$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

3 stars
View map of 2051 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
513 out of 513
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
William Dublin1
Dublin, Ireland
Sep 29, 2012

customer very satisfied!

Stayed in this hotel with my partner for a10dys holiday and we were completely satisfied! We were staying on the Marina house, which is the last building and got a room with a view of the marina as requested upon booking. Very nice large room, fully equipped with a small fridge, iron and iron board, large bathroom and great TV + desk. There is 2pools and Jacuzzi, tennis courts and a bar/restaurant (which was quite experience in our opinion). We highly recommend this hotel and we are considering going back here for or next trip to San Diego :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MayF
Business
Texas
Jun 15, 2013

Beautiful location

Ended a trip from Seattle to San Diego at this hotel. Very nice location. Enjoyed the scenery of the yacht marina. Hot tub, pool, & outdoor fireplace were nice. Restaurant food was good, but not cheap. Surprised there was not a complimentary breakfast as is standard at other Best Western hotels I have stayed. Oh, and since I booked online, I did not earn hotel points....I thought this was unusual and disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sillyjilly
Business
Utah
Jun 13, 2013

Good location but thin walls

Shelter Island is a nice part of San Diego, everything was close by. Our room was clean, the staff was friendly and attentive. They had security walking around at night that made me feel safe. The one negative was how thin the walls were. We woke up every morning to hear our neighbors talking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bus Driver Guy
Business
Surrey, BC, Canada
Jun 10, 2013

A fantastic return!!

This was my second visit to this hotel and once again the entire experience was exceptional! From the front desk staff to the housekeeping personnel, everything was simply marvelous. A special mention of Matt at the front desk, who went out of his way to provide us with top notch service and also of Conception from housekeeping who was also warm and friendly with her service during our stay. Hats off to the entire staff for a job very well done!! I would recommend this Best Western to anyone who plans to visit San Diego!! Keep up the great work guys!! Don the Bus Driver guy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of choices for breakfast, lunch or dinner within a short drive from the hotel if you don't wish to use the hotel restaurant. Depends on what you like. eg: Denny's, Mickey D's, etc. I would definitely recommend the Brigitine just down the road for great seafood.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sandiego travel
Business
San diego
May 29, 2013

Thank You

we enjoyed our stay! hotel was clean and nice and close to everything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SheS
Business
Fort Wayne indiana
May 11, 2013

Weekend trip

We where trailing for my sons graduation at MCRD. It was about a ten-fifteen minute drive from his base. Staff was friendly and helpful. I was surprised that there was not a small store to purchase much needed items like toiletries and much needed sunscreen or alovera, and map of hotel area needs updated, no soda/snack/ice machines that i could find on the property for the guests. But staff was helpful in giving us directions to where we could purchase these items! Our room was just across from where the staff would arrive to work, and deliveries where being made at all hours of the night then on our last day we where woken up several times by loud staff members cursing outside our rooms, and complaining of there jobs! Shame on them.....They should be thankful they have jobs in today's economy, and more curtious to those whom are providing to their income!! The view of san Diego was amazing and in the morning we could hear seals off in the distance! Overall it was just simply ok, nothing to brag about!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YumaNative
Business
San Diego
May 7, 2013

Great place!

Although I only stayed for two nights, the room was great. The food in the restaurant was very good, and I really enjoyed the outdoor fireplace by the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mommyceo
Business
Aliso Viejo, CA
Apr 29, 2013

ok but probably would not stay there again

Location good and marina views nice. However, our room had a weird smell. Needs some updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Geera
Business
Seattle
Apr 22, 2013

4 day get away

We loved the Island Palms. We upgraded to a larger room with a kitchen which worked out great for us since we were travelling with two teens. The cruiser bikes were great fun for the kids and us. The pool being right outside our door was awesome. San Diego weather was fantastic and Shelter Island is with special its tiki style hotels and the coolest tiki place, BALI HAI bar/restaurant. It was a simple bike ride away. Its a drive to beach, but what a great place to chill after a long day of hanging and being a tourist. Oh yes, free parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Puesto in La Jolla.and Papa Luna's Empanada Shop on Garnet in PB.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dabomb
Business
Utah
Apr 7, 2013

Not what we booked

we planned our vacation 3 months in advance paying full price on online thinking we would be placed in a great location and get the queen beds we thought we were paying for. We arrived late after driving 10 hours we got our rooms with double beds on the ground floor witha view of the parking lot instead of the second floor view of the bay with queen beds. The free Internet wasn't working, the lobby was full of others who wanted their Internet to work too but the room was clean and the desk gave us great places to eat. Our friends booked the hotel next door one week before our trip, got a better rate and better rooms with a warm pool, I would probably stay there next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
littlered20
Business
Washington State
Apr 6, 2013

Mom and daughter get away to check out colleges/universities

My daughter and I went to check out colleges/universities in the San Diego area. Great hotel in a more quiet location - so glad we didn't stay downtown. Felt like a relaxing tropical get away that was nice to get back to after our daily outings and adventures. Not too far from public transportation or call a taxi. Well lit and safe. Fire pits and a terrific walking/jogging trail along the bay side of the hotel. Lots of little critters to watch like baby ducks, sandpipers and seagulls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top