$122 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

3 stars
View map of 2051 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
447 out of 447
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jim T S
Family
Phila., PA
Jul 16, 2013

Nice place

The room was well sized and very comfortable. the staff was courteous but I needed something for the room and had to call 3 times in order to get it brought to the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Segway Rider
Couples
Cupertino, California
Sep 17, 2013

Awesome location.......take advantage of the complimentary bike rentals.

I would rate the room comfort a 4 star however the in-wall AC unit was very loud even at low speed. We liked the location and the staff personnel. We will definitely revisit this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joseph201
Family
Somewhere, NJ
Oct 1, 2013

Best Western Plus Island Palm Hotel Rating

it took 3 tries to get the room that I paid for. I confirmed 2 times before leaving. View was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr Gru
Family
Minions
Oct 28, 2013

Family vacation

Stayed here 4 nights, average hotel. Good and bad staff experiences. Get what you pay for applies to this. Kyle at the front desk is extremely helpful and friendly! Great customer service is always nice. He allowed me to check in early and upgraded us to a full suite for the little one to roam around in. I appreciated it very much! I've received a call to my room and they demanded my credit card info and address because the computer lost my info. Needless to say I don't feel comfortable giving info out on the phone so I'll do it at the desk. They insist I do it on the phone and I declined and hung up. Be aware of FRAUD, folks! I came down to the front desk and ask about my info and they didn't need anything! Hotel was close to the Zoo and conveniently located by Seaworld. We rented a car so traveling isn't an issue. Target and Starbucks was close by. Had a good stay. Food was ok, nothing to rave about. Some staff was helpful, some are not so friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Steve Frequent San Diego Visitor
Couples
Riverside, CA
Aug 24, 2010

Take the bad with the good.

Best Western has taken over what looks to be 2 hotels that are both in a row with their original Island Palms. First I have stayed at this hotel twice before. I called at 8 AM to ask that the drain in the shower be fixed, as I had to take a shower in 2 - 3 inches of my wife's shower water. I was assured by Jenn that it would be taken care of. Upon return to the hotel at 4:30 PM I found nothing had been done. I called and spoke with [...] who said she would put in the request immediately. After a half hour and no one had come, I went to the lobby to learn that neither [...] or [...] had put in a request to fix the shower drain. I asked if this was the type of service people reserving over the internet could expect I was told no and the maintenance personnel were contacted. The drain was fixed. I was very disappointed that my request was ignored twice and only received attention when I went to the front desk. The maintenance person was very nice. The water pressure for the shower was very poor. I will state that I would recommend this hotel to friend, but will warn them about my latest experience. I will only go again, myself, if they give an incredibly cheap rate to offset the possible bad plumbing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

This is a great location for going to anything in San Diego, especially the Zoo or Sea World. The food at the Blue Wave restaurant at the hotel is very good and the staff very friendly, courteous and attentive. The Blue Wave also is the food you will get if you order room service and it was very good as well.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KKSFLA
Business
Fort Lauderdale
Sep 23, 2009

Suite at a sweet rate.

Hotel hosted a VERY LOUD party first night of my stay. I was jet-lagged and tired and did not appreciate thumping music until 10pm. Hotel has a new section and old section. I was in the old section which did not have central air and felt old. That being said, the suite was clean, spacious and well appointed. I spent about $125 per night and felt like I got a lot of room for a great price. If it had been more expensive, I would not have been so kind, but I felt I got a good value for what I spent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Costa Mesa,Ca
May 22, 2009

Weekend getaway

Its an older hotel, but it has a certin San Diego look, We got this at a very good price per night. We toured the USS Midway, it takes over 6 hours to to this great ship.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a great place to eat called the Blue Fin, great food and drinks.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
SOUTH PASADENA, CA
May 25, 2009

Nice Trip

Great kindness staff... I arrived somewhat early at 2pm to check in.(Official Check in time starts from 4pm). But they were so nice with some excuse. And one of the staffs gave so cute doll to my daughter for patient waiting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
las vegas
Jul 30, 2009

nice view

My husband and i spent our anniversary in san diego at the best western pams and marina hotel. The rooms had a bad smell and was not what it said on the internet. Rooms looked old and musty.Bath tub would not drain the water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I f you want to have good food it was just around the corner from the hotel called brigantine seafood in the shelter island drive. Also dave and busters its was great food.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles area
Sep 18, 2009

Nice loc, ok room, terrible restaurant

Shelter Island is really beautiful, quiet, and sunny. Easy access to/from the 5, airport, downtown, etc. The hotel was probably awesome 10 years ago, but my room was out-of-date and small, with a view of storage bins, not the ocean. My bathtub had a large chip that went all the way to the metal underneath! No place outlet to plug in my computer at the tiny desk. Clean, with a comfortable bed, which is always nice. The staff were friendly. Parking is free. The nighttime concerts at the nearby Humphrey's hotel weren't noisy at all- I never even heard them. I visited for business, and left early every morning, so I was not able to try their breakfast, though the menu looked nice. I did have dinner at the "Blue Wave" bar, though, and it was hands-down one of the worst restaurant meals I have ever had. The bisque had dried out "skins" in it from sitting too long, and the gnocchi was an enormous bowl of walnut-sized, dry dough-balls. Totally inedible. Luckily there are tons of fabulous places to get a bite around Shelter Island and Point Loma. Try "Con Pane" a few blocks away for exquisite artisan bread and sandwiches. Try "Island Prime" and "C-Level" on Harbor Island for an absolutely sublime dinner. Overall, not a bad hotel for the moderate rate I paid. Probably a better choice for a vacation traveler who could use the breakfast, pool, etc. Next time, though, I'll be staying somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Blue Wave, in the hotel, gets a C- grade from me. Inedible, but at least I didn't get food poisoning from it.

Back to menu Return to top