$128 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

3 stars
View map of 2051 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
446 out of 446
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TiffR
Family
Kansas City, MO, USA
Jan 28, 2012

Terrific hotel!

The Best Western Island Palms is a beautiful hotel that is centrally located--minutes away from downtown, the Gaslamp District, La Jolla and many other destinations. The rooms were very clean and the view from the 3rd floor marina rooms was fantastic! Danny at the front desk was so helpful and upgraded our room. Everyone we dealt with from the hotel was fantastic and the food at the restaurant was very good. We will stay here every time we go to San Diego!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel restaurant has a great, reasonable breakfast available. Go eat outside and enjoy the view!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
C and V
Family
Euless, TX
Feb 13, 2012

Fabulous birthday stay

From the time we arrived we knew we had a great pick. We got in very early but the front staff was very helpful in trying to get us in a room early and we were told that we were upgraded to a junior suite, which was the perfert start to my surprise weekend with my husband for his 50th birthday! The view of the marina from the pool is awesome. The room was so clean and huge! The staff was great, very nice and friendly at ever turn. Our front staff was great about getting us directions to everywhere we needed to go. Very nice bar and restuarnt also. Nice location, even saw a seal jumping in the water in front of the hotel! We will definetly come back and stay! Thank you so much for a wonderful time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Cabrillos which you can see from the hotel. A great place to see whales and ships if the season!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
puttster
Couples
Bozeman, Mt, USA
Feb 12, 2012

Nice surprise!

We had never stayed on Shelter Island before and this hotel was great! The location was perfect for walking along the Bay with a beautiful view. There was a nice restaurant, ample, safe parking, a pool and hot tub, and a very friendly staff. The rooms and outdoor areas were clean and pretty. Next time we visit San Diego, this is the place we want to stay. In one direction you view the Bay with the San Diego skyline in the background, and the other direction offers a lovely view of the yacht harbor.We saw dolphins from the park across the street, and whales from the ocean side of the island. Just fabulous!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Babynurse515
Couples
Massillon, OH, USA
Mar 8, 2012

Great hotel

beautiful location and beautiful hotel. Wish we could have spent more time there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Apprentice1
Couples
North County San Diego, C.A.
Mar 19, 2012

Comfort says it all!

I enjoyed the location the most. The rooms were very comfortable and i would definately go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Point loma seafood

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BenVaca
Couples
Dayton, IN, USA
Mar 20, 2012

Wow!!

Great Hotel. We even got upgraded to a King Suite right on the water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Noma Pizza right on the water

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Just do it
Couples
Dover, NH
Apr 1, 2012

Beautiful location and room

I decided to upgrade based on the feedback from this site. I don't know what the standard rooms looked like but we stayed at Casa building with frig, sink and coffee maker. Very useful and very cozy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel dining is great, don't go off site thinking you would get better, price, service and taste AMAZING!!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jstang
Family
Calgary
Apr 8, 2012

Awesome hotel

My daughter and I just got home from a fabulous week in San Diego. The best western island palms was a beautiful hotel. It is located on shelter island between the bay and the marina. The landscaping is luscious, our room was on the 3rd floor in the marina building with a balcony out to the marina. It was very clean, beautiful room. Not one complaint. We loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jdbjr
Bryan, TX, USA
May 2, 2012

Perfect Location

Check in and out was very easy. Room was exceptionally clean, well organized, stylishly decorated, beautiful view of Downtown and Bay from balcony. Bath was spotless, large, and well appointed. Within easy driving distance of all major tourist attractions and wonderful restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Blue Water Seafood on India for lunch. Expect wait on weekends, but fabulous fresh seafood sandwiches and tacos. The shrimp taco was exceptionally good. Moderately priced.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
59Diamonds
Family
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 2, 2012

Family Getaway Vacation

Took the family out on a vacation to Sea World and we stayed here. Nice place right by the ocean, great view, the kids loved it because the hotel provides free bike rides. Great family getaway

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top