$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2014 Check-out: Sep 30, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

3 stars
2051 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
461 reviews
Beautiful!!

Such a beautiful place! Upon arrival was upgraded at no cost to lovely room with small patio facing... See full review

  • ladyamaya
  • Apr 29, 2014
Vacation getaway

Perfect hotel for week getaway with the significant other. Beautiful and convenient location with... See full review

  • Midwest Guy1
  • Mar 8, 2014
Convenient hotel on Shelter Island with free bike rentals
The Best Western Island Palms Hotel & Marina combines the best of both worlds: a modern hotel with a state-of-the-art marina. The property is located on Shelter Island, which is known among locals as San Diego's Hawaiian isle. Hotel guests can unwind at one of two bayside pools or an outdoor fireplace with breathtaking views of Point Loma. Accommodations span three distinct sections of the hotel, each with a unique theme and feel. The on-site restaurant, Blue Wave Bar & Grill, serves tasty, island style seafood.
Highlights
  • Private Mega-Yacht Marina
  • Two bayside pools, one with outdoor fireplace
  • On-site restaurant serves island-style cuisine
  • Complimentary bike rentals
  • Complimentary shuttle to San Diego Airport and Amtrak
Rooms

The Best Western Island Palms Hotel & Marina offers 227 rooms, including 60 suites. Accommodations span three sections of the hotel: Casa del Mar, Casa Marina and Island Palms. All three have different decor including tropical and Mediterranean themes. Rooms vary in size and configuration, but each comes standard with a flat-screen TV, ironing board, hair dryer and spacious work desk. Most suites include a kitchen with mini refrigerator and microwave. Most accommodations feature balconies and patios. Guests also receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access.

Features

The Best Western Island Palms Hotel & Marina sits on Shelter Island, which is known among locals as San Diego's Hawaiian isle for its tropical landscape. The property overlooks a private marina and sits adjacent to bike paths encircling San Diego Bay. The hotel is within one mile of Point Loma.

All guests receive complimentary transfers to the airport or cruise ship terminal, as well as complimentary bike rentals. Guests also have access to two pools, a spa, fitness center and garden patio with outdoor fireplace.

The Blue Wave Bar & Grill specializes in tropical-style cuisine.

Transportation
  • Complimentary shuttle to San Diego Airport and Amtrak
  • MTS Bus (4 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (3 mi/5 km)
  • San Diego Trolley (3.5 mi/ 5.6 km)
Attractions
  • Old Town (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • SeaWorld (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Gaslamp District (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • Petco Park (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (8 mi/12.9 km)
Business
  • 6,300 square feet of meeting space accommodates up to 150 guests
  • Outdoor space can be converted into meeting facility
  • Conference windows overlook marina
Policies and Fees

  • Starting 01 June, parking fee will be $10 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7145 -117.2279
Area served
San Diego. The Island Palms Hotel & Marina is ideally located on Shelter Island, surrounded by San Diego Bay and our private, mega-yacht marina. We take pride in providing excellent service in a tranquil, casual, California setting
Nearby airports
Lindburgh Field 3 miles, San Diego International Airport 3 miles
Area description
Mexican border is just 20 minutes away, San Diego Zoo - 13 miles, Sea World - 5.7 miles, Legoland - 38 miles, Birch Aquarium at Scripps - 13.7 miles, Balboa Park - 5.6 miles, Del Mar Race Track / Fairgrounds - 21.2 miles, Gaslamp Quarter - 5 miles, Seaport Village - 5 miles, La Jolla - 12 miles, Tijuana - 21 miles.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina Rooms

Waterview Suite
Just steps away from our private yacht marina, this 600 square foot Island Palms Suite offers one king or two Queen beds per hotel availability in a private bedroom and a living room with sofa sleeper. Fully equipped kitchens feature granite countertops, full size refrigerator, coffee maker, microwave double sink and stove top. Enjoy breathtaking views of motoryachts drifting by or simply enjoy the San Diego sunsets from your private patio.
Island Palms Standard
Our traditional Island Palms guestrooms come equipped with one King or two double beds per hotel availability , sitting area with work desk, complimentary high speed internet access, fresh brew coffee/tea makers, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, cable TV with HBO movies and Nintendo, refrigerator and a beautiful bathroom featuring a slab granite vanity and granite and glass enclosed shower.
Deluxe Waterview
This room has beautiful views of the San Diego Bay or the hotel's private marina. Each room is furnished with two queen or 1 king-sized beds, 42" LCD TV, mini refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, and iron/ironing board. The workspace is equipped with a Herman Miller ergonomic chair, jack pack for your electronic devices, and complimentary wireless internet access. The bathrooms have marble counters and tile-surround bathtubs.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.1 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.4 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.4 mi
  • Sea World: 3.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.7 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.7 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 4 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4.2 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.1 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.4 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.4 mi
  • Sea World: 3.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.7 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.7 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 4 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.4 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4.6 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.7 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.8 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.9 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.2 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 5.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.8 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.4 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 29 mi
  • Legoland: 29.1 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121.9 mi

Dining

Blue Wave Bar and Grill
Step into the Blue Wave Bar & Grill for great waterfront dining with spectacular views of the bay and our private marina. Experience the tropical feel of our bayside restaurant or enjoy the gentle ocean breezes while dining outdoors on the patio. Menu items include fresh seafood, tender steaks, innovative daily specials and much more. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. 6:30am to 9pm Sun - Thurs and 6:30 to 10pm Fri & Sat. Happy Hour daily from 4pm to 6pm.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
6, 300 square feet of flexible waterview conference and banquet facilities. Bay Room 27' x 24' 648 Square Feet Board Room 11' x 17' 187 Square Feet Grand Marina Room 30' x 64' Square Feet Harbor Room 28' x 32' 896 Square Feet Marina Room 1 31' x 31' Square Feet Marina Room 2 30' x 24' 965 Square Feet Sunset Room 30' x 60' 1624 Square Feet Santa Barbara 42'x25' 1076 Square Feet

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (461)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
461 out of 461
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms Bishop
Gray, ME
Jul 14, 2009

Island vacation in the city

Came to San Diego with my two teenagers to watch the Big Bay Boom. I was very happy with my decision to stay at the Island Palms. Not only was it the ideal location to see the fireworks, the property impressed me in many other ways. I felt valued the moment I arrived. The front desk was friendly and helpful. (I listened to the exchanges between the staff and some guests that were around me, and I was amazed at how they went out of their way to make people happy, for example, when an older woman asked if they had a portable chairs available for use during the fireworks display, the clerk explained that they did not, but he would make sure that they found something for her.) They even set out fresh apples for the guests at the front desk - a very nice touch. A couple of the big benefits at the hotel were the free bike rentals and complimentary parking. Even though the hotel is in the heart of busy San Diego and close to everything, the location makes you feel like you are a million miles away on a peaceful island. My room (which was brand new and gorgeous) overlooked the marina, and I loved relaxing on the balcony watching the activity around the boats. At night the lights surrounding the marina were breathtaking. I came home with several beautiful photos! The Island Palms definitely made my family's vacation an unforgettable experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Biking is a great way to get around the island. If you want to rent a bike, make sure you get to the lobby early, as this is on a first come, first serve basis. There is a great little place called Marvelous Muffins right off the island on Shelter Island Drive. They make excellent almond poppy seed muffins and spinach and cheese croissants!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Babynurse515
Massillon, OH, USA
Mar 8, 2012

Great hotel

beautiful location and beautiful hotel. Wish we could have spent more time there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chico, CA
Jul 22, 2007

The best ever!

My stay at the Island Palms was fabulous. The staff was courteous and helpful, the room was clean and well equipped and the food was marvelous. The hotel is set in an ideal location bordered by the marina on one side and the ocean on the other. Nice place to take long walks and it seemed that everyone I met was friendly. I can hardly wait to book my next trip to San Diego and I will definitely stay at the Island Palms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk across the street from the hotel and there is a beautiful place to walk along the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Geera
Seattle
Apr 22, 2013

4 day get away

We loved the Island Palms. We upgraded to a larger room with a kitchen which worked out great for us since we were travelling with two teens. The cruiser bikes were great fun for the kids and us. The pool being right outside our door was awesome. San Diego weather was fantastic and Shelter Island is with special its tiki style hotels and the coolest tiki place, BALI HAI bar/restaurant. It was a simple bike ride away. Its a drive to beach, but what a great place to chill after a long day of hanging and being a tourist. Oh yes, free parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Puesto in La Jolla.and Papa Luna's Empanada Shop on Garnet in PB.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose, CA
Apr 20, 2007

Great getaway

The Best Western Island Palms Hotel & Marina in San Diego was the perfect get away spot. It's located on Shelter Island. The view was amazing!! It was very clean & quiet. It was nice falling asleep hearing the waves. The hotel was beautiful & in the perfect location. We were 10 minutes away from the Gaslamp District where we caught a San Diego Padres game & 10 minutes away from Pacific Beach which has a great walk way & shops. I will always stay at this hotel. I recommend it to any one who wants to be in a nice secluded area...and in 10 minutes you can be where all of the action is!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Located on Shelter Island you can take a nice walk, picnic or take a nice run. There are several little lunch spots within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Carson, Ca
Aug 18, 2009

Great Weekend Getaway

Everything was Great!! The onsite restuarant was excellent. Beautiful location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tower Man
Business
Iowa
Jan 17, 2011

Very Clean and Friendly

We would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Glastonbury
Aug 28, 2008

Fantastic relaxing location!

Our room opened to a stretch of lawn and the enormous marina. Point Loma was visible in the background. Across the street was the harbor with the naval installation across the bay. This is a truly gorgeous and impressive place to stay. You can walk to restaurants, watch the boats and the naval activity, or just sit on one of the many benches and gaze at the beautiful sunset. Service was great! The hotel was tastefully done. In all it was a terrific value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel next door has top line musical performances.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GENO8
MANAHAWKIN NJ
Nov 14, 2011

nice experience

saty was perfect.... staff was excellant and very curtious

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbus, Ohio
Jan 20, 2010

A gem for families.

This hotel was such a treat. Shelter Island is a wonderful location if you are traveling with children. It is accessable to everything, but secluded from the busy section of downtown. My sons fished from the Pier, we rode bikes safely up and down the island, and just had a marvelous first expereince in the San Diego area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The USS Midway was a big hit with my family.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search