$170 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Bay Club Hotel & Marina

3 stars
2131 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
174 reviews
Thought to be a Fantastic Family Getaway

Hotel was clean, but dated, food and bar area was excellent, no problem with the hotel, but was... See full review

  • Ind Jim
  • Jun 4, 2014
Professional Traveler

The room was great but a little dated and the breakfast was great. Would go back again, but try to... See full review

  • Ind Jim
  • Jun 4, 2014
In the shade of a spectacular San Diego view

Bay Club Hotel & Marina in San Diego sits on Shelter Island – San Diego's Hawaiian Isle. Rooms offer spectacular views of the marina, the San Diego Bay and the city beyond. Guests find a staff that is attentive to details and expert in creating a comfortable atmosphere. Located in a low traffic area, visitors to the Bay Club Hotel & Marina find the marina a pleasure to walk. A short walk to Coronado Island leads families to a park for children. All of this and more is located 10 minutes from the airport.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • The views alone are worth the price
  • Close proximity to the best attractions in San Diego
  • Complimentary breakfast with unique cuisine
Bay Club Hotel & Marina Rooms

All rooms offer spectacular views and outstanding comfort. A separate bathroom with vanity area is equipped with a hair-dryer, and an iron and board to leave guests looking their best. Comforts abound, with 42-inch plasma television as standard along with a refrigerator, coffee machine and complimentary coffee. Guests staying for business enjoy a peaceful in-room workspace. Wake up in a spacious room and enjoy a complimentary breakfast buffet before heading into one of the most vibrant cities in California. Return to a bay view room and a panorama of the shimmering skyline, or a marina view room facing west and watch the beautiful oceanic sunsets. Lounge by the pool, work out in the fully equipped gym or rest tired muscles in the Jacuzzi. Get discounts on certain attractions from the hotel reception. The Bay Club Hotel & Marina is a 100 percent no-smoking facility and kids under 12 stay free. Enjoy complimentary airport transportation at the end of the visit. Those who arrive by boat enjoy the "Dine'n'Dock" Special with rooms at the Bay Club Hotel & Marina while docking their vessel in a world-class marina.

Things To Do:
  • San Diego Harbor Island Drive (3.6 mi/5.7 km)
  • Balboa Park (4.7 mi/7.5 km)
  • Mission Bay Park (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
  • Gaslamp Quarter (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • SeaWorld Aquarium (13 mi/20.9 km)
  • Legoland California (33.6 mi/54 km)

Bay Club Hotel & Marina Rooms

Marina View Room
Enjoy relaxing picturesque views of our private marina along with several other sailboat-filled marinas and the sunset over Point Loma. These rooms are located on our first or second floor and offer one king bed or two queen beds, 42 inch plasma TV, separate bath and vanity area, mini refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, hair dryer, iron and board, work desk, in room safe, voicemail and wireless internet access
Partial View Room
Furnished with one king bed or two queen beds (bed type cannot be guaranteed and will be assigned upon check-in), a patio or balcony with partial/limited views of the bay from the first floor, 42" plasma TV, separate bath and vanity area, mini refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, hair dryer, iron and board, work desk, in room safe, voicemail and complimentary wireless internet access. Rooms are approximately 385 square feet. All rooms include full buffet breakfast.
Bay View Room
Enjoy relaxing picturesque views of San Diego Bay, North Island Naval Air Station and the shimmering skyline of downtown San Diego. These rooms are located on our 1st or 2nd floor and offer one king bed or two queen beds, 42 inch plasma TV, separate bath and vanity area, mini refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, hair dryer, iron and board, work desk, in room safe, voicemail and wireless internet access.

Amenities

  • Free full breakfast
  • Free internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Free full breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bay Club Hotel & Marina also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7157 -117.2247
Area served
Located on scenic Shelter Island in Point Loma on the west side of San Diego Bay just three miles from the airport.
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport/Lindbergh Field (SAN): Approximate driving time is 10 minutes and distance is three miles.
Area description
Cruise-ship terminal - 5 miles, SeaWorld - 5 miles, San Diego Zoo - 5 miles, Gaslamp Quarter - 6 miles, San Diego Convention Center - 6 miles, Downtown San Diego - 7 miles, Petco Park - 7 miles, Mission Bay Park - 7 miles, La Jolla - 10 miles, Tijuana, Baja Mexico - 15 miles, Legoland (theme park) - 25 miles, Wild Animal Park -25 miles.

Nearby points of interest

  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.2 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Sea World: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 3.8 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.1 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.2 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Sea World: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 3.8 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.5 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.7 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.1 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 5.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.7 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 8.9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.2 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.9 mi
  • Legoland: 29 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
From 10 to 100, meetings are banquets are never lost in the shuffle at The Bay Club Hotel. With our boutique style, it's a breeze making your group our priority. All three of our meeting and banquet rooms have tasteful decor, incredible views and are conveniently located just off the lobby.

Dining

Bay Club Bar & Grill
Our Bay Club Bar & Grill offers one of San Diego's best marina views along with an intimate friendly setting. Relax and indulge yourself with one of our delicious menu selections. Choose from fresh seafood specials, steaks, pastas, specialty salads, sandwiches and seafood combinations. Happy Hour is a must Monday through Friday from 4PM to 7PM. Complimentary full hot breakfast is included each morning. We also serve lunch and dinner and provide room service. Hours 7AM to 10PM. (Room service until 9:45PM)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (174)

Ratings and reviews for Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
174 out of 174
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego
Sep 24, 2012

Great Week

All staff that we dealt with were very friendly, helpful, and cooperative. For example we arrived nearly three hours before checkin after a long day in planes and airports and we were tired and hungry, so we went to the hotel restraunt to eat and relax. It was shortly after we ordered that the desk clerk sought us out in the restraunt and handed us our room keys saying we looked tired so he arranged to have our room ready early. this helpful attitude prevailed throughout our seven day stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the USS Midway Museum.

Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Suz and dave
Denver, co
Sep 9, 2012

Nice an quiet

Super quiet room faced the marina. Lovely breakfast buffet in the morning. Staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Live music right next door.

Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Greg and Julie
Fairborn, ohio
Sep 4, 2012

Time to enjoy!

quiet, clean, relaxing, great view, great breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Torrey Pines Reserve, 20 minute drive, great views and great walking trails

Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aindrian
New York, NY, USA
Sep 3, 2012

nice place, great location, clean room

The staff was very helpful and nice. the marina view site was great. tidy, pretty big room. convenient parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lola218
San Diego California
Aug 13, 2012

Amazing

I am a New Yorker and this marina was very beautiful and helpful. They took very good care of us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mrs. Davis
New Jersey
Aug 9, 2012

Huge roach in the room

Upon our arrival we were welcomed by the biggest roach I've ever seen. The good news is that it was dead but that didn't give me the comfort I was looking forward to after 10 hours of traveling. The only upside was the free breakfast was decent and the staff was very willing to move us and was very apologetic. However, I will not be returning...the room also needs some updating and TLC. Do not recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Indigotiger89
Buena park, Ca
Jul 20, 2012

Excellent comic con lodgings

This hotel was excellent, especially for when we made the reservation since it is almost impossible to get a room two months before comic con. The room was very clean and comfortable, and having a balcony was great. The neighboring hotel was putting on a concert, which we were able to listen to from outside. After a long day at comic con, we were super tired and sore. Lucky for us there was a restaurant in the hotel (which was pretty good and had nice, personal staff), and after dinner, we relaxed in the jacuzzi. The amenities made us feel at home. It was an excellent experience, and I will most likely be returning again next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Comic con fan
LA, CA
Jul 16, 2012

good location

Had a great time. Staff was friendly and helpful. Nice breakfast buffet was included. Nice location. On the bus route for Comic Con so didn't have to fight the traffic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

loved Old Town for dinner. Fun to walk around after a great Mexican dinner.

Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OC Housewife
Orange County, CA
Jun 26, 2012

Two families-leisure vacation

Overall, very nice hotel and the area is beautiful for walking down along the beach and the beach area is nice for cook-outs. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The only complaint was I had booked 2 king bedrooms (there were 2 groups of us) and when we checked in, we were informed that one of our rooms had been reassigned and we had only 1 king room and the other was 2 queen beds. (The room with queen beds was for an anniversary celebration, and they would have preferred what had been booked). The rooms had been booked for over a month, so I was not too happy with this result. The breakfast brunch was delicious and the happy hour choices at night are excellent. I will definitely go back as I love Shelter Island and San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cobbfam
Boise, ID
May 29, 2012

Great Place to Stay

The Hotel was slightly dated but it did not matter, the staff, location, cleanliness, parking, and nice view all made up for it. We had a great stay and it was centrally located to everywhere we needed to go. The only complaint was that the breakfast buffet did not have much variety from day to day so after three days it got a bit old. The rooms were very spacious and had a great layout for our two small children. It fit us perfect and after looking at the other hotels on Shelter Island were very pleased to have picked this one and will definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Must eat at Miguel's Cacina. It was absolutely terrrrrifffic!! Can't wait to come back and eat there.

Back to menu Return to top