$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Bay Club Hotel & Marina

3 stars
View map of 2131 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
185 out of 185
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ron Burgundy
Wisconsin
Apr 8, 2012

Great Destination for Family Spring Break

This was a great place to stay for our first trip to San Diego. From our hotel, it took no longer than 15 mintues to get to our 3 main destinations: Sea World, San Diego Zoo, and the USS Midway Museum. The hotel is located on a peninsula so you get a great view no matter which room you get and there is very litte traffic. They have a very good breakfast buffet which is free except for any tips you want to leave for the wait staff. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. We ate once at the on-site restaurant and it was very good (prices a bit high for supper menu but reasonable for lunch). On the negative side: parking spots are incredibly small (but this seems to be the norm in San Diego), you can hear jets and helicopters almost constantly (but this also seems to be the norm wherever we went in San Diego), and there was a severe shortage of hot water around 8am every day we were there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Corvette's Diner is a nearby 50's style restaurant that is very kid friendly..think Chuck E Cheese meets Happy Days. The roving magician was a blast and he had my youngest son laughing which is a very hard to do.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Linda F.
Business
N/A
Apr 24, 2015

relaxing by the marina

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Location, Location, Location...the view was amazing and quick trip to airport. Staff was very helpful and professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yawan Xiong
Business
N/A
Apr 16, 2015

Friends trip

the room and service was good and the place is good which which is just near the ocean. But the wifi is slow and it is working downstairs for the building. So there is a little bit notice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
L Bo
Business
Rancho Cucamonga
Apr 15, 2015

SD getaway

Very nice hotel and staff very happy with the choice we made great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elda Q.
Business
N/A
Apr 12, 2015

One night stay

We only stayed for one night, but it was great. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived, so we went walking around the marina and the beach across the street. They called me an hour later to tell me it was ready and the front desk remembered me when I walked in. They have a happy hour M-F at the bar with drink and food specials. Gym is pretty decent and they have street level and lower level garage parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JPCs
Business
Lake Elsinore
Apr 6, 2015

Fair stay in good location

If you like retro, this is your place. It did have a view of the harbor off the deck. This was an overnight stay to catch an early flight. So it fit the bill in terms of a comfortable room near SAN. The staff seemed genuinely disinterested during check in, and parking was constricted at that time for some repairs to the lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wanda m.
Business
Abington
Mar 17, 2015

Layover

Both of the shuttle drivers and reservation staff were great. The room was immaculate and the area was nice. I would recommend this hotel to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
From Canada
Business
Vancouver
Mar 13, 2015

Good Decent Hotel

It's a good decent hotel and this is my second stay. It seems to be a Mom and Pop operation. The Dining Room/Bar is hit or miss. Service is erratic with lots of people running around but not a lot of awareness or good service. The breakfast buffet is absolutely terrible. The breakfast is no longer free with your stay which is actually a plus. I would rather nothing than what they offer. They obviously want you eating someplace else. It was extremely bad last year and they are obviously trying to maintain this standard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fussbunny
Business
N/A
Mar 10, 2015

San Diego fun

The hotel was in a good location, not far from the airport but also on the bay. Enjoyed seeing the lights of the marina.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mary Jane G.
Business
N/A
Mar 4, 2015

Lovely Shelter Island Marina

The hotel was quite nice. It had beautiful views of the bay and the marina. The counter staff was always available and helpful.I was able to get a full complementary breakfast (value approximately $14.00) every morning as part of the package I reserved last September. However, that benefit is no longer available. A few little problems (shower gel, lotion, shampoo not always replaced, Earl Grey tea bags replaced with Chamomile) but nothing that couldn't be resolved. It cost $5.00 a night to park, which I thought was very reasonable, compared to other parking rates I've paid in cities like New York, Boston and San Francisco, for example.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cara b.
Business
N/A
Feb 22, 2015

Awesome couples trip

Good great. They honored our breakfast coupon which was booked prior to their no breakfast. All shuttle and front desk people were superb for our 3 day stay. Marina view was gorgeous and could walk every day along the bay. They shuttle to other restaurants for free if on shelter island

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top