$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

3 stars
View map of 2051 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
445 reviews
Pleasant trip in CA

It's a wonderful place I ever lived in Best Western hotel in states. The room is quiet clean and... See full review

  • Jibin L.
  • Jul 28, 2015
Beautiful San Diego

The hotel staff were very friendly and professional. Establishment was relaxed and very clean, I... See full review

  • Veronica W.
  • Jul 14, 2015
The Best Western Island Palms Hotel & Marina combines the best of both worlds: a modern hotel with a state-of-the-art marina. The property is located on Shelter Island, which is known among locals as San Diego's Hawaiian isle. Hotel guests can unwind at one of two bayside pools or an outdoor fireplace with breathtaking views of Point Loma. Accommodations span three distinct sections of the hotel, each with a unique theme and feel. The on-site restaurant, Blue Wave Bar & Grill, serves tasty, island style seafood.
Rooms

The Best Western Island Palms Hotel & Marina offers 227 rooms, including 60 suites. Accommodations span three sections of the hotel: Casa del Mar, Casa Marina and Island Palms. All three have different decor including tropical and Mediterranean themes. Rooms vary in size and configuration, but each comes standard with a flat-screen TV, ironing board, hair dryer and spacious work desk. Most suites include a kitchen with mini refrigerator and microwave. Most accommodations feature balconies and patios. Guests also receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access.

Property features

The Best Western Island Palms Hotel & Marina sits on Shelter Island, which is known among locals as San Diego's Hawaiian isle for its tropical landscape. The property overlooks a private marina and sits adjacent to bike paths encircling San Diego Bay. The hotel is within one mile of Point Loma.

The hotel offers complimentary bike rentals. Guests also have access to two pools, a spa, fitness center and garden patio with outdoor fireplace.

The Blue Wave Bar & Grill specializes in tropical-style cuisine.

Highlights
  • Private Mega-Yacht Marina
  • Two bayside pools, one with outdoor fireplace
  • On-site restaurant serves island-style cuisine
  • Complimentary bike rentals
Nearby attractions
  • Old Town (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • SeaWorld (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Gaslamp District (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • Petco Park (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (8 mi/12.9 km)
Business
  • 6,300 square feet of meeting space accommodates up to 150 guests
  • Outdoor space can be converted into meeting facility
  • Conference windows overlook marina
Transportation
  • MTS Bus (4 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (3 mi/5 km)
  • San Diego Trolley (3.5 mi/ 5.6 km)
Policies

  • Starting 01 June, parking fee will be $10 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina Rooms

Deluxe Waterview
This room has beautiful views of the San Diego Bay or the hotel's private marina. Each room is furnished with two queen or 1 king-sized beds, 42" LCD TV, mini refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, and iron/ironing board. The workspace is equipped with a Herman Miller ergonomic chair, jack pack for your electronic devices, and complimentary wireless internet access. The bathrooms have marble counters and tile-surround bathtubs.
Waterview Suite
Just steps away from our private yacht marina, this 600 square foot Island Palms Suite offers one king or two Queen beds per hotel availability in a private bedroom and a living room with sofa sleeper. Fully equipped kitchens feature granite countertops, full size refrigerator, coffee maker, microwave double sink and stove top. Enjoy breathtaking views of motoryachts drifting by or simply enjoy the San Diego sunsets from your private patio.
Island Palms Standard
Our traditional Island Palms guestrooms come equipped with one King or two double beds per hotel availability , sitting area with work desk, complimentary high speed internet access, fresh brew coffee/tea makers, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, cable TV with HBO movies and Nintendo, refrigerator and a beautiful bathroom featuring a slab granite vanity and granite and glass enclosed shower.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.1 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.4 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.7 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.7 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.1 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.4 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.7 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.7 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.4 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4.6 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.7 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.8 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.9 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.2 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 5.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.8 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.4 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 29 mi
  • Legoland: 29.1 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
6, 300 square feet of flexible waterview conference and banquet facilities. Bay Room 27' x 24' 648 Square Feet Board Room 11' x 17' 187 Square Feet Grand Marina Room 30' x 64' Square Feet Harbor Room 28' x 32' 896 Square Feet Marina Room 1 31' x 31' Square Feet Marina Room 2 30' x 24' 965 Square Feet Sunset Room 30' x 60' 1624 Square Feet Santa Barbara 42'x25' 1076 Square Feet

Dining

Blue Wave Bar and Grill
Step into the Blue Wave Bar & Grill for great waterfront dining with spectacular views of the bay and our private marina. Experience the tropical feel of our bayside restaurant or enjoy the gentle ocean breezes while dining outdoors on the patio. Menu items include fresh seafood, tender steaks, innovative daily specials and much more. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. 6:30am to 9pm Sun - Thurs and 6:30 to 10pm Fri & Sat. Happy Hour daily from 4pm to 6pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
445 out of 445
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MN family of 5
Business
San Diego
Jan 23, 2014

Very nice!

We had two rooms, a standard and deluxe water view. When we saw the standard we thought the room was upgraded. Very nice, and the water view had views of the marina. Very clean, the pool by the main building was very nice. Staff was very polite and helpful. Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit Mount Soladad. The drive was not bad, maybe 20 minutes but well worth it. Have your camera ready as the view is breathtaking.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kimmie C
Business
Seattle, WA
Jan 21, 2014

Great Place to Stay!!

The location of this place is very convenient to many of the local attractions, plus it's right at the marina, so the views are really nice. The staff is very accommodating and helpful and the rooms are great! Much nicer than what you think of for the usual Best Western.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Balboa Park, Sea World, the Zoo and the beaches are just a short drive away.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Midwest Guy1
Business
Kansas City
Mar 8, 2014

Vacation getaway

Perfect hotel for week getaway with the significant other. Beautiful and convenient location with the marina full of yachts on one side and the bay with downtown skyline on the other. They offer a free shuttle to and from the airport, but we opted to rent a car at the airport instead. The hotel is close to the airport and not too far of a drive to any of the other attractions (beaches, Seaworld, the zoo, La Jolla, Point Loma, downtown SD). Everyone was friendly and the rooms were very clean. We stayed in the Casa del Mar building and enjoyed it. Located across the street there is a little restaurant on the pier that had a selection of 15 different beers on tap and decent grub. The hotel also offers free bike rentals to ride along the island. Our last night there we ordered room service and the food was delicious! Overall, I would recommend this hotel to stay at. We would stay there again on our next trip to San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ladyamaya
Business
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Apr 29, 2014

Beautiful!!

Such a beautiful place! Upon arrival was upgraded at no cost to lovely room with small patio facing beach. Lovely room and the views! Navy ships, helicopters and such was a treat and not too loud. Restaurant so so, rather drive to into city. Small community feel to area and definitely loved the relaxation! Join their mail list, great offers and promotions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hkp
Business
Dublin, Ireland
Jul 24, 2010

Great location and view

Very helpful staff. Initially, we booked for 2 days but we liked the place and stayed a day more ;) Highly recommended. The room was perfect size. The bed was luxury. We definitely go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cumatusa
Business
Annweiler
Oct 16, 2011

Pretty Good

The BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina is a great place to be, with comfortable rooms an an amazing view on San Diego Skyline. We had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JMCG
Business
Rochester, MN, USA
Oct 25, 2011

great vacation stay

I would highly recomend this htoel if you are going to San Diego. We were there for 7 days and had a great stay. the rooms were big, we had a great view and they were very clean. The hotel is located on Shelter Island so you are away from the real busy areas but yet close enough to everything that you would want to see and do. There was a great lobby between the two wings my sister and husband stayed in and my husband and I which was a nice lounge area with a good size table for playing cards. It was a very relaxing vacation and I would definately recommend it to every one. I know when I go back to San Diego I will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tims Family
Business
Lodi, WI
Oct 29, 2011

Great with little kids

We took our 2 year old for 5 nights. I picked this hotel because of the free parking and free wifi. It turns out the hotel is on a shelter island and most of the island is a park. The location very close to the airport, sea world, and about a 10 minute easy drive from downtown and the zoo. Our casa marina room overlooked the bay and a navy base on the other side of the water. This meant front row seats to watch helicopters, jets, ships, and even a few dolphins. The kicker was the playground directly across the street. We could let our child run around for an hour or 2 and he would wear himself out just in time for bed. If they had free breakfast, this place would be perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hector's mexican. Seemed like a local place. There was one person working there... Hector. Everyone else seemed to know him. Great burritos. Cheap prices.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GENO8
Business
MANAHAWKIN NJ
Nov 14, 2011

nice experience

saty was perfect.... staff was excellant and very curtious

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WallyJ
Business
Urbanna, VA.
Nov 18, 2011

Great San Diego location

A very lovely hotel. We were made to feel right at home. The staff very helpful. Room warm and comfy. Restaurant and staff were also helpful. We would return again. Thank you for a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Great location to all San Diego attractions.

Back to menu Return to top