$132 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 10, 2015

Bay Club Hotel & Marina

3 stars
View map of 2131 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
171 out of 171
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ind Jim
Family
Russell Springs, Ky
Jun 4, 2014

Thought to be a Fantastic Family Getaway

Hotel was clean, but dated, food and bar area was excellent, no problem with the hotel, but was disappointed in the flight and more than anything the car rental. With the fight if you wanted any good seats or even a snack you had to pay for them, not a big issue but we set on the plane gong and coming in the back 2 to 3 rows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I ask and paid for what I thought was going to be a Nissan Altima or it's equivalent but was given a Ford Focus. I was also told that I had to purchase the deductible insurance by the salesman due to being in California, which I had never had to do before so I paid out another 137.00 for the insurance. He wanted another 203 for an upgrade, which I refused to pay, so I drove around with 5 adults in the car at times. I later found out that California does not require you to get the deductible I will not be booking anything again unless the issue with the car is settled.

Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RoundWorld
Business
Washington, DC
May 24, 2014

Good location but has seen better days

This is well located, but the amenities are average (the pool is tiny), the rooms are shabby and there are better deals in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RSHJR
Couples
Denver, CO
Apr 14, 2014

Layover Stay

Great stay, beautiful setting surrounded by boats and water. Wrapping up a remodel, should be even better when all is wrapped up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hillbillhywill
Business
virginia
Apr 11, 2014

Amazing views.

Needed to stay at Point Loma for a conference. The views of San Diego from this hotel are incredible. Staff were also very nice. Hotel was being remodeled, but overall a great value. Plus breakfast on the patio overlooking the marina was an added bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

La Jolla is a short drive and a lovely destination.

Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Adam Nicole
Couples
Des Moines, Iowa
Apr 7, 2014

Great Smaller Hotel w/Superb Staff

Our only complaint the whole time there was the noise of the people that were above us. The problem was quickly rectified by the excellent hotel staff and we were given a 2nd Floor Corner room. The amenities were relatively the same, but the quietness and the new view was outstanding. There was nothing wrong with our first rooms view and/or amenities, just the noisy people above us. You have water all around, so I can't really imagine a bad room in the place. Comes with complementary delicious breakfast. I was actually quite surprised with how good and fresh and something a little new each day for choices of breakfast items. The location was within minutes of the freeway or the airport and anywhere you wanted to get by the shore. The staff took care of us as if we were one of there own, absolutely wonderful. I would recommend Bay Club Hotel and Marina to anyone. Very suitable to families with smaller children and older couples, as it is a nice quiet and quaint place. Or a young couple looking for a quick, quiet and cozy vaca.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Seaport Village. Get your parking validated.

Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MrJonathan
Couples
Philadelphia
Mar 30, 2014

Spring Time at Bay Club

We thought this was a perfect location. I traveled here with my girlfriend as a chance to get away and see the West coast. This hotel was a perfect location. 15 minutes from most locations (city, beach, restaurants). We traveled up the coast (20 minutes) to beaches like Mission, Pacific, and La Jolla. It was nice to wake up and walk across the street to a nice walking path and beach where you could take in the "greener" side of San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

La Jolla is absolutely beautiful and only about 20 minutes away. Also Point Loma offers many things to do, but make sure to get to sunset cliffs for the sunset and hit a dispensary before you go to really chill out and enjoy.

Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jim the satisfied man
Couples
Alta Loma
Mar 19, 2014

Nice get away

We like being on the Shelter Isaland bay for the walking and running exercise in a beautiful setting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

C-Level on Harbor Island across from the airport. It is on the upper end for pricing, but a hip setting right on the water. The earlier you can get there in the evening the less wait time. I enjoyed the Salmon. They have a great Kobe burger as well and lobster macaroni is also great.

Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
O felix culpa
Couples
Atlanta, Ga
Mar 4, 2014

NIce getaway

Although the hotel was being remodeled, it was still charming and inviting. The best experience was the staff - they were polite and attentive. They were always smiling and that makes a big difference when you are looking to enjoy yourself on vacation. The bartender and the shuttle drivers/attendant/desk clerk/concierge were excellent. The accommodations were great and the size for the room more than exceeded our expectations. We plan to return to the Bay Club Hotel/ Marina.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bobred
Couples
Langley, BC
Mar 4, 2014

Potential gem

Great location for walking and easy car access to most attractions in San Diego. Close to water, great views. Best complimentary breakfast we've ever had. The rooms have been redone but still feel a little dated. Some are larger than average though. Need better chairs. Great bed. About to redo the common areas which will be nice. Might check immediate hotel neighbours but would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Barbara Business Traveler
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Feb 28, 2014

San Diego Business Trip

Staff is very riendly, courteous, professional and always eager to help. The location is excellent. Enjoyed walking along the water. My room was very spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top