$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

3 stars
View map of 2051 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
511 out of 511
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia, MD
Dec 13, 2009

Great little Oasis in San Diego.

We came to the Best Western Island Palms for a couple days of R & R after working a week long convention at the San Diego Convention Center. We stayed in the Casa Marina building, which is new and beautiful (I can't speak about the other buidlings, which looked a little more worn on the outside). We had a marina view room, which was quiet and very well maintained. The folks at the front desk were very helpful, and even sent someone with a replacement tv remote to our room at 11:00 pm when we couldn't find the original. While we didn't take advantage of all the amenities, there are many: free parking, free wifi, free bike rentals, the list goes on and on. We would definitely recommend this property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, Ma
May 12, 2009

relaxing getaway

Hotel employees were amazing. Hotel was very nice. Not greatest location if you don't rent a car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
south portland,me
Mar 3, 2009

great location , beautiful view

staff was friendly and accommodating, upgraded our room to one with a view, the location was great for visits to old town and the water front area of San Diego, we enjoyed both the pool and the hot tub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
Feb 16, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price"

just what we expected

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greenwood Village, CO
Jul 4, 2010

Enjoyed our stay

Handy location for Sea World and Zoo. Fun watching Navy ships and planes come and go. A little noisy on the Bay side where we stayed. Next time I would request the Marina side. Also, not enough parking on the older section where we stayed - more rooms than parking spaces.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We had an excellent dinner at the Fish Market Restaurant next to the Midway ship museum. Get there early, though, because it is very popular and there can be quite a wait. We got there at 5:30 and got right in on a Friday night, but by the time we left the line was out the door. It was the best meal of the whole trip!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Napa
Jul 4, 2010

Lives up to its hype!

Great location, beautiful surroundings, good resturant, near most major attractions

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Yuma, AZ
Feb 16, 2010

Valentines Getaway

Excellent stay. The restaurant has a very intimate setting and the food was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Please make reservation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RWC101962
Business
Dallas, Texas
Apr 26, 2010

Nice location and great value!

The check in experience at the hotel was excellent. The clerks were very helpful in finding rental cars & shuttle transportation and even paid for a cab for us when a previously arranged shuttle could not make it. The rooms were cleaned everyday during our 4 night stay with freshe sheets, linins & towels with beds turned down. This was a great value for the price. The location was beautiful surrounded by the San Diego Bay and countless sail boats.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely do the San Diego Zoo. Never seen one like it. Amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
Dec 10, 2010

Perfect Place to Stay

Having never been to San Diego, the number of hotels and locations to chose from was overwhelming. We chose the Best Western Island Palms & Marina because it was reasonably priced, on the water, and a central location. We were very pleased with the hotel. We arrived in San Diego at 10AM and drove to the hotel to see if they could hold our bags while we explored. To our pleasant surprise, they had our room ready! The room was very clean and spacious, and had a microwave and small fridge. The bath was squeaky-clean and had plenty of room for our sundries. Our room overlooked the marina, and many of the boats were decorated with Christmas lights. The only thing we found odd was that there was really no storage, so we really had to live out of our suitcases for the 4 days we were there. The bed and bedding were nice and fresh, but they were those weird adjustable firmness types, but not the Sleep Number system I am familiar with, so it was a subtle difference in the firmness until about 2AM, when I kept rolling off of my firm side onto my spouse's softer setting, like a little ledge on the bed between us. Also, the covers were a little thin for my personal taste, but my spouse was perfectly happy with them. We made use of one of the hot tubs on the property, and had it all to ourselves. It was chilly by San Diego standards, but pleasant for us Coloradans. We dried off by the outdoor fireplace and felt like we owned the place! We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Pay the full price for the Sea World ticket, because you can use it for a full year. We didn't expect that we'd want to go back, but we didn't get to see everything we wanted to and ended up upgrading our one-day discount passes to the full price ones so we could return.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pensacola fl
Jun 1, 2010

the best

yeah

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

not bad

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top