$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 25, 2015

Bay Club Hotel & Marina

3 stars
View map of 2131 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
169 reviews
fun trip

We traveled with 2 other couples we all really liked the hotel the staff and the location. The food... See full review

  • Thomas S.
  • Jun 13, 2015
Exceptional hotel in a good location

Great location, good rooms (request marina view), surprisingly good restaurant in the hotel. Would... See full review

  • Skokieboy
  • May 14, 2015

Bay Club Hotel & Marina in San Diego sits on Shelter Island - San Diego's Hawaiian Isle. Rooms offer spectacular views of the marina, the San Diego Bay and the city beyond. Guests find a staff that is attentive to details and expert in creating a comfortable atmosphere. Located in a low traffic area, visitors to the Bay Club Hotel & Marina find the marina a pleasure to walk. All of this and more is located 10 minutes from the airport.

Rooms

All rooms offer spectacular views and outstanding comfort. A separate bathroom with vanity area is equipped with a hair-dryer, and an iron and board to leave guests looking their best. Comforts abound, with 42-inch plasma television as standard along with a refrigerator, coffee machine and complimentary coffee. Guests staying for business enjoy a peaceful in-room workspace. Return to a bay view room and a panorama of the shimmering skyline, or a marina view room facing west and watch the beautiful oceanic sunsets. Lounge by the pool, work out in the fully equipped gym or rest tired muscles in the Jacuzzi. Get discounts on certain attractions from the hotel reception. The Bay Club Hotel & Marina is a 100 percent no-smoking facility and kids under 12 stay free. Enjoy complimentary airport transportation at the end of the visit. Those who arrive by boat enjoy the "Dine'n'Dock" Special with rooms at the Bay Club Hotel & Marina while docking their vessel in a world-class marina.

Highlights
  • The views alone are worth the price
  • Close proximity to the best attractions in San Diego
  • Heated pool, hot tub and fitness center
Nearby attractions
  • San Diego Harbor Island Drive (3.6 mi/5.7 km)
  • Balboa Park (4.7 mi/7.5 km)
  • Mission Bay Park (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
  • Gaslamp Quarter (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • SeaWorld Aquarium (13 mi/20.9 km)
  • Legoland California (33.6 mi/54 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bay Club Hotel & Marina also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Bay Club Hotel & Marina Rooms

Marina View Room
Enjoy relaxing picturesque views of our private marina along with several other sailboat-filled marinas and the sunset over Point Loma. These rooms are located on our first or second floor and offer one king bed or two queen beds, 42 inch plasma TV, separate bath and vanity area, mini refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, hair dryer, iron and board, work desk, in room safe, voicemail and wireless internet access
Partial View Room
Furnished with one king bed or two queen beds (bed type cannot be guaranteed and will be assigned upon check-in), a patio or balcony with partial/limited views of the bay from the first floor, 42" plasma TV, separate bath and vanity area, mini refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, hair dryer, iron and board, work desk, in room safe, voicemail and complimentary wireless internet access. Rooms are approximately 385 square feet.
Bay View Room
Enjoy relaxing picturesque views of San Diego Bay, North Island Naval Air Station and the shimmering skyline of downtown San Diego. These rooms are located on our 1st or 2nd floor and offer one king bed or two queen beds, 42 inch plasma TV, separate bath and vanity area, mini refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, hair dryer, iron and board, work desk, in room safe, voicemail and wireless internet access.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Accessible parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.2 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.2 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.5 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.7 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.1 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 5.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.7 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 8.9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.2 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.9 mi
  • Legoland: 29 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121.7 mi

Dining

The Quarterdeck
The Quarterdeck restaurant and lounge offers one of San Diego's best marina views along with an intimate friendly setting. Relax and indulge yourself with one of our delicious menu selections. Choose from fresh seafood specials, steaks, pastas, specialty salads, sandwiches and seafood combinations. Happy Hour is a must Monday through Friday from 4PM to 7PM. We also serve lunch and dinner and provide room service. Hours 7AM to 10PM. (Room service until 9:45PM)

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
From 10 to 100, meetings are banquets are never lost in the shuffle at The Bay Club Hotel. With our boutique style, it's a breeze making your group our priority. All three of our meeting and banquet rooms have tasteful decor, incredible views and are conveniently located just off the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
169 out of 169
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alaska Adventurer
Business
Clinton Township, MI
Jan 20, 2014

Marina getaway

My husband and I loved this hotel! The hot breakfast included in the price started our day off right. The room was very clean and spacious--new carpet. Staff was friendly--even heated up some leftovers for us to eat for lunch on our patio. We enjoyed the area and it was close to everything we wanted to visit. Watching the jets, helicopters, and boats go by was a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Seems like all taken
Business
South dakota
Jan 29, 2014

Great place to stay

Very nice staff, great location, clean, and helpful staff. Reasonable price for parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Adam Nicole
Business
Des Moines, Iowa
Apr 7, 2014

Great Smaller Hotel w/Superb Staff

Our only complaint the whole time there was the noise of the people that were above us. The problem was quickly rectified by the excellent hotel staff and we were given a 2nd Floor Corner room. The amenities were relatively the same, but the quietness and the new view was outstanding. There was nothing wrong with our first rooms view and/or amenities, just the noisy people above us. You have water all around, so I can't really imagine a bad room in the place. Comes with complementary delicious breakfast. I was actually quite surprised with how good and fresh and something a little new each day for choices of breakfast items. The location was within minutes of the freeway or the airport and anywhere you wanted to get by the shore. The staff took care of us as if we were one of there own, absolutely wonderful. I would recommend Bay Club Hotel and Marina to anyone. Very suitable to families with smaller children and older couples, as it is a nice quiet and quaint place. Or a young couple looking for a quick, quiet and cozy vaca.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Seaport Village. Get your parking validated.

Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ron Burgundy
Business
Wisconsin
Apr 8, 2012

Great Destination for Family Spring Break

This was a great place to stay for our first trip to San Diego. From our hotel, it took no longer than 15 mintues to get to our 3 main destinations: Sea World, San Diego Zoo, and the USS Midway Museum. The hotel is located on a peninsula so you get a great view no matter which room you get and there is very litte traffic. They have a very good breakfast buffet which is free except for any tips you want to leave for the wait staff. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. We ate once at the on-site restaurant and it was very good (prices a bit high for supper menu but reasonable for lunch). On the negative side: parking spots are incredibly small (but this seems to be the norm in San Diego), you can hear jets and helicopters almost constantly (but this also seems to be the norm wherever we went in San Diego), and there was a severe shortage of hot water around 8am every day we were there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Corvette's Diner is a nearby 50's style restaurant that is very kid friendly..think Chuck E Cheese meets Happy Days. The roving magician was a blast and he had my youngest son laughing which is a very hard to do.

Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr and Mrs. Frank Travele
Business
Anaheim
Feb 3, 2013

FABULOUS

Everything was great here especially all the staff. They let us check in early and helped us a lot with touring information. A beautiful location and everthing was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Had a wonderful meal at the Brigantine which was also on Shelter Island.

Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
still workin
Business
Great Lakes State
Feb 19, 2013

Wanna go back

We booked this room for the last night of our vacation because it was closer to the airport and had a shuttle for our early morning flight. Sadly, most of our last day was spent in an Urgent Care facility and we were exhausted by the time we arrived. No worries. The charmingly unflappable desk staff checked us in, printed out our boarding passes and reassured us all would be better once we got in our comfortable room. She was right! We had a delightful dinner in their restaurant. Great views of the marina, several tempting menu choices, attentive service and good value. Made us wonder what we'd be missing on the morning's complimentary breakfast. I gave 4 stars for amenities because the breakfast started at 6:30 and the shuttle's first run was 6:00. We missed them both, but still had a great stay. Really appreciated the complimentary parking. I want to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Several options within a short walk.

Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maeso
Business
Fresno, California
Feb 21, 2013

Clean hotel! Friendly staff!

We had a fantastic stay! The hotel and grounds are very clean. The staff were very resourceful. The complimentary breakfast was delicious with a beautiful view of the marina every morning. Thank you Bay Club Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bellabean
Business
Portland, Oregon
Feb 23, 2013

lovely and relaxing

The Bay Club Hotel is small and charming. The staff is ever so friendly and attentive. We slept well due to a comfy bed and hardly any noise. We loved being able to bring coffee to the room while getting ready for the free breakfast buffet. We also enjoyed the happy hour specials and the view of the boats from the restaurant. We highly recommend this hotel, especially to those who prefer low-key over high-rise locales.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lua J
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 4, 2013

Nice 1 night stay

Stayed for 1 night with my family. The room was very nice and comfortable with a view to the marina. Staff was good, breakfast was really good. The pool and hot tub are also good. No complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cookiefel
Business
las vegas, nevada
Jun 17, 2013

Room was spacious, nice view-very very nice

We enjoyed our stay. We got up very late walked out asked for our room to be picked up and when we returned the room was perfectly picked up. The breakfasts were full breakfasts and not continental. Nice Nice experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sea food at the Brigantine

Back to menu Return to top