja Mexico - 15 miles, Legoland (theme park) - 25 miles, Wild Animal Park -25 miles.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bay Club Hotel & Marina also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Bay Club Hotel & Marina Rooms

Marina View Room
Enjoy relaxing picturesque views of our private marina along with several other sailboat-filled marinas and the sunset over Point Loma. These rooms are located on our first or second floor and offer one king bed or two queen beds, 42 inch plasma TV, separate bath and vanity area, mini refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, hair dryer, iron and board, work desk, in room safe, voicemail and wireless internet access
Partial View Room
Furnished with one king bed or two queen beds (bed type cannot be guaranteed and will be assigned upon check-in), a patio or balcony with partial/limited views of the bay from the first floor, 42" plasma TV, separate bath and vanity area, mini refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, hair dryer, iron and board, work desk, in room safe, voicemail and complimentary wireless internet access. Rooms are approximately 385 square feet. All rooms include full buffet breakfast.
Bay View Room
Enjoy relaxing picturesque views of San Diego Bay, North Island Naval Air Station and the shimmering skyline of downtown San Diego. These rooms are located on our 1st or 2nd floor and offer one king bed or two queen beds, 42 inch plasma TV, separate bath and vanity area, mini refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, hair dryer, iron and board, work desk, in room safe, voicemail and wireless internet access.

Amenities

  • Free full breakfast
  • Free internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Free full breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.2 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Sea World: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 3.8 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.1 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.2 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Sea World: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 3.8 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.5 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.7 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.1 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 5.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.7 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 8.9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.2 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.9 mi
  • Legoland: 29 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121.7 mi

Dining

Bay Club Bar & Grill
Our Bay Club Bar & Grill offers one of San Diego's best marina views along with an intimate friendly setting. Relax and indulge yourself with one of our delicious menu selections. Choose from fresh seafood specials, steaks, pastas, specialty salads, sandwiches and seafood combinations. Happy Hour is a must Monday through Friday from 4PM to 7PM. Complimentary full hot breakfast is included each morning. We also serve lunch and dinner and provide room service. Hours 7AM to 10PM. (Room service until 9:45PM)

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
From 10 to 100, meetings are banquets are never lost in the shuffle at The Bay Club Hotel. With our boutique style, it's a breeze making your group our priority. All three of our meeting and banquet rooms have tasteful decor, incredible views and are conveniently located just off the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (139)

Ratings and reviews for Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
139 out of 139
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maeso
Fresno, California
Feb 21, 2013

Clean hotel! Friendly staff!

We had a fantastic stay! The hotel and grounds are very clean. The staff were very resourceful. The complimentary breakfast was delicious with a beautiful view of the marina every morning. Thank you Bay Club Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Aug 14, 2007

great place for the money!

the hotel is a little dated but it was a great place to stay. it is located just a few minutes from the airport and 15 min from downtown/zoo, and 25 minutes from la jolla. its a great deal with the free breakfast buffet each morning and 5 dollar parking a night. i would definately recommend this place and if i were to go back to san diego i would stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
bloomfield
May 25, 2008

convenient location

This hotel is very close to the airport, but not at all noisy. Sea World and the Zoo were easy drives. Room was spacious, but the mattress was rather flimsy. The included breakfast is a huge plus, but otherwise I'd avoid the restaurant - pricey and just not very good. Good value for money, and the staff was very helpful, especially with directions. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Front desk has printed directions to anywhere you could possibly want to go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cookiefel
las vegas, nevada
Jun 17, 2013

Room was spacious, nice view-very very nice

We enjoyed our stay. We got up very late walked out asked for our room to be picked up and when we returned the room was perfectly picked up. The breakfasts were full breakfasts and not continental. Nice Nice experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sea food at the Brigantine

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, OH
May 1, 2008

My review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

We were in San Diego for a large conference but weren't interested in staying in one of the mega-convention hotels downtown. We have stayed on Coronado in previous trips and decided to stay in a different location so we looked at Shelter Island. Our stay at the Bay Club Hotel was outstanding in every way. Great room, excellent breakfast buffet,a scenic location and a super value. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many travelers select a room on the marina side but we stayed on the bay side. It was quiet even though our room was close to the street and we loved watching the ship traffic go by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Troy J.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Jun 29, 2011

Perfect!

This was perfect. We were greeted by friendly and accommodating staff at the front desk. The marina view room was exactly as pictured, which was surprising. Saved a bunch of money eating at the hotel's free breakfast. We ate there four mornings in a row, and each time the food and serice was excellent. We stayed four nights, using the pool, hot tub, laundry serice, and room service--and couldn't find one thing wrong. Love this place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TexasChris
Texas
Aug 31, 2014

Excellent Location, Beautiful Harbor, Great Amenities

My family and I had a great stay at this Hotel. It's located in great area with great views of the San Diego skyline. Hotel was very clean and looked great inside-out. The staff was very nice and helpful. The free breakfast was awesome, they had a great selection of eggs, meats, cereals, pastries, breads, coffee, etc. Across the street is a nice little beach where you can BBQ and have get-togethers around the several firepits. A little walk down the street is a fishing pier. For me it was a little more than what I wanted to pay for hotel rooms but considering the location and season I guess I can't complain. I was going to stay at the Sheraton but you have to pay for EVERYTHING over there which can add up. Aside from the parking fee at this hotel, all the other things were free to include breakfast and WiFi which was the deal breaker for me. My only complaint was the public dining table that was located directly outside the balcony of the two rooms I was given on the first floor. I guess those were the only two rooms in the entire hotel that had that problem. If the curtains were open I could see them and they could see me (if there were people sitting at that table) which at times there were... and that was kinda awkward, for both parties. They were literally an arms distance from my balcony rail. Weird. And for this I gave four stars for "room comfort". If there wasn't a public dining table there I would have given five. All together, it was a great stay and yes I would recommend and also stay again in the future. Heads up, this hotel offers an AARP member discount but since I prepaid they said it was too late to apply the discount. Don't know how to apply via travel sites like I did but if you're considering making a reservation I would contact them directly if you're an AARP member.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr and Mrs. Frank Travele
Anaheim
Feb 3, 2013

FABULOUS

Everything was great here especially all the staff. They let us check in early and helped us a lot with touring information. A beautiful location and everthing was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Had a wonderful meal at the Brigantine which was also on Shelter Island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Apr 13, 2007

Beautigul locatio, great value!

The Bay Club Hotel and Marina is a great place to stay when visiting San Diego. It really is just minutes from everything you'd like to do. The best part is the hotel looks out to water on each side so you basically get an ocean view from wherever you are. The breakfast that is included is not that basic bagels and fruit, it's an actual hot breakfast with eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes and french toast. All that along with bagels, cereal, fruit, etc. We will definitely book this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure you take the time to drive out to the old Point Loma Lighthouse. Very cool and you have an amazing view of the bay!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grammer
SanDiego,Ca
Nov 27, 2010

All Good

Everything Was Great . Clean,Good service, And Great Personell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

All Was Good

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search