$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Bay Club Hotel & Marina

3 stars
2131 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
146 reviews
quiet with a lovely view

This is our second stay at this hotel. We like it because it is small, quiet, friendly and low-key.... See full review

  • bellabean
  • Oct 11, 2014
Excellent Location, Beautiful Harbor, Great Amenities

My family and I had a great stay at this Hotel. It's located in great area with great views of the... See full review

  • TexasChris
  • Aug 31, 2014
In the shade of a spectacular San Diego view

Bay Club Hotel & Marina in San Diego sits on Shelter Island – San Diego's Hawaiian Isle. Rooms offer spectacular views of the marina, the San Diego Bay and the city beyond. Guests find a staff that is attentive to details and expert in creating a comfortable atmosphere. Located in a low traffic area, visitors to the Bay Club Hotel & Marina find the marina a pleasure to walk. A short walk to Coronado Island leads families to a park for children. All of this and more is located 10 minutes from the airport.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • The views alone are worth the price
  • Close proximity to the best attractions in San Diego
  • Complimentary breakfast with unique cuisine
Bay Club Hotel & Marina Rooms

All rooms offer spectacular views and outstanding comfort. A separate bathroom with vanity area is equipped with a hair-dryer, and an iron and board to leave guests looking their best. Comforts abound, with 42-inch plasma television as standard along with a refrigerator, coffee machine and complimentary coffee. Guests staying for business enjoy a peaceful in-room workspace. Wake up in a spacious room and enjoy a complimentary breakfast buffet before heading into one of the most vibrant cities in California. Return to a bay view room and a panorama of the shimmering skyline, or a marina view room facing west and watch the beautiful oceanic sunsets. Lounge by the pool, work out in the fully equipped gym or rest tired muscles in the Jacuzzi. Get discounts on certain attractions from the hotel reception. The Bay Club Hotel & Marina is a 100 percent no-smoking facility and kids under 12 stay free. Enjoy complimentary airport transportation at the end of the visit. Those who arrive by boat enjoy the "Dine'n'Dock" Special with rooms at the Bay Club Hotel & Marina while docking their vessel in a world-class marina.

Things To Do:
  • San Diego Harbor Island Drive (3.6 mi/5.7 km)
  • Balboa Park (4.7 mi/7.5 km)
  • Mission Bay Park (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
  • Gaslamp Quarter (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • SeaWorld Aquarium (13 mi/20.9 km)
  • Legoland California (33.6 mi/54 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bay Club Hotel & Marina also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Bay Club Hotel & Marina Rooms

Bay View Room
Enjoy relaxing picturesque views of San Diego Bay, North Island Naval Air Station and the shimmering skyline of downtown San Diego. These rooms are located on our 1st or 2nd floor and offer one king bed or two queen beds, 42 inch plasma TV, separate bath and vanity area, mini refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, hair dryer, iron and board, work desk, in room safe, voicemail and wireless internet access.
Marina View Room
Enjoy relaxing picturesque views of our private marina along with several other sailboat-filled marinas and the sunset over Point Loma. These rooms are located on our first or second floor and offer one king bed or two queen beds, 42 inch plasma TV, separate bath and vanity area, mini refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, hair dryer, iron and board, work desk, in room safe, voicemail and wireless internet access
Partial View Room
Furnished with one king bed or two queen beds (bed type cannot be guaranteed and will be assigned upon check-in), a patio or balcony with partial/limited views of the bay from the first floor, 42" plasma TV, separate bath and vanity area, mini refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, hair dryer, iron and board, work desk, in room safe, voicemail and complimentary wireless internet access. Rooms are approximately 385 square feet. All rooms include full buffet breakfast.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.2 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.2 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.5 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.7 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.1 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 5.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.7 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 8.9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.2 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.9 mi
  • Legoland: 29 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121.7 mi

Dining

Bay Club Bar & Grill
Our Bay Club Bar & Grill offers one of San Diego's best marina views along with an intimate friendly setting. Relax and indulge yourself with one of our delicious menu selections. Choose from fresh seafood specials, steaks, pastas, specialty salads, sandwiches and seafood combinations. Happy Hour is a must Monday through Friday from 4PM to 7PM. Complimentary full hot breakfast is included each morning. We also serve lunch and dinner and provide room service. Hours 7AM to 10PM. (Room service until 9:45PM)

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
From 10 to 100, meetings are banquets are never lost in the shuffle at The Bay Club Hotel. With our boutique style, it's a breeze making your group our priority. All three of our meeting and banquet rooms have tasteful decor, incredible views and are conveniently located just off the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (146)

Ratings and reviews for Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
146 out of 146
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TexasChris
Business
Texas
Aug 31, 2014

Excellent Location, Beautiful Harbor, Great Amenities

My family and I had a great stay at this Hotel. It's located in great area with great views of the San Diego skyline. Hotel was very clean and looked great inside-out. The staff was very nice and helpful. The free breakfast was awesome, they had a great selection of eggs, meats, cereals, pastries, breads, coffee, etc. Across the street is a nice little beach where you can BBQ and have get-togethers around the several firepits. A little walk down the street is a fishing pier. For me it was a little more than what I wanted to pay for hotel rooms but considering the location and season I guess I can't complain. I was going to stay at the Sheraton but you have to pay for EVERYTHING over there which can add up. Aside from the parking fee at this hotel, all the other things were free to include breakfast and WiFi which was the deal breaker for me. My only complaint was the public dining table that was located directly outside the balcony of the two rooms I was given on the first floor. I guess those were the only two rooms in the entire hotel that had that problem. If the curtains were open I could see them and they could see me (if there were people sitting at that table) which at times there were... and that was kinda awkward, for both parties. They were literally an arms distance from my balcony rail. Weird. And for this I gave four stars for "room comfort". If there wasn't a public dining table there I would have given five. All together, it was a great stay and yes I would recommend and also stay again in the future. Heads up, this hotel offers an AARP member discount but since I prepaid they said it was too late to apply the discount. Don't know how to apply via travel sites like I did but if you're considering making a reservation I would contact them directly if you're an AARP member.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
InTX
Business
Irving, Texas
Aug 26, 2014

Rocky start good finish

During booking, I paid extra for a premium view of the marina, trust me it's worth the money. But when I checked in and got to my room, it was the opposite of what I paid extra for. So back to the desk I go, they finally gave me what I paid extra for, but I had to go on my phone and show the Itinerary email to prove it. After all that, no more complaints. The room was great, the food was great. The clientele of this hotel is mostly rich, retired folks. This mean there is NOT a lot of screaming,crying fussy,wining,bad behaved kids running around. Thank GOD! The breakfast is a hot breakfast, eggs, potato, sausage, fruit and more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ukcmom
Business
WA
Aug 10, 2014

Noisy upstairs!

We enjoyed our stay at the Bay Club Hotel. The location is wonderful for walking around the island and close to downtown. The onsite restaurant and bar had nice meals with a good price and seating for evening drinks was nice in the outdoor spaces. The bed was comfortable and the room and facility was very clean. The price for parking was for a minimal charge. The breakfast buffet was very good. Our only complaint is two nights of two different guests above us walking and running back and forth until after midnight (both groups had kids) and starting in again at 5am. We went to the front desk with our complaint 4 times over the 2 night stay with minimal results. We checked on moving to another room but none were available. There was no offer of compensation for our lack of comfort and sleep for two nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rachel626
Business
Pasadena, California
Jul 25, 2014

Mini Vacation in Summer

The rooms either face the bay or marina, so it's quite beautiful. The pool was small; although, it was never crowded. Complimentary breakfast was served each morning. I only expected pastries and coffee. So, I was pleasantly surprised that they changed the menu each day, inc. cold cereal, oatmeal, eggs, potatoes, sausage and another item (such as french toast or corned beef hash). It is walking distance to the fishing pier (there is a great little place there that makes sausage and has yummy belgian beers) and other eateries. There is also a great place next door, Humphrey's, that has a live band each night and dancing if one is interested. One other great find is Bali Hai (also walking distance), which makes crazy strong Mai Thai's and other cocktails. There is a nice fire pit and beautiful view there, especially at night. The only thing I didn't love was that one has to drive to all the major attractions. To my knowledge, they did not provide shuttle service. The building feels small and old but it was cozy for me and my husband. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a couple of great places, a small shack at the fishing pier and Bali Hai.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frequent Flyer 10101
Business
New York, New York
Jul 22, 2014

Bay Club Hotel and Marina

I needed a hotel to stay in overnight before catching an early flight the next day. This hotel was 100% average, not great but not terrible. The location (if looking for a hotel near the airport) was good and the stay includes a free shuttle to and from the airport which is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Clinton111
Business
San Diego
Jul 7, 2014

Not Quite What I had imagined

Staff friendly with the exception of a just hired bar tender. Place very clean, parking was cramped, food was good for the most part, location was good, rooms were older but well kept up, lobby was very noisy ( but it was high season and every kid on earth was there), no one informed us as to where the facilities were the pools or the gym. You got the feeling that they were operating on a shoe string budget. We did enjoy our time there though, and in fairness to the hotel staff, I have never been there previous during "high season". There's a lot of people to cater to, and they do a pretty good job!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are not in love with their in - house dinner menu; then it's a short 1 to 1 1/2 mile drive away to find other eateries. The second thing is that their gift shop was tiny and pop or juice machines...I could not find.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mexico
Jun 26, 2014

Nice hotel!

We were there to visit the city and it was great to fin our hotel in the bay, a big room very comfortable and a nice breakfast. The parking is only $5 per day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ind Jim
Business
Russell Springs, Ky
Jun 4, 2014

Professional Traveler

The room was great but a little dated and the breakfast was great. Would go back again, but try to get a room on the bay side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ind Jim
Business
Russell Springs, Ky
Jun 4, 2014

Thought to be a Fantastic Family Getaway

Hotel was clean, but dated, food and bar area was excellent, no problem with the hotel, but was disappointed in the flight and more than anything the car rental. With the fight if you wanted any good seats or even a snack you had to pay for them, not a big issue but we set on the plane gong and coming in the back 2 to 3 rows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I ask and paid for what I thought was going to be a Nissan Altima or it's equivalent but was given a Ford Focus. I was also told that I had to purchase the deductible insurance by the salesman due to being in California, which I had never had to do before so I paid out another 137.00 for the insurance. He wanted another 203 for an upgrade, which I refused to pay, so I drove around with 5 adults in the car at times. I later found out that California does not require you to get the deductible I will not be booking anything again unless the issue with the car is settled.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RoundWorld
Business
Washington, DC
May 24, 2014

Good location but has seen better days

This is well located, but the amenities are average (the pool is tiny), the rooms are shabby and there are better deals in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top