$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 25, 2015 Check-out: Jan 26, 2015

Bahia Resort Hotel

3 stars
998 W. Mission Bay Dr., San Diego, CA 92109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
276 reviews
ALmost Perfect...

Only problem was when checking in, given 2 options one was larger room with kitchen in "hotel" and... See full review

  • Ande Liav
  • Nov 29, 2014
Very pleased!!

The from desk staff was very helpful and very friendly, I've stayed in hotels before and had never... See full review

  • Lillyprincess
  • Oct 22, 2014
Luxury Mission Bay hotel on private peninsula with seal pool
Situated on its own 14-acre peninsula in Mission Bay, the Bahia Resort Hotel exudes privacy. The hotel dates back to the 1950s. Today it features a tropical garden and a seal pool with two seals on loan from the San Diego Zoological Society. The hotel also owns and operates the Bahia Bell, an authentic 19th-century sternwheeler. All guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access. The on-site Mediterranean restaurant, Café Bahia, serves three meals a day.
Highlights
  • Private location away from other resorts
  • Marvel at seals in the seal pool or relax in a tropical garden
  • 19th-century sternwheeler, a great option for special events
Rooms

The Bahia Resort Hotel's 314 rooms, including 26 suites feature views of Mission Bay or the Pacific Ocean. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, mini refrigerator, hair dryer and signature bath products. Suites vary in size and feature sitting areas and kitchenettes. There also are a handful of beachfront cottages. All guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access. High-speed Internet access also is available (fees apply).

Features

The Bahia Resort Hotel dates back to 1953, when the property opened with 52 rooms. It has grown gradually since then.

Today, the property features a tropical garden and a seal pool with two seals on loan from the San Diego Zoological Society. The hotel also owns and operates the Bahia Belle, an authentic 19th-century sternwheeler that circles Mission Bay on a regular boat cruise.

All guests have complimentary access to the on-site heated outdoor pool, as well as a fitness center with LifeCardio and LifeFitness equipment. There's also a video arcade on property. The hotel offers 24-hour laundry service (fees apply).

Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served at the Mediterranean-style Café Bahia, which boasts an outdoor patio for al fresco meals. The on-site lounge, Tangier Bar, offers Happy Hour seven days a week.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • San Diego Trolley (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • San Diego International Airport (4 mi/6 km)
Attractions
  • Mission Bay Park (4 blocks)
  • Old Town (2 mi/3 km)
  • Sea World (3 mi/5 km)
  • Point Loma (4 mi/6 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (5 mi/8 km)
  • Petco Park (6 mi/10 km)
Business
  • 20,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Bahia Bell, a 19th-century sternwheeler, available for special events
  • 24-hour business center
  • Mission Bay Ballroom has views of Pacific Ocean
Policies and fees
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bahia Resort Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Bahia Resort Hotel Rooms

Suite Room
One queen or two double beds and a full sofa bed in the living area, located in one- or two-story buildings with private balconies or patios overlooking Mission Bay. Kitchenettes with refrigerator and cookware. Two TVs and multi-line phones. (Request for specific bedding type will be noted but cannot be guaranteed).
Bay View Studio
Bay View Studio offers an impressive bay view, 460 square feet of living room space, complete with a full kitchen. Each studio has one king bed or two full beds and a pull out sofa bed (request for specific bedding type will be noted but cannot be guaranteed), Free Parking, with a Maximum number of occupants 6.
Garden View Studio
These rooms offer an impressive 460 square feet of living room space, complete with a full kitchen. Each studio has one king bed or two full beds and a pull out sofa bed (requests for specific bedding type will be noted but cannot be guaranteed). Free Parking, with a Maximum number of occupants 6.
Garden Room
One queen or two double beds, located in one-or two-story buildings around the center of the property, surrounded by rare and unique palm gardens. Large working space and sitting area. Coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, hairdryer. (Request for specific bedding type will be noted but cannot be guaranteed).

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Belmont Park: 0.2 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.6 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.2 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 3 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.6 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 4.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 5.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 5.9 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 6.2 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6.3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 0.2 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.6 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.2 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 3 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.6 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 4.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 5.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 5.9 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 6.2 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 6.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 6.3 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 6.3 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 6.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 6.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 6.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 6.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 6.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 6.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 6.6 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 6.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 7 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 8.8 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 12.6 mi
  • Legoland: 25 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 25.7 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121.3 mi

Dining

Tangier Lounge
Cocktail lounge open daily with nightly entertainment.
Bahia Cafe
Casual restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast buffet served daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (276)

Ratings and reviews for Bahia Resort Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
276 out of 276
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Julib
Business
Seattle
Dec 21, 2014

Great winter getaway

The Bahia was a great place to stay for our 4 day family vacation. Its very close the SeaWorld (10 minutes) and the Zoo (20 minutes). Its a short walk to Mission Beach and although lots of shops were closed for the season there were plenty of small beach shops and Taco stands open. We had great breakfast Burritos at Starkey's (dive but yummy food). The Draft was a great restaurant/ brewpub down the beach a block. Great for kids, families,couples etc. Excellent food and long tap list. The hotel hads a heated pool and hot tup (huge) the staff was super friendly and helpful. The rooms were a bit dated and we couldnt get the fire place going but it was pretty clean and well stocked. We would go back. Great price in the winter too

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ande Liav
Business
Santa Monica, CA
Nov 29, 2014

ALmost Perfect...

Only problem was when checking in, given 2 options one was larger room with kitchen in "hotel" and other= small room. So, selected large room only to discover it was on 6th floor in hotel. Changed then and selected "small room." Turned out to be fantastic little "casita"with queen beds, refridgerator, duck pond outside sliding glass door, and car could be parked outside front door! Totally private and quiet though with other casitas(on one level). My only complaint was I wasn't given enough info to select this in first place! Check in girl trying too hard to sell "hotel" room. Otherwise, hotel, amenities, staff, cleanliness, everything all was exceptional! Bahia is a wonderful complete resort almost on a "private island" and gorgeous scenery wherever you look! But, always ask for the room near the duck pond!! (same price!) PS excellent for family, too with beach for children!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

San Diego full of great restaurants but if you have car, drive up to La Jolla (during day for spectacular views and have "lunch" (2:PM)at The Crab Catcher...again with spectacular view and exceptional food and unbeatable service...all well worth the price. Just get there during day to enjoy the view!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aurorapdx
Business
Portland, OR
Nov 19, 2014

nice place for a family to stay

nice hotel with friendly staff, for the most part. Our flight landed us in San Diego pretty early, so we thought we would ask if there might be rooms available for early check-in. The first host we checked in with, was pleasant but didn't explain anything about early check in. He told us they would call us when a room was ready. When we were called we had an opportunity to check in with another employee at the front desk. She was great. She said, "I notice you have a toddler. The room you were initially given is below our ballroom and there is a wedding planned. I'm afraid you might not have the experience you are looking for in that room. If you can wait one more hour I can get a more appropriate room cleaned for you." SHE was great and saved us from the other employee's lack of willingness to be more helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lillyprincess
Business
Temecula California
Oct 22, 2014

Very pleased!!

The from desk staff was very helpful and very friendly, I've stayed in hotels before and had never been treated with such respect. My fiancé and I just came to town for a night and we both regret not being able to stay for a second night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AnCa84
Business
Virginia
Sep 22, 2014

Nice location

Location is perfect if you are planning to stay in Mission Beach (I suggest Pacifc Beach however). The rooms were a little bit old-looking and dusty although very big. Private beach on the laguna is definitely a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pliz
Business
Ontario,canada
Sep 20, 2014

Anniversary vacation

Absolutely wonderful. Alex and many others at check in are great, gave us an upgrade both times we stayed at this lovely resort with awesome views of the sunset and Bay Area. At night we could look out from our bed and see the lovely lights across the bay, almost like it was Christmas. 20 mins drive or less to airport making it an easy place to get to and just slightly hearing some noise from the planes but it never bothered our sleep. Free parking, great pool and loungers and NO resort fees also made this resort extremely desirable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach and rout door restaurants close by. And amusement area close by. I would recommend Mexican food on mission bay just before the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Clarydottie
Business
Norwalk, CA
Sep 7, 2014

Fantastic Family get away

My experience at the resort was tremendously excellent. My daughters birthday the staff surprised her with milk and cookies at night which it was geneorous in there part. Highly recommend the resort we felt at home. we didnt want to leave,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Boat ride was nice and relaxing

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Y's mom
Business
San Jose
Sep 6, 2014

great hotel

a room was clean and spacious and the location is really good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
aekchoi
Business
Castro Valley, CA
Sep 5, 2014

Fantastic place for family

The hotel's location can't be better than this. a few steps from the beach and surrounded by lots of parks and attractions for kids. We enjoyed so much with your 2 year-old and we will definitely go back to Bahia!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

everything is close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Froogle Traveler
Business
NJ
Aug 18, 2014

Amazing location and area, but could use some upgrades

I loved the location. The pool, food, and staff were great. I was surprised to walk in the room and see the outdated fixtures, and poor linen. I had a suite which included a small kitchen. It was nice to have but definitely not high quality. The bed was comfortable though! I was not happy with being on the first floor with a giant slider to the outside. It would be ok but the lock was not up to par. Again, could use some upgrades. Other than that, it was nice. Many families having fun. Beautiful location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

About a mile up the road is a supermarket and a less crowded section of the beach. It is beautiful! Take about a mile up the road to Ralphs(grocery store), buy some stuff and enjoy the area around you while saving some money!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top