$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

3 stars
View map of 2051 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
444 reviews
Pleasant trip in CA

It's a wonderful place I ever lived in Best Western hotel in states. The room is quiet clean and... See full review

  • Jibin L.
  • Jul 28, 2015
Beautiful San Diego

The hotel staff were very friendly and professional. Establishment was relaxed and very clean, I... See full review

  • Veronica W.
  • Jul 14, 2015
The Best Western Island Palms Hotel & Marina combines the best of both worlds: a modern hotel with a state-of-the-art marina. The property is located on Shelter Island, which is known among locals as San Diego's Hawaiian isle. Hotel guests can unwind at one of two bayside pools or an outdoor fireplace with breathtaking views of Point Loma. Accommodations span three distinct sections of the hotel, each with a unique theme and feel. The on-site restaurant, Blue Wave Bar & Grill, serves tasty, island style seafood.
Rooms

The Best Western Island Palms Hotel & Marina offers 227 rooms, including 60 suites. Accommodations span three sections of the hotel: Casa del Mar, Casa Marina and Island Palms. All three have different decor including tropical and Mediterranean themes. Rooms vary in size and configuration, but each comes standard with a flat-screen TV, ironing board, hair dryer and spacious work desk. Most suites include a kitchen with mini refrigerator and microwave. Most accommodations feature balconies and patios. Guests also receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access.

Property features

The Best Western Island Palms Hotel & Marina sits on Shelter Island, which is known among locals as San Diego's Hawaiian isle for its tropical landscape. The property overlooks a private marina and sits adjacent to bike paths encircling San Diego Bay. The hotel is within one mile of Point Loma.

The hotel offers complimentary bike rentals. Guests also have access to two pools, a spa, fitness center and garden patio with outdoor fireplace.

The Blue Wave Bar & Grill specializes in tropical-style cuisine.

Highlights
  • Private Mega-Yacht Marina
  • Two bayside pools, one with outdoor fireplace
  • On-site restaurant serves island-style cuisine
  • Complimentary bike rentals
Nearby attractions
  • Old Town (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • SeaWorld (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Gaslamp District (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • Petco Park (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (8 mi/12.9 km)
Business
  • 6,300 square feet of meeting space accommodates up to 150 guests
  • Outdoor space can be converted into meeting facility
  • Conference windows overlook marina
Transportation
  • MTS Bus (4 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (3 mi/5 km)
  • San Diego Trolley (3.5 mi/ 5.6 km)
Policies

  • Starting 01 June, parking fee will be $10 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina Rooms

Deluxe Waterview
This room has beautiful views of the San Diego Bay or the hotel's private marina. Each room is furnished with two queen or 1 king-sized beds, 42" LCD TV, mini refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, and iron/ironing board. The workspace is equipped with a Herman Miller ergonomic chair, jack pack for your electronic devices, and complimentary wireless internet access. The bathrooms have marble counters and tile-surround bathtubs.
Waterview Suite
Just steps away from our private yacht marina, this 600 square foot Island Palms Suite offers one king or two Queen beds per hotel availability in a private bedroom and a living room with sofa sleeper. Fully equipped kitchens feature granite countertops, full size refrigerator, coffee maker, microwave double sink and stove top. Enjoy breathtaking views of motoryachts drifting by or simply enjoy the San Diego sunsets from your private patio.
Island Palms Standard
Our traditional Island Palms guestrooms come equipped with one King or two double beds per hotel availability , sitting area with work desk, complimentary high speed internet access, fresh brew coffee/tea makers, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, cable TV with HBO movies and Nintendo, refrigerator and a beautiful bathroom featuring a slab granite vanity and granite and glass enclosed shower.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.1 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.4 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.7 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.7 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.1 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.4 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.7 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.7 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.4 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4.6 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.7 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.8 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.9 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.2 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 5.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.8 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.4 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 29 mi
  • Legoland: 29.1 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121.9 mi

Dining

Blue Wave Bar and Grill
Step into the Blue Wave Bar & Grill for great waterfront dining with spectacular views of the bay and our private marina. Experience the tropical feel of our bayside restaurant or enjoy the gentle ocean breezes while dining outdoors on the patio. Menu items include fresh seafood, tender steaks, innovative daily specials and much more. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. 6:30am to 9pm Sun - Thurs and 6:30 to 10pm Fri & Sat. Happy Hour daily from 4pm to 6pm.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
6, 300 square feet of flexible waterview conference and banquet facilities. Bay Room 27' x 24' 648 Square Feet Board Room 11' x 17' 187 Square Feet Grand Marina Room 30' x 64' Square Feet Harbor Room 28' x 32' 896 Square Feet Marina Room 1 31' x 31' Square Feet Marina Room 2 30' x 24' 965 Square Feet Sunset Room 30' x 60' 1624 Square Feet Santa Barbara 42'x25' 1076 Square Feet

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 444
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Buisness Manager (read this Wife)!
Business
Cobourg, Ontario, Canada
Mar 3, 2009

"OUR SAN DEIGO HOME AWAY FROM HOME"

We have been to SD 6 times for a woodcarving show & have finally found our home away from home! Awesome staff, great value for your $, open airy area, no tall structures, super view, across the road from harbor, clean comfortable rooms, effective, friendly staff, and home made cookies at 3 pm every day!!!! The only thing that would have made it seamless would have been our own labeled parking space, but this was insignificant when you take in the whole stay. We will stay here every time we come to San Diego! In fact I want to get all the carvers to move here for the show weekend! A++++++

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For your special night out dinner, get reservations for Humpfries, with a table by the window! Great view, super food, Prime Rib that melts in your mouth! and not being a sea food lover I know Prime Rib!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chico, CA
Jul 22, 2007

The best ever!

My stay at the Island Palms was fabulous. The staff was courteous and helpful, the room was clean and well equipped and the food was marvelous. The hotel is set in an ideal location bordered by the marina on one side and the ocean on the other. Nice place to take long walks and it seemed that everyone I met was friendly. I can hardly wait to book my next trip to San Diego and I will definitely stay at the Island Palms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk across the street from the hotel and there is a beautiful place to walk along the beach.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
May 14, 2010

Great experience

I really enjoyed my stay here. The rooms were spacious, clean, and comfortable. The decor was also copacetic. Once in a while I heard some military helicopters nearby, but it was infrequent, and I did not experience any noise at night. The view from my room was excellent (overlooking San Diego Bay), the staff was friendly and helpful, and the facilities were very nice.My only minor complaint was that the shower drain was somewhat backed-up, and drained slowly. I mentioned this to the front desk, but it wasn't corrected by maintenance. The front desk did follow-up that night to see if the problem was corrected, but I didn't notice that it wasn't fixed until my shower the next morning (which was the morning I checked out - I only stayed 3 nights.)Overall, I really liked this hotel, and especially with the discount deal I got through [...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tower Man
Business
Iowa
Jan 17, 2011

Very Clean and Friendly

We would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Nov 4, 2009

Execellent location and Staff

Although a little hard to find, once I did the location seemed perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Veronica W.
Business
N/A
Jul 14, 2015

Beautiful San Diego

The hotel staff were very friendly and professional. Establishment was relaxed and very clean, I instantly felt relaxed and was able to decompress. I walked around the wharf right by the hotel, enjoyed the restaurant and got to see an incredible view. I would come back in an instant. I didn't stay for long due to business, but it seems like a very good place to bring a family. One drawback was the AC unit didn't seem to work in my room, but the night was cool and there was a fan so it all worked out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Businessgirl
Business
Southern, IL, USA
Nov 20, 2011

A lovely place to stay

I was in town on business for only 24 hours but am glad I picked this hotel. They picked me up from the airport, connected me with a rental car place and I never had to leave the hotel. I was able to order take out from their restaurant and it was delicious! The view from the pool/spa area was gorgeous. The room was large, clean and comfortable. I would definitely reccomend this hotel to anyone and I would stay there again if I ever go back to San Diego. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nicolemg
Business
Atlanta, GA
Apr 9, 2012

Great destination; leisurely pace

Beautiful hotel. Beautiful view. Friendly staff. Only hiccup was that we were located across from the service room/work room and we could hear noise throughout the evening. The hotel had a great location that was steps from the marina and steps from the bay's waterfront. It was only three miles from the airport and had a complimentary shuttle. Serene. Great if you want leisure or a little action. There were many shops nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nyc
Oct 14, 2009

does the job for the business traveler

slept. Arrived at 11:30 pm and took the hotel shuttle at 7am to the amtrak station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Nov 18, 2010

Great place; I will go back

Very pleasant and romantic setting next to the water. You can nearly touch the boats when you get up in the morning. Friendly staff and good restaurant with a terasse overlooking the water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top