$91 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Bay Club Hotel & Marina

3 stars
2131 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
147 reviews
quiet with a lovely view

This is our second stay at this hotel. We like it because it is small, quiet, friendly and low-key.... See full review

  • bellabean
  • Oct 11, 2014
Excellent Location, Beautiful Harbor, Great Amenities

My family and I had a great stay at this Hotel. It's located in great area with great views of the... See full review

  • TexasChris
  • Aug 31, 2014
In the shade of a spectacular San Diego view

Bay Club Hotel & Marina in San Diego sits on Shelter Island – San Diego's Hawaiian Isle. Rooms offer spectacular views of the marina, the San Diego Bay and the city beyond. Guests find a staff that is attentive to details and expert in creating a comfortable atmosphere. Located in a low traffic area, visitors to the Bay Club Hotel & Marina find the marina a pleasure to walk. A short walk to Coronado Island leads families to a park for children. All of this and more is located 10 minutes from the airport.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • The views alone are worth the price
  • Close proximity to the best attractions in San Diego
  • Complimentary breakfast with unique cuisine
Bay Club Hotel & Marina Rooms

All rooms offer spectacular views and outstanding comfort. A separate bathroom with vanity area is equipped with a hair-dryer, and an iron and board to leave guests looking their best. Comforts abound, with 42-inch plasma television as standard along with a refrigerator, coffee machine and complimentary coffee. Guests staying for business enjoy a peaceful in-room workspace. Wake up in a spacious room and enjoy a complimentary breakfast buffet before heading into one of the most vibrant cities in California. Return to a bay view room and a panorama of the shimmering skyline, or a marina view room facing west and watch the beautiful oceanic sunsets. Lounge by the pool, work out in the fully equipped gym or rest tired muscles in the Jacuzzi. Get discounts on certain attractions from the hotel reception. The Bay Club Hotel & Marina is a 100 percent no-smoking facility and kids under 12 stay free. Enjoy complimentary airport transportation at the end of the visit. Those who arrive by boat enjoy the "Dine'n'Dock" Special with rooms at the Bay Club Hotel & Marina while docking their vessel in a world-class marina.

Things To Do:
  • San Diego Harbor Island Drive (3.6 mi/5.7 km)
  • Balboa Park (4.7 mi/7.5 km)
  • Mission Bay Park (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
  • Gaslamp Quarter (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • SeaWorld Aquarium (13 mi/20.9 km)
  • Legoland California (33.6 mi/54 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bay Club Hotel & Marina also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Bay Club Hotel & Marina Rooms

Marina View Room
Enjoy relaxing picturesque views of our private marina along with several other sailboat-filled marinas and the sunset over Point Loma. These rooms are located on our first or second floor and offer one king bed or two queen beds, 42 inch plasma TV, separate bath and vanity area, mini refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, hair dryer, iron and board, work desk, in room safe, voicemail and wireless internet access
Partial View Room
Furnished with one king bed or two queen beds (bed type cannot be guaranteed and will be assigned upon check-in), a patio or balcony with partial/limited views of the bay from the first floor, 42" plasma TV, separate bath and vanity area, mini refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, hair dryer, iron and board, work desk, in room safe, voicemail and complimentary wireless internet access. Rooms are approximately 385 square feet. All rooms include full buffet breakfast.
Bay View Room
Enjoy relaxing picturesque views of San Diego Bay, North Island Naval Air Station and the shimmering skyline of downtown San Diego. These rooms are located on our 1st or 2nd floor and offer one king bed or two queen beds, 42 inch plasma TV, separate bath and vanity area, mini refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, hair dryer, iron and board, work desk, in room safe, voicemail and wireless internet access.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.2 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.2 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.5 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.7 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.1 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 5.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.7 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 8.9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.2 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.9 mi
  • Legoland: 29 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
From 10 to 100, meetings are banquets are never lost in the shuffle at The Bay Club Hotel. With our boutique style, it's a breeze making your group our priority. All three of our meeting and banquet rooms have tasteful decor, incredible views and are conveniently located just off the lobby.

Dining

Bay Club Bar & Grill
Our Bay Club Bar & Grill offers one of San Diego's best marina views along with an intimate friendly setting. Relax and indulge yourself with one of our delicious menu selections. Choose from fresh seafood specials, steaks, pastas, specialty salads, sandwiches and seafood combinations. Happy Hour is a must Monday through Friday from 4PM to 7PM. Complimentary full hot breakfast is included each morning. We also serve lunch and dinner and provide room service. Hours 7AM to 10PM. (Room service until 9:45PM)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (147)

Ratings and reviews for Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
147 out of 147
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Papa Dan
Business
Twin Cities, MN
Feb 23, 2013

Great View, very nice room, good restaurant

We had a harbor view room in the "bubble" above the entrance. It was spacious and had a fabulous view of the harbor and the San Diego skyline. Parking was extra but reasonable at $5 per night. The restaurant was quite good and reasonable and there are several good restaurants within a mile or so. Our waitress was friendly and attentive. Point Loma is an easy drive as is the entire harbor front and all of the downtown attractions. Loved the USS Midway tour! We would definitely return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Little Italy is a 10 minute drive and has dozens of good Italian restaurants. Parking is a bit of a hassle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maeso
Business
Fresno, California
Feb 21, 2013

Clean hotel! Friendly staff!

We had a fantastic stay! The hotel and grounds are very clean. The staff were very resourceful. The complimentary breakfast was delicious with a beautiful view of the marina every morning. Thank you Bay Club Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
still workin
Business
Great Lakes State
Feb 19, 2013

Wanna go back

We booked this room for the last night of our vacation because it was closer to the airport and had a shuttle for our early morning flight. Sadly, most of our last day was spent in an Urgent Care facility and we were exhausted by the time we arrived. No worries. The charmingly unflappable desk staff checked us in, printed out our boarding passes and reassured us all would be better once we got in our comfortable room. She was right! We had a delightful dinner in their restaurant. Great views of the marina, several tempting menu choices, attentive service and good value. Made us wonder what we'd be missing on the morning's complimentary breakfast. I gave 4 stars for amenities because the breakfast started at 6:30 and the shuttle's first run was 6:00. We missed them both, but still had a great stay. Really appreciated the complimentary parking. I want to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Several options within a short walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike and Laura
Business
Pacific Beach
Feb 16, 2013

What a View!

We looked up and down the island and this is the best marina view there is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't go to Humphrey's next door for fine dining. They play different music in the dining room than in the lounge, but you can hear both at the same time and it just is annoying.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kim and Bill
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Feb 11, 2013

Very nice. Friendly staff. Nice atmosphere.

We enjoyed our short stay. The on-site restaurant was nice and had good food. The room was spacious and I loved the balcony.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to most of San Diego's main attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Southen MD
Business
Washington, DC
Feb 10, 2013

Affordable & Convenient

Our 3rd time staying at this hotel. It is convenient to both the airport and city with fantastic views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots to do in the Gaslamp District -both eating and entertainment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr and Mrs. Frank Travele
Business
Anaheim
Feb 3, 2013

FABULOUS

Everything was great here especially all the staff. They let us check in early and helped us a lot with touring information. A beautiful location and everthing was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Had a wonderful meal at the Brigantine which was also on Shelter Island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Slickmono
Business
San Diego
Jan 23, 2013

Convenient

Very nice hotel. Too bad the cook was sick for the morning breakfast causing it to open late but over all very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Patti Traveling Mom
Business
Roseville, Ca
Jan 17, 2013

Nice place on the harbor

Lovely views of downtown or the marina. Loved running in the morning along the harbor park. Comfortable room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Brigadier; great food, good prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler 15
Business
Morrison, Colorado
Dec 11, 2012

Vacation and Convention

We had a great veiw of San Diego Harbor which was just across the street! There was a great walkway along the harbor with picnic tables and places to sit and a small sandy beach if that what you like. Always large Navy and Cruise ships silently floating in and out of the bay which is fun to see! The breakfast buffet was delicious and always a friendly wait staff to help with coffee and drinks. There is a 5 dollar a day parking fee if you park in their lot. But there is public parking on the side of the street and across the street in the park. 5 dollars to park in San Diego is CHEAP! and they do have security watching the lot. Great location it took 15 minutes to get to the convention center , Embarkadero,Midway, and same to Cabrillo National Park in the opposite direction if you like Lighthouses and a wonderful veiw of San Diego and the harbor. The Sunset Cliffs are a must see just north of the park. We would definatly return to the Bay Club again. I \

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top