$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

3 stars
View map of 2051 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
513 out of 513
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
David P.
Business
Columbia, South Carolina
Jul 22, 2010

Wonderful place to stay

This hotel and location is got to be the best place in San Diego to stay. The staff helped us out in everyway. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Point Loma is a must see.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hkp
Business
Dublin, Ireland
Jul 24, 2010

Great location and view

Very helpful staff. Initially, we booked for 2 days but we liked the place and stayed a day more ;) Highly recommended. The room was perfect size. The bed was luxury. We definitely go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Singleberry
Business
Kamloops, B.C.
Oct 31, 2010

Fantistic family getaway

This hotel has a resort-like atmosphere in the middle of the City. Great location with easy access to the airport, harbour, and beaches. Our room was clean and looked newly remodelled. The staff were extremely helpful, courteous and obliging. Good restaurant, super pool and hot tub, beautiful gardens, superb views, convenient walking promenades. Adjacent to Navy training fields so sometimes noisy, but usually quiet at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cumatusa
Business
Annweiler
Oct 16, 2011

Pretty Good

The BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina is a great place to be, with comfortable rooms an an amazing view on San Diego Skyline. We had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JMCG
Business
Rochester, MN, USA
Oct 25, 2011

great vacation stay

I would highly recomend this htoel if you are going to San Diego. We were there for 7 days and had a great stay. the rooms were big, we had a great view and they were very clean. The hotel is located on Shelter Island so you are away from the real busy areas but yet close enough to everything that you would want to see and do. There was a great lobby between the two wings my sister and husband stayed in and my husband and I which was a nice lounge area with a good size table for playing cards. It was a very relaxing vacation and I would definately recommend it to every one. I know when I go back to San Diego I will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tims Family
Business
Lodi, WI
Oct 29, 2011

Great with little kids

We took our 2 year old for 5 nights. I picked this hotel because of the free parking and free wifi. It turns out the hotel is on a shelter island and most of the island is a park. The location very close to the airport, sea world, and about a 10 minute easy drive from downtown and the zoo. Our casa marina room overlooked the bay and a navy base on the other side of the water. This meant front row seats to watch helicopters, jets, ships, and even a few dolphins. The kicker was the playground directly across the street. We could let our child run around for an hour or 2 and he would wear himself out just in time for bed. If they had free breakfast, this place would be perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hector's mexican. Seemed like a local place. There was one person working there... Hector. Everyone else seemed to know him. Great burritos. Cheap prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GENO8
Business
MANAHAWKIN NJ
Nov 14, 2011

nice experience

saty was perfect.... staff was excellant and very curtious

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WallyJ
Business
Urbanna, VA.
Nov 18, 2011

Great San Diego location

A very lovely hotel. We were made to feel right at home. The staff very helpful. Room warm and comfy. Restaurant and staff were also helpful. We would return again. Thank you for a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Great location to all San Diego attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TiffR
Business
Kansas City, MO, USA
Jan 28, 2012

Terrific hotel!

The Best Western Island Palms is a beautiful hotel that is centrally located--minutes away from downtown, the Gaslamp District, La Jolla and many other destinations. The rooms were very clean and the view from the 3rd floor marina rooms was fantastic! Danny at the front desk was so helpful and upgraded our room. Everyone we dealt with from the hotel was fantastic and the food at the restaurant was very good. We will stay here every time we go to San Diego!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel restaurant has a great, reasonable breakfast available. Go eat outside and enjoy the view!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
C and V
Business
Euless, TX
Feb 13, 2012

Fabulous birthday stay

From the time we arrived we knew we had a great pick. We got in very early but the front staff was very helpful in trying to get us in a room early and we were told that we were upgraded to a junior suite, which was the perfert start to my surprise weekend with my husband for his 50th birthday! The view of the marina from the pool is awesome. The room was so clean and huge! The staff was great, very nice and friendly at ever turn. Our front staff was great about getting us directions to everywhere we needed to go. Very nice bar and restuarnt also. Nice location, even saw a seal jumping in the water in front of the hotel! We will definetly come back and stay! Thank you so much for a wonderful time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Cabrillos which you can see from the hotel. A great place to see whales and ships if the season!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top