$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 28, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

3 stars
View map of 2051 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
513 out of 513
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Clem's Mom
Business
St Louis, MO
Dec 12, 2013

Wonderful place to stay

I have never been to San Diego and it was just beautiful!! I couldn't have even imagined how great this place could be!! It went way beyond my expectations!! The view was spectacular and the staff was always friendly, especially Danny at the front desk!! Anything we needed he took care of! I will highly recommend this location for anyone I know going to the San Diego area!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tracy, CA
Nov 5, 2010

Great location in San Diego!

the hotel was great and our stay was comfortable, the food was good, the drinks were wonderful! The rental car was not great, the navigator did not work and we did not feel like complaining after such a great weekend. At least I know I will not buy a mid-size car!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Be prepared before you drive in a city that you are not familiar with.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shakopee, MN
Oct 24, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

THIS was the best all around hotel staff we have ever encounter! From the shuttle driver to the day manager and front desk to the night staff, what a wonderful group of people. I do believe they enjoy their job:-)) Everything we asked for and more was always delivered and with smiles and kindness. Also, this hotel is located in a wonderful area. We were able to watch ships go in and out of port. Wonderful boardwalk across the street and surrounded by a beautiful view in the back of the hotel of the bay and hillside of San Diego. Plus loved the outdoor fireplace by pool. All in all we enjoyed this hotel and can't say enough good things about ALL members of this hotel staff. Thank you Island Palms!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago,il
Nov 2, 2010

best

very good and quiet place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jul 17, 2009

Great times at the Best Western!

We were in San Diego on vacation trying to see and visit all that was there. The location of the hotel was perfect. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The best part though was the front desk staff. They answered any question we had and helped us with directions to all the local sites. They were kind and always had a smile!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JOHNNY IS A MARINE
Business
ESCANABA MICHIGAN
May 24, 2010

BEST VIEW IN SAN DIEGO

we came to San Diego to see our son graduate from the Marine boot camp. Your hotel was excellent. Great pools, outstanding service and super clean rooms. The view was beautiful from every spot. Thank you so much for all you did. To be reunited with our son after three months and bring him back to your hotel to relax was great!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots fo great dining with in walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Feb 21, 2010

Lovely hotel

If you decide to stay at this hotel I strongly suggest that you request the Casa Marina Building (which is the newest building) or the Casa Del Mar. My family stayed at the Casa Marina and loved it. The building smelled new and the rooms were large enough for a family of 4. In the Casa Marina, you get a view of the marina or a view of the harbor looking towards downtown San Diego. I strongly suggest the 2nd or 3rd floor for the views, although it may not be as accessible to the pool (on the first floor) if you have children or the spa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Humphrey's has great food and 1/2 price appetizers and cocktails from 4pm-7pm. The earlier the better if you have children.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Utica
Feb 24, 2010

BEST WESTERN ISLAND PALMS HOTEL & MARINA

Great place to walk either by the water or the marina or just sit and watch the ships and birds. Many sites to see within short driving distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Seaport Village and Old Town offer a variety of merchandise plus atmosphere

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Karlene Love to Vacation
Business
Butte, MT
Sep 15, 2009

A Place to Remember

This was a place to remember and mark as a place to return. Friendly staff, clean rooms, great view, great amenities, close to Sea World, Beaches, shopping, fishing. Beautiful place to just take a walk, across the street have a picnic, bike ride. Fun for all ages within the complex! Great view of the sunrise/sunset. Landscaping is incredible. Danny the desk clerk went out of his way to make our time there the best! Kudos to him and the rest of of your staff. Customer service at its best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Food was excellent and very affordable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TravelingDan
Business
Fort Worth, TX
Oct 5, 2009

Hidden Gem

The hotel is a little off the beaten path, but still close to everything, and it's a great little find. The hotel has a fun tiki theme that does not come off as cheesy. And it backs up to a marina with deep sea fishing boats and yachats. The whole atmosphere is fun and relaxing like Key West.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top