$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

3 stars
View map of 2051 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
514 out of 514
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jul 7, 2009

Family

Good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chomper
Business
las vegas
Jun 18, 2009

great hotel for the price

it was great except the first night we got in about 7 and we were watching tv and it smelled like pee so i rolled down the bet and it was very wet with pee oder so we called and they moved us to another room that was great they did that. it was great after t5hat

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia, MD
Dec 13, 2009

Great little Oasis in San Diego.

We came to the Best Western Island Palms for a couple days of R & R after working a week long convention at the San Diego Convention Center. We stayed in the Casa Marina building, which is new and beautiful (I can't speak about the other buidlings, which looked a little more worn on the outside). We had a marina view room, which was quiet and very well maintained. The folks at the front desk were very helpful, and even sent someone with a replacement tv remote to our room at 11:00 pm when we couldn't find the original. While we didn't take advantage of all the amenities, there are many: free parking, free wifi, free bike rentals, the list goes on and on. We would definitely recommend this property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, Ma
May 12, 2009

relaxing getaway

Hotel employees were amazing. Hotel was very nice. Not greatest location if you don't rent a car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
south portland,me
Mar 3, 2009

great location , beautiful view

staff was friendly and accommodating, upgraded our room to one with a view, the location was great for visits to old town and the water front area of San Diego, we enjoyed both the pool and the hot tub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
Feb 16, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price"

just what we expected

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greenwood Village, CO
Jul 4, 2010

Enjoyed our stay

Handy location for Sea World and Zoo. Fun watching Navy ships and planes come and go. A little noisy on the Bay side where we stayed. Next time I would request the Marina side. Also, not enough parking on the older section where we stayed - more rooms than parking spaces.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We had an excellent dinner at the Fish Market Restaurant next to the Midway ship museum. Get there early, though, because it is very popular and there can be quite a wait. We got there at 5:30 and got right in on a Friday night, but by the time we left the line was out the door. It was the best meal of the whole trip!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Napa
Jul 4, 2010

Lives up to its hype!

Great location, beautiful surroundings, good resturant, near most major attractions

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Yuma, AZ
Feb 16, 2010

Valentines Getaway

Excellent stay. The restaurant has a very intimate setting and the food was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Please make reservation.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RWC101962
Business
Dallas, Texas
Apr 26, 2010

Nice location and great value!

The check in experience at the hotel was excellent. The clerks were very helpful in finding rental cars & shuttle transportation and even paid for a cab for us when a previously arranged shuttle could not make it. The rooms were cleaned everyday during our 4 night stay with freshe sheets, linins & towels with beds turned down. This was a great value for the price. The location was beautiful surrounded by the San Diego Bay and countless sail boats.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely do the San Diego Zoo. Never seen one like it. Amazing.

Back to menu Return to top