$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

3 stars
View map of 2051 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
481 out of 481
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Worcester, MA
Oct 26, 2010

Very restful

We arrived after a 7 hour drive, quite frenzied and a little lost in San Diego, a new city to us. The staff went out of their way to ensure we were picked up and brought safely to the hotel. The room was clean and relaxing. The view was beautiful. Breakfast was delicious and the pool area is wonderful. We left feeling relaxed and refreshed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, Nevada
Nov 4, 2010

Our favorite getaway place

Whenever we need a weekend out of town we head down to Shelter Island. We have tried all the hotels but we always return to the Best Western Island Palms Hotel & Marina. We stay in the suites and enjoy the view on either side of the hotel, the bay view or the marina view. On the marina side we are greeted every morning with ducks on our private deck. On the bay area we enjoy watching the naval ships as they come and go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Old Town for dinning, shopping and enjoyment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hart4july
Business
Gilbert AZ
Jun 28, 2010

Resort feel, stunning room

WOW. A great vacation resort feel! Service made us feel like VIPs. Gorgeous room, views like Capri, decor to die for, and a wonderful tropical heated pool and spa. Plus free bikes to explore the bay, past expectations!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of great restaraunts you can walk to, but may be wedding site at that time. Would be a great wedding site.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nana Gina
Business
The Kinney's from Mililani, Hawaii
Apr 22, 2009

Very Nice and Clean

We loved the location. The marina was a plus for our grandkids. The ducks on the grounds of the hotel and in the marina was fun for them to watch. The restaurant also was very good and reasonable. We would stay there again if we ever go back to San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hutchinson, KS
May 21, 2010

best vacation ever

Hotel was in a great location, not too far from downtown and just minutes away from all the popular beaches. staff was VERY friendly, and the service was great. Very peaceful setting, absolutely zero complaints about this hotel! Would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Hotel is a very short drive to most attractions around city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SF BOY
Business
San Francisco
Apr 8, 2010

Wonderful Experience

well, actually this was my first trip to san diego by myself and i wanted to stay in a quiet place to relax but a family who stayed right next to my room made lots of noisy that came from their kids. i was so stressful at night because the baby cried so bad that i couldnt sleep well. but other than that it was very nice place and located where you can really enjoy the view. they also have very kind and friendly staffs that made me smile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
staciek
Business
Illinois
Jul 30, 2009

Fantastic Family Getaway

Great location w/ a beautiful view of the bay. Located close to all of the attractions we wanted to see. The staff was very helpful and even provided us with an upgrade to a room with a patio. I would stay here again when traveling to SanDiego. Great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Try Miguel's Cantina located within walking distance from the hotel. The fish tacos were amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
J&H
Business
Toronto
Nov 11, 2009

Amazing getaway!

We got a room with a view of the marina - let me tell you, I can get use to waking up to this view! It simply was beautiful and calming to see all of the yachts. The room was spacious and clean, the staff was attentive, the pool and jacuzzi were amazing especially for a night swim/dip and their Blue Wave restaurant was great. We would definitely stay here again - trust me, you would never think it's a Best Western hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Jun 20, 2010

San Diego Trip - Best Western Isl Palms

Spectacular location. Lovely rooms. Very friendly staff. Provides a resort feeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The B clan
Business
Denver, CO
Jun 21, 2010

Great Hotel to get away from it all

Nice quiet hotel just minutes from all major attractions, I was amazed how quiet it was being so close to the airport. Two nice small pools, kids loved them, never crowded, free parking, we stayed in the newer section, huge flat screen TV, view of the bay, not super fancy, it just felt much better than your typical hotel feel. Beds were air adjustable, very comfy. Workout room was small, but adequate, empty at 6 AM!.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top