$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 3, 2014

Bay Club Hotel & Marina

3 stars
2131 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
146 reviews
quiet with a lovely view

This is our second stay at this hotel. We like it because it is small, quiet, friendly and low-key.... See full review

  • bellabean
  • Oct 11, 2014
Excellent Location, Beautiful Harbor, Great Amenities

My family and I had a great stay at this Hotel. It's located in great area with great views of the... See full review

  • TexasChris
  • Aug 31, 2014
In the shade of a spectacular San Diego view

Bay Club Hotel & Marina in San Diego sits on Shelter Island – San Diego's Hawaiian Isle. Rooms offer spectacular views of the marina, the San Diego Bay and the city beyond. Guests find a staff that is attentive to details and expert in creating a comfortable atmosphere. Located in a low traffic area, visitors to the Bay Club Hotel & Marina find the marina a pleasure to walk. A short walk to Coronado Island leads families to a park for children. All of this and more is located 10 minutes from the airport.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • The views alone are worth the price
  • Close proximity to the best attractions in San Diego
  • Complimentary breakfast with unique cuisine
Bay Club Hotel & Marina Rooms

All rooms offer spectacular views and outstanding comfort. A separate bathroom with vanity area is equipped with a hair-dryer, and an iron and board to leave guests looking their best. Comforts abound, with 42-inch plasma television as standard along with a refrigerator, coffee machine and complimentary coffee. Guests staying for business enjoy a peaceful in-room workspace. Wake up in a spacious room and enjoy a complimentary breakfast buffet before heading into one of the most vibrant cities in California. Return to a bay view room and a panorama of the shimmering skyline, or a marina view room facing west and watch the beautiful oceanic sunsets. Lounge by the pool, work out in the fully equipped gym or rest tired muscles in the Jacuzzi. Get discounts on certain attractions from the hotel reception. The Bay Club Hotel & Marina is a 100 percent no-smoking facility and kids under 12 stay free. Enjoy complimentary airport transportation at the end of the visit. Those who arrive by boat enjoy the "Dine'n'Dock" Special with rooms at the Bay Club Hotel & Marina while docking their vessel in a world-class marina.

Things To Do:
  • San Diego Harbor Island Drive (3.6 mi/5.7 km)
  • Balboa Park (4.7 mi/7.5 km)
  • Mission Bay Park (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
  • Gaslamp Quarter (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • SeaWorld Aquarium (13 mi/20.9 km)
  • Legoland California (33.6 mi/54 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bay Club Hotel & Marina also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Bay Club Hotel & Marina Rooms

Marina View Room
Enjoy relaxing picturesque views of our private marina along with several other sailboat-filled marinas and the sunset over Point Loma. These rooms are located on our first or second floor and offer one king bed or two queen beds, 42 inch plasma TV, separate bath and vanity area, mini refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, hair dryer, iron and board, work desk, in room safe, voicemail and wireless internet access
Partial View Room
Furnished with one king bed or two queen beds (bed type cannot be guaranteed and will be assigned upon check-in), a patio or balcony with partial/limited views of the bay from the first floor, 42" plasma TV, separate bath and vanity area, mini refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, hair dryer, iron and board, work desk, in room safe, voicemail and complimentary wireless internet access. Rooms are approximately 385 square feet. All rooms include full buffet breakfast.
Bay View Room
Enjoy relaxing picturesque views of San Diego Bay, North Island Naval Air Station and the shimmering skyline of downtown San Diego. These rooms are located on our 1st or 2nd floor and offer one king bed or two queen beds, 42 inch plasma TV, separate bath and vanity area, mini refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, hair dryer, iron and board, work desk, in room safe, voicemail and wireless internet access.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.2 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.2 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.5 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.7 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.1 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 5.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.7 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 8.9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.2 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.9 mi
  • Legoland: 29 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121.7 mi

Dining

Bay Club Bar & Grill
Our Bay Club Bar & Grill offers one of San Diego's best marina views along with an intimate friendly setting. Relax and indulge yourself with one of our delicious menu selections. Choose from fresh seafood specials, steaks, pastas, specialty salads, sandwiches and seafood combinations. Happy Hour is a must Monday through Friday from 4PM to 7PM. Complimentary full hot breakfast is included each morning. We also serve lunch and dinner and provide room service. Hours 7AM to 10PM. (Room service until 9:45PM)

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
From 10 to 100, meetings are banquets are never lost in the shuffle at The Bay Club Hotel. With our boutique style, it's a breeze making your group our priority. All three of our meeting and banquet rooms have tasteful decor, incredible views and are conveniently located just off the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (146)

Ratings and reviews for Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
146 out of 146
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Nevs
Ontario, Canada
Sep 17, 2011

What a way to spend our 50th Anniversary

The staff were terrific, from the front desk people to the ladies who cleaned our room. Everyone was most helpful. The complimentary breakfast was really good, it changed somewhat every day, and the wait staff were so friendly and efficient. We would reccomend the Bay Club and Marina to anyone who was planning a trip to San Diego. Ask at the front desk for advice on what is interesting around and about and they can tell you lots of places. One teeny tiny thing was, a bit more comfortable mattress, although my husband had no complaints at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cape Cod Joanie
Business
E. Dennis, MA Cape Cod
Nov 26, 2014

West Coast visit

Being from New England, our trip to San Diego was wonderful! The location of this hotel was perfect. Breakfast was included, so every morning we dined with a view of the marina. The breakfast chef needs to be more creative and add variety to the buffet. Our room was large and the bed comfortable. The bathroom and furnishings need to be upgraded. The bath linens were a bit thin and rough. Our remote was inoperable, but was tended to immediately. The tub dripped the entire week, though it was supposedly fixed. The bay view room was an excellent choice, rather than the marina view. There is a fee for parking, and upper level spaces are tight. Otherwise, a very good place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tanya the traveler
Business
Los Angeles
Oct 28, 2014

Awesome! Will go back!

We loved this hotel simply because it was huge and the bed was so comfortable. It has a gym, laundry room and pool which we didn't try so can't comment on that. There is a bay right in front of the hotel and a marina behind which is quite nice. There are a couple of restaurants At maybe a 15 min walking distance. The hotel is not central to shopping unless you have a car. But it is a great place to relax and downtown is like a 7 min drive. I loved the breakfast and the server is so sweet! You can have breakfast w a view of the marina or inside the hotel. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dadsonsan
Business
Massachusetts
Oct 16, 2014

Week in San Diego

The staff was excellent, responsive and very friendly. The several questions/requests prior to my visit were handled quickly and efficiently. The front desk was very responsive and friendly. The hotel was a bit dated (room), however, some things were clearly renovated (carpeting). Although dated, the rooms were very clean. The housekeeping staff was very good (and friendly). The marina view/balcony was nice. The hot breakfasts were complimentary, and tasty. Suggest they change up from scrambled eggs once in a while. Wireless internet, although complimentary, was spotty at best. $5 per day parking was a bargain. Shelter Island is a nice location with plenty of nice area to take a stroll. Fitness room was suitable for good workout

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

The staff had several suggestions for dinner. The ones we chose were solid.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bellabean
Business
Portland, Oregon
Oct 11, 2014

quiet with a lovely view

This is our second stay at this hotel. We like it because it is small, quiet, friendly and low-key. The view from the front of the hotel is of the water with sailboats going by. The back is a view of the marina filled with boats. A very peaceful setting. It is a few miles from downtown San Diego but the hotel offers a shuttle (for a fee) or one can take the bus/trolley in to town. Another thing we love about it is the free shuttle to and from the airport which takes just a few minutes. Oh, must not forget the breakfast buffet which is included in the price of the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

We enjoyed Happy Hour right there in the hotel lobby. A nice selection of food and drink specials is available.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stephanie. L.
Business
Ventura, California
Oct 1, 2014

Nice get away

My boyfriend and I came here for our anniversary and stayed for 3 nights. We originally had a bay view room but when we showed up and saw the view it was a view from across the parking lot. I do not like to ask for different things once I choose something because I don't like to bother people. My boyfriend however, does not mind and said we might as well ask for a marina view. The staff was so friendly and let us view an available marina view bedroom in which we chose over the bay view. We ate at the restaurant that is located just beyond the lobby. Their food was delicious and they had a nice complimentary breakfast every morning so we were able to view the marina while eating breakfast every day. All the locations we wanted to go to such as the midway, gaslamp, tide pools, zoo, balboa park, and mission bay were all very close and easily accessed with a short drive. It was so nice seeing the boats every morning and every night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Their filet mignon was delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
silvafx
Business
Marina del Rey, CA
Sep 28, 2014

Reuinon

Better than other hotels in the vicinity. Only negatives: 1) no ice cream for dessert 2) charging guests an additional $5 to park 3) being charged for the rooms at the time reservation was made (about 2 months before arrival)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AllieTait
Business
Milford, CT
Sep 16, 2014

Good, not great

The breakfast was mediocre. The mugs were dirty, even when I asked for a replacement mug, it was still a bit dirty. The room was comfortable and clean. The front desk was attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dewman
Business
Owatonna, MN
Sep 7, 2014

San Diego

Nice view. Staff was friendly. Room was nice. Kind of close to everything I wanted to see and do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
peteneat
Business
San jose, ca
Sep 1, 2014

good place

Great breakfast. Balcony is nice. Value is great. Staff great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Free breakfast is great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TexasChris
Business
Texas
Aug 31, 2014

Excellent Location, Beautiful Harbor, Great Amenities

My family and I had a great stay at this Hotel. It's located in great area with great views of the San Diego skyline. Hotel was very clean and looked great inside-out. The staff was very nice and helpful. The free breakfast was awesome, they had a great selection of eggs, meats, cereals, pastries, breads, coffee, etc. Across the street is a nice little beach where you can BBQ and have get-togethers around the several firepits. A little walk down the street is a fishing pier. For me it was a little more than what I wanted to pay for hotel rooms but considering the location and season I guess I can't complain. I was going to stay at the Sheraton but you have to pay for EVERYTHING over there which can add up. Aside from the parking fee at this hotel, all the other things were free to include breakfast and WiFi which was the deal breaker for me. My only complaint was the public dining table that was located directly outside the balcony of the two rooms I was given on the first floor. I guess those were the only two rooms in the entire hotel that had that problem. If the curtains were open I could see them and they could see me (if there were people sitting at that table) which at times there were... and that was kinda awkward, for both parties. They were literally an arms distance from my balcony rail. Weird. And for this I gave four stars for "room comfort". If there wasn't a public dining table there I would have given five. All together, it was a great stay and yes I would recommend and also stay again in the future. Heads up, this hotel offers an AARP member discount but since I prepaid they said it was too late to apply the discount. Don't know how to apply via travel sites like I did but if you're considering making a reservation I would contact them directly if you're an AARP member.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top