$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

Bay Club Hotel & Marina

3 stars
2131 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
176 reviews
Thought to be a Fantastic Family Getaway

Hotel was clean, but dated, food and bar area was excellent, no problem with the hotel, but was... See full review

  • Ind Jim
  • Jun 4, 2014
Professional Traveler

The room was great but a little dated and the breakfast was great. Would go back again, but try to... See full review

  • Ind Jim
  • Jun 4, 2014
In the shade of a spectacular San Diego view

Bay Club Hotel & Marina in San Diego sits on Shelter Island – San Diego's Hawaiian Isle. Rooms offer spectacular views of the marina, the San Diego Bay and the city beyond. Guests find a staff that is attentive to details and expert in creating a comfortable atmosphere. Located in a low traffic area, visitors to the Bay Club Hotel & Marina find the marina a pleasure to walk. A short walk to Coronado Island leads families to a park for children. All of this and more is located 10 minutes from the airport.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • The views alone are worth the price
  • Close proximity to the best attractions in San Diego
  • Complimentary breakfast with unique cuisine
Bay Club Hotel & Marina Rooms

All rooms offer spectacular views and outstanding comfort. A separate bathroom with vanity area is equipped with a hair-dryer, and an iron and board to leave guests looking their best. Comforts abound, with 42-inch plasma television as standard along with a refrigerator, coffee machine and complimentary coffee. Guests staying for business enjoy a peaceful in-room workspace. Wake up in a spacious room and enjoy a complimentary breakfast buffet before heading into one of the most vibrant cities in California. Return to a bay view room and a panorama of the shimmering skyline, or a marina view room facing west and watch the beautiful oceanic sunsets. Lounge by the pool, work out in the fully equipped gym or rest tired muscles in the Jacuzzi. Get discounts on certain attractions from the hotel reception. The Bay Club Hotel & Marina is a 100 percent no-smoking facility and kids under 12 stay free. Enjoy complimentary airport transportation at the end of the visit. Those who arrive by boat enjoy the "Dine'n'Dock" Special with rooms at the Bay Club Hotel & Marina while docking their vessel in a world-class marina.

Things To Do:
  • San Diego Harbor Island Drive (3.6 mi/5.7 km)
  • Balboa Park (4.7 mi/7.5 km)
  • Mission Bay Park (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
  • Gaslamp Quarter (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • SeaWorld Aquarium (13 mi/20.9 km)
  • Legoland California (33.6 mi/54 km)

Bay Club Hotel & Marina Rooms

Marina View Room
Enjoy relaxing picturesque views of our private marina along with several other sailboat-filled marinas and the sunset over Point Loma. These rooms are located on our first or second floor and offer one king bed or two queen beds, 42 inch plasma TV, separate bath and vanity area, mini refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, hair dryer, iron and board, work desk, in room safe, voicemail and wireless internet access
Partial View Room
Furnished with one king bed or two queen beds (bed type cannot be guaranteed and will be assigned upon check-in), a patio or balcony with partial/limited views of the bay from the first floor, 42" plasma TV, separate bath and vanity area, mini refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, hair dryer, iron and board, work desk, in room safe, voicemail and complimentary wireless internet access. Rooms are approximately 385 square feet. All rooms include full buffet breakfast.
Bay View Room
Enjoy relaxing picturesque views of San Diego Bay, North Island Naval Air Station and the shimmering skyline of downtown San Diego. These rooms are located on our 1st or 2nd floor and offer one king bed or two queen beds, 42 inch plasma TV, separate bath and vanity area, mini refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, hair dryer, iron and board, work desk, in room safe, voicemail and wireless internet access.

Amenities

  • Free full breakfast
  • Free internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Free full breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bay Club Hotel & Marina also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7157 -117.2247
Area served
Located on scenic Shelter Island in Point Loma on the west side of San Diego Bay just three miles from the airport.
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport/Lindbergh Field (SAN): Approximate driving time is 10 minutes and distance is three miles.
Area description
Cruise-ship terminal - 5 miles, SeaWorld - 5 miles, San Diego Zoo - 5 miles, Gaslamp Quarter - 6 miles, San Diego Convention Center - 6 miles, Downtown San Diego - 7 miles, Petco Park - 7 miles, Mission Bay Park - 7 miles, La Jolla - 10 miles, Tijuana, Baja Mexico - 15 miles, Legoland (theme park) - 25 miles, Wild Animal Park -25 miles.

Nearby points of interest

  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.2 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Sea World: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 3.8 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.1 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.2 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Sea World: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 3.8 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.5 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.7 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.1 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 5.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.7 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 8.9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.2 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.9 mi
  • Legoland: 29 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121.7 mi

Dining

Bay Club Bar & Grill
Our Bay Club Bar & Grill offers one of San Diego's best marina views along with an intimate friendly setting. Relax and indulge yourself with one of our delicious menu selections. Choose from fresh seafood specials, steaks, pastas, specialty salads, sandwiches and seafood combinations. Happy Hour is a must Monday through Friday from 4PM to 7PM. Complimentary full hot breakfast is included each morning. We also serve lunch and dinner and provide room service. Hours 7AM to 10PM. (Room service until 9:45PM)

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
From 10 to 100, meetings are banquets are never lost in the shuffle at The Bay Club Hotel. With our boutique style, it's a breeze making your group our priority. All three of our meeting and banquet rooms have tasteful decor, incredible views and are conveniently located just off the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (176)

Ratings and reviews for Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 176
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.3

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HamsterHuey
New York
Nov 25, 2013

Travel

Very nice staff - very helpful and friendly. They would try to help you in every way possible, Only complaints - very slow wireless connection with a higher speed connection only available as a paid option. Also, minimal options for vegetarians in the free buffet breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maria aka julio
Honolulu HI
Apr 12, 2013

Quiet getaway

Very charming atmosphere , great surrounding area, lends itself to relaxing walks along bay. Hotel needs cosmetic makeover but rooms were clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
abd1
mass
Apr 12, 2013

okay

This hotel was small, but cute. It's a good place to stay if you're mainly sightseeing and in and out, it's not really resort style to hang out at. It's definitely a good place for the price and they do have a decent hot breakfast. parking is only 5$ a day too so that's not bad if you have a car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LeisureLady traveler
Chicago, IL
Oct 29, 2012

Great place, but expected a bit more for the $.

Great for location for a view & to walk by the bay water front. Easy access to get to airport (10 min) & SD's downtown (12-15 min). Above & underground parking at $5/day. Laundry room came in handy, since I was there for nearly 2 weeks. Pool is a joke, only 5 ft. deep & size of a postage stamp! Room location was on the quiet side of the hotel. The opposite side of this hotel abuts another hotel with a nightclub. Can be nice to hear free live music, if you like that sort of thing. Small refrig. in the room, but no microwave. The queen beds were firm,& clean. The bathroom was small, but clean (no mold), the fan didn't work in my BR. But the only real room discomfort was the hard, bamboo chair to sit on & watch a football game. For the money they should have at least one easy chair to sit in & watch TV or read. The included breakfast was a hot meal, but the same thing every morning. Too few servers, especially on the crowded weekends, took forever to get coffee refills. Front desk & housekeeping personnel gave me excellent service. As a single female traveler, I felt safe here. A prevous San Diego trip I stayed at "the next door neighbors" hotel to this one, & I'd return for a stay at either place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wonderful cocktails & appetizers on the balcony of the Brigantine restaurant.

Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Seen many places
Denver, CO
Mar 31, 2012

Perfect combination!

The value, location, and amenities were superb. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast in the morning offered more than enough options to satisfy all eaters but tied me over until late afternoon. The staff was friendly and personable and remembered what I liked from one day to the next. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thurston's Nana
Litchfield, New Hampshire
Oct 19, 2010

Very comfortable

The hotel was very comfortable and clean. [...] the front desk night greeter was very friendly and made sure I was aware of the services the hotel offered. The only isssue I had was there were 2 small children above me and they were running around @10pm & as early as 6:30am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

I was there visiting my new grandson and the hotel was 6 miles from my son's house and close to the airport.

Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thurston's Nana
Litchfield, New Hampshire
Oct 19, 2010

Very comfortable

The hotel was very comfortable and clean. [...] the front desk night greeter was very friendly and made sure I was aware of the services the hotel offered. The only isssue I had was there were 2 small children above me and they were running around @10pm & as early as 6:30am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

I was there visiting my new grandson and the hotel was 6 miles from my son's house and close to the airport.

Back to menu Return to top