$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 22, 2015 Check-out: Apr 23, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

3 stars
View map of 2051 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
478 out of 478
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bullet Bob
Business
Green Valley AZ
Mar 28, 2013

Perfect location for our visit to San Diego.

Staff was extremely helpful in giving directions to local attractions. Room was clean and well appointed. excellent value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Anthony's was an excellent restaurant for the seafood lover.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Geera
Business
Seattle
Apr 22, 2013

4 day get away

We loved the Island Palms. We upgraded to a larger room with a kitchen which worked out great for us since we were travelling with two teens. The cruiser bikes were great fun for the kids and us. The pool being right outside our door was awesome. San Diego weather was fantastic and Shelter Island is with special its tiki style hotels and the coolest tiki place, BALI HAI bar/restaurant. It was a simple bike ride away. Its a drive to beach, but what a great place to chill after a long day of hanging and being a tourist. Oh yes, free parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Puesto in La Jolla.and Papa Luna's Empanada Shop on Garnet in PB.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KellyOC
Business
Columbus OH
Jun 16, 2013

Good hotel in a good location

This hotel was very clean! The location is also great- our travel time was rarely over 20 mins. There is a lot around the hotel too. We ate twice at the restaurant- the service was good and the prices were fair. The only con was the view- we booked on a travel website so you never know what your going to get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shine818
Business
Encino
Jun 21, 2013

Beautiful, updated accommodations.

I saw a picture of this hotel on-line and took a chance. All the employees are very nice and helpful and found out after a short exchange at the front desk that they had up-graded my room to a suite. They did this even on a night they were sold- out. Got to the room and was blown-away. Almost as big as my house. Everything was great.... Flat screen , bathroom, balcony , view , beds and very quiet. Only stayed one nite but wish I could've stayed a week. Sincerely a Great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is an adjacent hotel that has a venue for live music .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bus Driver Guy
Business
Surrey, BC, Canada
Jun 10, 2013

A fantastic return!!

This was my second visit to this hotel and once again the entire experience was exceptional! From the front desk staff to the housekeeping personnel, everything was simply marvelous. A special mention of Matt at the front desk, who went out of his way to provide us with top notch service and also of Conception from housekeeping who was also warm and friendly with her service during our stay. Hats off to the entire staff for a job very well done!! I would recommend this Best Western to anyone who plans to visit San Diego!! Keep up the great work guys!! Don the Bus Driver guy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of choices for breakfast, lunch or dinner within a short drive from the hotel if you don't wish to use the hotel restaurant. Depends on what you like. eg: Denny's, Mickey D's, etc. I would definitely recommend the Brigitine just down the road for great seafood.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pilot2012
Business
california
Aug 21, 2013

bEST San Diego Experience

Great value! Very nice and clean. Staff is friendly. Good food in restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the hotel restaurant, is a great option.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
xxlaurabeanismexx
Business
Orlando, FL
Sep 29, 2013

Amazing Everything!

the room & view were amazing, very fresh & modern. location was perfect. staff was friendly, on site restaurant was yummy & reasonably priced. the only thing that would have possibly made this better was some sort of free continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

drive to chula vista and save 30 cents on gas!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Syr66
Business
Crawley, West Sussex
Oct 17, 2013

Wonderful Location

This hotel was the best hotel I have stayed in, with the beautiful marina on one side of the hotel and the bay on the other the views were fantastic. The staff were extremely helpful, the room was decorated to a high standard and every where was so clean. We were upgraded without even asking and in my opinion to one of the best rooms which was right at one end of the hotel so no one walked past our patio area as that is where the path stopped. Shelter island is beautiful but there is no shop on it so its was essential to have a car and it was only a 10 mins drive to the Gaslamp quarter were all the main restaurants were. San Diego is an amazing place and has so many thing to do and see, I would highly recommend it and The Best Western Plus Island Palms, would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

We went to every shopping mall in San Diego but the best one was the Las Americas Premium Outlets near the Mexican boarder

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Davydle
Business
Minneapolis
Nov 20, 2013

WiFi

Everything was perfect with one exception: WiFi was as slow as in Jamaica - 0.02

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
John and Roberta
Business
Cleveland, OH, USA
Dec 9, 2013

Two Weeks in Paradise

The staff at this hotel was extraordinary. The first room that we were provided was unsatisfactory in size for three adults to stay for 2 weeks. The manager was quick to remedy the situation with an upgrade at no charge. The room provided was slightly larger and in the newest part of the complex. The restaurant in the hotel was reasonably priced and outstanding for food quality. Again, the wait staff was more than accommodating and wonderful to see on a daily basis. The location on Shelter Island is the best. With the marina on one side and the bay on the other we had the best of both worlds. We were close to anything we needed yet far away from the down town traffic and noise. The two weeks went by too quickly and we will definitely return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great food quality and reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top