$100 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

Bay Club Hotel & Marina

3 stars
2131 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
147 reviews
quiet with a lovely view

This is our second stay at this hotel. We like it because it is small, quiet, friendly and low-key.... See full review

  • bellabean
  • Oct 11, 2014
Excellent Location, Beautiful Harbor, Great Amenities

My family and I had a great stay at this Hotel. It's located in great area with great views of the... See full review

  • TexasChris
  • Aug 31, 2014
In the shade of a spectacular San Diego view

Bay Club Hotel & Marina in San Diego sits on Shelter Island – San Diego's Hawaiian Isle. Rooms offer spectacular views of the marina, the San Diego Bay and the city beyond. Guests find a staff that is attentive to details and expert in creating a comfortable atmosphere. Located in a low traffic area, visitors to the Bay Club Hotel & Marina find the marina a pleasure to walk. A short walk to Coronado Island leads families to a park for children. All of this and more is located 10 minutes from the airport.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • The views alone are worth the price
  • Close proximity to the best attractions in San Diego
  • Complimentary breakfast with unique cuisine
Bay Club Hotel & Marina Rooms

All rooms offer spectacular views and outstanding comfort. A separate bathroom with vanity area is equipped with a hair-dryer, and an iron and board to leave guests looking their best. Comforts abound, with 42-inch plasma television as standard along with a refrigerator, coffee machine and complimentary coffee. Guests staying for business enjoy a peaceful in-room workspace. Wake up in a spacious room and enjoy a complimentary breakfast buffet before heading into one of the most vibrant cities in California. Return to a bay view room and a panorama of the shimmering skyline, or a marina view room facing west and watch the beautiful oceanic sunsets. Lounge by the pool, work out in the fully equipped gym or rest tired muscles in the Jacuzzi. Get discounts on certain attractions from the hotel reception. The Bay Club Hotel & Marina is a 100 percent no-smoking facility and kids under 12 stay free. Enjoy complimentary airport transportation at the end of the visit. Those who arrive by boat enjoy the "Dine'n'Dock" Special with rooms at the Bay Club Hotel & Marina while docking their vessel in a world-class marina.

Things To Do:
  • San Diego Harbor Island Drive (3.6 mi/5.7 km)
  • Balboa Park (4.7 mi/7.5 km)
  • Mission Bay Park (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
  • Gaslamp Quarter (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • SeaWorld Aquarium (13 mi/20.9 km)
  • Legoland California (33.6 mi/54 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bay Club Hotel & Marina also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Bay Club Hotel & Marina Rooms

Marina View Room
Enjoy relaxing picturesque views of our private marina along with several other sailboat-filled marinas and the sunset over Point Loma. These rooms are located on our first or second floor and offer one king bed or two queen beds, 42 inch plasma TV, separate bath and vanity area, mini refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, hair dryer, iron and board, work desk, in room safe, voicemail and wireless internet access
Partial View Room
Furnished with one king bed or two queen beds (bed type cannot be guaranteed and will be assigned upon check-in), a patio or balcony with partial/limited views of the bay from the first floor, 42" plasma TV, separate bath and vanity area, mini refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, hair dryer, iron and board, work desk, in room safe, voicemail and complimentary wireless internet access. Rooms are approximately 385 square feet. All rooms include full buffet breakfast.
Bay View Room
Enjoy relaxing picturesque views of San Diego Bay, North Island Naval Air Station and the shimmering skyline of downtown San Diego. These rooms are located on our 1st or 2nd floor and offer one king bed or two queen beds, 42 inch plasma TV, separate bath and vanity area, mini refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, hair dryer, iron and board, work desk, in room safe, voicemail and wireless internet access.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.2 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.2 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.5 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.7 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.1 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 5.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.7 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 8.9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.2 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.9 mi
  • Legoland: 29 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121.7 mi

Dining

Bay Club Bar & Grill
Our Bay Club Bar & Grill offers one of San Diego's best marina views along with an intimate friendly setting. Relax and indulge yourself with one of our delicious menu selections. Choose from fresh seafood specials, steaks, pastas, specialty salads, sandwiches and seafood combinations. Happy Hour is a must Monday through Friday from 4PM to 7PM. Complimentary full hot breakfast is included each morning. We also serve lunch and dinner and provide room service. Hours 7AM to 10PM. (Room service until 9:45PM)

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
From 10 to 100, meetings are banquets are never lost in the shuffle at The Bay Club Hotel. With our boutique style, it's a breeze making your group our priority. All three of our meeting and banquet rooms have tasteful decor, incredible views and are conveniently located just off the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (147)

Ratings and reviews for Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 147
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
silvafx
Business
Marina del Rey, CA
Sep 28, 2014

Reuinon

Better than other hotels in the vicinity. Only negatives: 1) no ice cream for dessert 2) charging guests an additional $5 to park 3) being charged for the rooms at the time reservation was made (about 2 months before arrival)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maria first timer
Business
Long Beach, Ca
Mar 2, 2013

Quiet place for rest

Decent place for its price. The bathroom door was not in perfect condition -- difficult o open and close .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Decent free breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aindrian
Business
New York, NY, USA
Sep 3, 2012

nice place, great location, clean room

The staff was very helpful and nice. the marina view site was great. tidy, pretty big room. convenient parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Indigotiger89
Business
Buena park, Ca
Jul 20, 2012

Excellent comic con lodgings

This hotel was excellent, especially for when we made the reservation since it is almost impossible to get a room two months before comic con. The room was very clean and comfortable, and having a balcony was great. The neighboring hotel was putting on a concert, which we were able to listen to from outside. After a long day at comic con, we were super tired and sore. Lucky for us there was a restaurant in the hotel (which was pretty good and had nice, personal staff), and after dinner, we relaxed in the jacuzzi. The amenities made us feel at home. It was an excellent experience, and I will most likely be returning again next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Temecula, CA
Jul 11, 2009

Good location, pleasant staff

Great area near the beach for walking and just enjoying the beach activity. Great food, varied menu, a dinner waitress was incompetent. Rest of the staff very pleasant and accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Food very good and moderately priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Modesto, Ca
May 18, 2009

Great place to stay Thanks to the staff

We stayed one night before our cruise. The beds were very comfortable, the rooms were clean, flat screen LCD TV and the staff was very friendly. The hotel has a free hot breakfast buffet - scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes, fresh fruit etc. They do have a waiter serving you coffee an juice while you eat and he will leave a paper for you to add a tip to your room. We tipped him because he did give us good service, but you can get your own drinks and skip the tip. The hotel is located on a island (peninsula no bridge) There is a beach and a long grass park across the street. Behind the hotel is a marina. I would say that all rooms have a view. It is about 10 minutes by car to downtown San Diego where our cruise left from. We drove our car to San Deiago and was going to park at a outside parking lot for $15 a day while we were on our cruise but the hotel let us park there for $10 a night. We left our cars outside but I am sure that they have an underground parking grage. They shuttled us to the cruise terminal and picked us up when the cruise was over even though we were not staying another night. I was very pleased with my wife and I were very pleased with our stay and so was the othe couple that we were traveling with. We are cruising from here again in Oct and will be stay here for a few days again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a board walk of shops and restaurants on the bay near the Aircraft carrier downtown. About a 10 minute drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Itchie Feet
Business
Enumclaw, WA
Apr 22, 2009

Fantastic place to stay

Staying at this hotel was the BEST experience yet. Great location, warm and friendly staff. All were very willing and eager to help with every question. Very comfortable room with all the extras, small refrigerator, coffee pot, iron, ironing board, safe in room, blow dryer, large flat screen TV, great place to stay and would definitely stay there again. Also have a really good free buffet breakfast daily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top