$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 22, 2015 Check-out: Apr 23, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

3 stars
View map of 2051 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
478 out of 478
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Apr 16, 2010

Awesome hotel - can't wait to go back!

Was expecting a standard 'airport' hotel but the Best Western Island Palms was wonderful....beautiful location....gorgeous views....excellent service and superb food. Can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fallon, NV
Aug 23, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

This was our first trip to San Diego. We were especially pleased with the proximity to the places we wanted to visit; Sea World, Mission Beach for surfing lessons, The Midway, and the added seclusion of being on Shelter Island. The hotel staff was exceedingly nice and the room spacious and clean. Many nice places to eat close by as well. Really fun to sit on our balcony and watch the giant ships go by. Will definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JNV
Business
Los Angeles, Cali.
Jun 22, 2009

Quick Weekend Get Away

I love the view of the marina, it was peaceful & relaxing. Great for walking in the afternoon, plus the location of the hotel was near great places to eat. I would go back anytime I want to stay in San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado Springs, CO
Jul 15, 2010

Great Place to Stay

I took my granddaughter on her first flight and first beach location. The room was perfect for us and she loved being by the bay and enjoyed Sea World which was only five minutes away. She also loved how close the pacific beaches were and the time we spent there. We had a great trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Everything from restaurants, to retail, to beaches, to parks, to Sea World, to other family attractions was all very close and convenient.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bobby Balboa
Business
South Florida
Jul 20, 2010

A dream vacation

We visited Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo. We also visited nearby towns such as Coronado and La Jolla. We spent a lot of time at the hotel enjoying all the amenities the hotel had to offer such as the pool, the fitness center and the the restaurant. The hotel had a beautiful view of the Marina as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are plenty of great dining choices while you are there, so do your research before choosing your restaurants so that you are not disappointed after making your eating decisions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Buisness Manager (read this Wife)!
Business
Cobourg, Ontario, Canada
Mar 3, 2009

"OUR SAN DEIGO HOME AWAY FROM HOME"

We have been to SD 6 times for a woodcarving show & have finally found our home away from home! Awesome staff, great value for your $, open airy area, no tall structures, super view, across the road from harbor, clean comfortable rooms, effective, friendly staff, and home made cookies at 3 pm every day!!!! The only thing that would have made it seamless would have been our own labeled parking space, but this was insignificant when you take in the whole stay. We will stay here every time we come to San Diego! In fact I want to get all the carvers to move here for the show weekend! A++++++

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For your special night out dinner, get reservations for Humpfries, with a table by the window! Great view, super food, Prime Rib that melts in your mouth! and not being a sea food lover I know Prime Rib!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jrivera
Business
Aurora, CO, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Honeymoon with a baby and a blackout

I had fairly high expectations after I read different reviews on this hotel on this site as well as others. They were all true. The room was very clean and well maintained by housekeeping. The outside of the hotel really was not bad at all as some reviews had said. We stayed at the older part, and it was very nice. We were on our honeymoon, and although we didn't get a free upgrade, we did get a nice room very close to the water and champagne and strawberries. The hotel did a great job helping people during the blackout in San Diego, our last night there, so I'm sure they can handle just about anything. We didn't try the restaurant just because I read it wasn't very good, but you're close to the airport and downtown, so there are many other restaurants. There is a great view of Coronado Island as well as downtown. The area is also very safe and they have security that walk the premises, so even a beach stroll at night is ok :).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Jan 25, 2010

great hotel- beautiful area

great stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Laramie, WY
Nov 17, 2009

Wonderful time

VERY clean, very helpful staff, very quiet, very relaxing. 'Nuff said.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PavelPPV
Business
Columbus, OH
May 9, 2010

Excellent stay in San Diego!

Fantastic hotel, great location on bay shore just minutes away from San Diego downtown and airport, helpful and friendly stuff. They upgraded our room for no charge. Very quiet and relaxing. Spotless rooms and pool. And a very low price! Definitely will recommend it to all my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Point Break Tavern. Great for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Excellent food for low price. Casual and relaxing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top