$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 13, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

3 stars
View map of 2051 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
478 out of 478
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sailors
Business
San Diego
Sep 26, 2009

Shelter Island San Diego Trip

Check in was at 4pm. We Checked in at 1pm. We just relaxed in our room & at the pool & jacuzzi while looking at the sailboats. Very calming & rlaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great food - good price - nice location

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
traveling chef
Business
washington dc
Sep 18, 2009

Good Hotel Great Location

This is a really good hotel for the price. Very Quiet and Private. Plenty of Free Parking. Called ahead of time and requested an upgrade, and got it free when I arrived!! Rooms were very spacious and nice. Great location with a nice view of downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ayman Saginaw
Business
Saginaw, MI
Sep 28, 2009

San Diego

Great hotel. Staff put us in the new building which was very spacious and had a great view. Parking is free which is great and I wish I had more time to enjoy the stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Base and Lahn
Business
Fairfax, VA
May 27, 2010

Comfortable and Quiet Getaway

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Best Western for 6 days and nights. It was affordable and the staff was very accommodating, even personally running plates to our room on one occasion. The bus stops are a mile walk from the hotel and they have free parking if you have a car. The room we had was a little small but who stays in their room when in San Diego. They also have free shuttles to and from the airport. Its located right on San Diego Bay so you get that fresh water smell that in-landers don't. I would defiantly stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For the vegans: Evolution (Buffalo Chicken sandwich), Ranchos (Enchiladas). Also highly recommend shopping at Henrys Grocery located at Rosecrans and Nimitz. It an all natural/ organic grocery. The strawberry rhubarb pie is amazing and vegan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New york
Dec 3, 2010

Cali getaway

The trip was amazing. Everything we wanted to do was less than fifteen minutes away. The hotel was in a beautiful location right by the marina. We would go back to this hotel in a heartbeat. One of our favorite parts of the trip was going to the San Diego zoo and exploring the beautiful beaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chandler, AZ
Nov 16, 2010

great hotel and location for the price

Wonderful location, great price, wonderful staff, free parking and free internet connection was a plus. We stayed on the first floor and that was not the best, we couldn't see the marina, or any type of view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jester in San Diego
Business
Toronto, ON
Dec 1, 2010

Best Western Island Palm ... very happy

I was very impressed with the Island Palm Best Western. I was put in the newer building and my view and location was amazing. I had booked my parents to stay there too with our little nephew. He was given a crib immediately and a microwave (no questions and quick service). The restaurant is reasonably priced for breakfast and parking is amble. The hotel has 2 pools, 2 hot tubs, tennis courts and bikes that you can sign out for free to roam the island. Honestly, i would stay here again. If your in the San Diego area and looking for a hotel under $100 a night, quiet safe location, by the sea and minutes from downtown, attractions, etc... this is the hotel you would stay at. I will go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jul 31, 2009

Island Palms Awesome!!!

This Hotel was AWESOME! Right on the Marina, great pool, great restaurant, beautiful room. We really enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Waltham, MA
Sep 11, 2009

Great Hotel

The hotel was great. The location is directly on te water, in walking distance to a beach. It was clean, and the staff bent over backwards to be helpful. The pool area was great too, and we really enjoyed our stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr. Philip Nunez
Business
Las Vegas, Nv.
Apr 22, 2009

Great hotel, great service, clean rooms,

Very pleased with this Best Western Hotel will definitely return when in San Diego. Great Location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top