$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

3 stars
View map of 2051 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
444 reviews
Pleasant trip in CA

It's a wonderful place I ever lived in Best Western hotel in states. The room is quiet clean and... See full review

  • Jibin L.
  • Jul 28, 2015
Beautiful San Diego

The hotel staff were very friendly and professional. Establishment was relaxed and very clean, I... See full review

  • Veronica W.
  • Jul 14, 2015
The Best Western Island Palms Hotel & Marina combines the best of both worlds: a modern hotel with a state-of-the-art marina. The property is located on Shelter Island, which is known among locals as San Diego's Hawaiian isle. Hotel guests can unwind at one of two bayside pools or an outdoor fireplace with breathtaking views of Point Loma. Accommodations span three distinct sections of the hotel, each with a unique theme and feel. The on-site restaurant, Blue Wave Bar & Grill, serves tasty, island style seafood.
Rooms

The Best Western Island Palms Hotel & Marina offers 227 rooms, including 60 suites. Accommodations span three sections of the hotel: Casa del Mar, Casa Marina and Island Palms. All three have different decor including tropical and Mediterranean themes. Rooms vary in size and configuration, but each comes standard with a flat-screen TV, ironing board, hair dryer and spacious work desk. Most suites include a kitchen with mini refrigerator and microwave. Most accommodations feature balconies and patios. Guests also receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access.

Property features

The Best Western Island Palms Hotel & Marina sits on Shelter Island, which is known among locals as San Diego's Hawaiian isle for its tropical landscape. The property overlooks a private marina and sits adjacent to bike paths encircling San Diego Bay. The hotel is within one mile of Point Loma.

The hotel offers complimentary bike rentals. Guests also have access to two pools, a spa, fitness center and garden patio with outdoor fireplace.

The Blue Wave Bar & Grill specializes in tropical-style cuisine.

Highlights
  • Private Mega-Yacht Marina
  • Two bayside pools, one with outdoor fireplace
  • On-site restaurant serves island-style cuisine
  • Complimentary bike rentals
Nearby attractions
  • Old Town (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • SeaWorld (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Gaslamp District (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • Petco Park (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (8 mi/12.9 km)
Business
  • 6,300 square feet of meeting space accommodates up to 150 guests
  • Outdoor space can be converted into meeting facility
  • Conference windows overlook marina
Transportation
  • MTS Bus (4 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (3 mi/5 km)
  • San Diego Trolley (3.5 mi/ 5.6 km)
Policies

  • Starting 01 June, parking fee will be $10 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina Rooms

Deluxe Waterview
This room has beautiful views of the San Diego Bay or the hotel's private marina. Each room is furnished with two queen or 1 king-sized beds, 42" LCD TV, mini refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, and iron/ironing board. The workspace is equipped with a Herman Miller ergonomic chair, jack pack for your electronic devices, and complimentary wireless internet access. The bathrooms have marble counters and tile-surround bathtubs.
Waterview Suite
Just steps away from our private yacht marina, this 600 square foot Island Palms Suite offers one king or two Queen beds per hotel availability in a private bedroom and a living room with sofa sleeper. Fully equipped kitchens feature granite countertops, full size refrigerator, coffee maker, microwave double sink and stove top. Enjoy breathtaking views of motoryachts drifting by or simply enjoy the San Diego sunsets from your private patio.
Island Palms Standard
Our traditional Island Palms guestrooms come equipped with one King or two double beds per hotel availability , sitting area with work desk, complimentary high speed internet access, fresh brew coffee/tea makers, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, cable TV with HBO movies and Nintendo, refrigerator and a beautiful bathroom featuring a slab granite vanity and granite and glass enclosed shower.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.1 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.4 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.7 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.7 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.1 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.4 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.7 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.7 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.4 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4.6 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.7 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.8 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.9 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.2 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 5.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.8 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.4 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 29 mi
  • Legoland: 29.1 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121.9 mi

Dining

Blue Wave Bar and Grill
Step into the Blue Wave Bar & Grill for great waterfront dining with spectacular views of the bay and our private marina. Experience the tropical feel of our bayside restaurant or enjoy the gentle ocean breezes while dining outdoors on the patio. Menu items include fresh seafood, tender steaks, innovative daily specials and much more. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. 6:30am to 9pm Sun - Thurs and 6:30 to 10pm Fri & Sat. Happy Hour daily from 4pm to 6pm.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
6, 300 square feet of flexible waterview conference and banquet facilities. Bay Room 27' x 24' 648 Square Feet Board Room 11' x 17' 187 Square Feet Grand Marina Room 30' x 64' Square Feet Harbor Room 28' x 32' 896 Square Feet Marina Room 1 31' x 31' Square Feet Marina Room 2 30' x 24' 965 Square Feet Sunset Room 30' x 60' 1624 Square Feet Santa Barbara 42'x25' 1076 Square Feet

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 444
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jibin L.
Business
Fremont
Jul 28, 2015

Pleasant trip in CA

It's a wonderful place I ever lived in Best Western hotel in states. The room is quiet clean and quiet. It's so easy to touch the sea when you walk out. Very good meal at the same.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jen Single Traveler
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Nov 25, 2014

All Around Great Getaway

The location is great. Easy access to everything but also not in the craziness of downtown. Great area for walking and running and some great city views. Hotel property is beautiful and staff is very friendly. The room had a mini fridge and a microwave which was great for a traveller trying to save money. I was able to have some meals in my room and bring back leftovers if I went out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Travel during October - March. I was told that this was the slow season and it was noticably more tranquil this trip versus another trip when I went in September. Crowds were low and I was able to get around attractions easily.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Barb d.
Business
Bellingham, wa
Sep 15, 2014

Wedding

Very nice. Convenient to activities. Comfortable beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Boats and beaches

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oldman of the North
Business
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Feb 22, 2014

Relaxing time away

Location is great. Night time view of San Diego skyline great. Staff couldn't of been more helpful. This is my 3rd year in a row coming to San Diego for vacation and the stay here was the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Restaurants in Old Town. Great Mexican food. Breakfasts at Perry's. lots of food and reasonable.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tuddie
Business
Nothern Ca.
Sep 25, 2013

great experience

The staff was wonderful and always appeared happy. The pool was clean and a perfect temperature.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of restaurants with good food.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bus Driver Guy
Business
Surrey, BC, Canada
Nov 18, 2012

San Deigo Visit

The hotel is well situated to most of the attractions. The only draw back for me was that the building I stayed in (Casa Marina) was at the far end of the complex. This meant you had to walk a fair distance to the lobby/restaurant and pools. I also paid for a deluxe waterview room and was given a room on the ground floor facing the marina. Nice view of all the boats in the marina but not what I would call a "deluxe" waterview room. The selection for breakfast menu was a bit limited and the service a bit slow at first. I would return to this hotel again but I will ask for a second or third floor room. I would recommend this property to others, as it is a close location from the airport and surrounding attractions as well as a pretty decent value for your dollar. The front desk staff were all fantastic. When I checked into my room, the clock wasn't working well and they sent someone to fix it right away. They were also very helpful in providing answers to any questions that I had. Great job all!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

If staying in one the buildings farthest away from the lobby, drive your vehicle closer to the lobby if your eating at the hotel restaurant.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tuddie
Business
Nothern Ca.
Sep 20, 2012

Great experience

The staff was excellent and so friendly. I would recommend getting a room on the marina side. The large pool was clean and not to cold. Going back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Live concerts

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bob the Wanderer
Business
St. George, Utah
Jun 22, 2012

Enjoyed my stay

One of the best places I've stayed. Beautiful Marina & Bay across the street, clean quiet room, good food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vrlg
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Nov 1, 2011

sunny getaway

I loved it ....loved the view...loved the pools ...loved the jaccuzzies ....just loved the experience .........it was what I needed ... loved the free parking ...I just wish it came with breakfast....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gypc
Business
Murrieta, CA
May 31, 2011

Beautiful Get-Away

Lovely property. I enjoyed the peaceful surroundings. Quiet, clean, well cared for property. Excellent service staff!I highly recommend the sail boat ride on the Stars and Stripes World Cup sailboat. It is located right near the Kona Kai resort. Ask for [...]. He is the captain of the ship.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top